Onetime
presidential candidate, Chief Olu Falae, who was kidinapped on Monday September 21st by
suspected fulani herdsmen and released on Thursday September 24th, has
confirmed that a ransom was paid by his family members for his release.
Speaking to journalists at his home in Akure, Ondo state today Sept.
28th, Falae said his abductors threatened to kill him on Wednesday
September 23rd at about 3pm if the ransom was not paid but thankfully 20 minutes to 3pm, his abductors came to him and told him"the money don complete".
"There
were six of them with three or four guns and every half an hour or so
they will say, ‘Baba we are going to kill you, if you don’t give us
money we are going to kill you. On Wednesday, one of them came and said ‘look we are going to leave here on Thursday morning. Since we cannot leave you here alone, if we don’t get what we want we are going to kill you. And they said they gave me until 3pm and if at 3pm they don’t get the money they would execute me. I thank God that at 21 minutes to 3pm, one of them came and said, ‘the money don complete’.”he said
Narrating
how he was kidnapped, Falae said “When the hoodlums came, they slashed
me with their cutlasses, they said I was not cooperating. And they
dragged me barefooted into the bush. After dragging me around for about
two hours, they stopped somewhere for us to rest and there they asked me
to phone my wife and tell her that I have been kidnapped and taken out
of Ondo State by car which was a lie. It was about 2.30pm on Monday, We started walking with very few stops until 2am
the following morning. I suspect that I must have covered a minimum of
15km. That morning I did not take anything. So all day I had no food, no
water and I walked close to 15km. How I survived I cannot really
remember. I had no food in my stomach, I had no shoes, my clothes were
torn to shreds. At some point one of them gave me a rubber slippers. We
walked until about 2am. At some point they called for an Okada. At about 2.30am
the Okada man took me way down I had no clue where we were going.
Finally they dumped me somewhere, where I was until I was released on Thursday.
In that place we all slept on the floor on leaves, unfortunately the
rain came in the night and I was thoroughly drenched where I was lying
down. One of them brought a small umbrella to cover my head, my head was
covered, but the rest of my body was not covered. They offered me
bread, but I told them I could not eat it. I demanded for a bottle of
coke, which was what I drank every day to have the requisite strength to
survive and to continue on the march, because they were permanently
moving. They were changing locations at two to three times a day. I
suspect because they did not want the police to succeed in tracing them.
So the following morning they said I should go. One of them took ropes
to stitch my buba which was already in tatters, so that it could at
least stay on me and I wound not look like a lunatic while leaving that
place. So when I came out of the bush, I was able to find an Okada, a
man riding bike, who gave me a lift to Owo. The place was about 10km
from Owo town. The place was between Owo and Ifon. And I walked most of
the distances between my farm to that place and as the farrow flies,
that is about 25km that we had to trek. As I said miraculously I was not
tired, I was not hungry and I was not afraid of them at all. Each time
they said, ‘Baba we will kill you,’ I will tell them, ‘no, insha Allah,
you will not kill me’. I did not break down, but I want to tell you that
when I got back home I became completely exhausted. But I am now 80 per
cent fit and I know in the next few days I will be up again.”he said
He decried the level of insecurity in the country
“It
is not because of me. As for me, I am a very humble person, but by
virtue of what God has made me and the status God has given me, it is an
insult to our race that a man like me could be abducted by a bunch of
hoodlums. By the way, one of them told me, he said, ‘Baba, if after you
leave us you talk nonsense I will come and catch you again’. That is the
kind of insult I received. Only two of them could speak some English.
They were between the ages of 25 and 35. They were Fulani, they spoke
Hausa.”he said
According to Falae, his kidnap is not unconnected with a clash with some Fulani herdsmen who consistently grazed at his farm.
“The
cattle rearers have been giving me a hard time for the past two or
three years. Because I have a dam on the farm, so they like to bring
their cattle there to drink water, then they eat other people’s crops.
This time they ate up my maize farm, two hectares. We took pictures, and
it was videoed, the police went there. They were asked to pay
compensation, they begged and paid half of what we claimed and we
accepted it. That was about two months ago. Whether it was one of them
who went to bring his brothers to come and deal ‘with this wicked man’, I
don’t know. It is plausible. Absolutely plausible. My view is that this
is my home. I have not gone to farm in any other person’s territory.
