US billionaire unveils plans for Hyperloop that will shoot passengers from LA to San Francisco in 30mins | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 August 2013

US billionaire unveils plans for Hyperloop that will shoot passengers from LA to San Francisco in 30mins

Paypal billionaire Elon Musk, inset, has revealed plans for a radical new 'Hyperloop' transport system that could 'shoot' passengers from Los Angeles to San Francisco in 30 minutes.

Travellers enter aluminium pods mounted by skis either to their feet or to their cars, top. The pods, mounted above the ground on columns 50 to 100 yards apart, travel through steel tubes, reaching speeds of up to 800mph and travelling on a cushion of air. These images, left and right, show sketches of the passenger transport capsule and how it would look travelling through the steel tubes. Continue...

Musk told Bloomberg Business Week the system would be ‘like getting a ride on Space Mountain at Disneyland.’
‘It would have less lateral acceleration—which is what tends to make people feel motion sick—than a subway ride, as the pod banks against the tube like an airplane,' he said.
‘It would feel supersmooth.’
'The Hyperloop (or something similar) is, in my opinion, the right solution for the specific case of high traffic city pairs that are less than about 1500 km or 900 miles apart,' he claimed.

THE HYPERLOOP: HOW IT WORKS

Inside the tubes, hyperloop pods are mounted on thin skis made out of inconel,an alloy already used by Musk’s SpaceX firm that can withstand high pressure and heat.
Air is pumped into the skis via small holes to make an air cushion, and each pod has air inlets at the front.
An electric turbo compressor compresses air from the nose and routes it to the skis and to the cabin.
Magnets on the skis, plus an electromagnetic pulse give the pod its initial thrust; reboosting motors along the route would keep the pod moving at just below the speed of sound so the system does not produce sonic booms.

Culled from Daily Mail UK

89 comments:

Ok o!

If d thing shoot them and hang dem for unknown location nkor o?

Another season of LOST!

Too much money...Nice Idea though.

that guy brain is something else. He also said he has plans to make payment from space to earth.
see this blog http://latesttoptechnews.blogspot.com

Sisi said...

A lot of people have to try this before I consider it........

BEN said...

C'mon Nigerians! Let's make our hyperloop!

Damn! This innovation boosts of astronomical speeds with would stand out, that's what you get from people who have a predilection for technological advancement, this is very well on point!

Shooo!we neva even get beta train system for naija talk less of airports in al our states!we are 7th world nation biko

Oyinbo Witch,

busybee said...

illuminati

Business Mind, Military Soul Man, This is going to be a great project for the whole WORLD

mummydumdum said...

Hmmm just passin with high speed before they will start the experiment with me.

Na wah o,bekee bu agbara.

Tim said...

Hyper accident and hyper suffocation tins.

Wow everything we watch in sci-fi movies will soon come to reality.meanwhile na only dangote dem go fit afford am o.choi.

Linda,i'm tired of you mhen..How many times have i told you to make some sort of "water-marks" or "Trade-mark" some pictures that you know are exclusively from you and posted on your blog thereby making people who steal these pictures from your site to either acknowledge your effort or go find theirs..TMZ,Necolebitchie all have these on there blogs.

Mich said...

LA to SF in 30minutes?
I do hope this fella realizes how independent electromagnetic pulses can be,going just below the speed of sound is definitely gonna produce sonic booms.
The future is here but I don't wanna be a part of it yet;I'm still a huge fan of planes,trains and cars.

na wao waitin we no go see and hear, end time things.

KOSI said...

In case of emergency, what do the passengers get to break? an alloy?

Nice one but there is a problem, how does a toilet fit into hyperloop?

Queen Bee said...

Why not in 30seconds?
The journey is still long!*rme*

kidodo said...

Wow..... This white plp re jos magnificent always exploring new ideals.

Just what science & technology can do.The white man is tinkin & workin 24/7.While we're eating eba & amala in this part of the world.Caleb suberu.

Michael said...

If naija had it's own hyperloops, armed robbers will create a whole half way through it's journey and street hawkers will also create their own to sell gala

I will be in my house reading LIB when I will hear that some pple hv disappeared amid motion. Shebi una no know wetin una wan use una money and time do again abi?? Ok ohhh, linda next pls

Amazing innovation sha

DivaDivine.....u be Ode. Tech has gone beyond ur dumb level of reasoning. Grow up swineeeeeeee DAMOSCULAR say so

ok, nice idea 4 dem, but make them no introduce that kind thing 4 9ja cos i no ready to they cry 4 accident victims everyday, cos my con3 men will always go 4 the cheap 1s...

Please ooo! How does the thing land?

Yemmie Oscar said...

Smh for your ignorance!

Ok oo.... Waiting to see

Mumu like u

U hv said rubbish

Too much money and not knowing what to do with it na wa oh

share your US visa experiences here
usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.com

Abeg shut ur trap. Go and do d water mark for her

Good question!

Soledad said...

Brilliant idea..my naija ppl,pls let's wake up from our sleep! The americans don't have two heads o..hmmm!

