Nigerians petition Yale Univeristy to withdraw Honorary degree from Okonjo-Iweala | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 May 2015

Nigerians petition Yale Univeristy to withdraw Honorary degree from Okonjo-Iweala

A Nigerian, Sunday Iwalaiye has started a petition on change.org calling on authorities of Yale University to withdraw the Honorary Degree it bestowed on Minister of Finance and Coordinator of the Economy, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala on May 15th.

Sunday, in his petition stated that Dr Okonjo-Iweala is not deserving of the honorary degree as the Nigerian economy has taken a nose dive since she assumed office as Minister of Finance. A thousand Nigerians have so far signed the petition.

His petition below
"YALE UNIVERSITY GAVE ITS PRESTIGIOUS HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREE TO AN UNDESERVING NIGERIAN":Ngozi Iweala, the outgoing Nigeria's finance minister was awarded a honorary doctorate degree by Yale University on May 15, 2015.

The citation from the Yale University reads:"Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Doctor of Humane Letters. You are a citizen of your country, your continent, and the world. Shaped by challenging experiences during your childhood in Nigeria, you have made social and economic reform your mission. As Nigeria’s coordinating minister of economic development and minister of finance, you have tackled corruption, created a vision and path to long-term economic stability, and worked to build a culture of transparency. At the World Bank, you made food security a priority and provided policy advice and capital for the world’s poorest countries.

With wisdom, a fierce dedication to doing what is right, and unflagging energy, you have transformed the economic landscape of your nation. We are proud to name you Doctor of Humane Letter" This citation from the Yale University does not reflect nor represent everything that has happened under the watch and the supervision of the Nigerian economy by Ngozi Iweala as the nation's finance minister. There is no tangible evidence of any economic development in Nigeria under the leadership of Ngozi Iweala in all reality. Nigeria's economy is still an oil-dependent economy that is debt and borrowing ridden as well as 100% consuming and importing in nature.

Nigeria's debt profile has risen rapidly under Ngozi Iweala and Nigeria has borrowed over $2 billion in the last four months alone to pay salaries of the federal and state civil servants. Our foreign reserves and excess crude oil accounts have both depleted heavily under Ngozi Iweala. The recurrent expenditures in the federal budgets reached the highest levels which made capital development practically impossible in Nigeria under Ngozi Iweala.

The board of regents of this ivy league school missed it completely by awarding their prestigious honorary doctorate degree to an undeserving Nigerian in all truth, honesty and reality. The Nigeria's economy has remained the same under Ngozi Iweala without any evidence of its diversity from oil.

The Nigerian Naira crashed to its lowest value in its history under Ngozi Iweala. The true picture that Yale University missed is the fact that the economy of Nigeria has almost grounded to its final halt today which will makes its a daunting task for the incoming administration of General Muhammadu Buhari to meet its campaign promises.

The menace of official corruption and financial scandals have both reached their peaks in Nigeria under Ngozi Iweala. A central bank governor was fired for disclosing that $20 billion was missing from the federal coffers and this allegation was investigated in a shady and questionable manner. The oil subsidy scam that cheated Nigeria's tax payers of trillions of Naira was coordinated and supervised by Ngozi Iweala.

The culture of official corruption and state resource mismanagement were both honored, celebrated, protected and defended under the leadership of Ngozi Iweala as the supervising coordinator of the Nigerian economy. To give a honorary doctorate degree to an undeserving Nigerian by this world's reknown university is the biggest slap on the faces of the 180 million Nigerians in 2015. I am using this social medium to appeal to the board of regents of this prestigious university to withdraw this honorary degree that they awarded to this Nigerian immediately and without any further delay for the sake of posterity

259 comments:

1 – 200 of 259   Newer›   Newest»

Congrats mum. Lindaobserve

Achievement

Naija pple wit deir bad belle...anyways is allowed

Their cup of brukutu!

7f098c19 said...

the stupid group who petitioned Yale uni, deserves to be laughed. hahahahahahah. face your local school here and leave Yale row more awards to brilliant igbo leaders. beef talk. Engr Emy

WIZKID's ADVISER said...

But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why??????But why?????? starboystarboystarboystarboystarboystarboystarboystarboystarboy

So much from this world my pipo.

tomisyn said...

Very true! Undeserving

I try signing but dont knw hw to go about it.....

