Photo of baby born with traditional beads in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 May 2015

Photo of baby born with traditional beads in Lagos

A 52 year old grandmother, Mrs Funke Adamson reportedly gave birth to a baby girl who came out clutching white ‘Ileke’ (Yoruba name for beads) at a trado-medical center in Apapa, Lagos on May 11th. Vanguard reports that the grandmother who is already experiencing menopause, said a traditionalist informed her that she was going to have a "special child".
“I received a message from an Osun Custodian who said that a child is on the way for me. I didn’t believe him. I didn’t realize until the baby was three and half month old when I began to experienced flow of membranous fluid.
So I started praying before I later discovered that I was pregnant. Also, while trying to open a perfume, it caught fire, which made me suffer severe burns. After discovering the pregnancy, I couldn’t sleep without having a dream. In these dreams, I often found myself sitting at the shore,” Funke added. After her birth, the grandmother explained that the traditional healers who attended to her raised alarm that they found the baby clutching white beads. When I heard this, I was afraid. I told them to inform my husband for any possible solution. Rather than demand that they discard the beads, he said they should be kept. After regaining my strength I removed the beads and tied it on her wrist,” she said. Corroborating her story, the husband, Hamzat said “I was surprised when I saw the baby delivered holding beads in his hands. But I realized that the beads are important and that was why we have decided not to throw it away.”she said
The couple have since christened the baby Bukola. The traditionalist who reportedly prophesied her birth said;
“I was consulting the deities when I got the revelation that she would be blessed with a unique gift, which I told her. But she didn’t believe. Later, when the revelation was further revealed that she will be blessed with an important child, she declined, saying that she cannot conceive at her age. She said so because of the family planning she had earlier done and considering her age. But as prophesied, few months later, she called me and told me of the signs she discovered.”

142 comments:

Oshe superstition

Story.

Yoruba and juju. May God save them.

Hmmmmmmmm, no comment

Yoruba people and juju. May God save them.

Lies. Dem for born am with cloth join na. next plz!!!

It's beads now...no more holly book

From Christian rosary to moslem shit and nw , traditional beads, who writes this kind of rubbish

CUTE BBY, DE MUM SHUD CHECK HER SOURCE....TOMJERRYSWIT

APPLELIPX said...

And we are sopose to clap n hail them for this. Children are a gift from God
Someone may have put those beads on the baby while the mother laid tired n weak from labour

Hmmmmmmm strange things are happening in this world

Wat du u expect....base on old mama tins naw,d baby gats let dem knw say na old mumcy born her naw

Oh stoppit already!

Hmmmmmm, story sounds lik super story, and those stories u listen to b4 going to bed as a child.

Linda, why you come publish dis kin fake news naaa?

eeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrr...........Seriously???????? Mouth closed and sealed

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Non of my biz. But the baby fine shaa

Yoruba people why nau?

A 52yr old grandmother? That's a miracle.....

No comment on dis. Let's me sit and read comments

Birth after menopause happens once in while. Baby clutching beads? Scam.

Super story, Na dem sabi.

Dis one na ibile,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

APATA---------------------ROCK OF AGES

Akuko ifo

Nawa oo.

MAMA IYABO said...

THINK THIS INNOCENT CHILD HAD BEEN SERIOUSLY INITIATED INTO THE MARINE WORLD. TRADITIONALIST AND CONSULTING DEITIES..... THERE IS MORE TO THOSE BEADS

You'd better begin to pray and preach salvation to your baby and even yourself if not you'd regret embracing the devil for the fruit of the womb.. john 8:44.

LIARS!!!!!!!!

All na super story joo, this kind of story only come up in a trado centre or mission, why don't we have a baby born with such in an hospital, it's all planned I don't believe this bull shit

Story by Africans and for Africans and people still buy it.....mtsewwww

Nd she came out with d ear- rings on her ear too right?

Ewooooo! If I talk now

Jonpinjeff said...

This is an old traditional form of advertising. It is based on falsehood and is as old as Trado Medicine. Don't be fooled!!

Strange stuff

vera said...

If I hear! no be koran again na beads! Thank God for her o o

So weird!

