Women should use their 20's to build their career & marry in their 30s - Wendy Williams | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 April 2015

Women should use their 20's to build their career & marry in their 30s - Wendy Williams

In an interview with Forbes, outspoken former radio DJ & talk show host, Wendy Williams, 50, who has one of daytime’s most successful syndicated talk shows, The Wendy Williams Show, advised women to use their entire 20s to build a career and get married in their 30s.
"My suggestion to women is always…use your entire 20s to work your behind off in your career… And then think about meeting that guy. Cause we’re the ones that lose in marriage. Not men.”
"It is difficult for men to accept really successful career women. Whether it be that we out-earn them or that our name is brighter than theirs. I also feel like marriage and babies stunt a woman’s growth career-wise. Once you get married and have kids, you can’t do all the things that you used to do & maintain this important precious thing that you built as a family.”
I agree 100%. And it's not because I'm single. I've always wanted to be successful and have my own money before settling down. So who also agrees with Wendy? If you do, why? If you don't, why not?

204 comments:

1 – 200 of 204   Newer›   Newest»

Not applicable in naija biko

Easier said than done. Lindaobserve

Ana ako basky!

NOT FOR EVERYONE,SOME PPLE SHA...LYK MADAM LINDA ABI U NO C AM LYK DAT??TOMJERRYSWIT

I concur

exactly.. dont rush into marriage and rush out...

meenah_wakil on instagram

Why won't u agree when u are 35yrs old already,and. Who doesn't want to be successful? Linda sha

She is 101% wrong. Then when wil they start producing babies? She should go, and sit down some where far.

I agree with her because getting into marriage to me looks like a woman's last bus-stop so it would be very wise for a woman to be successful before getting into marriage

unfortunately most lazy 9ja gals wont agree with her. They would rather wait for a rich man to find them and marry them while they sit back at home doing absolutely nothing.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

At the long run it all depends on who you marry, the kind of person u marry, you can spend your 20's building career n wealth and establishment, but if u get married to the WRONG KIND OF PERSON, you'll watch all that go down the drain or rendered ineffective if you're not lucky and play your cards well. Meanwhile u can get married to the RIGHT KIND OF PERSON even before your 20's and watch your self grow from grace to grace both in your career and finances a very good example is Omotola Jalade Ekehinde

I agree. Trying to start my career after starting a family has been the most difficult thing ever. I won't allow my daughter marry until she has worked for a good number of years.

I agree with her, reason is that when a woman is successful and gets married, there are odds that she too can make her man very successful too and create a happy family. I always tell my girlfriend who is about to get her nursing degree to focus on being the best woman who has quite remarkable achievement rather than marry me and then begin to achieve that.

Opeke said...

I totally agree

Abdul Adepetu said...

No exact way! Anyway is possible. Every approach to life is attitudes. So Good luck to everyone. Be honest, Be hard working

Hmmmm... Linda health wise, a woman's peak obstetric career is around 23yrs of age. From 30 u have a high chance of having abnormal babies, infertility, oda dxs lyk fibroid, ovarian tumors, ovulation issues. So ladies marry someone who supports ur dreams.

I concur completly.Women's productive years career wise is in the 20s and the best time to climb up the ladder of success.Coz when marriage sets in, it kinda limits you.It restricts you.However that doesnt mean,men's business shouldnt be kept in the mind.We need em! Lol

I agree with her. But here in naija even men in their thirties are still struggling in their careers and women too. Conditions here are different and not so palatable if you have no connections.

That's if you post my comment, I agree with her because it's quite simple really look of this days don't want women whom they are going to train or give money to all in the name of they are in a relationship but starting of your career build in your 20's the easier it begins to pay off for you. Because if you don't get started before you marry any man and you start having kids believe me it's gonna to be hard for you. I for example is not going to any so called marriage without getting a little insurance for myself that's the (money) and that's where he will respect you more..

i agree, all things being equal

Hmmmmmmmmm Linda dont try it here. By the time you are in the 30s u are already being consider tooooo old to be a wife.

Sometimes life deals with you differently, so wherever you find yourself in life make the best of it.

Maybe it works in America there but not in nigeria here.
I don't want to get married in my 30's.

I agree wholeheartedly!
But would they let you hear word? No.
"Go and get married naw?" or "God will give you a husband "
I agree most with women loose in marriage not men. Wendy always keeps it 100!

Browndelight by Queen Liz said...

I agree 100 %

Totally True

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

I Agree, But My Woman earning More than Me? Oluwa I dnt want that oo

I agree to that, let them build themselves. Cos marriage is like a cage, it will restrict some of their freedom.

I agree with wendy, this is a man's world, earn your respect by creating yourself and when you are married you will have your self respect, gone are the days when women should be liabilities, be a pioneer not a follow follow.

phemi said...

