Nigerian-born son of a New Jersey minister kicked out of school for alleged rape reinstated | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 15 January 2016

Nigerian-born son of a New Jersey minister kicked out of school for alleged rape reinstated

They both played football for Temple University and got accused of raping women they met on campus, but that’s where the similarities between Praise Martin-Oguike and Bill Cosby end.
Martin-Oguike, a Nigerian-born son of a New Jersey minister, was kicked off the team and out of school in 2012 after a woman accused him of assaulting her in a dorm room.
Evidence  that the encounter was anything but consensual was so lacking that a prosecutor later dropped charges, but Martin-Oguike found that counted for little at the Philadelphia school.
“I was just trying to prove my innocence,” Martin-Oguike, who missed the 2012 and 2013 seasons as be fought to clear his name, told FoxNews.com. “There were times where people were negative, trying to give me different scenarios and how I could be sent to jail for a long time. And being black, the odds were against me."
Martin-Oguike, a 6-foot, 2-inch, 255-pound defensive lineman, rejoined his Owls teammates for the 2014 season, and just completed a 10-3 season that culminated in a bowl game. Some believe Martin-Oguike even has a shot at the NFL, a dream that if realized, would be testament to his tenacity.

Martin-Oguike's nightmare began in May of 2012 when he was arrested after a senior at Temple accused him of raping her inside his dorm room. Martin-Oguike, who grew up in Woodbridge, N.J., and had never been in trouble with the law, claimed the sex was consensual.
But the school moved quickly, revoking his scholarship and expelling him. He missed the 2012 season, moved back home and wondered if the clock had run out on his future. The next season, while his former teammates were laboring toward a brutal 2-10 record, Martin-Oguike was preparing to stand trial and facing prison time.

As jury selection was about to begin in October 2013, the Philadelphia district attorney's office suddenly announced it was dropping charges due to a lack of evidence.
"Upon further investigation, it was determined there wasn't enough evidence to proceed to trial," Tasha Jamerson, a spokeswoman for the district attorney, said at the time.
But the jury was still out on Martin-Oguike's future at Temple. He was forced to plead his case for reinstatement before a board comprised of students and faculty, and his accuser, who was well known on campus, remained adamant that she had been raped.
“The student conduct process is an internal university administrative process that is independent of the criminal process,” a spokesman for Temple University said in a written statement. “The resolution of a criminal matter does not resolve a student conduct matter.”
Martin-Oguike prevailed, and insists he harbors no ill-will toward the school.
“They did not know me as a person and they had a process. They were just doing what they had to,” he said.
As he approaches his final season next year, Martin-Oguike said he has heard of potential interest from various NFL teams for the 2017 draft.
“I’d like to go to whoever pays the most,” he joked when asked where he would like to play before giving his real choice.
“I would like to play for the [New York] Jets,” he said. “They are close to home and have a lot of connections to Temple.”

54 comments:

Just a pity

*2TINX*

Babylawyer. said...

Okay na. I hv nothing to say.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Plz follow dis link. http://GoTaskPaid.com/?rid=35614

awww! so happy the unfounded rape allegation didn't stop him from actualizing his possibilities.

GOD will surely vindicate His Own

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Crazy

Good luck to him

Accused of raping a white woman I guess...I wish all these people who falsely cry rape will experience it to know how it feels. It's just so difficult not to get annoyed when I remember that woman who was gangraped by four guys in India...they even penetrated her with a metal rod. When you see those rape cases and you see these ones, you just get irritated.

Rape is brutal and shouldn't be a trivial matter....another name should be given for a scenario when a naked woman refuses to let a naked guy have sex with her after enjoying foreplay with him.. not rape please.

mudi X said...

Lucky 7

OluwA go see u through.. Wetin dey reign now na make women dey accuse men of rape even when u Never see lap talk more of pant..

AJ MAIN BOY...

Y rape bois...y rape?

baba said...

Discharged and acquitted

OK ooo

Let's go Linda

OK ooo

Let's go Linda

Dem go every trace his roots back to naija as he do bad thing. Nna na wa for dem oyinbo people. Linda take note!

Enter your comment...rape. Again

Abeg I no read

Quickie dun put u for trouble now, sex after marriage is the best bro, I hope you get out of this mess

Pesin Pikin said...

Thank God he was able to clear his name though...cool

Nawa oo... Nigerian and headlines......

Ok..

Tenancity thank God for your life.

L
Bliss n blossom 2016

Cherry girl said...

wow oriyo e

Bittered white women knows exactly how to twist things around.. And the truth is that their police anyways believe them.. Bad enough is when it's a black guy. Our guys here are jailed on daily basis for rape that never happened.. Racism!!!

Thank God for him. Both his name and his fathers and families name would have been smeared all over with shit.

Hmmmm. Nawao.

#PeopleMustAdjust

BiafraLand

Uzosafetyblog said...

Wow, thank God for intervention. #IRepLIB

Nigerians will always be known either for good or bad. We can't stay unnoticed

Villager said...

Cus he's black

Posh Queen said...

Naija blood still showing despite being overseas, can't this soiling our country ever stop?

Posh Queen said...

Naija blood still showing despite being overseas, can't this soiling our country ever stop?

danex said...

God bless u dear, truth will always stand out.

KC said...

Martins ur destiny shall not be cut short by evil and wicked pple

(Linda d Kim K's fan)

Muna said...

Rape everywia!

lucky martins

okay oo.thankGod u re free

I concur

JAYZSBOSS said...

Nawa oh.. international disgrace

Ghen ghen

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

When he was doing well for the club and for the country we didn't know he was Nigerian but now he Don do bad thing they Don let us know say na NIGERIAN PROPERTY..... ANGRILY LEAVES MY FAVOURITE RED CUP AND WALKS AWAY.... linda Ikeji abeg open gate fast Cos I dey vex... every time Nigerians will be falling our hands outside

One night stand dun ruin ur career

Too much money is misleading him!Abi linda!

Linda pls try and correct the issue am having here whenever I want to post a comment asking me to prove if am not a robot and after proving it I will still be asked the same,pls correct it.

Alpacino D said...

Vindicated at last. At times the world makes u suffer unjustly and dare u to 'do ur worst, if u think u can '

another name should be given for a scenario when a naked woman refuses to let a naked guy have sex with her after enjoying foreplay with him.. not rape please. Korect, it should be properly differentiated

Hold ya dicks. Sometimes it's all a setup to derail you. Heck, someone on the team threatened by you could have paid her to defame you. I know another football player African in jail since 2013 for a lesser accusation in that pennsylvannia. African parents beware of Pennsylvania. His case was m not even rape but he had been in jail despite the prosecutor and judge leaving the system for corruption and ineptitude. His mates graduate this summer. He was a scholar!

Thank God for his intervention....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

God be with you my guy.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Reporting from Delsu.

Ma msi unu hafu umu nwanyi nd'ocha alone, umu nde g'isi'm, mba ''true love knows no color''.

When these white women mess you up finish, your eye will clear.

#TRUTHTELLER

THANK GO FOR YOUR LIFE BRUH

badly behaved