Strange things happening

Mysterious child. Hope your mission is positive..

Scam!!!

All i see is angel gabriel, mary,joseph and a child called jesusphine!

Liar, liar, liar!!!

I see.... I no believe shah...

What about her waist? beads no dey there? lie lie

Automatic yeye osun. Linda take note!

Ukwa

God v mercy

God v mercy

U see urself sitting by d shore!!! Dis one don born queen of d coast for us. Na wa!!!

na wa oooo, wonders shall never end, wetin person no go hear for diz life. d baby looks cute tho.

Yeah right!

superstition, i don't believe in all this

story for d gods!!

Linda, you're too advanced for this type of unrealistic, silly news

Just like the trekking fiasco babies with rosary and beards are the new rave Nigerians I hail o

story for d gods...indeed

QUEEN B said...

@which hospital? We need d hospital.

I tend to b skeptical when it comes to news like this, the veracity of this news is no doubt questioned, lots of questions to b asked and answered. Or maybe its a miracle baby like Jesus who knows

Hiaaan kwa. Na wa oh... This story has made afraid to catch me oh. Abeg is this an abiku episode cos im confused. If na days of old them go say na evil child. Well deliverance is the way forwards.

Hmmmmmmm #Lobatan

Na Lie. Lynda I think u should sometimes try and verify d authenticity of d stories u publish so dat dubious characters wit ulterior motives will not rubbish dis beautiful blog u hav labored to package very well. Lynda if u don't know u ar now d talk of d town as far as social media is concerned. Pls keep up ur good work

yes. they don come again. mchweee...

She is a native doctor.

Lies

Spontaneous. said...

Beads! As in how? Hmmm... So people still worship these things

Tales by moonlight things

How many stupid talks we go hear fr ds world...d fact dt many of us biliv crap lik ds shoz still d level of ignorance in our society...smh

I no see
I no believe
Unless science xplains

Yes ke, I like dis. Baby born wit quaran, cross, now osun emblem. Evry religion must maga us.

THIS PIKIN NA OGBANJEEEEEEEE

Mrs Power aka MP said...

Hia!!!!! Lekwa ndia.

Nicole said...

This story is just weird ! What were traditionalists doing with her when she gave birth? They probably placed the beads on the baby themselves. Mtcheew! Both mother and Child are in dire need of deliverance . Why are people so fetish ?

Nawa...

I'm still chilling for d day I will start believing stories like dis

nonye said...

The child will probably explain wen he grows up. Though I wonder wat a Christian grandmother wld be consulting a diety for

Super story..very fake!! They are looking for attention.

Mscheeeeeeew! Gist of the the century. Scam of the millennium. Una nor well!

Una don start again oooo from quran to bible and now ileke soon Indian hemp

H. Mxxx said...

Lies upon lies upon lies ..funny stories like this always come from the WEST. WHY? If they r not giving birth to baby with Koran in this hand,they r giving birth to baby with bead.Very soon they will give birth to baby with Money . Fetish bullshit.

Crazy story,so who want 2 believe d yeye write up abegi..

Pidgin Mistress said...

Ooooo what a miracle and wonderful story, is it God dat gave her a special child or "Amen" in my dialect.

Abi ooo,after now boko haram 2 go say dem born pikin wit gun nd knife..sheooor.

this baby might just be possessed o.

Sunnybills said...

Diversionary techniques. The baby may not be hers hence d story so people won't ponder in the source of the baby. Detective thoughts

Anon u too funny I swear!!!!!!

She could be a mermaid!

Super story part 90 episode 1

super story part 90 episode 1

Please, who knows about the child that was given birth to with beards?

all lies

I am sorry I don't believe

Story for the Gods

The whole family needs deliverance ooo! they have been besiege by the evil power, dominating the family life!!! these are the destiny changer !! grandmother u need dry fasting to recover your baby's destiny!!

Story for d gods

It's all lies, cooked up story to attract attention. Rubbish

This is mysterious. Hmmmm. How did they bead get to the wrist. Is even white bead. Hmmmmm odikwa egwu and imposicant

SWILL MARTIN said...