Fact

I kinda agree with her but sometymz it doesn't really pay somple

I agree, most of my friends who married at 24 abi 26 ended as house wives and teachers! SMH

Marriage is subjected to lot of circumstances depending on the side we find ourselves. Being a successful as a lady and getting married on time @ most age 28 is one of the best way to go and not some 30's as the body is still active and medically those are the best time to give birth as the muscles are still very active and the child given birth @ this age tends to be more active and brainy than their counter parts given birth in age 30 and above and culturally, if a lady start getting to 30 and still single no matter the wealth she must have acquired, there is tendency of she being pressured by the family most especially by mothers hence, the lady might end up being frustrated and end up marrying cos she needs a man and not for love. So Wendy Williams opinion doesn't apply to all individual and culture.

OK

Debate time.........

It good to build up a career before one ventures into marriage.........but U can also build up a career and get married within your 20's......... It does nt necesarily has to follow d order of 20 and 30......It all depends on how early one starts making it in life

Fantasy= build a career become super successful, get married, have a couple of kids, life is good.
Reality= build a career become super successful, join yemi alade to look for johnny, meet gold diggers, mistakenly marry one, heart break ahead.
Faith= get the best of reality and fantasy.

Linda I feel its a preferencial fin! One can still get married and still build successfully in her career. It all boils down 2 the understndin of both married couples. I feel marriage shuld evn mak a woman more successfull, but it all depends on the man u got married 2. Sum men are vry gud in supporting. Remember the saying 2 heads is betaa dan 1, so with ur husbands support u can build successfully in ur career. In a case wia u hav challenging tyms in ur career, of cos u'll need an inspiration 2 wrk it tru ur husbnd might jst be the one 2 give u all the inspiration u want. Dats why I urge all married men as the head of a home 2 be more spiritual in God dan dia wives so as 2 hav a succesful nd progressive family. A God fearing man will always giv his wife all the support she needs. 1 Timothy 5:8. Man must show support nd provide 4 his own. Reaad more on dat. I rest my case.

kiki said...

We need d guys 2 b on d same page wit us on dis one else...some1z gon b marrying herself #flipsmiAfricanhair

I totally agree because women who aspire for a career but end up having kids first tend to actually put the blame on their hubby

Personally, I think there's a reason why fertility is highest in your 20's. Nature doesn't make mistakes and fertility drops so seriously in your 30's that it's worth considering not postponing marriage. I see so many people having to seek out fertility treatment, suffer miscarriages, and basically chase the baby dream which eludes them. Some are lucky and still have the number they would want to, most are not.
I had 4 children in my 20's. Perhaps I'm not at the peak of my career but I wouldn't trade this dream for yours. Fertility has a time frame, career does not. Here I am now, 30's and going back to chase my dreams. If you find the right guy, please don't wait. Children are the most beautiful gift.

I agree with her, marriage stalls your dreams. But once u hit 30 hmm make sure u have him oh! In Nigeria e go hard oh!

Linda I cant agree less 100% its,but you shoukd also take it in cosideration that family settings ate quite different here than in developing world most of us finish secondary sch at the age of 18 we then spent like 3 to 4 years writing jamb and post jamb begore you could say jack Robinson we are 25 then you spent extral 4 to 5 yrs trying to finish university with strike to deal with at theend you are almost 30 before you start looking for work then sosomeone to settle down thats y u find out that most ladies will always go back to be 25years again take it or leave it thats an irony of this nation anyway apart from those that are born with silver spoon and the fortunate ones!!!!! My opinion though.JC

I agree 100%. A woman should have something going for her before marriage.

We don hear

This is wrong and I think u Linda and Wendy are both saying this cos u find yourselves in that category

She's so right

I so agree! She spoke well! And its working for me! But I still need d cash to keep rolling in! Wink wink

I agree, thou the only career some Ladies think about is Marriage !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

YOU CANNOT HAVE EVERYTHING YOU WANT IN LIFE! MAN OR WOMAN! THERE IS NO DEFINED/WRITTEN IN STONE FORMULA HOW HUMANS HSOULD LIVE THEIR LIVES. EVERYTHING IS A RISK AND WE SHOULD PRAY FOR GOD'S GRACE TO MAKE IT THROUGH. I'M SURE THERE ARE MANY WOMEN THAT CAN PROVE WENDY WILLIAMS WRONG. IF MARRIAGE IN 20S DOESN'T WORK FOR HER, IT WILL WORK FOR OTHERS. IF YOU ARE NOT SURE, I CAN CONFIDENTLY TELL YOU THAT YOUR FAMILY IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN YOUR CAREER. YOU WANT TO SLAVE AWAY AT ANOTHER MAN'S BUSINESS AND NEGLECT YOUR FAMILY. THERE ARE MANY MEN AND WOMEN OUT THERE AND I GUESS NO MAN OR WOMAN WILL WAIT A DECADE FOR A WOMAN OR MAN TO BUILD THEIR CVS. MEANWHILE, THE MORE YOUR CAREER GROWS, THE LESS TIME YOU WILL HAVE FOR OTHER THINGS. FINALLY, OUR LIVES ARE WHAT WE MAKE THEM TO BE. THE BALL IS IN OUR COURT, FAMILY CAREER.

I totally agree, the peace of mind and self respect that I get on a daily basis can't be compared with anything... I love making my money.

