Nollywood Producer Dickson Iroegbu set to release gay movie | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 28 January 2012

Nollywood Producer Dickson Iroegbu set to release gay movie

Foremost Nollywood producer and director, Dickson Iroegbu is getting ready to release his latest movie called - 'Law 58', a movie about homosexuality in Nigeria and its consequences. The movie features Kanayo O Kanayo, Clarion Chukwurah, Halima Abubakar etc and will be released next month.

When asked why a movie about homosexuality, the producer replied:  
When I saw the National Assembly debate on Gay Marriage, I thought it was prophetic because at the time, I produced the movie, we hadn’t engaged ourselves constructively on how to address the issue of gay. We pretended then as if it didn’t exist in our society.  Not knowing that it was gradually eating into the fabrics of the society. 
Continue reading...

So, one saw it at that time and set out to discuss it via the tube. I may sound very judgmental about it but I have no apologies whatsoever. Homosexual is an evil act that our culture and religion as Africans prohibits,  and so, speaking against it as a film maker is to re-echo what my society has been saying about the ugly practice.”

“At the time, I was shooting the movie, most of my colleagues frowned at the project because it was rumour then that some of them were involved in the act. I thought it was time to take a stand, given the fact that I was once called a gay, just to discredit my personality.”
“Today, I want the society to feel my purse differently, so that when the film is finally released into the market, they will be able to reconcile it with the Dickson Iroegbu they have known for several years. The world will also ascertain whether I’m a homosexual or not.

53 comments:

Isn't there one already?! Or was my friend high on paracetamol cuz she told me about a nollywood gay movie around october last year! Well d movie had gay scenes funny ones by d way.. Well according to d narrator

Emily said...

its obvious he is doing it 4 his own selfish reasons and not because he is against it. jus so dt we can say dt 4 him 2 mke such a movie den he isnt gay. sorry bt, no1 knws d truth except God, 1day fowl yansh go open 4 public, movie or no movie!!!

releasing a movie just to change people's perception about you wont make a friggin' difference. you are gay, or not gay, who cares?

So basically he's making this film for his own benefit and not really to condemn those in the act. If no one had accused him of being gay, he wouldn't have felt the need to make an anti-gay movie, especially as the law concerning homosexuality hadn't been passed.

zickky said...

who cares about UR sexual prefrence???and why trying hard 2 convince pple dat u are nt gay?. . . Mtcheewwww. .ATTENTION SEEKER. . . linda if u like nor post my comment oh. . .u hear?

chikeaghadiuno said...

Pls dont b ridiclus releasing gay bashing does not exonorate u from being label gay. Ok you are not gay but bisexual. :D

THIS ONE NA STORY??

THE PRODUCER EVEN LOOKS GAY!!!

PLEASE IF YOU DONT HAVE GIST, TELL US.

Vaughn Samuel said...

There have always been gays in Nigeria just like some people have been having sex with animals since the beginning of time. telling me to accept gays as regular folks is akin to telling me to accept stealing as a norm. It is wrong since it is the unnatural. I still don't understand why a man would want to stick his "suga stik" into a sh*t hole instead of a "sweet hole". That said, why does he want to make a movie to defend/justify himself? Thats one movie I wont watch! P.S Linda, My Offer is still open as per CHICAGO!!!

Just because you make a movie denouncing homosexuality does not mean you are not gay. Look at many disgraced US politicians, the most vocal men against homosexuality are the ones that we found out later had solicited the services of a male prostitute. This guy needs to get over himself. Naija's holier than thou attitude sickens me.

He has surely run out of ideas.why Gay movie.who will play the characters.i think his idea boarders on insanity.he must be prepared for 14 years in prison.i do not like Nollywood movies.the actors are idiots and primitive .They lack international exposure.

Homosexuality have been attracting too much lately, I think its high time Wε̲ start recognizing Ȋ̝̊̅† α̲̅πϑ how †̥☺ live with Ȋ̝̊̅†.

why so much effort to prove u're not a gay?

I naively thought it might be a movie promoting tolerance. Sigh. Let's stop fooling ourselves and being hypocrites in Nigeria and focus on what really matters: GOOD GOVERNANCE, ENDING CORRUPTION, DEVELOPMENT, SOCIAL VIOLENCE, ENDING DOMESTIC VIOLENCE etc

He is gay that's why.

Why do folks always bother about what people say about them! To thine own self be true!!

Now I understand why Halima Abubakar is leaving Kano!

What have you Linda got to say about it??? Olofofo girl or have you suddenly gone tongue tied?

jennietobbie said...

deep stuff. Looking forward to seeing this movie.

Trust nigerians,Igbo pple n money,anytin tin dat happens,dey will use it to get money.lol.Sha gudluck to him

He's a bum i mean seriously?? Going all the way to make a movie condemning homosexuals just to tell people you are not Gay really Dickson?

I might also add that your narrow minded movie dont change nobody's perception about your sexuality.....you just exhibited your insecurity and stupidity.

Same Dickson embarrassed himself with the soldier child whatever project begging a foreign actor for 100mills and all of a sudden abandoned the project, his wife and family to pursue politics yet he failed again. I see a clueless man looking looking for some validation

RELAX DICKSON I'M SURE NO GAY DUDE FINDS YOU ATTRACTIVE lmao

soooo....he's basically doing it for selfish reasons.

nnennai said...

Research shows that pp are usually defensive of what they are guilty of. He is in d closet. Fake life. N if u r so ignorant abt gays. Shut up. Being born gay is a psychologoical illness n gay pp shld b lvd n counseled nt jailed.unfortunately there are those who choose to be gay, that I don't like. As usual silly unresearched stuff

So, let me get this straight (scuse the pun), this idiot is making a movie so that people will not think he is gay? This is the reason why Nollywood has long since died and is a laughing stock in the real world of film.