I KNEW IT WHEN SHE WAS GIVEN THE AWARD THAT YORUBAS WILL NOT BE HAPPY

Better she doesn't deserve it. Nigerian leaders they are all looters.

they should leave this intelligent woman alone . She was the best finance minister Nigeria has ever had. Shes a great performer and has really performed excellently

Why na?

Even roadside mechanics are discussing ECONOMY with all d fervency of scholars

Dave Mide said...

Am sorry but i think the guy is right! Dunno why that title was conferred in the first place. Honor wetin ...

Amaka.u.l said...

Hmmmmmmm,Good English n facts but aw does that concern them??

Bad Belle dem... Truth is she worked, she's still working and she'll keep working.. Leave her alone!!.. Like say na Yoruba or Hausa dem give na una no go talk. Iwalaye or whatever fuck off!

Sunday ur a big ass fool, no mata ur hate it doesn't change d fact that she's more intelligent than u will eva be, with ur skull that is full of cobwebs. Jobless goat, guess ur looking for ur 5mins of fame, make sure to use it properly DWEEB

Still wondering the basis considered before she was been awarded such prestigious award considering the recent melt down the country is facing and the level of corruption been experienced.

Drama

@wizkidayo Fanatic said...

See hw she's smiling lyk one barbie doll...with her fat chicks...wen we we're here dying for B.Sc she's earning PhD

Well if she didn't deserve it she wouldnt have been honored, your petition will not be taken in to consideration,besides Yale is an ivy league school one of the most prestigious school in the world pls don't mistake it for OSU or lasu lol

Where can I sign the petition?? She dies not deserve it!!

Sunda ibu onye afo ojoo! I pray de won't listen to u. Mtchew!

Good one,i append my signature too...

Well said my brother, we need more of this from us youths, enough is enough!! Haba!!

Thank you,exactly my sentiment.Ngozi did a whole lot @ the world bank and to some extent Nigeria during OBJ's regime.But that's all there is to it.This past four years has brought out some confusing aspects to the efforts of the minister. I remember when Charles Soludo challenged her on critical issues affecting the economy and she waved it aside and even saw him as a detractor.Is it not the same Iweala that helped wipe off our debt? Why is she pushing this regime to borrow a lot ,citing example with countries with US,that they too borrow? Why is the economy dwindling before her capable hands?Something is going on and this award isn't well deserved.But then what do I know?

Mr. Sunday ya'll got all my full support on this and if there is any other thing to do in withdrawing this tissue paper from her l also stand by you.

These yoruba people will never allow the sleeping dog to lie; until they get the trouble they are looking for.
bunch of cowards

Goaldyn Boy said...

How does this motherfvcker expect to achieve anything in his life when he has made it his life duty to pull the woman down just for being recognized by a foreign institution?!..... Whether the university withdraw their honorary degree or not, will it change anything? Will it revamp our economy?! Meanwhile, Nigerians are buying honorary degrees in Nigerian Universities as if they are buying bread and akara! What is so special about the one awarded by Yale University?!.....This why witchcraft will never cease to exist in Nigeria, because the heart of Nigerians are so wicked that that they are always looking for opportunities to pull you down!!!

Hahahaha ,can't help but agree sha

WAZOBIA said...

I percieve the hand of OBJ around this movement. I still have my reservations after the article of Soludo some months ago before the general elections.
The same petition should be written to withdraw his referal from other insitutions.
All these hollier than thou seeking for favour and are having questionable characters.

Well said, i cannot agree more!

Sorry mummy such is life

blizy me said...

may God bless u Sunday and bless every Nigerian who signs dis petition. evil woman

WORD!!!!!
WORD!!!!!
WORD!!!!!
WORD!!!!!
WORD!!!!!

bella said...

Dear writer, u have stated ur points. No need to tell them to withdraw d degree cos it won't be withdrawn. Ps: what caught my eyes is where they said she tackled corruption!???? If I hear! D most corrupt administration so far...

I'm signin mine here

This are the facts on ground.Now I'll wait to hear Nigerians say their usual "haters,bad belle,opposition,pull me down syndrome etc etc"

The problem with NOI is that she refused to speak out despite rumors that she told Mr president severally that her colleague(Mrs Deziani) was having a filled day.

