Al-Qaida attack on Burkina Faso hotel leaves at least 20 dead, 33 rescued | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 January 2016

Al-Qaida attack on Burkina Faso hotel leaves at least 20 dead, 33 rescued

Security forces have stormed a hotel in Burkina Faso’s capital where Islamic militant fighters have been holding hostages.
Up to 20 people are reported to have been killed and 15 wounded in explosions and gunfire around the hotel in Ouagadougou, which witnesses reported was partly on fire.
Around 10 vehicles were on fire in the streets near the 146-room Splendid Hotel.

The Burkina Faso government said on Twitter that 33 people had been freed after commandos stormed the hotel, including minister Clement Sawadogo.
Al-Qaida in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM) claimed responsibility for the attack. Citing conversations with the attackers, the group claimed that 30 “crusaders” had been killed in “revenge for the Prophet”, according to the US monitoring group SITE.
The militants took control of the five-storey Splendid hotel in Ouagadougou’s business district, burning cars outside and firing in the air to drive back crowds before security forces arrived, prompting an intense exchange of gunfire.
One witness told Associated Press that he saw four men attack the hotel and neighbouring Cappuccino Cafe at about 7.30pm local time. Another witness said that when security forces arrived, they turned around rather than confront the attackers.
Both the hotel and the cafe are popular with United Nations staff and foreigners. It is located in a busy central area of the capital, not far from the airport.
Robert Sangare, director of Ouagadougou’s university hospital centre, said: “We have received around 15 wounded people. There are people with bullet wounds and people who are injured because of falls.” He said that the injured patients had told him they had seen around 20 bodies in the hotel.
Eyewitness Bagaré Saidou Diallo wrote on Facebook: "The Jihadists were six in number approximately.
"First, they set fire to the vehicles to the surroundings before entering the hotel. "They are wearing turbans and in masks. They all had beards. "They said they were acting on behalf of the Islamic State."
Mr Diallo also said there were between 100 to 150 people in the hotel at the time of the attack as many guests were having dinner.
Another eyewitness, named only as Mathieu, said:
"I was en route to the Akino Faso hotel, arriving at Kwame Nkrumah I saw some cars coming front the other direction which shot at the hotel.
"When I continued towards the hotel there was a (V8) which blocked the way but there was a small space to pas through so I went through it.
"At the same tome I saw three men in turbans with Kalashnikovs who came out of the hotel and started to shoot at the air about 10metres from me.
"I fled from the situation, but I had the time to see two bodies on the floor outside Cappuccino cafe, they were white people.
"At the same moment, there was an explosion in the hotel. "It was not a shot, it was an explosion. "
"So I circumvented the hotel and tried to look for my mother and ask her if we could go back to hers.
"When I passed Kwame Nkurumah again to leave, a man in front of me took a bullet through his passenger door.
"He opened the door and fell out of his car. A firefighter who passed by had seen him and got out to help him. "While I looked for a way to escape there was a disturbance in the street and people started shooting to clear people way. "When I left there was still no order in the place."
The French Ambassador in Burkina Faso Gilles Thibault tweeted:
"Terrorist attack on Avenue N'Krumah. Avoid the perimeter."
Flight radar tracking sites also suggested an Air France flight had to divert its path away from Ouagadougou.
Burkina Faso has remained politically unstable since October 2014 when veteran President Blaise Compaore was overthrown in a popular protest.
Two militants killed 20 people from nations including Russia, China and the United States at a luxury hotel in neighbouring Mali in November last year 2015, before being killed by the security forces.
Three Islamist groups including al Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb claimed that attack, the most prominent by militants who are based in the north of the country and have staged a series of attacks over the last year.

58 comments:

Hmmmm, End time stories, # It is well#

Not again..all we want is peace

funkecrown05@gmail.com said...

Terrorist group everywia,may God help us

Pesin Pikin said...

Omg! May their souls R.I.P

Huuu,God pls have mercy on us .