All due respect 2 u Linda and Wendy but I fink u can't jst advice women 2 focus on dia career 1st b4 settling down, it means u re telling dem nt 2 get married until dey hv enof money 4 dem selfs. Dats jst wrng, wat if a woman aint successful evn @ her late 30's, do u mean she shuldnt accept a man jst bcos she ain't successful yet? Dis jst bad, guess u dnt beliv in God and his word@ Linda ikeji, jst bcos u chase money 1st dosnt mean u shuld advice gals 2 focus more in wealth creation dan worshiping God. The bible said all dis tins are irrelevant and useless, wat is important is seeking God and setting on Gods feet. So I dnt agree wit u.

U can still build ur career in ur husband's house na!! She's correct somehow tho..

Yes I totally agree ..Linda I am a Working class 24 year old building my empire...

agreed..i ve always wanted to be successful and independent and as a child i never got the things that i wanted so i want to be able to give my children everythig they want..i dont have to wait or dream to get married to a billonaire before i can be able to have a good life when i can workhard and make it on my own

But madam u are in ur late 30s u missed the line.

And who said u can't be successful wen u'r married. I only see dat as an excuse abeg, linda u want to tell me u won't get married in ur 20s if u'd found a perfect man.

I think it can be either way. But I like her suggestion but which ever one comes first adopt it.

I completely agree. And Nigerian women pls take note! Getting married in ur early 20s and yet relying on ur husband for money to buy sanitary pad doesn't make u an accomplished woman. Build ur career and be independent first. .then consider marriage.

Different strokes' for different folks. Career and family are very important to a woman. It doesn't matter which comes first. Some people have exceeded 30 and are yet to get a job or even start a business. What do u say to such person??? If marriage comes first grab it. If career comes first grab it. There's no rule in life. However, which ever comes first, marriage and childbearing must cause a change in your life. You must make sacrifice to have a family and kids. As per a woman losing in marriage, that's how the creator made it. We can't change that no matter how much we try. Men do not have breasts that will sag neither will they get fat or stretch marks from childbirth. May God give us the wisdom to start being real. Amen.

No. .linda that's why you are single. . Do not take advice from someone Who is not a good example of what she is saying. . Women should marry and have kids in their 20's when they are inv their 30's then they can have a carrier. . A woman in her 20's is younger and will be better suited to take care of her young ones. .when she is in her 30's they would have grown for her to chasecond her carrier..

so on point...

God's ways and timing is different for every individual. Marry whenever you meet the right person. He may not be there waiting for you to build a career first. There are numerous examples of women that came into their own after marriage. There's no one rule that fits all. Follow your heart.

She's right.......but I disagree that marriage
and babies can stunt your career's growth.
Some women can handle both and still
maintain their standard.
She has a point or two tho.

QUEEN AMANDA said...

I agree

JIRO said...

PRIORITIES! women can compete all they want to have all the career but they still hold the family together and assure procreation. Men do not make all the money before marriage, women should not as well especially as they ordinarily have time-frame to their fruitfulness. Linda, career for money does not fulfill, completeness for God and humanity does fulfill. All the best.

Femiluv said...

I disagree. Countless women prove that you can be married, have kids and have a successful career. It also depends on who the woman marries and if he's able to support her in her career path.

Besides, I want to have kids as a fresh 20 something year old when my body is still fresh and can go back to its old form after child birth. Who doesn't want to be MILF like Genevieve or Omotola?

I totally agree

I agree hands down!!!

'your own money' - linlin, you've been busted! You're a Wendy O Williams show Co host! Howyewdewin???

***mynameisSkelewu ***

Lili ur answer is because u are single,Omotala married at the age of 17,Is she not successful? U old cargos stop miss advice youths,no we will wait till 40...i think that's better,early monopaus start at 35 madam linda...so do something about urself .

Linda unless you marry politician son who do want to marry that you will not out earn or your name is not more known. Tell me ��

True but thing don't go as planned. I prefer to be abit comfortable before talking marriage. But who are we to decide cus we are only but clay in d hands of the Potter.

MissBusyBody said...

So true, women should learn to bring something to the table besides the damned food

I don't agree with Wendy cos as a woman ages, the chances of having babies decreases. What works for some1 might not work for the other. I know some ladies that have their babies in their 20s and still have a successful career.

Well I want to partially agree with her on d point that a woman's career would actually be stunted if she marries in her 20s. But getting married in her 30s and trying to give birth by then is a risky business.

I concur 100 per. A lot of women get married and run around borrowing 2k, 5k and they never even refund. I think women should learn to build their careers before marriage, so they can at least refund money when borrowed.

biijay said...

Marry a rich husband if u want to build your career in your husband's house.

I TOTALLY AGREE!
MY mother married young for d sake of marriage not for love, widowed young, blames me for ALL her problems. If only she married LATER!

PrettySilvia said...

Linda I agree with her seventy percent cos yeah all d points she mentioned are all valid but at d same tym,wat if u meet your man before u become successful. Its two ways. If it works like she said gud and if it works like it did for omtola jalade den gud too. Cos both work.

Innocentia Annie said...

I agree with wendy for so many reasons

You just have to be a career lady that's the most important thing
Help in family growth and not just being a liability kinda wife

She's totally right.