Dat piiikin na queeen 4 d oda side oooo dis 1 weey d woman de dream see her aelf 4 shooore so.

That one na Ogbanje pikin o
all the signs are there.

Ifeshe claim the baby was holding a bible or a Quran, Muslims and Christians will flock to see the baby. Too bad the Mami water warshiper population is less than 2 lol.

I call on the Nigerian police to demand a DNA test from the woman and her husband. A woman her age not given birth at a hospital is questionable. The baby might be a port Harcourt baby or a kidnapped one. Alison the fact that she's already in menopause makes her story bullsit

hummm nothing person know go hear for the our world.

Kwashman said...

Pls, Let this baby be eliminated, before she grows wings and create problem for Nija,, Nija problem plenty, make we no add more, pls is obvious that this baby is a sirit

story for the gods only......not approved by me so it invalid kowee

Nimelda said so....

Dem don come again o. no be mini Quran again, na white beads fit do am now. Congratulation to Iya Osun

Ode

Well said. This one she dreamed seeing herself in shore.#MarineThings# I wish the baby will grow up to know God so she can go for proper deliverance.

linda, dis no news. n u fink we wld belive dis? after d baby is all dressed up. y not snd d pix of fluid n blood, her naked pix n d beads, then i will belive, tanx

Well said. This one she dreamed seeing herself in shore.#MarineThings# I wish the baby will grow up to know God so she can go for proper deliverance.

Lies

Deceivers. Ode

I believe dem cuz my mum gave birth to me wearing nerd glasses and holding Oxford dictionary. #Rotfl# yeye dey smell.lol

Ihe neme

Alagbado-ode said...

Big lies, superstition, ignorance, deception and criminality and 419!

Foolish worm,u no sabi whether na dat pikin go save ur ass

I call dis super story or bed time tales. Too good to b true.

All ds baby born with bible, koran, beads, dagger, knife, and d list goes on NA LIE!

Wonders shall never end

IGBO AND OKIJA SHRINE.

ASF said...

ONLY IN NAIJA THEM DE BORN PIKIN WITH THINGS. ONE DAY PERSON GO BORN PIKIN WITH CAR KEY. Nonsense, premitive people and religious drown society.

LIES, LIES AND BIGGER LIES

Hmmmmm

Yorubas sha... I'm yet 2 understand dm. Pls don't get me wrong, I love all tribes. But Yorubas ll say dy re Christians, yet dy keep meeting traditionalists, deity stuffs. Dy re jst 2.. Fetish and it's unfortunate it's generally accepted by dm. In a Yoruba home, no matter hw religious dy re, u must find a traditionalist among dm,Y?

Afis Oseni - A1 Concept said...

It look like a yoruba movie

https://store-ioeei8j.mybigcommerce.com/blog/buyback-tradein-your-phone/

Wallahi iro ni jooor! Osun ko ogun ni..abegg gbe fukin oro e ku ro!

crazy but able said...

Lol it's way to early to be hating..

I hear.....story for rhe Gods

My own analysis- woman cud av bin too tired after delivery cos of her age and one of the diabolical nurses dat delivered her of the baby quickly wears d baby dat. So stop decieving urself Old woman. How come we dont hear of this kind of Miracles abroad eh, babies born with quoran, bibles and beads. My advice - Dear woman quickly tk that child for deliverance and denounce all u hv with d devil and delivish trado medical team

An Oracle had been Born!!! A Cute one though :)

Why Yoruba?different tales comes in from different parts of the country \world. Why single Yoruba out ?

That baffles me as well. But then I guess its part of their Culture.

U pole should stop this Yoruba harassment now. We hear more superstitious stories all over d world everyday.

Why not take a pic from d moment d baby was delivered then I can believe. Not pics of days after

Not only beads but also with Nigerian flag, traditional cap and staff.

U a totally wrong about ur perception of the Yorubas. There a lots of Yoruba families without any link whatsoever with traditionalism. U a just biased. I'm very sure ur family too can somehow linked to a traditional believe except u a not African.

Osunbukola, yeye osun

Hard to believe....

And am suppose to believe this lie?right?mtchew...

Osun yeye ooooo

Osun yeye o