This type of stuff comes back to hunt your carefully built portfolio.There's life after governance and NOI should not have thrown her integrity to the winds to save her job(cos we heard that anyone that openly antagonizes ogas Madame is as good as gone.not the real Madame o but the oil Madame).

I hope the award is withdrawn and even if it isn't. I'm happy this came to light so government officials will know not to expect a rousing welcome if they mess up in governance.I hope the incoming government is taking notes.we are watching you all!.

Igbinosa Sarah said...

If I see d petition sef I will sign.

This is serious o. so it is true that the sin a man sinned live after him....

Okay oo

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

Bad belle is allowed

It is so obvious u want to carry more than d derived. U hv no work to do Sunday otherwise you wil not be doing this, by d way, y don't u withraw the honorary degree urself?

God bless Nigeria...

Abegi,go and rest. Everyone wants to be relevant now because a new government is taking over. I wish you luck!

#rootzy#

Where can I sign, I really need to be a part of dis. Linda take note!

I hardly comment on your blog but here is what I have for those petitioners they should go get a life. While their mothers are at home drinking kunu and eating ewedu, someone's mum left the shore of this country to get a better education. This country is still tribalistic, all these junk journalism from southwest should be very careful with their hate journalism on igbos.. Igbos are good learners when they learn, they over do it !! I don talk my own.. Linda you no wan respond to my mail.. You are the next person after ngozi watch your back!!

Chigo said...

pls Linda bring up the link i need to sign mine.Lol!

All I see is Hate! Hate!! Hate!!! I never knew its hurts to hate dis much until now. Too bad dat Nigerians never see anytin good in praising those@authorities.

If d so called person dat is exhiniting dis hate's is b placed in position of authority he or she wouldn't achieve half of wht she achieved.

Dis is d painful tin abt b a hater bcos its easy to judge b a spectator compare to when u r d one involved in it.

Biko he should park well, and desist frm his hate's. She has b honoured, and there is nothing he can do abt it.

Damochedxb said...

Seconded....

CHERRY said...

Okay o!

But why?

He's kinda right though....

She has gotten the award already. So please let her be #onelovefromsnow#

I agree, d honorary degree needs to be withdrawn

A sheer waste of time

Grace n Truth said...

Who is this stupid man? It was Lord Lugard that said that the blacks in Nigeria cut their noses to spite their faces. And how true 100 years later. This stupid fellow thinks that the Yale University, CIA, M15 and different intelligence agencies do not know more about her than the ignorant bofoons parading around and the criminally minded politicians before awarded her the degree? Just another show of shame from a tribal bigot who is dying of jealousy because OkonjoIweala continues to soar high. Well let us see how far his stupid petition will go and I am certain it won't go far. My prayer is that all the hate infested people should really burn up with their hatred and all the jealousy infested people should continue to die in their jealousy. May God continue to bless and keep OkonjoIweala.

(singing ) She be Pako oo, n you you be suwegbe eh eh

rhodajc said...

Wow social media has really given Nigerians power

Who is this fool trying to get popularity through OkonjoIweala's name? Jealousy go kill una

emmanuel said...

So true. I wish they had done their due diligence investigation before awarding her that honorary degree. She's arguably the worst finance/economics personnel on earth. Lacks any form of decency, truth or transparency. God help Nigeria. With people like her no one needs to go to hell. She's hell on earth.

Asmau cleron said...

where do I sign this petition?

It's obvious that Sunday knows little or nothing about the current global economic realities.He also demonstrated very shallow knowledge of Ngozi's responsibilities, lets forgive his ignorance. Congratulations Mrs Okonjo-Iweala

Linda why publish this nonsense from an attention seeking bigot? This man should jump into the ocean already. He is calming to know more about Nigeria than Yale University and business world. I am one of the 180 million Nigerians and this man certainly is lying against me. I congratulate OkonjoIweala for her well deserved award.

I concur...where's d petition pls? I want to endorse it as well.

Sunday Iwajale abi what did you call yourself, shut up. You do not speak for Nigerians but for your demonic god of tribalism. Shame on you.

Where exactly did Okonjo Iweala go wrong. I think she should write a book to remind Nigeria where we all went wrong. She advised and the people and state governors refused to listen tilk hard times befail us.

This man will die o. Ha. See jealousy.