Only God save us in this world no where is safe

Not again....terrorists do u pple want to finish everyone first,,,,God forbid it

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Sena Job said...

God have mercy

Al-Qaida again... Burkina Faso don enter wahala
God save them those blood suckers

Why are you MUSLIMS always the problem this whole world are having? Is this what your STUPID RELIGION is all about?

Unrest everywhere. No where seems to be safe

They are killing people in the name of fighting for their prophet when the true word of God says Thou shall not kill. These people will be disappointed at last for no man can fight for God, Jesus Christ is the Lord

Babylawyer. said...

OMG! R.I.P. God is watching.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

Dis world has ended, we just don't know it yet. Linda take note!

This blood suckers at it again

My view not urs!!!!

This Islamic militants, naa only God can judge you people... Evil doers

Let's go Linda

This Islamic militants, naa only God can judge you people... Evil doers

Let's go Linda

terror everywhere

Uzosafetyblog said...

Jesus. #IRepLIB

Ade Joke said...

God, please save this perishing world.

wisdomer said...

Rips

Amason Amah said...

What would eyes see with ISIS? It's only the hand of God that can put an end to all these attacks!

Amason Amah said...

What would eyes see with ISIS. It's only the hand of God that can put an end to all these attacks!

Assholes.

Islamic religion is evil , useless brainwashed morons

Hmm aboi it is deep oh only God can help us!!!

durnkayzor said...

Damn...Terrorists are coward! I'd always say this

It's God's grace that we see a new day each day

Jesu, sad ...

God have.mercy...this world is truly coming to an end

princess Stella said...

Rip

princess Stella said...

Rip

Nawa oooo. GOD SAVE US

Guess the world will soon come an end..

Emmanuel Esudue said...

And some group of people will say its Allah's will

ubookmobileblog said...

Ubookmobileblog.com is a m news, gist and gossip media blog. Please visit now and have fun and also contribute to the blog. Thanks as you vist.

Jeez...Lord have mercy on us

JAYZSBOSS said...

End time

Ogwugwu oge
I pity all de terrorists dat de devil is using 2 destroy God's world
Dia own suffering wil not hv part 2
RIP to de dead
Linda dont take note!

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

God which kind madness b dis?

AJ MAIN BOY...

Imagine those who died from illegal sex capable, wa would they tell their creator??

Golda Awosika said...

Wow, God please have patience with the world

Nawao. Bomb them terroist nations now.

#PeopleMustAdjust

BiafraLand

Ezenwa Eze said...

For Burkina Faso again na wa

Ayashyna said...

Rip to d dead

Abdul Mk said...

Arramlnt nonsense..... this people are nt muslem

Jesus alqaida kwa na bourkinafaso God have mercy

Bliss n blossom 2016

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

Where exactly in the world can be said to be a safe place right now! Practically NOWHERE! Father GOD, Pls we your children remain under the shadow of the cross oh! Imagine being killed because someone who is not in anyway related to you that existed thousands of years back was a crusader. This people keep rubbing mud on the face of true Islam. Of course I know there are good Muslims who would castigate and criticize this actions.

mehdi mountather said...

Après ces attentats des marionnettes de satan Al-Qaida Daech Boko Haram en Burkina Faso en Indonésie en Somalie en Nigeria en Syrie en Irak en Turquie normal la fin du monde si la fin du monde Janvier 2016 aux non musulmans de se convertir a l'islam pour éviter l'enfer et pour éviter ces criminels a l'enfer l'augmentation des séismes signe de la fin du monde en islam.

paparazi said...

They should be crushed without mercy.

paparazi said...

jail straight..

Owa said...

Allah, killing people since the 1400s

Fools! They are feeling inadequate since ISIS has taken over they are slowly spreading their tentacles into Africa. Losers!

ATTACKS EVERYWHERE. AND I STILL KEEP WONDERING..WHAT RELIGION CREATES A PROVISION IN ITS BOOK FOR THE MURDER OF INNOCENT LIVES