I agree 100%!
Most ladies put an end to “career race” once they are married. They see "being married" as the beginning and the end. Infact I know a friend with bright opportunities shimmering all over her plus a good career in pursuit, after marriage in her early 20s' Phaaarrmm! That was the end of her career! Infact her dream of pursing a degree and establishing her little firm ends there! All her dreams, aspirations becomes hidden and buried forever in the name of “I am a married woman” and funny enough her husband still dey pursue dreams even after marriage....

Some guys will even support their wives to pursue careers BUT NOT ALL GUYS CAN assist/permit their wives to pursue career after marriage o....single ladies think twice!
Pursue what u want to pursue career-wise or any other personal growth & development (maybe establishing a small scale business) before embarking on Father To Husband House Migration o so that your case will not be “Had I know o”

'your own money' - linlin, you've been busted! You're a Wendy O Williams show Co host! Howyewdewin???

***mynameisSkelewu ***

meneski said...

you make getting married sound like the woman get victimized, both men and women get to lose something but it is in other to gain something... hopefully more precious,

all you need is proper planing, and the grace of God.

Linda u agreed bcos u are still single but pls lets face d fact in as much as am still single too, d truth remains dat a girl getting married in her 20's is d best so dat she can bear children with her strength and still get her body back. Omotola ekeinde is an example,is she still not successful today with her body back. Abeg marriage in 30's is not good at all unless d right man hasnt come.

she is absolutely right....she is 100% right....Sis i agree with you jareeee...i think it will stop the high level of divorce in marriage...yeaaaaaaa..cos by then the woman is already very mature to handle a home and her man...sooooooooo trueeeeeee

Like seriously ds is quite wrong I don't agree, marriage doesn't stop u from building your career whatever you what to become lies in your hands. DETERMINATION!

She should go, and sit down some where afar, and park well. She is using her debase life of non hubby to advise our young lad's. Nonsense advice.

mozoella said...

As a woman, got married at 22 while in medical school abroad, hubby in nigeria. Now I'm 25and pregnant with my first baby. Before now, I had all these big ideas and plans for my career, I thought that at 24, I would have passed my licensing exam here in nigeria , get a job and run for my masters program. All DAT changed d moment I got back to Nigeria last year and took in, having a baby and nursing DAT baby kind of delays you career wise. My single friends are currently running their housemanship programs and making plans and I'm almost due and don't know where my life is headed apart from being a mum. I'm not saying I have regrets, but I feel like getting married before your career takes a stand can dull you and keep you backwards from where you are supposed to be but its great being married though, wouldn't give it up for anything in d world. My thoughts......

Mmm this Wendy and her talk atimes! I also because she's an American and everything works for them right? Is not everyone that has the opportunity to work their ass out while in their 20's. She's lucky if I may say and even some still find it difficult to make a meaning out career their career even in their 30's. So I guess all of this is just her own way of saying she made all in her 20's and 30's

LA' SUNSHINE said...

I notice every one agreeing to this are still single.. different strokes for different people, there are no rules that fits all and everyone's path in life is different. what about women that got to the peak of their careers after marriage this is not applicable to every1

i think it she is right. but the country we are in kinda spills it in a different way. a woman in her thirties here will be questioned why she is not yet married. and be made to look old in the presence of others.. well bottom line it all depends on individual but for me i agree i million percent

See her mouth lik "Women should use their 20's to build their career & marry in their 30s". Ni wonder she is stil where she is.

No wonder she is stil where she is. Rich outside but poor inside. Wht a pathetic advise.

For d first time,i don't feel like slapping dis woman to keep shut! Well said Wendy.

isa uk said...

I agree 100%, marriage slows women down by the time u start having children u won't enough time for ur career anymore.

Really dumb move that would be

Very true!

Totally agree!! Biko but they all say it's cause I don't want to be under a man!!well for me she s right!!100percent

Adeagbo Kabir said...

This woman's advice is totally wrong. Young ladies please don't heed her senseless advice. You can marry in your 20s and still build a career. All you need is to pray (and seek) for a understanding man as husband. If you have to wait till 30s before getting married, I am afraid you might not get a husband or you eventually marry a wrong person (out of frustration). And let me tell you, going into a wrong marriage (for both male and female) is like a total waste of existence on earth.

Gbam u are on point u jet nailed it could not have said it anyway

MacSpeedy said...

Very interesting take on it. Even though u put it in a humorous way, that's exactly what reality is. Marriage is stronger when u build everything together, even ur careers.

Teacher said...

Give them everything they need
And only some of what they want

Otherwise children grow to become adults who can't hear no and are sef centered spoilt

Why does Linda approve your insane comments?

I agree but early marriage is good esp to a man who supports your dream.
Nowadays men go for career and matured ladies who can take care of a home without much burden.

Why is marriage so important to women than men, you get married next thing your complaining. Get a carrier first,then get married. Its not how early you have kids, its how you train them.

Nelly Udoh said...

But if you ask me, I would prefer settling down in my late 20's. Here is it, this year will make me 23 that means I'll be a graduate by 24. By being optimistic, return from service by 25 and then make a good job for myself. While building my servings, think of getting married.. It's cool, I think..haha. Never thought I could share this now. Thanks to Wendy. Onces again, Lol

Nelly Udoh said...