That Frog No Deserve AM. #Lobatan

I love this woman OkonjoIweala. The more they try to tarnish her image the more God lifts her up. A woman for that matter taking these empty criminals to book. OkonjoIweala I dey hail o.

chai....Nigerians gat no joy

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Linda, u for tel us how to sign on the petition or where to go to now, am sure a lot of Nigerians will want dat. was shocked when i initially saw the report.

See as this man dey disgrace himself. Oga Sunday if you fit make you go get your own award abi Yale University na your school?

Where was that impecile, when Shekau was named the 100 most imfluetial people in time magazine? Why did he not petition it. Enemies of progress.

Why would this Mr whoever take Panafon for someone else's headache? Is Yale University complaining? They chose her because of the information they have and this nameless riff raff wants to kill himself.

OkonjoIweala is truly blessed. When enemies gather like this then it means God is really taking her somewhere.

I concur,can i sign please?

1) Okonjo Iweala suggested that the money from the excess crude account be put in a soveriegn wealth fund and saved for the rainy day but what happened. Governor Ameachi chairman of the governors forum said categorically that 'today is the rainy day and that the money should be shared amongst the different states and so they were. Now that we are experiencing "the rainy day" . There is no money to cushion the effect.

Supported by me, this person is very right, Ngozi oko, doesn't deserve that Hon degree @ all.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Wonderful. Please give her a break. She contributed. I am no fan. But give honor to whom is due.

Shame on demon of tribalism infested Nigerians like this man. Thank God Yale University is not for people as brainless as this Sunday man

Okonjo-Iweala is a global product. Being honoured by Yale university with the chair of federal reserve, Janet L. Yellen and Rothschild foundation is no joke. Stop waste your ink petitioning that woman...You won't be heard. To make matters worse, no court has found her guilty of corruption, so stop embarrassing your generation.

oh no

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

oh no

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

oh no

Lukman said...

If they withdraw it, they should give it to you! If you are in her position, you may not know your left from your right!

Supported

9japikin said...

Nigerians..? No real Nigerian would sign dt kinda petition.. They are all bitter bastards!!! Why not we just appreciate our own.. And when they are appreciated outside we hate.. .. Ha!! How dn do u expect things to get better?

David Iyke said...

BAD BELLE FULL EVERY WHERE!

I really second DAT idea jare

Hahahha. Oh man make you go get your own if you fit.

can i sgin this as well... really dont know what yale was thinking....

I concur that the honorary degree be withdrawn. Okonjo-iweala has been lieing to us all the while, telling us Nigeria isn't broke n other lies like " Nigeria economy is growing". I bet she doesn't deserve the honor. All she does is to bamboozle us with fake statistics n using foreign model which will never work in our economy

demmy said...

I support that motion that d honorary degree should be withdrawn! She destroys d ec onomy of a nation with lies and manipulations. She's one of d looters of Nigeria's treasury.

Yoruba and igbo conflict. Because they petition the Texas doctor, a Yoruba man wants to petition mrs okonjo iweala. Ngozi Iweala is not a magician( to quote buhari)Nigerians are very good at killing their own. Its called crab mentality. Please emacipate yurself from mental slavery. No minister can change a whole economy. The economy will be changed by u and I as enterprenuers and inventors. Not pencil pushers. Ngozi has been celebreated world wide, nominated twice as minister. She has never been accused directly of stealing or corruption. Her job is to create policy to strengthen the economy. Which she is doing. It is left for u and i to act on d policy and build d nation. Remember she worked with the world bank. I don't think she got there my mistake. Stop the hate.

Mr Sunday Iwalaiye, today you made me proud! Thanks for giving me the hope that there are intellectually sane Nigerians out there. I will sign the petition with pleasure and honour! Yale must withdraw that insult they call a degree!

BrendaN

I trust that the folks at Yale University have empirical reasons for giving the award to Ms. Okonjo-Iweala. History has proven that Yale University (as an entity) has been more effective, prudent and successful than Nigeria (as a country). If Yale and Nigeria were to be companies, I will definitely buy Yale's Shares over that of Nigeria. Depleting foreign reserve and devalued currency are not the paradigms for evaluating a robust economy. The way we vote and choose our leaders have also proven that Nigerians do not have the ability to recognize a talent. Most of our intellectuals thrive only when they leave Nigeria. So, Mr. Sunday should focus on re-orienting Nigerians on good-decision making, instead of worrying about Yale's decisions on who to recognize.