Whatever your opinion is about homosexuality, making a film to exhibit your ignorance can only be in Nigeria where a corrupt Senate pass laws against gay marriage but can't counter terrorism.

I'm really tired of this assholes who use some imaginary pure moral African culture to promote hatred against gays.

Go fuck yourself Dickson Iroegbu, you're not a producer, you're an ignorant, prejudiced and probably gay asshole who's trying too hard to prove you're a real man. Shame on you.

Trust me you have lost your mind . Try and find the broken pieces.

Mister Kulti said...

Who cares whether u r gay or not. There is a history of the most vociferous anti-gay being closeted or repressed gays.

Sugabelly said...

Great another ignorant idiotwith a fucking axe to grind. Lots of African cultures have had homosexuality for thousands of years including Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, and Bini but so many ignorant Nigerians continue repeating this rubbish.

Dry

Edgar Hoover...Head of CIA..go see the movie..closet gay..but hunted Gays down..

Hmmnnn! Example ?! Evidence?! I need them to back ur claim!

This guy is gay, pple always try to play defensive and camouflage when they want to hide who they really are, make a movie that has to do with how this act can be managed, handled and avoided not condemnation, and those senators that paaed that law, they are not serious, they won't pass a law on men over 40 chasing 14 year old girls and promiscuity, its homosexuality, I guess some of them are tired of paying their boyfriends. Linda plz post my comment biko.

No be so Uti Nwachukwu de condem gay people for BBA everyday na him we catch am de kiss man ( Dat him yellow boyfriend) for inside car d oda night....LMAO! 'Dick'son abeg no come set yasef up o!

since when said...

Haba this dude is slow. Even that yoruba gay actor Korede Wealth did one and this one's story line is even one NO NIGERIAN will ever talk about. Father to son gay relationships. Here is the video: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xlxwd5_egbinrin-1_shortfilms?ralg=behavior-metadata#from=playrelon-7

yaaaaa said...

Igbo and Hausa dudes steady doing the whole undercover bidness and na dem dey gbensh same sex dudes pass

Charles Gbatolobo said...

@ yaaaaa... Na FEGO, u go? Cos gbensh, na FEGO slang.

Cant get over his name. DICKson produces fag movie. ha!

Dickson is an idiot who thinks so highly of his intellectual ability. Always on Facebook sounding ignorant. He is a relic. Meanwhile, if Uti was abusing gay people, fire will burn him. He better wake up before Bryan Mr. Nigeria takes Alex from him

Abeg why do we African like to copy Oyibo especiallly all their rubbish????
the better things wey them dey do we no go copy, we wont learn how to be hard working, transparent in managing public funds, non-corrupt, resign when you are incompetent?>....na so so rubbish we go dey copy!

movie or no movie, homosexuality is NOT in line with our african culture, and we wld not condone it!

Free website disgn said...

How long will that take to be out

IMPOTENCE:
VIMAX is a male virility and performance enhancing drug.
Email pharmacity@live.com

U̶̲̥̅̊ dont really have to go dis far to prove any rubbish. Gay or no gay, its Ɣ☺U̶̲̥̅̊я life.

You so dumb, go get something else doing like acting abt boko haram and hw to make dis great country a better place tru acting nd making boko members see y they shuld repent, jooor

lol @ him not being gay.

emerald said...

linda serious why did post this, u just spoit this man job.....ths comment are commting from one source, post this comment

@Since when, I just watched the movie youj posted Egberin on dailymotion and I really do hope this is not happeneing in nigeria o. I know some disgusting fathers lay with their own daughters but father to son just sounds like worse of an abomination. Shudders and shivers at the thot but they are both the same thing sha. Shameless, disgusting and sad

lmao! this guy is obviously hiding his true sexuality! that why he made this bashing movie.
hey hey hey! abeg leave my Uti out of this o! who is dat fool that said he was bashing gays on bba?! except you watched your bba in deaf and dumb land i remeber scenes of him saying he has gay friends! and even tolerated sheila..so abeg shut up you liar and hater! and when did u see him kissing his friend?! na so una go swear for yourselves carrying fake rumours.....if you lied about this may you burn in hell! uti is a wonderful man..straight or gay(i dont care) WE LOVE HIM! deal with it!

did you get paid for this ?

This Dickson guy is super ignorant.

if they stone him on the street he should not complain

Fearless! said...

​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºLmaoº°˚˚˚°º‎​°º‎​=))

This is the problem with Nollywood. The house just took a decision less than 2months ago and the dullard has written, produced & probably edited the film. Linda pls we humble, tke style beg the guy for us. He can do a film on the issue but he should research properly abegi

crazybeautiful said...

thats y nigeria will never progress. people r dying of oppression and starvation . u r focusing on homosexuality. y don't u make a movie about suffering of our people . instead of trying so hard to prove to d world you r not a fag. mtscheww

Luk.. Producing an anti-gay movie, wil only atrct its meanin. Aftaal a gay who knws dat hez a gay wn't xpoz hez attitudes 2 d public... Nd dat movie cn neva chnge d perceptnz of pple abt u..

LDKMD -lafter don kill me die @ d comments here, una don make ma day v been laffing since. L̃̾ÕÕ̾=D=)):)ÕÕ̾L̃̾‎​​​ !!!!! The issue of sexuAlity I don't touch cos when we condem odAs we don't knw wat awaits us.