Nigeria police responds to alleged ‘Human Flesh Restaurant’ in Anambra story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 18 May 2015

Nigeria police responds to alleged ‘Human Flesh Restaurant’ in Anambra story

Some days ago, a few foreign media including BBC, AFP and Daily Mail published a story claiming a Nigerian restaurant in Anambra was shut down for cooking human flesh. (Read here)

The Anambra State Police Command responded to the story yesterday Sunday May 17th, saying nothing of such happened. The State's Police Public Relations Officer, Uche Eze, said;
"There was nothing like that. I advise you to ignore that report. It’s not true and it did not happen. We don’t have such record. It’s embarrassing. I think we definitely deserve an apology because this story has already been sold out to a huge international audience who made so many unnecessary comments about Nigeria and Nigerians" she told Punch

60 comments:

We don hear

Wawu! And that was how we were sold fallacy.
Fake news is more dangerous than a stray bullet.

Something fishy here from the Police, only time will tell.

Ewww is the pic above real? Cant eat meat that isn't properly cooked.IG Nickydarsh...

I tot as much! This story is as fake as Aboki perfume

Annette said...

Very disgusting..chai

SANDRA said...

Baseless rumor mongers

SANDRA said...

Baseless rumor mongers

Annette said...

And many pple wouldve eaten their fellow brothers n sisters oo

ABEG MEK E NO B TRUE OOH I NO SAY THNGS DE APPEN BT MEK DS ONE NO B TRUE ABEG....TOMJERRYSWIT

eka said...

even d story sounded odd...no hotel name, no location, no photos of people...

Removed by linda

I said on d post when it was post dat d story was too good to b true. D write up left me wit doubts no concrete evidence.

disgusting

Shame on Yoruba media propaganda that won't stop at nothing in making sure they damage igbo images

Choi this pix looks real

Golda Awosika said...

So, it didn't happen afta al. Good cus i cant evn imagine such, scares d shit out of me
#*Karlishah*

Well Linda my dearest, don't forget you reported it too......

talk2frankky said...

I go comment on this one later because i be like say meat wey i put for fire dey burn.

Nigeria Police should have commented when you first told us about this story a while back. The daily Mail here in England went a step further and added pictures of pork chops and steaks. Which made the story silly. Since Linda gets a lot of her news from them, the Daily Mail also need to get original pictures from Linda when they publish such stories. Linda goes out of her way to get original pictures of events that occur within Nigeria. That is why we love her blog in England. BK London

kiki said...

So where did that story cum from...thrs an iota of truth in every rumor

Nigeria police r u guys not full wit lies,even if is true u wil not agree to it bcos it didnt come frm u guys.

This story is making me feel nauseous.
I hope this is false!

Austin said...

why these lies against my country!!! they really need to apologize asap!.

Noted

nife said...

Na wa ooo, what should we believe in this country, they bring a story today, tomorrow it's not so. May God be with us

Yeah, dey shud apologize... buh check it, in every rumor, dia must b an atom of truth... Maybe something related to dat happened, and maybe twasn't in Naija...

I smell bribe here.... cos i don't trust dis guys on black, dey don't hv any single turth in them.

Dat general said...

Sharap PPRO!what r u trying to protect?ur shameless NPF or d battered image of our 'great country'?

RM & KD said...

even if it is true ,Nigerian police will not addmit that such thing happened

lmao oyinbos believe every bad story that comes out of africa. they think africa is a country and we live in huts

Omalicha said...

The way most foreign media, reports negative things about Africa is annoying.

Obidiyakool said...

I said den dat it is not possible,dis now just to spoil d name of d state

She needs to write to all those media houses that carried the story, demanding evidence or tender an apology in a national newspaper.

I knew d news then was not for real, and not worth any truth thereof. I am happy for dis clarification.

Would they admit to it? Would you trust igbos as far as you can throw them think?

About Nigerians ke... Cannibals all over the world ma'm.

Even if it's true they will not admit it

If Anambra own is nt 2ru, wat abt Abia state isialangwa precisely, our NYSC officials n state cord told us den in 2011 2 b careful of d local govt cos dats der major biz

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

I hope so o cos d whole tin is disturbing, human flesh sold as meat in a restaurant...hian! God help us

Shame on u too cos ur images as bn damaged b4 now

Looks like u ve never come across a pimped up Aboki perfume.