But if you ask me, I would prefer settling down in my late 20's. Here is it, this year will make me 23 that means I'll be a graduate by 24. By being optimistic, return from service by 25 and then make a good job for myself. While building my servings, think of getting married.. It's cool, I think..haha. Never thought I could share this now. Thanks to Wendy. Onces again, Lol

Yea, she has a point there. Unfortunately, our society is still patriarchal. But I'm happy that women are now standing up to take that challenge. We give up a lot when it comes to marriage and having kids. So its wise to build ur career to a point that even if u have to take time off to get married and start a family, it wouldn't be difficult when u decide to make a come back. It takes a very bold, confident and smart guy to understand and appreciate that in a woman.

I'm married but I concur with this

YARINYA said...

LINDA. I agree with you 100%. I married in my early 30s. and I am glad I did. of course the family pressure to get married in your 20s is real but sometimes the right guy is not available or you are not just yet matured enough for marriage in your 20s.
I tell my close friends, I would be divorced today if I had married in my 20s. I was flighty, unsettled, not quite mature, argumentative even when there was no need to be. i started working in my 20s and grew to be a confident woman who knows her worth with great self esteem. i didn't have to rely on a man for anything. the guys toasting me know i could fend for myself and accorded me respect. by the time the right guy came, i was ready. i was mature enough and i had my own money. Hubby sef knew he was lucky to have a catch like me. there is mutual respect in our marriage cos he knows i know my worth and that i have contributed meaninglully to his life as he has contributed to mine. i agree with Wendy on this. Thanks .

@Royal just STFU! Who she is and where she is right now is where ur sorry ass can only hope to be. Just shut up if have nothing reasonable to say.

For once I AGREE WITH YOU LINDA... So are you saying you found the dude?

I totally agree with you. Well said.

This is not a senseless advice at all, heard a lady saying is Bcs mist ladies that commented are not marry. As I'm commeting here, I had my PhD before age 30 and I got married at 30. I've achieved and fulfilled at before getting married and my husband is so proud to have such individual as a wife. So ladies wise up, ur career will attract that ur dream man no man wants a liability.

I agree.

But if you can do the two in your 20s why not?

Am married and I agree with Wendy a 100%. Marriage slows the woman down career wise.

Hhmmnn I observed that most ladies on LIB cited Omotola Jalade Ekeinde as a typical example of “marrying in the early 20s' + Successful Career” Good! Please note that what rocks Omotola Jalade Ekeinde's boat might sink yours! And my question is “Do you want to marry the same Capt. Matthew Ekeinde? (Omotola's Husband) or do you want to clone him or do you think all GUYS are like Capt. Matthew Ekeinde who will support and permit his wife to pursue career with marriage?”

Single ladies, think twice o Some guys will even support their wives to pursue careers like Capt. Matthew Ekeinde BUT NOT ALL GUYS CAN assist/permit their wives to pursue career after marriage o....single ladies think twice!
Pursue what u want to pursue career-wise or any other personal growth & development (maybe establishing a small scale business) before embarking on Father To Husband House Migration o so that your case will not be “Had I know o”

what I'll say is, its a good idea but its easier said than done, works for some, don't for others, If I haven't met young women with mature minds I would have said yes, grow up before you get married but I have been impressed with some very young brides, they carry themselves well and show more maturity than some grown women I know, plus some girls inherit stuff in their 20s and have no need to work their butt off to acquire riches. Lets not forget, its not wise to pass up someone meant for you, you never know when you'll meet that man that's right for you, so don't say because you feel you'll rather be 37 before you get married, you'll therefore thrown real love you found at 27 in the bin.

It depends on what you want from life. My mom married early and regretted it. I finished my msc at 25 and joined a bank. I got married to a former colleague @ 35. I kept healthy and fit and remained a virgin till my wedding night. After I got engaged I did medical check up ate a lot of water melons and took folic acid and vitamins. Had my girl 9 months after my wedding and had my first son and my twin boys soon after . To God's glory I had 4 healthy kids by my 40th bday and am a manager. I think by 16 you decide wht suits ur kind of person and pursue it not just lip service. If you can't stay celibate pls marry early to reduce health risk

I totally agree with her cos it's either you devote more time at home and your career lacks or devote more time to develop your career and your home lacks.

SMURF said...

Who told you she doesn't have an hubby, she is married to Kelvin Hunter, who is a producer on her show and also she has a child, get ur facts right b4 you go blasting her!! Sometimes she is right and also wrong!! But here I think she is right.

ask her at what age did her parent got married and gave birth to.look this white people sometime the life style their live is just like some one with out brain to think.let her end up her life with out get married .let her tell you did she know when to die.

I definitely agree with her cos most men will tell u quit ur job buh for me if I get married in my mid twenties and I get a job I cannot quit cos of marriage my career is very important women need a career so that can be successful and less dependent on their spouses is very very important

Best, comment here, coz even if after u have gotten a successful career and u re married to à wrong man or woman u just mite go back to square1.

I am a man, my advice to women, please try and get married before you hit 30.

Raylah said...

