Buhari must start his administration by jailing thieves – Kokori | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 May 2015

Buhari must start his administration by jailing thieves – Kokori

Human rights activist, Chief Frank Kokori, says the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari, should start his administration by prosecuting and jailing looters as soon as he's sworn in on May 29.

Kokori, who is a former General Secretary of the National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, said this on Thursday.

The activist said by immediately prosecuting looters, Nigerians would have an idea of what the Buhari administration stands for and change would gradually set in. He said,
“You cannot change everything in four years but when Nigerians start seeing little changes in three to six months and then in one year and you see people being prosecuted and jailed for stealing public funds, and the government ensures that all the funds that were taken overseas are recovered, there is no way the needed change will not come.  
“Why should Nigeria have up to $250bn in stolen funds abroad and only $35bn in our foreign reserves? The international community is aware of this and the incoming government is not foolish. Anybody that thinks he has stolen and will go scot free must be deceiving himself because if any thief goes scot free, then the All Progressives Congress-led government is not serious. 
“So, the APC government must make sure that Nigerians that stole money are prosecuted and jailed while the money should be retrieved. Nobody should run a government by saying you will forget the past, no. The way Nigeria is today, people must be punished for the pains they have subjected Nigerians to".
Punch.

72 comments:

Buhari shud leave d past behind and start afresh....

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Hope u no dey thief o

By jailing thieves? Since wen did he bcom a judge to jail pple? All he can do is make sure d judicial process is transparent n fair.

If u re among d thieves nko????????

APATA---------------------ROCK OF AGES

U will definitely be d first victim

We don't have that luxury of time to be vengeful and thieves hunting. As it currently is, we are in ruins, so the mantra should be rebuilding hope and confidence.

Change is finally here, we've said bye bye to Jati Jati and rada rada.
People will be made scapegoats.

APPLELIPX said...

Everybody has a say in buari's government
Nice... I wish u all had adviced GEJ early enough too

Mr Kokori are u sure u won't be one of them?
These people shud let this man do what's
best for this country & not trying to tell him
how to run the affairs of the state.

I BLIF U KNW U WILL BE PART OF DE THIEVES...I STRONGLY SUPPORT DAT AND HE SHUDNT SPARE SOME AND JAIL SOME...TOMJERRYSWIT

"Na today"... Let watch, and see wht wil happen wheb he come in to power.

That wouldn't start and end... it's continuous. even if Buhari decides to pardon them.. God's judgment still awaits them.. The masses are suffering and they are wining and dining. Micah 2:1

Dat shld b d numba 1 change we will c..

is not what Nigeria needs...he should move Nigeria forward first...if you are given such opportunity you met even be worst than those people you call thieves...#Nigerianfirst#

Wahala dey ooo
Hahahahahahaha
No b small tin ooo
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

AppleofGod'seye said...

Yes!i support dis

GBAM!!!

vera said...

Including you and your APC members!!!

this is not want Nigeria needs now....he should move Nigeria forward first...mr frank if you are given the opportunity you met be worst-er than those people you call thieves

MAMA IYABO said...

WELL SAID SIR. BUT I HOPE THE SAME LAW WILL BE APPLICABLE TO TINUBU, OBASANJO AND THE LIKES OF THEM?????

Word!

I agree

I support with all my body. Linda take note!

You can collect the looted money back without jailing anybody, the best way forward is how to get those money that are stolen back not jailing.

sean said...

Starting from you

Yes, I support u sir. Let thrives n looters bt prosecuted n jailed.

U r right sir,

Yes, I support u sir. Let thrives n looters bt prosecuted n jailed.

U r right sir,

well said. change must come.

Hmm a lot is expected from the retired general but this I can confidently say that he'll sanitize the country.It'll be easier to be a thief in USA than in Nigeria.All these unscrupulous elements will be put in the right place they belong

yes, that's true, jail the thieves

Charity begins at home. He must start with Tinubu.

i agree, please Governor Godswill Akpabio is the number one thief that must be jailed.

Thank u sir may God bless u, this man is very right.

bella said...

Good its coming from a Human right activist before d blind bats will tag him anti-GEJ or Muslim. Mtcheew... Nd Linda if u like dnt post my comment cos v noticed uv not been posting my comments.