Of course the pic is real. That is beef steak in the pic not human flesh.

Get rid of that pot belly and trim down in 9days with clean 9 call or whatsapp 07066681022 deliver anywher in nigeria.

So...my neighbor saw me & ask "is it true that there's a part of nigeria that eat pple?" wid a surprised face I was like NO! Why wld u even think that? Didn't realize she got d rumor 4rm here, pls dear Nigerians b careful of ur words & d news u pass-on, self-destruction shld be avoided in every way possible to save our image. & I don't get d beef between ibos & yorubas (are u kidding me???) & u guys have somethings to say about xenophobia in sa? What's d difference? I'm proud to be from a country where there's no racism, so this new found hatred between ibos & yorubas is absurd. Pls great pple, think about your impact on d next generation, let's stay united.

can u just imagine that?

I KNEW THE STORY WAS BOGUS ANYWAY. WHICH HUMAN PART WILL ACTUALLY LOOK LIKE THE PICTURE SHOWN?. SOME PEOPLE HAVE NO BRAIN AT ALL. BESIDES, SELLING HUMAN MEAT IN PLACE OF BEEF IS LIKE SELLING SOMEBODY A MERCEDES IN THE NAME OF TOYOTA. WHY SHOULD A RESTAURANT GO THAT FAR SINCE IT IS NOT PROFITABLE?. EVEN IF THEY SELL HUMAN MEAT BECAUSE THEY KIDNAP THEM, THEY CAN AS WELL STEAL GOATS AND COWS WHICH IS ACTUALLY EASIER. THE INTERNATIONAL NEWS PICKED IT UP BECAUSE ANY RIDICULOUS NEWS FROM AFRICA IS BELIEVABLE AFTER ALL THEY ARE ANIMALS.IT IS THE NATIVE NIGERIANS WHO BUY THIS JUNK NEWS THAT I PITY. I'VE READ LOTS OF IT COMING FROM GHANA AND I PAY THEM NO ATTENTION BECAUSE IT IS PRACTICALLY IMPOSSIBLE. THERE WAS ANOTHER THAT CLAIMED THAT NIGERIANS SELL BUSH MEAT IN PLACE OF BEEF AND I NEVER BELIEVED IT BECAUSE BUSH MEATS ARE MORE EXPENSIVE AND ANYBODY BUYING IT KNOWS WHAT HE/SHE IS BUYING BECAUSE THEY USUALLY COST 3X MORE THAN BEEF OR GOAT MEAT AND DONT EVEN LOOK ALIKE. NO BUSINESS PERSON WILL BUY N100 BUSH MEAT AND SELL IT FOR N20 BECAUSE HE/SHE WANTS TO PASS IT AS COW MEAT.

4nkylization said...

Love u dear

must have been a hater throwing lies out, that messed my day up, couldn't stop imagining people swallowing human flesh, couldn't eat that evening

HEARD!!!!

Dis is disgustin.In a restaurant..God save us o...post a free classified advert

I knew it wasn't true and said so. I won't belive it till i see hard/pictorial evidence.

I always look forward to ur comments bonario

See as yoruba peeps just de accept the news cos na Igbo matter.. Who sabi Juju pass? Pls stop being stupid and stand to promote ur country and not jump to condemnation. Election don finish Oyibo de find another stupid news to spoil Nigeria.. Say NO to stupidity.

Ahmadu Bello said...

And so people come on here, expressing their feelings about foreigners talking shit about us. Afterwards, an anonymous poster (obviously igbo), makes this comment: Shame on Yoruba media propaganda that won't stop at nothing in making sure they damage igbo images. What a very unintelligent and stupid person! This story originated from a foreign land. What has the Yoruba got to do with it?? Infact, Linda an igbo lady, helped share this to us and nobody condemned her. Chei! Social media and the internet has given some rather unintelligent people the chance to spout rubbish o. Yorubas don't have time to bother with your stupid ass! They've got better things to worry about than a tribe that has such a strong inferiority complex. Take several seats back jare! Okponu Oshi!

It looks like bush meats