Jobless fools.leave the woman alone ooooooo

La said...

This woman does not deserve it, most of this honorary stuff is bought lately.

Bulls eye! It was indeed ironical as I earlier stated to award this woman for all the woes she bestowed on the voiceless Nigerians.

Everyday another funny story..

demmy said...

I support the motion that the honorary degree should be withdrawn frm an ec onomy manipulator, a liar. She is one of the looters of d national treasury!

Just loving this strong woman OkonjoIweala. When a man starts to drag something that doesn't belong to him with a woman then you know that Nigerian women are indeed coming of age.

Mr Sunday Abeg take several seats.

this guy is an ignorant something. the foreign reserves have been depleting because the cbn is using it to defend the naira which has been falling because Nigerians(made up of the people in government and the masses and all other minsisters) prefer to use things from abroad and have a greedy type of taste. we keep talking of 20 billion missing money, if he had read the report by the auditors, he'll discover that the people at the NNPC are really responsible for the miissing monies

This man should go and marry his wife and leave OkonjoIweala alone. Haba

Okay heard

Yes ooooo she doesn't deserve it

Nnadoo said...

ndi ara cus she is an Igbo woman.God push this Yoruba man.

These petitioners are daft as their petition.
Do they think Yale is a Nigerian university where you buy degrees and honours. Even a senior officer in the army with no training will buy certificates or Madam Peace who can't string up a sentence will be made honorary perm secretary and can become an 'emergency' professor before May 29th.

Yale is ivy league.
Pure class.
She's the 2nd African or Nigerian to ever be bestowed with the honour.
They can't have done it per ignorantia.
These people investigate facts before delving into things like this.

This woman is an erudite scholar.
One of the best heads and obviously the most internationally prestigious minister in the present Nigeria. These people are just disgruntled because they have been on blogs ranting how she will be prosecuted by Buhari yet as they spill empty words of cacophony, ignorant triffles, d woman is being lauded and bestowed accolades by the bodies that matter. Mind you, it's not the end. She will still go very far in her international career.

I read nothing in this shallow write up to warrant any withdrawal. Infact, there was no empirical evidence to support any of the tripe there.

Nigeria isn't doing well,therefore all the stats of economy growth is wrong?
I feel im suffering, therefore everything I read about economic growth is wrong....! indeed, desperation has a new name.
The petition by these charlatans says that they know she did well in the world bank...cool, that is because the world bank choose 2 bestow her with honour despite the fact that under her watch, some countries were still suffering, some people were still still keeping Swiss and Cayman illegal accounts n international money laundering was going on. they chose to look at the positives!

Okonjo should be finance minister, police, prosecutor, interpol, auditor and everything at the same time? She played her part well and this is why she is well recognised. Let us petition Unilag to withdraw their degrees because one day in his exam hall, he told 1 person answer to a question and the other day, his seat partner was cheating and he didn't raise alarm, aiding and abetting malpractice. Triffles!

Wait till you have solid evidence of embezzlement on her part before you pick up keys and type.

These people should aspire for greatness.
There's still time oh.

Make him bring the petition, i wan sign myself.

How person we wreck our economy go dey collect honorary degree and we know she for don donate our money to the university before dem given am that degree.

JObless Nigerians. What link does the Honourary Doctorate have with her position as a Minister?

Mr Sunday stop hating

The should leave her, it's her luck.

I love u for this post. I was really disappointed when I read abt the award by this prestigious university.

DrDapcee said...

I support this. I wonder why these ivy league universities set double standards. She probably got recognition for allowing billions of dollars from Nigeria's economy to seep into the US. I will sign the petition and encourage others too to do so
Dr Dapcee

DrDapcee said...

I support this. I wonder why these ivy league universities set double standards. She probably got recognition for allowing billions of dollars from Nigeria's economy to seep into the US. I will sign the petition and encourage others too to do so
Dr Dapcee

Eyaa.

Do you know why Nigerians should thank this car? Check out www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com to know what car and why?

#Gbam#

dontJme said...

Mr sunday Iwalajaye or whatever the fuck your name is. You are nothing but a fool and a compound coward!!. You sit at the comfort of home and type shit. Is Dr Okonjo Iweala your president and efcc coordinator? You fail to mention that those greedy governors took the fg to supreme court because the fg refuse to disburse the funds from ECA. You also ignored sanusi`s excesses and insubordination when he was the governor at CBN.