In dis country it's not always that easy. Linda u were lucky 2 catch a break in ur career and b successful at ur age. Others who hav tried r not so lucky and may not b lucky 4 d rest of their lives. Do u mean such people will not get married forever because they r waiting for the big break ( in ur words " be successful and make ur own money")? Ponder on these points. U need 2 give reasonable advise to young girls.

DeeD25 said...

U will say rubbish because iwu akwuna!! shame on you Wilhelmina!

Whats insane abt d comment? Hisssss

True talk plus let God take the lead in ur life, he ll direct u and help u take the right step, each one of us has got diff destinies.

Haha very dumb move i tell ya

My Aunt use to say, 'it is better for a woman to have kids in her youthful age'
Don't let this woman deceive you!

Raylah said...

Gbam!!!

If you are a woman above 32 and single, sorry time is not on your side.

There's no formula. I think it's hard for women to have the perfect storm, perfect opportunity to build a career and the right man to come along at the perfect time. We're always playing a balancing act. Just as we heavily invest in one area of life, we miss out on another. Even Wendy's career didn't play out as she recommends. She's peaking professionally in her 50's after many setbacks, including public firings that nearly crippled her career. Given her track record, I don't think she believes in the advice she's giving.

Ike said...

Old ladies like Linda in their 30's shouting it's true! Lol.

Stupid idea. Try this and probably remain single for life or buy a husband

Lol funny comments

These things depend on what you want in life.

But there are so many successful women who are happily married.

Mary B is an example. And there are many women of her status who are happily married. I even have a mentor who will tell you that it was her husband who raised her and taught her the things she needed to be able to build the wonderful career she has, and this woman has been the MD of a top financial institution.

The problem with most women is that they want to have everything and when you do not take things a step at a time, you will fall

People think the journey to the top is a steep slope. Ask so many great men and women, there were years of stagnation, waiting, pain. But you see when you are married to the right person, the person will be the source of strength in that journey.

Let's learn the truth, let's learn the right things. Linda you are teaching girls individualism. No man or woman was born to be that way. We all need a source of support.

May God give us our ribs

Ok now. Since you've built your career and have your own money, good luck with settling down.

Yes she's right. Married at 24...am stuck taking care of two boys...do I regret it capital no.

Rita said...

Hahahaa....women in their 30s give birth to normal, intelligent babies everyday! thaat ur logic na dull logic abeg. E nor work!

I do not support her .....ladies can get married in dier 20s have dier kids and still build dier career ...a lady can be who she wants to be married or not ...depending on her consistency nd drive ....while in her 30s ,she might have all the finance she wants and be desperate ending up with the wrong guy ....i go for settling down @ 20s

Femmy said...

Believe what you want to believe,but every decision has its pros and cons.What makes you so sure you are destined to make it anyway?

There is a big misconception here! The way Wendy made the statement is like every woman will be successful in their 30s if they use their 20s to build their careers. I am afraid to say that is a lie, not everyone is meant to be that way! She also make it look like there is a husband supermarket where "successful" women in their 30s (who used their 20s to build their careers) can walk into and get a man! Again that is absolutely wrong! I think the key point should be that rather than basing your existence and happiness as a woman on getting married focus on building a successful life i.e. career, educational or business wise. If the "right man" comes along, be it in your 20s by all means get married! If he does not, keep improving yourself and not settle for less because you think marrying before 30 is a do or die affair. It all boils down to God's timing and if He says you will get married in your 30s, don't be afraid of all the fertility ish, He will make away. Summarily, spend your single age productively, don't make hasty decisions because goals you can achieve as a single woman (no kids or husband to tend to) will be pretty difficult when married.

BrendaN

I agree with her but not entirely. Young ladies should quit using their early years to do aristos, rather they should try and focus on completing a degree and if possible masters with some work or career experience b4 marriage. You can achieve all that if you are focused far b4 u get to ur 30's.You can also strike a balance while doing that wit a descent relationship cos the moment kids come in your focus and attention changes while one of the 2 suffers, but you can pick your career up when the kids get much older and continue from there. She also nailled it when she said men are afraid of more succesful women but a wise lady dont need to get to 50yrs of age to realize that truth and some girls should quit believing that any man that cant stand their Success is not worth marrying them otherwise you will get to age 50 unmarried and enjoy your life like wendy. You can act smarter but the choice is yours.

#streetwise#

U are very stupid..

I wonder @Mind urbiznezz

Wild Child said...

I totally agree with her but then people should do what works for them
I recently turned 24 and people keep telling me i work to hard, i don't think i do, i just know what i want
I dont even have time for relationship, not slept with any man or woman yet but i consider myself successful so far

@Royal just STFU! Who she is and where she is right now is where ur sorry ass can only hope to be. Just shut up if have nothing reasonable to say.

U are very stupid..

Yea, she has a point there. Unfortunately, our society is still patriarchal. But I'm happy that women are now standing up to take that challenge. We give up a lot when it comes to marriage and having kids. So its wise to build ur career to a point that even if u have to take time off to get married and start a family, it wouldn't be difficult when u decide to make a come back. It takes a very bold, confident and smart guy to understand and appreciate that in a woman.