This is my home where I was born. I have every right to farm here and
live in peace here. So, this is totally unacceptable. I once told the
Commissioner of Police that if he cannot protect us and protect my farm,
that I will protect myself. There will be self-help if government fails
to protect its citizens. It would have been unfortunate if that were to
happen. The IG met me and gave me assurances that they will give us
protection. I hope that we as a community in Ondo State and in Yoruba
land as a whole must go into consultation to ensure that we enhance our
protection. We cannot be slaves in our own territory. These fellows were
permanently on the move. Day and night they were walking" he said
67 comments:
PARENTAL ADVISORY
Of cos we knew
nobody should be trust thia nt what the man said before because he said he did nt pay any money at all y nw talking of paying money olaniyidavid71@yahoo.com
Thank God for ur life and don't ever complain
Really?
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Nigeria police can lie for africa.
Choi!
Thank God he's safe
By d special grace of d Lord those responsible for dis act wil b caught and b brought to book accordingly IJN. Amen!
PARENTAL ADVISORY
Such a bone wrenching story....
Eyahhhhhh , so sad. Thank God you made it out alive.
Looking for where to get quality and affordable beddings? Order@ 5671CDBE, Whatsapp 08189677467 .Delivery available nationwide.
Mcheeew. Nah dem sabi
I thank God for his life, something needs to be done about this spate of kidnappings by these Fulani people, its getting out of hand.
The Nigerian Police sha, check this out please
Funny Video: Cow runs away after its neck was cut off at eid injures people
Na wa for Naija Shocking Video/Pix: Abuja runs girl allegedly slept with a politician for N300k & found worms in her private part after [Very Graphic]
Busted.....
Thank God for your life sir.
Chia, tot buhari guys said police rescued him ND no ransom was paid.
We thank God for your life sir.
As d yoruba adage says "D insect dat eats d leaf reside right inside d leaf". Dis is exactly d case wit wht we just finished reading.
By d special grace of d Lord those responsible for dis act wil b caught and b brought to book accordingly IJN. Amen!
As d yoruba adage says "D insect dat eats d leaf reside right inside d leaf". Dis is exactly d case wit wht we just finished reading.
Why won't d police lie when the president is a chief liar himself
All dat matters now is dat he's back and safe...
Thank God you are alive
Its a pity and very painful that it happen to such a Humble Man, but then its what the Yorubas asked for, we will see the end
Quite right, if the authorities can't protect us we will protect ourselves, but like he said, it will be quite unfortunate were that to happen.
http://nollywise.blogspot.com.ng/
An average Nigerian middle class eats beef equivalent to one cow per annum. None of the elites looks into the welfare of the cattle rearers. As a country we still maintain that colonialist mentality that these Fulanis are low-life nomads. Now that they have asserted themselves in virtually every state of Nigeria, their trade and profession must be taken as a requisite part of our economy. Proper grazing lands and cattle markets should be set out in every state for them. After all are Nigerians not the beneficiary from their services? We must legislate and create policies that make them rich and respectable like other farmers and economic role players. Chief Falaye is a humble and honest man but he should spearhead the necessary reforms following his experience. I believe he habors no hard feelings. One hopes he did not extort money from the cattle rearers using his heavy weight.
Who is to be believed? The police said papa Falae was released without ramsomed paid but now papa Falae said ramsome was actually paid before he was released by abduncter what a rediculus lar or statement was been made by the police?
Let d police commence investigatn by arresting the Fulanis who use cattle to graze in Falae's farm. At least someone signd their surety when they were arrested earlier.
Thank God for ur life
I just recall all the huffing and puffing of the police on this, claiming to have combed the length and breadth of the state and the tough stance it maintained as it bore down on the kidnappers till he was rescued. Kai, Nigeria police, please redefine 'trust' for us, we hapless citizens...!
ABI OOH DTS WAT MATTERS...I SAID IT DEN DT DEY LIED ABT NT PAYIM...NOW DE TRUTH IS COMIN OUT...TOMJERRYSWIT
YOROBA PIPUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!! One of your leaders was taken from his own home!!!!!! IN YOUR OWN STATE for that matter!!!!!!!! And all your useless OPC can do was issue warnings?????? Hahahahaha this is too much!!!!!!! Na wa for una ooooooo! There should literally be no fucking fulani people left in that state right now! Ya'll shoulda handed their asses to them in a calabash. But we all know ya'll ain't gon do shit! Lol.