Do you think the people at Yale University are corrupt and they just issue out honorary title to random people without due diligence...?

In your own family, house and street what have achieved? what have you in your whole retarded life to better humanity...

Imbecile!

HaAaaaaaaaa, mama Ngozi go vex 4 dis guy seriously o, bt I think he's ryt sha

this guy is an ignorant something. the foreign reserves have been depleting because the cbn is using it to defend the naira which has been falling because Nigerians(made up of the people in government and the masses and all other minsisters) prefer to use things from abroad and have a greedy type of taste. we keep talking of 20 billion missing money, if he had read the report by the auditors, he'll discover that the people at the NNPC are really responsible for the miissing monies

Please Linda,can we have d link to d petition?? I personally as well as millions others would love to sign it. This woman is totally undeserving of anything. Am sitting down here in 98'F scorching sun queing for fuel becos my country does not have light and d economy is in shambles,meanwhile d so called custodian of same economy has probably flown a private jet to go collect this award...its just absolutely sick!!!! I want d link badly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

God punish you Sunday and your family to the 4th generation!!! What about the one given to Soyinka by same University? Did u ask for a withdrawal given the rubbish he gushes out from his mouth all the time?

On what metrics did u measure the Nigerian economy? If your personal financial condition is bad, blame it on your lazy self!!!

Yoruba people and their envy. That woman is an achiever. Deal with it.

The guy is a big fool. Okonjo is only but an individual. The problems with Nigeria have been there long before the appearance of Okonjo on the national scene. To pick out Okonjo and make her a scape goat is just silly. The lady worked assiduously for our economy, but there's an extent to which one person's efforts can go. I feel like giving the guy one heavy dirty slap. He's a jobless fool.
Chyke
City:Unknown.

Its no lies, things have gotten from worse to worst ever since †Ñ’ξ woman assumed †Ñ’ξ office of Finance. Buh taking back d honorary degree wouldn't change our economy or will it?

She doesn't deserve that award. #iswear

Grace n Truth said...

I pray this woman becomes the president of Nigetia in the future because all the powers this petition has ascribed to her is only the powers a president has.

Grace n Truth said...

And the names of those that have signed if you look closely are possessed by the demon of tribalism. But I like Oyibo people because they do their checks well wel befor deciding on who to give an award to. Not likely demon of tribalism infested Nigeria.

Very good! She doesn't deserve it..it should be revoked!

Bad belle is allowed

Grace n Truth said...

Well I suppose the APC Hausa Fulani Yoruba axis have more than 1000 people so with only 1000 people the petition is a show of shame. They think Yale University will listen tothas though they give money to Yale.Aneg next.

Grace n Truth said...

The person who started this petition and the ones who signed it need deliverance from the demon of tribalism. Yeye people

Grace n Truth said...

Thisi A the one reason why Nigeria is not respected anywhere in the world. Nigeria fights and seviurs its own in worship of tribe and tribal agenda. Why did this fool not start a petition against Obasanjo for the money laundering allegations?

Grace n Truth said...

It is only a sick person that will read this petition and sign it. If the petitioner really was to have something to hold against OkonjoIweala he just wait for her to become president first. Until then his is utter rubbish. But I see where this is going. But all her enemies will continue to fail.

Thisi A the one reason why Nigeria is not respected anywhere in the world. Nigeria fights and seviurs its own in worship of tribe and tribal agenda. Why did this fool not start a petition against Obasanjo for the money laundering allegations?

Nigeria showing why the country remains where it is. Tribe and tribal agenda have messed up this country. Is Yale University this man's property? Ha. Na wah.

My thought exactly.

What is now clear is that unless a person is from a certain section of Nigeria their effort for Nigeria will be disparaged by the evil devil controlled tribalists. Anyway God will fight for OkonjoIweala because I know she is an upright hardworking woman. All her enemies will be put to shame.

1000 signatures ke? And no campaign against Obasanjo for money laundering? I smell the devil of tribalism. When will Nigeria grow up?

klinsmann said...

SECONDED

I continue robots for OkonjoIweala because she really threaded where men fear to tread. But she has come out yet again on top. God will continue to help her o.

I just sense jealousy in this so called petition.

APC idiots at work.I hope this country will not divide sha.What kind if senselessness is this?