BusBus said...

It is well....

Biko, alert me when u finish the manufacturing.... finish pata pata o, not test run, I wan buy one for this lagos traffic, that way I can "shoot" back and forth from office to home and vice versa....

Elam Musk did not say 30 mins o Linda, the guy said 45 mins and by the way there is no plan in the works yet. He was just thinking loud.

9ja scientists and technologists una still dey sleep? Wake up and fufil your destiny.

Wile throwing up in the process

Why waste money on a creepy looking contraption? The flight bw LA and SFO is around 1 hr as it is. The 2 cities are in the same state, about 6 to 7 hrs by road and i'd rather spend 30 mins extra in a plane than to be catapulted to the end of the nowhere.

Anon 5:15pm.
Everything must be related to end times, gosh!!

I like it is nice, gud idea,but nija will never hiper this technology, cos no money and no one want to die

Linda I am designing a sixth transport system that will take me n u to texas for our horney moon. Is called lowerloop sonic system

I like it is nice, gud idea,but nija will never hiper this technology, cos no money and no one want to die

maya said...

Winch tins!

zoomzoomzoom said...

Welcome to the future!

Hyperloop to siphone money from CBN to swizz account shey?

Sounds cool!

na waoo oyibo l salute una

Abeg if he shoot them enta 9ja nkor o ff me@topnochbreezy get instant ff back

kunle said...

If he can make paying system easier, then he can do this. Let's watch out.

Learn the secrets to burning fat and eating healthy

All these oyibo self...dem don go far while we still dey battle for megawatt.

He was up all night putting the finishing touches to it....but he said he's too busy to build it. He's hoping someone else will. So yeah, if there were money in it and it was realistic, he would do it himself. I think this is just meant to be a "concept", and will not happen in our lifetimes....

God pls giv uz an idea dat will change tinz around for uz n our nation.

Do u do anything with your life??? Like seriously

....knowledge shall increase.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

poise said...

Before you say jack...the Chinese or Japanese people will be the first to execute the man's innovative idea

Oh, and this guy is South African.....

You are a profound fool! Pick up a book would you!

Movies become reality

@Mich,u got me laffing there.@anon 6:01,can't u tell when someone is being sarcastic?I guess u've to understand what he meant to find it funny.I like ur comments Mich

I hear there's this new transport system that can take you to any part of d world without a visa.. Just load d stuff wid beer and shekpe off you goooo

Space mountain at disneyland scared the shit of me, i was almost saying some last prayer...It gave me a 1 week straight spine ache. This is idea is sure a no for me but nevertheless this is creative at its peak...

People think about crazy ideas all the time...there are some out there about a flying car and there are concept hovercrafts all in drawings! California and indeed the whole of the US does not even have a bullet train system...the one on the drawing board for California has been on for years and is still being delayed. We are used to the multiple-stop train rides on Amtrak...doing San Diego to LAX in 3 hrs and stopping everywhere like a molue!

Josh said...

then don start again after people go begin dey die like dog. Nigerians in the USA be warned.

Nice idea..dis is good..Future is here..I hope to travel inside one someday..but 30mins is too much..10 mins for make sense..................THE DON

What happens if i wan shit?

I'll love to meet you man. What do u do for a living. Linda's PA. Just asking.

Well - it's just for 30mins nah. So one might not need the loo.

noblenenye said...

This invention is really amazing. Oyibo people don go far O!

I once dated this guy,mehn this guy is good,i mean nice.

This is really cool, cant wait to invent mine...

It only takes about 1h 20mins to get my butt from la to San Francisco on a regular plane and am good with that, thank o.

seriously? flight is only an hour..I guess that 3omins on top is too long...Its probably gonna be even more expensive than fight ticket.#NOTHANKS
I am not entering this one..Well, except if i get a job in LA
i guess i would be there in 30mins

If u once dated him, u no go dey here dey reply. Na ur PA go dey carry your plenty phones around - replying ur mails etc. Itiboribo

Itiboribo. Once dated him ko, twice dated him ni

If u once dated him, u no go dey here dey reply. Na ur PA go dey carry your plenty phones around - replying ur mails etc. Itiboribo

Hmmmm... Them wan dey shoot people like catapult now?... Hmmm wahala dey...

our own loop na witches and wizards dont need technology sef... i wonder why all dis witches neva utilize dem skills for something like this

And we are here arguing who's more superior between Yorubas and Igbos? I weep for Africa!

In ur dreams ko hahahahah

Aba boys keep your eyes open ooo
China ppl go soon do d cheap version

Honey Child

LIB readers u guys re so Hillarious

If he build am finish, na im go first test am with a round trip in all the major metropolitan cities in US.

So miss lepa, since u once dated him wetin u cm say mk we do?? Jumping about abi?? Mtweeee, u once dated him ko, even for ur dream sef it cnt happen.

Anon 10:20 u never purge serious purge b4...

Chinelo said...

i love this, ZERO CARBON!

Chinelo said...

i love this, ZERO CARBON!