Wendy wants to lead women astray ..! She's tryna console herself for being single !

Ekkingz said...

Please don't use your western idealogy to make our ladies 'Oto naka nne". Most ladies who followed this nonsense are regretting it today cos with all there careers achieved, men are far from them and menstruation is about to stop "menostop". U guys get paid when u re a single mother but not here. A woman should get married at most 25-30. a woman's beauty start fading from 30 downwards - 'do ur research'. trust me no man wants to marry an old woman or a woman that her body has started crumbling. Have you asked why gals who win most beautiful contests are always below 30 even 25?? - have you asked why men will leave their wives and start messing around with younger gals?? - have u asked why high% of women above 30 find it difficult to conceive and high% of them below 25 conceive faster?? -have you wondered why younger gals have like 5-10 men disturbing them for marriage and older gals complain men are not ready to settle down??. These are known and recorded research facts and I still don't know why any gal would allow anyone to come and deceive them on these. Most ladies I meet who re in their 30s-40s always tell stories of how they dated some1 for 5-8yrs and the guy left them, now men hardly talk marriage to them but only sex. If younger gals are thought/aware of their limited time of flexing, I guess they will not date some1 for this long knowing that the guy would move on later, while they have wasted their youth/beauty time with a man that would not marry them.

Please every gal should endeavour to settle from when they leave high institution to at most 30. The probability of getting a better man at older age tends towards zero, the best guys come when you re younger - seize the opportunity!. Get married and continue to build your career with ur man - 'trust me, every man enjoys their woman being successful but not disrespectful, so they will not stop your progress. Trust me again, single life is horrible no matter how much the lady has made. If a single woman comes to tell u she is enjoying her single life -please - #runforyourlife - she wants you to join that bitter part of life. "A GOOD AND SUCCESSFUL MAN IS THE PRIDE OF ANY WOMAN" and you get such men when you re younger!.

A word is enough for the wise - hahaha, I know older gals will call this write up a trash as their time is past already but younger gals should take note as they still have time to correct this societal anomaly.

Rita said...

Which country are u from? Because I'm from Nigeria and women in their thirties get married everyday!

For d first time, i agree wt royal priesthood. Dont mind wendy & linda who are desperate hypocrites.

Rita said...

Best comment ever!

But she's right no rush in marriage as long as ur bf is always in love with u and makes u do wat u want until u ready to settle down

Where is the like button for this comment?

Rita said...

You are very truthful and I respect you for it! Don't worry, you will achieve your dreams

mum jayjay said...

I concur

So on point

So on point

Greycontents said...

Who says you can't get married and build a career? Or that marriage is the end of life?

And who says u can't build a career while married. I made my first hundreds of thousands while i was married and not with my husband's money. It all depends on whom u r married to and how he views υ̲̣̥r̲̅ dreams. I can see how it worked out for wendy tho!

As if women marry themselves. The way people talk sometimes... So if someone loves you and wants to propose to you at say 25, according to her advice you tell them you can't marry them until you enter your 30s and have built your career. Ok. That's how 30 will come then 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36... And some people will start to panic when no man is knocking. My point is of course pursue you career and do the things you want. It doesn't mean you should obsess over marrying prematurely. But when that special someone comes along, whether you are in your early or mid or late 20s there is no reason you shouldn't get married if you are ready and still find a way to make it work. It's all about communication with your partner, commitment and sacrifice (which may mean holding off on kids for a little while). But if you are married to the right person and determined, you can succeed. I can go on to list a number of women who married in their 20s and are successful because they had the will.

And Linda, I know you 100 percent agree but let's face it, you still being single is not completely your choice. If you had met the right man that swept you off your feet 5 years ago or so, you would have married him if he proposed, but still found a way to make your career work.

Very true and medically, one of risk factors 4 *down syndrome* is giving birth above d age of 35. So many other -ve things wen a woman delivers @ a much older age.

what about struggling with getting pregnant because your fertility rate has dropped by half...dont listen to wendy williams o..she happened to find love later and and mind you this is her 2nd marriage...and nigerian guy prefer younger women in mid to late 20s

My comment has been saved and will be visible after blog owner approval. Linda i sight you.

Truth its bitter..sha....now u are rich and famous and in ur 30's going to ur 40's......why don't u go and hey married........... Its very bad taking advice from ppl who are one sided.....she's just saying this shit to suit her situation and not that if the average women out there.......Linda pls be honest to ursef

Mr royal,she's married n has a son

Very insane comment indeed,shallow minded pple

Mr royal,she's married n has a son

It's good to BEGIN a career but getting married...but to say one should spend their most productive years chasing a career at the expense of family life is absurd...

Even men that don't have to get married in their 20s are not at the top of their careers in their 30s

A smart woman will learn to juggle things and achieve a balance...it might be difficult but if canbe done!!

Nomso said...

i agree too coz you need to have your own sweat. aint no man gonna tell me that he picked me up from the gutters.

I agree bcos my mama says 'dem dey use money wage insult'.

Faithy said...

I kinda agree with her, but the fear is always that child-bearing complications increases with age and menopause comes very early these days, as early as 35yrs.
I am working hard @ building my career, but honestly, if dat great guy comes around, wanting to marry me and is willing to support my dreams and career right now, i won't hesitate.