But which country has there ever been a perfect economy? What she has achieved far outweighs the ills his fellow has attributed to her and I am sure that Yale looked at all this before awarding her the much deserved honorary degree. So this man should just take several seats.

This is bullshit! When Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala recommended the stoppage off FUEL SUBSIDY PAYMENTS to Independent Oil Marketers. Some Nigerians (including Labour Leaders) held the Federal Government to a ransome with strike action. The crude oil which our ECONOMY depends upon, has dropped drastically in price as we all know. So when we Nigerians choose to live above our means by continuing to support THE FRAUDULENT FUEL SUBSIDY REGIME, what do we expect to get in return if not DEBT, DEBT & MORE DEBT. OKONJO-IWEALA has done well, she has played her part like the EXPERT that she is. It takes more than one, to TANGO. More AWARDS will come her way in JESUS NAME! AMEN!

Angela Judy said...

Why? Because her name is not Funke or Halima.

Nky said...

How possible is it?

Sad that this fellow is a Nigerian. Why must we always disgrace ourselves because of tribalism internationally? Anyway I am certain Yale and co will it even pay attention to this useless unheard of fellow looking for cheap publicity on OkonjoIweaa's back. He is probably another Obasanjo stooge hating on OkonjoIweala and supported by madam jealousy herself Oby Ezekwesili and her brother Soludo and their mini master El Rufai. Na jealousy go kill all of tj

This man certainly does not speak for me because I am one of the 180 million Nigerians. He is a disgrace. I hope someone starts a petition against this tribal bigot for tribalism with intent to smear and damage.

Stupid man.

Isn't this man ashamed of himself? Is it her fault that Yale chose her and that Yale doesn't even know your name? OkonjoIweala really rouses jealousy in people. That just means Godbis really taking her somewhere.

abujakenneth said...

Baseless petition. Yale authorities know more than us and the dundee petitioner

Cyril said...

Na wa o! It is only in his country that a prophet has no honour. These are the people that don’t expect any good thing to come out of Nigeria. Moreover, it is a slap on the face of the board of authorities to say that they don’t know what they are doing in giving Okonjo-Iweala the award. If it was moinmoin, many more Nigerians would have been honoured since Soyinka in 1980.

Okpara said...

This is serious. Nigerians are now taking their partisan politics to the international community. I wonder what the innocent Okonjo Iweala has done to them to deserve this kind of treatment. They forget that the Nigerian economy would have been worse than this if it was not for her expertise. Yale, thank you for seeing beyond the partisan politics prevalent in Nigeria and honouring our own. God bless you.

Cyril said...

Na wa o! It is only in his country that a prophet has no honour. These are the people that don’t expect any good thing to come out of Nigeria. Moreover, it is a slap on the face of the board of authorities to say that they don’t know what they are doing in giving Okonjo-Iweala the award. If it was moinmoin, many more Nigerians would have been honoured since Soyinka in 1980.

George said...

So if Yale University missed it, what about the boards or organisations of all the other awards Okonjo-Iweala has received from other prestigious organisations. Forbes, Fortune, African Finance Minister for 2015 the list goes on. The truth is that her record is remarkable and unbeatable by her haters which include these petitioners.

Olawole said...

This is a sponsored petition. Whoever sponsored this petition has a personal score against the Minister of finance. Instead of resulting to cowardly act by sponsoring petitions against a honourary award that was giving to the minister, he should come out in the open. The minister is not responsible for the present state of our economy. But the crash in the oil price since Nigeria is a mono economy.

Bada Agbekoya said...

We live in a country where women leadership is seen as a taboo, a vice and a sacrilege. To some people it is a crime for a woman to even be educated. Has anyone ever wondered why once women are given important positions, they suddenly become an object of public criticisms? This is the case with Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the Minister for Finance and Coordinating Minister for the Economy.Is this why some lousy elements are calling for the withdrawal of the Yale awards?

Yomi Alade said...

Yale has their criteria and for them to have honoured Okonjo Iweala with an award, she must have met their criteria. The petition for withdrawal by agrieved Nigerians is for their own selfish interest that can be traced to political inclinations. No matter what they do, the innocent will always be vindicated and promoted. Yale thank you for honouring our own.

I cant fathom why an highly historical institution like yale should award a women who had ruined our economy Ngozi should be arrested for economic genocide.

