Tottenham star Dele Alli's mother talks about giving him up for adoption when he was a child | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 January 2016

Tottenham star Dele Alli's mother talks about giving him up for adoption when he was a child

The proud mother of Dele Alli has revealed she gave her son up for adoption so he could fulfil his dream of becoming a top footballer.
Alli left the home of Denise when he was aged 13 after social services threatened to remove her children due to her battle with alcoholism.

But now Denise, 52, says that she knows she made the right decision as she is bursting with pride when she watches him play for Tottenham.
Denise admitted that she suffered from a severe booze addiction, revealing that she was "hooked" on vodka, beer or anything she could get her hands on.
And she says it was only right to get him off the streets and into a safer environment.

Speaking to the Sun on Sunday, Denise said: “I knew that was the only way he could fulfil his dream of becoming a professional footballer.
“It was tough to give up my son but it proved to be his salvation. I’m so thankful for how things have turned out.”
Alli was handed his England debut earlier this season and scored a scorcher in the Three Lions' 2-0 win over France at Wembley.

Denise said:
“When he scored the goal against France I leapt out of my seat — I was so happy. My son has made it by himself. I am so pleased for him and super-proud of everything he has achieved.”
Although Alli was never formally adopted, he lived full-time with the family of fellow footballer Harry Hickford, now 20, six miles away.
Denise revealed that the move to Cosgrove moved him away from the children on the streets of his old estate, who were regularly "smoking, arguing and robbing".
Alli remains close to his biological father, Nigerian businessman Kenny, who now lives in Houston, Texas. The pair met up during Kenny's trip to England last year.
And kind-hearted Alli helps out Denise too. She says that he has given the family around £4,000 over the past year, including Christmas, birthday and Mother's Day treats.

51 comments:

DBANJ CRUSH said...

All dis our parent sef,weneva a child is doin well,the knew he wil b dis,or dat..anyway am happy for her

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

Ok na

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN praisE

YOUNG BUHARI said...

Good for her.

Aya..thank God She didn't, must be a proud mother now.

K. What should I now do

Wooooooow...we wei 2gether in same high @ okokobioko community secondary school!bro TNX God 4 u

Destiny can't b change!!

AMIJEZ said...

Thank God she didn't give him up for adoption afterall.

I was so happy wen I was readin it. I thank God made d right decision. Dele dream came to pass

Seyi said...

SHORTESR DUDE said...

You get luck o madam!

I see........

Let's go Linda

she is lucky she never did

fresh presh said...

freshpresh says, what would be would be, but all these females that get addicted to alcohol...nawa

Thank God it all ended with praise.
Linda look alike

Awww she did right by him I think

Thank God she dint

Good for her. Linda take note!

OK oh

Babylawyer. said...

In life, nobody really cares about what u went through to be successful, all they look out for is how successful are u. So damn ur pastor history and be determined to make it in life cos only then will u u dine with kings.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com said...

U c God will always direct ur path to greatness though it may seem somehw 2 people... Thank God she is proud of him

So he's Nigerian. Good job

Observed, thanks to God for him, am in love with Linda Ikeji for real and would wish to meet her in person as my 2016 resolution.

Dele Alli is just that finished professional. so humble and his play on the pitch speaks loud for him. I admire the dude, hopefully someday he'll play for my darling club CFC.

MrCollz A.k.a Sanity Says.

Sir benkord said...

Aww.......joy of a motherhood.....am happy 4 her.

A great and touching lesson for people in the same situation as hers and are already planning to give their child up for adoption probably due to the present outlook of things. THAT CHILD MIGHT GROW UP TO BECOME UR ONLY REASON FOR LIVING IN THE NEAREST FUTURE! DON'T TRY IT.

Anieto said...

alli is a Nigerian

Linda take note of my comments

Awww...either way he achieved his dream, now he's your son??? U could have done a thousand things for him, for example "go to rihab and get help"....BAD mother and where was his Nigerian father when he was being adopted by someone else?

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu Nigerians will b borning shindren every part of d world.

Olatee said...

Good for him.

olatee_seun@yahoo.com

Wow she get lucky.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Reporting from Delsu.

exquisito said...

As bad as it may sound, she was real with herself and ultimately made the right decision for the son. Glad it turned good.

Look at what being aunty wayward has caused you, you're now being fed with crumbs when you would have been the one dishing out the meal. Get transformation through Christ.

Touching.

Uzosafetyblog said...

Better pikin. #IRepLIB

Ok.

chibyke-sumtin said...

good kid

7F098C19 said...

His story is like that of the stone the builder rejected. Engr Emy

tosisochukwu said...

Be proud of your people anytime anywhere

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Hmmmmmmmmm alrite.

Pesin Pikin said...

Eeeyyyaaahhhhh! Thank God she decided not to do what she planned doing #TablesTurn

Sunday oliseh should bring him to super Eagles immediately

Now she is proud of him...What if is the other way round? You better stop drinking before it's too late.

Find_Out.

mayula said...

ode lol
he already debuted for the three lions

So kind of him.

don't give up no matter what you are passing through...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

paparazi said...

STORIES EVERY WHERE. AWWWW..

maureen Donatus said...

Okay......IJEGO