Photos: Nigerian fraudster and his brother-in-law who conned victims out of £25 million jailed in London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 January 2016

Photos: Nigerian fraudster and his brother-in-law who conned victims out of £25 million jailed in London

London-based Nigerian man and his brother-in-law have been jailed for a total of 14 years for their part in a 25 million pound internet fraud involving victims from 55 countries.

Emmanuel Adanemhen, 50,(left) and Eduwu Obasuyi, 40,(right) pleaded guilty at Maidstone Crown Court to their part in sophisticated fraud and money laundering scams, which in some cases targeted the elderly and vulnerable.

A Kent Police spokesman said that Adanemhen arrived in the UK as an asylum seeker in 1998 and had assumed the identity of a deceased Portuguese man by changing his name by deed poll and on driving licences.

The fraudster then used the fake identity to open bank accounts to launder funds from bogus schemes, which included dating website scams, false inheritance scams, overseas lottery wins and shipping frauds.

Police were led to Adanemhen after they apprehended Obasuyi, of Friern Road, East Dulwich, who was arrested as he was about to board a plane from London to Lagos, Nigeria.

Detectives found that the two defendants had moved more than £4 million through their various accounts, which had come from victims in countries around the globe, including Germany, Norway, Switzerland, New Zealand, Canada, United Arab Emirates and across the USA.

One elderly victim from Florida was conned out of $2.9 million, while police estimate the total victims have been conned out of to be more than £25 million.
Adanemhen admitted to conspiracy to defraud, conspiracy to enter into a money laundering agreement and three counts of fraud against the Home Office and the DVLA, which related to his fake documents.

He was ordered to serve seven and a half years in jail. Obasuyi pleaded guilty to conspiracy to enter into a money laundering agreement, and was sentenced to seven years in prison.

Detective Constable Paul Walker, from the Kent and Essex serious crime directorate, said:

"This was a highly sophisticated criminal enterprise with Emmanuel Adanemhen and Eduwu Obasuyi at the heart of operations.
"They were undoubtedly highly placed and trusted individuals, handling and moving millions of pounds obtained through devastating and cruel frauds played out on sometimes very elderly and vulnerable people."

117 comments:

Good for them

Wild flowers!

Whatever u plant u must reap.

jesuuuu £25million God... people wicked

Mufliat said...

They deserve it.

#Hajia Mufliat

Hehehe...you go fear family business, inlaw tins..lol..make dem continue their relationship for jail!

Disgraceful.
Linda look alike

Dee Tee said...

Hmmmmm!

Frankie Nkk said...

These old men be did gracing us

hmm crooks see dem faces

If u have d intelligence to scam pple of 25mill pounds, then u surely have d intelligence to make that legally..

cheltreacy said...

Good for them, nemesis had catch up with them.

Yinx said...

My Edo brother! Wetin nah? Must d galz go for prostitution and u guy for fraudulent.

#100kOnMyMind

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... omo see combination na wah lolz hmm me am Justsayingmaown via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji am still waiting ohh

Uzosafetyblog said...

Na waoh, they keep spoiling their generation name. #IRepLIB

Hmmmm.. No be small sophisticated criminal act o

#WhoshouldItell

Igbo kwenu! destroying the reputation of Nigeria since 0012. see dir ibotic heads.

See their evil faces

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Ruby Owanate said...

they got served!!

dude wen u re released u can try again.

...d great wonderer

Which tribe? Guess na ofe mmanu. Later Yoruba will claim dat she does not know fraud.

danex said...

Pay back the money, thieves.

tosisochukwu said...

Toh

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Some Nigerians though

These are the people spoiling the image of our country.

Awon oni account ti fori ko!

Dem go go jail for everybody wey don use that account work...

Dem try.

They never put this type of intelligent scheme to good use. Thieves.

Pesin Pikin said...

They shd face d law plz

That serves dem rit#slimmy

hmmm good

Youruba

Men are not smiling.....they don't no when do stop

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

Goaldyn Boy said...

These are really sophisticated Yahoo boys from Edo State! Unless the Uk police find a way to confiscate that money, they will be very happy and willing to serve the jail term and when they are release, they fall back to their loot! £25,000,000 is a stupendous amount of money that even their third generation will not be able to exhaust!!!

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

wonderful.... its only Nigerian always..... its well oh... find money as if is only dem that needs the money in dis life.

Oyibo, total of 14years too small na :|

jasmine said...

Pls tell PMB to give us the jobs he promised #unemployed graduate

My Yoruba brethren I de hail

Hmmm...naija people won't stop giving us bad name...

Ehi Frank said...

Every day for the thief, one day for the owner of the house. If you can't do the time don't do the crime.

Mayberry said...

Hard guys trying to survive

Edobabe#replinda#

Thank God! There's also one among many on Facebook with the name Chibuike C. Ugwu.

FREEDOM said...

Be the judge... #PEACE

They were just greedy.

Lobatan! Dem go tey pass Methuselah for jail. Linda take note!