What nonsense are you talking, Priesthood?
That is unacceptable.....
Baba I thank God for your life, I hope the Devils are caught soon to teach others a lesson!
Chief Falae should fully protect himself and his household by carrying firearms with him . .
Thank God he is well and alive. Linda take note!
OK now, so who do we bliv? Baba or d police?
Police will never tell u ransom was paid,cos if they do,u sef go wan join kidnapping
When somebody don tay for corrupt Police job, come become oga for corruption, wetin una expect from him mouth apart from corrupt statements?
God help us
God bless
God help us
Ife ojor
Ife ojor
Ndi Aboki emebekwugo kidnapping! Ewo oo!, as aboki don begin do kidnapping na em be say matter don finish be dat.
Anyways!, we thank God for Baba Falae's life.
Na me dey talk am using my Galaxy Note 2.
Same applies to all the kidnappers and blood sucking demons and those causing misery and hardship in Nigeria...amen!!!
Idiot! It was the police that said no ransom was paid, the police also claimed that they rescued him, meanwhile he was released! If there's anyone lying, it's the police
Its just sad... I think he's about 77yrs old and he walked barefooted in the bush!!! Imagine! .. I detest kidnappers and other vices of crime... I pray they get caught but unfortunately our police might not do the needful.. God help my Country..
There should be a law restricting Fulani herdsmen to the North. Those people are too devilish, they can do anything and go away with it
Do we eat the cow for free ?? You guys are dumb .. they are business people its their duty to find grazing grounds for themselves. .ur statement shows your thinking is myopic. .so its ok to eat people's crops since you sell meat to them ??
People like you are what's wrong with nigeria. Dnt the fulani get paid for their 'beef'??? Do consumers simply steal the cow from them? What do they do with the money. You better than I know the cost of 1 cow in the market. Please dnt encourage laziness and wickedness. Any self respecting yoruba or igbo man who cattle rearing is his business will strive to provide somewhere for his cattle to graze even if he has to pay for it and work extra to recoup the money. Moreover most of the cattle these fulani people herd might not even be theirs, they might be for these their hausa alhajis who encourage and support their nefarious acts. If they can't take care of themselves and herd their cattle like normal human beings, they should leave the business and see if someone wnt take advantage and man the business up the proper way.
it will never be well with any body who takes another's life or put"s a life in jeopardy. may they and their generations always be the subject of pain and suffering.
Buhari is a Fulani Man, little wonder nothing has been done to stop illicit killing by these Fulanis. They are cattle rearers but they should respect lands owners and must not go beyond their boundaries.After all they make so much moneyin their cattle business why cant they buy lands for the purpose of grazing? farms arround the outskirt of Lagos buys the firm for cultivating must of the vegetable we eat here in lagos.Its time the Government to sincerly address these Fulanis that always want to dominate anywhere they found themselves......Cattle are being reared with AK47..woow
Shut up
Anonymous 11.24 am or whatever,you are a colossal fool and a retard. What makes the Fulani herdsmen different from every other farmers? Normadic education was made available to them which they did not optimally take advantage of . Do you mean they are extra special that extra special provision should be made for them only while other farmers should just be left out abi? Well everybody should be extra vigilant and report suspicious movements because we don't know what the game plan is because we really do not know and can't explain what is happening.to keep Nigeria one is task that must be done. New Nigeria where peace, justice, Equity and prosperity reigns.
Anonymous 11.24 pm or whatever,you are a colossal fool and a retard. What makes the Fulani herdsmen different from every other farmers? Normadic education was made available to them which they did not optimally take advantage of . Do you mean they are extra special that extra special provision should be made for them only while other farmers should just be left out abi? Well everybody should be extra vigilant and report suspicious movements because we don't know what the game plan is because we really do not know and can't explain what is happening.to keep Nigeria one is task that must be done. New Nigeria where peace, justice, Equity and prosperity reigns.
The police statement made it look like they found/rescued him. Basically they did nothing to help. We are doomed in Nigeria
As innnnn. Did they think the man wouldn't tell us what happened
The Yorubas asked for kidnappings and looting? Dude think outside your little box. This would've happened under GEJ. Criticize constructively if you have to. Geez
Unfortunately I have no faith in the NPF so I'm inclined to believe Chief Falae.