Good 1. Jonathan shud be D 1st #Lobatan

In as much as some Nigerians are sharpening their axes for a pound of flesh from the outgoing administration. let us all remember that being vindictive will not give us stable electricity, affordable health care, good education and good governance generally. According to British prime minister's advice that the incoming administration should prioritize and not try to solve all the country's problems at once." Obama also added that we should strengthen our institutions rather than individuals.

Spontaneous. said...

You will b the first he will jail...

Why should Nigeria have up to $250bn in stolen funds abroad and only $35bn in our foreign reserves?

Emmanuel Fan said...

He has no right to do that. Even if he has, he should start from his self,thiefnubu,lairmoharmmed ALL the association of present criminals (APC). Bush men.

*Linda's best friend*

Pidgin Mistress said...

Hmmmm wahala dey o o o

Will jailing them bring back the stolen mony

Yes !!!! Yes !!!! I love this. Immunity must be removed too. No light , no fuel , no water, no jobs, they turned Nigeria to rural village. ST

Mrs Power aka MP said...

He will start by probing n jailing u

laura oti said...

Oga Comrade has spoken. I do hope the jail session doesn't start with NUPENG.

7f098c19 said...

buhari should first start with u criminal. also if he starts with arresting criminals, he wont focus on rebuilding the country. the infrastructures and co. so he should focus more on his promises and maybe before the end of his tenure we all can look back and say together, so nigeria can be like this. Engr Emy

Nicole said...

Lmfao! You have a point sir but you're forgetting the party is also filled with criminals who also looted whilst in office . Will Buhari arrest the likes of Tinubu and Co? Of course not!
In as much as I would love the likes of Deziani and Co to be probed, the fact still remains that justice won't be served to every single person guilty of the same act. We need to manage our expectations.
Personally, I can't wait to watch the drama that will ensue as soon as Buhari takes office . I think it'll be very interesting. Thank God may 29th is a few days away.

Na so

Including u

He will start with bola tinumbu, Rotimi Amaechi, Bukola sariki, fashola, Atiku and Rochas okorocha
This people need to locked up.

its a possibility, you never know what that man is thinking

please let us not think about moving foward when evil citizens have block all the roads of development,look the only thing that could bring change is to persecute and jail these thieves,could you imagine how 259 bn dollars had been stolen and left the government with 25bn dollars, then tell me which nation in this world can move foward with this system. let us face the truth.

Abeg Buhari give us light first and possibly restore fuel. then he can do what he likes wt thieves

please let us not think about moving foward when evil citizens have block all the roads of development,look the only thing that could bring change is to persecute and jail these thieves,could you imagine how 259 bn dollars had been stolen and left the government with 25bn dollars, then tell me which nation in this world can move foward with this system. let us face the truth.

But it will bring money to run d country; dnt u think dts d most important? He doesn't want to be vindictive dts y he gave an option which is " return d loots nd v ur freedom" dnt expect him to leave them without sanction...

For what crime exactly? U need to get over ur hate Plz. As corrupt as we say obj is, he left $350bn in our federal account nd our debts for years were written off. Plz ask ur oga Jonathan wht he did with d money nd d billions of dollars he borrowed.

GEJ should concentrate on meeting d expectations of Nigerians mostly achieving d promises he made not going abt following advise lik dis dat wil amounts to nothing.

He should concentrate on the plenty problems on ground

I wish GMB will go the way of Jerry Gana of Ghana: hull all the thieves whther you are in APC or not, into a hot flame call jail and leave them their for the next 4 years while he go for the looted funds and utilzing it. when the incoming set see what is happening, they won't hesitate to sit up and thread carefully. If you leave all these rougues outside; they will continue from where they stopped with GEJ.So annihiliating them from the system will work.

its better he start afresh.

nice one.

abujakenneth said...

You will be the first person

@zenki you no well at all abi you join dem or know close relative wen thief. So if he enter power and account dey read red with a lot debt make he no talk because of u. Adviser u do well abi na river sef go break melon for backyard small pikin.

Shut up corrector no wonder person call u worm and I dey sorry for u before. D man know wetin e dey talk he no mean say mk he go judge d case.

I pity u must u comment.

anonymous said...

Am observing

Your statements are almost always balanced and intellectual Bonario....
How else does he intend to succeed if he doesn't show all those corrupt politicians hot pepper? We need scapegoats ASAP!!!