I agree with her but not entirely. Young ladies should quit using their early years to do aristos, rather they should try and focus on completing a degree and if possible masters with some work or career experience b4 marriage. You can achieve all that if you are focused far b4 u get to ur 30's.You can also strike a balance while doing that wit a descent relationship cos the moment kids come in your focus and attention changes while one of the 2 suffers, but you can pick your career up when the kids get much older and continue from there. She also nailled it when she said men are afraid of more succesful women but a wise lady dont need to get to 50yrs of age to realize that truth and some girls should quit believing that any man that cant stand their Success is not worth marrying them otherwise you will get to age 50 unmarried and enjoy your life like wendy. You can act smarter but the choice is yours.

#streetwise#

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH MS WENDY,100% SELF.

Idi said...

I disagree.. There shouldn't be any age limit.. A 26 yr old girl who has her career and falls in luv with a good man should wait till 30 huh??? U can't predict these tins darlings. Most 30 yr olds dat actually agree with dis wish they had a family already.dnt kid ursef

sometimes i marvel at it when some of you listen to this americans..................i live in america and i want to tell you that this people do not believe in marriage. and their environment is different from that of nigeria...
linda knew how difficult it was to succeed in nigeria.....most men will help their wives in nigeria to get to the height they want in nigeria.
please stop that notion that men are intimidated by a woman's success. men are only afraid of such women because of arogance......

just look at the divorce rate in america....then compare it to nigeria.......even black american men this days do not marry black america women.......they can have children and live together for years but not marry. meanshile.......i love linda but i will never marry a woman that like linda

Oby said...

Well I agree with her that a woman should build her career in her 20s but not to get married in 30's. If a woman is not able to finish her first degree at least before 27 years and secure a job, let her get married if she sees Mr. Right. That you got married will not stop you though some guys don't allow their wife to work. It depends on who you marry. I got married quite early and have 2 degrees and had my kids while schooling and I am a career woman today. A lot of ladies married in their 30's and cannot give birth anymore. I don't support women staying up t0 30, this 30 moves to 40 and there are a lot of them. Infertility problem is on the increase now and only the lucky ones manage to conceive naturally while others go through IVF which does not work for everybody. Despite on top of their careers, some of them cannot afford to pay the bills associated with infertility and IVF. Please Ladies, while pursuing your career, be thinking of settling down.

Best comment ever!

So what happened to Omotola and strong ladies like her who have healthy family and career life. Pls save me that sermon Wendy and Linda. U r just a lucky single successful career lady. Many single women do not have a strong career, who cause am? And some married women are doing better in career (2 r better than 1 cos they have a reward for their labour...) All I will say is single and married ladies should focus on what they want to achieve.

Good advice Wendy but not applicable to everybody

I agree with wendy too. Truth be told. I just hate liability, some girls run off to marry as if marriage is now a poverty alleviation programme. And for the ladies screaming it doesn't apply in nigeria you all better wake up. #ChangeIsConstant.

I agree. When you are young, no hubby and no kids you can hop around the world if your career demands it, you can work extra hours, take complementary training afterwork... Stay late out to network if the need be. How can you do that if you are married with or no kids. The kids themselves will keep you out of your job for a good 3 months to years in some case... Any woman who can should build her career in her 20's and marry after. that is just the smart thing to do or she should just opt for family and forget the career. if you do things in the proper order, all you have to do is just maintain once you have that family... Not doing the grind of career building..

Yeah. There are wives waiting for them after the age of 30. Grow up girl

I agree with her 100 percent. Hv u felt incomplete wen u re in ur husbands house nd u havent acheived dat passion u hv? Hmmmm. Its a bad feeling. Thanks wendy

Well if u ask me is a two way thing, she is right in very few cases.... if u can take the risk and build ur career in ur 20s knowing fully well that u might end up like Wendy Williams Lol, well u can go ahead. But if u can't nd u re in ur 20s if u see husband marry! Most especiali if u re on d large side. Pray to God wo give u a good and understanding husband to sttand by you to have a good career and kids. Its all possible but at the end every woman in her right senses would want to get married and have kids no matter how rich they are and that is a lot easier wen u re in ur 20s. The chances that u might not marry wen u re over 30 is high. But if u re bold nd ur faith is strong take the step.... as for me am 22 am a graduate, i'm starting my internship this year by his grace and I might marry nxt year ending... I will never take the risk!! Good luck Linda! You are aging fast and you know it. Deep down in your heart u re well made and ready to start popping your own kids. I love you! So do and marry! But don't confuse young lads here, tell us why you agree boo.

kayyy said...

Ur comment is so spot on! Because as God created us differently, our goals and purpose in life are different. Asking for God's guidance and direction in all of this is paramount. What works for one cannot work for another.

i don't agree! you can build your career and be married in your twenties and use BIRTH CONTROL till you're successful and start having kids in your thirties but Africans don't know what birth control is. It's not everyday give birth 9 months after wedding.

@Rita...Mumu,women in their their 30's get married everyday abi?

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 204   Newer› Newest»