Ibo's disgracing us since 1800

#Somebody must to love me tonight.

This useless life of scamming should stop. Innocent people like us should not be made to suffer for it by being denied visa to different countries.

Nigerians

FREEDOM said...

Be the judge... #PEACE

JAYZSBOSS said...

Justice served

This people are flying our flag high....Thank God for people like them.

#XENO-FABIAN

Serves them right!!!

Black sheep's of the family..... Let's go Linda

Good for them!

Babylawyer. said...

Jail them for life. Greedy creatures.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Shaniqua Carson said...

I really don't know why dis people live in UK, US ETC... If you're going to commit a crime; you might as well do it in your own country... 💁🏾💁🏾💁🏾

Shaniqua Carson said...

I really don't know why dis people live in UK, US ETC... If you're going to commit a crime; you might as well do it in your own country... 💁🏾💁🏾💁🏾

Good for them.

Okbye.

I always say it. Crime is Detribalised. Yet some people would still come here to comment with their unrepentant hearts of tribalism.

KENTON ONUORAH said...

See their criminal face,they are painting our name black,I pray dey stay their forever

serves them right

please they should spend more time there.....this kind of folks are not suppose to be part of the society

L Y N N P O P E S said...

Still wonder how people get away with such crimes in such developed countries with sophisticated banking and security systems. And then i wonder how much of that is going on here undetected.

chyyy said...

Wooow.... Intelligent criminals, I wish u escaped!! Sorry luck run out from u.

princess Stella said...

Original 419.

OUR EDO BRETHREN DON JOIN IGBO BROTHERS SHEY. DISGRACING NAIJA SINCE 1932

People would do anytin for money...chai

lol bush meat don catch the hunter

E pe le oooo but e ma Face e nii!

Nawaa o

That's the law

Nawaa o

Ghen ghen

GOD HAS EXPOSED THEM

Good for him,

Linda's daughter aka Nwa Linda said...

Lmao their eyes kukuma resemble thief own

Hang em all.

They deserve 100 years behind bars😠

see faces oooo bush meat don catch d hunter

Raaahhh... peeps be bringing disrepute to our country's reputation...#udo

success baby said...

Enter your comment...this people keep giving Nigeria bad name

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

So much cash.. hMm

Bright De Joseph said...

Bikko, edo people should represent us well ooooo.
Its fraud fraud fraud.

Serves them right. The fools that brings bad name to our beloved country.

#commonsense

Hmmm ...

franco said...

I know these two individuals in Peckham, London. They both look innocent at first sight, but fraudulently dangerous. They both lied to me as to why they were arrested by the police in the UK. Reading herein that they were perpetrators of high profile fraud across the globe came as a surprise - truly, "there is no art to find the mind construction in the face" That serve them right.....lazy idiots!!!!

Jude Akinwole said...

Looking at their pics alone, i just knew they were Benin boys! I hail o! The long arm of the law will always catch up...

demma rep 9ja.
Dem neva see smthg.
E remain small UK go ban 9ja as trump wan ban muslims.

#kereisjustbeinghonest

paparazi said...

Stupid people. I have not seen this kind of madness, since I was born

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Justice.

Good for them

My dear when it come to fraud it is the yorubas, when it comes to drug it is the ibis, I am sorry if I sound trabalistic person, but wat I mean is the rate of name been measure when it come to this crimes, I don't mean there er no other tribe that don't do it. In every tribe we see the good and the bad. All the same we er still one nigeria either good or bad. I love my Nigerians come rain come sun.

Una don see am nah... The hunter d catch money oh.... anyway dem two wantget pass President.

They should face their punishment

Well they are not igbos

The Judge said...

U are a donkey. Do those names look like Ibo names? Daft donkey

14yrs is Short. They should have sentenced them for life!

I know the both of them.

Ha! They are always from Nigeria

Good for them then but now had I known will be ringing on their heads,#Abi linda#

Good 4 them

Enter your comment...see their stupid faces let them rot in prison

wen are ever going to learn to stop disgracing our country? Chai Nigerians sha

waffymercyjohnson said...

Serve them right

Bastard does there names sounds to you like ibo names?

Don Jazzy bae said...

See face

ONIFADE OWOLABI said...

Nawa oooo
Dis is serious
Linda

U disgusting tribalist faggot! Those two aren't igbos. They are from Edo. Next time you judge a matter such as this, leave tribe out of it biko. Being a criminal has nothing to do with your tribe but the content of ur character. It's 2016 yo; time to repackage ur silly mind!

Stfu! they are not Igbo

Oya na.
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

Me too...

Fam biz.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Reporting from Delsu.

who told u dey are yoruba u beta knw hw to comment on issue like dis or u just shut up

Omo sharp guys ... But you don't hustle forever , that ain't life

stop giving your country bad name....

Especially that Emmanuel who looks innocent bur dangerous. They should be sentenced then deported back to their villages. We don't need fraudsters in our society anymore

Fraudsters. Pls sentence them i beg then deport them back home