Hello Sunday iwelaiye! U got it wrong this time! Baseless petition!

What you don't understand is that the white man is more advanced in his thinking and would definitely have carried out investigations already. The recommendation of experts would have been gotten before bestowing her with such an award.

1) Okonjo asked for money from excess crude account to be put in a soveriegn wealth fund and governors led by governor Amaechi asked for the money to be shared. Our national treasury started deplinishing.
2) she asked for fuel subsidy to be removed. We all kicked against it and hundreds of millions of Naira that should have been in the National treasury has been paid the oil marketers as subsidy.
3) In the face of falling oil prices and war on Boko Haram she made policies that helped out GDP to grow and become the biggest economy in Africa. Some might say on paper but it would eventually translate to more foriegn investments and jobs and growth of industry. Why was it not "on paper" in previous administrations because they were nit able to do anything about growing the GDP.

sisi said...

Yes. This is good to hear. She was an agent of destruction to the Nigerian economy.

This same problem about the economy we are complaining about ie having the economy grow on paper but not reach the ordinary citizens was the same problem the conservatives in UK during their elections last month but they were still voted in because the electorate their is more informed and educated. They understood that they would reap the reward of their sacrifice of the last 5 yrs in the coming 5 yrs with more investments coming in to create jobs and industry.

Bounteous said...

This guy is mad, the economy is what it is today because of so many reasons and nothing to do with Ngozi. As a matter of fact, she has tried her best for the country

Enemies of success.Is Obj and Tinubu the are given accolades much better than Ngozi . Please tell me any of Nigerian past leader that is worthy of an award yet the are decorated with accolades every now and then .

Chinwe Uba

I second this your opinion jor....

Stories 4 d gods jare

Amazon said...

Show me a fool and I will show you Sunday Owalaiye! He might end up ending his career with his stupid and senseless petition! A big fool

State governors are given state allocations every month to take care of their states and instead of doing that they will squander the money on their selves, family and elections and you want to blame the Finance Minister for that. Shame on them. Thank God Oyibo get sense pass us. They will see past through all the hatred dished out on this lady who did her best to help Nigeria.

Pearls said...

I want to sign the petition as well, how and where can I do that?

Well written. I agree with this 100% I only wish I could sign the petition!

Some of you people don't know how the real world work...She has done the job she was sent to do by the west ....help destroy a rising African economy ...so she is being rewarded by her real masters....All this talk and petition na bullshit...The white man runs the world

"You don lie". Oyibo pass you. Before you know it they will make her President of World Bank.

T.Swag said...

Yes please. She has destroyed this economy. even a 2 yr old will whole heartedly agree

Whoever petitions Yale must be patently stupid. People shouldn't do things based on tribalistic sentiments otherwise we will also petition Yale to withdraw Wole Soyinka's doctorate for unleashing cults on Nigeria after all he is the father of cultism in Nigeria

They won't withdraw it, plus she is not guilty, she obeys her boss and her boss did some bad things.
maybe you should be content now that we know your name.

Yale University will soon give this man a reply that will make hinm look very stupid.

THIS GUY IS MAD
ANYWAY WHAT DO ONE EXPECT FROM SPOILT YORUBA BRAT?

this man is mad, anyway what do one expect from spoilt yoruba brat?

I concur

AGWUNCHA said...

The fellow that wrote this is a big idiot,anyway, probably for cheap popularity. 1st you should av attacked Yale as a nonsensical and biased institution and not a recipient. 2nd. raise your own institution and award to your own kinds probably Rev King would be your first recipient.EWU HAUSA

this guy is mad, anyway what do you expect from a fool?

Is Okonjo Iweala Minister of Power or Minister of Petroluem. Abeg they should leave this woman alone. She don try.

this guy is mad, anyway what do one expect from a fool?>

Obioha Nnamdi said...

Please how do I apply to sign against this honour wrongly bestowed on her. Ngozi Iweala really shamed us all; as the Economic Minister of Nigeria. Too bad! Shame on her administration!!!! & Economic policies

Obioha Nnamdi said...

Please how do I apply to sign against this honour wrongly bestowed on her. Ngozi Iweala really shamed us all; as the Economic Minister of Nigeria. Too bad! Shame on her administration!!!! & Economic policies

Obioha Nnamdi said...

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 259   Newer› Newest»