We do not have the power to cancel Rivers and Akwa Ibom results - INEC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 14 April 2015

We do not have the power to cancel Rivers and Akwa Ibom results - INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission has come out to state that it has no constitutional power to cancel any results it has announced. While addressing calls by some parties for the cancellation of governorship and state house Assembly election results in some state, particularly in Rivers and AkwaIbom, the Chief Press Secretary to the INEC chairman, Kayode Idowu, told Punch that the commission is not empowered by law to cancel any result it has announced, that cancellation of results is only done at election tribunals.

“The law does not allow us to cancel any result after it has been announced. Everyone knows this. It is only the election petition tribunals that can order that or even cancelled the elections. We would advice anyone who is aggrieved to go to the court. “he said
He advised all aggrieved party members to approach the election tribunals in their state to seek any redress they desire.

62 comments:

Nawa oh..

How To Get A Girl To Fall Deeply In Love With You

Phew! Same old same old.
The lack of faith in our electoral system is one reason many take the laws into their hands whenever their mandate is stolen.
Now they will have to wait till their mandate is returned by the tribunal.
I hope all these shortcomings are part of our constitution amendment.

He said it all "We would advice anyone who is aggrieved to go to the court".

I just pity some elected Senators and Governor's that one the election in dubious ways, most especially the SE, SS states. This 2015 has really shown us wat happen in those regions.

Hmmmm! B4 d announcement nko....well I undstnd...Nobody wnts 2 die nah.....#thobbyOmoAlhaja

optimisticlady said...

Lawyers your time is here..

People should just take the result and calm down

Nancy Ogbisi said...

When Apc wins dey say it is not rigged,when pdp wins, Apc complains it is rigged u don't expect to win every fin...wif the serious rigging Apc did in Benin 'they rig their papa join' in my fwends voice....I don't hear complain from anywhere....

Nancy Ogbisi said...

When Apc wins dey say it is not rigged,when pdp wins, Apc complains it is rigged u don't expect to win every fin...wif the serious rigging Apc did in Benin 'they rig their papa join' in my fwends voice....I don't hear complain from anywhere....

Nice one!

I think that's how it's been done but I tell you this gubernatorial election has been really tough compared to GMB and PGEJ. It is well

I did not know that

Na wa oh! Court tinz

APC, you better concede defeat in these two states and let move on to other things

Tendency oby said...

Medicine after death all this ApC should conced defeat. that what PDP have been doing, they should stop complaining.

Pathetic people, why are the northerners not calling for cancellations??? Deal with the reality of life and move on pleaseee

all hail biafra said...

America. What is your interest in biafrans. Obama the terrorist. Your plans have failed. You can conquer the hausa fulani but not biafrans. Stay with your hausa fulani. Don't cause more pain to the injury you have caused. Biko

all hail biafra said...

Obama is a terrorist. American ambassador is denying issuing jega certificate of return. Ha ha ha. We told you that this zoo called nigeria is a sham. That election of the 28th of march was a fraud. Chukwuabiama will prove himself. Watch out.

all hail biafra said...

Obama is a terrorist. American ambassador is denying issuing jega certificate of return. Ha ha ha. We told you that this zoo called nigeria is a sham. That election of the 28th of march was a fraud. Chukwuabiama will prove himself. Watch out.

Dakuku you ve already spent enough don't allow Ameachi drag you to court...you better be wise

U guys should better not downturn d election in Taraba o!, we've already celebrated and jubilated and popped champagne o!, d woman must re-emerge or else

HEARD!!!!

Y is apc jst looking for trouble? If dey win an election it's free nd fair bt if dey lose d election ws rigged.U guys shld also show a spirit of sportsmanship jst like pdp candidates. I rest my case

Noted

If pdp loses ... They call the winner and congratulate ... But if apc loses we no go hear word .. ah ah check it out places where apc lost there are chaos here and there .. from taraba to akwaibom and rivers as well ... Cant they just emulate the good trend set by pdp .. must they complain? ... If per adventure buhari lost the next election i hope there wont be war in this country o ...

Even after the crisis reported in Rivers and Akwaibom, I'm surprised INEC didn't declare the results inclusive.

Akuko. What is the essence of card reader again? I don't know the effect at all. Most states inflated their results and it was accepted by INEC. This is not good considering the fact that INEC claimed that they check the number of accredited voters through their data base. Why then are some problem states having high margin of results. This is absurd. INEC you lost this one.

Who then gat the power abeg......

Prof Jega shud look in2 the matter

TRY AM NOW...TOMJERRYSWIT

AMIJEZ said...

What makes apc think they'll win in these states?

If the election tribunal that will be Set up to investigate Rivers State Election will go round. Rivers state will be convince that Pdp won the. Election ,Rivers people don,t want Apc party to govern them,all through out saturday till now majority. Of the people of Rivers people are in celebration and jubilation of the out come of the election Result in Riivers state,i will advice the Apc not to waste their time and resources to go to court,l

objective said...

It is troubling to see APC as a party,dat if it wins,its free and fair,if it losses it's rigged,in an election bin conducted by d same umpire.it is also surprising to see PDP acting in a mature manner even in states where dey have reasons to contest,while d APC is instigating protest, riots and media propaganda. It's wit shock dat I observed channels reporting of elections in rivers and akwa ibom,saying it was marred by violence,wen river state has over 4000 polling units and dis violence wer recorded in only a handful,yet no single picture or video of peaceful elections anywhere in rivers,only those of violence in the few affected polling units. Also in akwa ibom,while other stations talked about d protest staged by apc members in a specific area in uyo,but still showed widespread jubilation on d outcome of d result,channels only focused on d protest, not a single video of jubilation,it was indeed appalling. I witnessed 1st hand d widespread jubilation of election results in rivers state,and also d pockets of protest of not even close to 100 APC supporters, y/day. If u ask an average rivers citizen about d election,they will tell u dat if it's done a hundred times wike will still win. Or is it akwa ibom dat we should believe has suddenly changed into an APC state overnight?. It's scary to tink dat if rivers does not boil over, Amechi, APC and channels will never b satisfied. Just my sincere opinion.

Let them cancel lets see what will become of Nigeria. if APC win it is normal but when PDP win, it become problem.

Don’t fear: God is there with you

3 spirit that controls the world

Then why did they announce the result in the first place.
I think this inec people are working with those rigging and bringing violence to this election.
With all the trouble surrounding the election in those places, they still went ahead to announce it.

So why announce a questionable result despite the alarm raised by international observers? This looks deliberate.

Marviz said...

They should better let d sleeping dog lie. Trouble dey sleep iyanga go wake am.

Marviz said...

They should better let d sleeping dog lie. Trouble dey sleep iyanga go wake am. Every state in Nigeria can never be APC state

Marviz said...

They should better let d sleeping dog lie. Trouble dey sleep iyanga go wake am. Every state in Nigeria can never be APC state

iyke cindy said...

Hmmmmmmmm......exactly as he said,any aggrieved person shud seek d appropriate pple involved #shikena...

ASAMPOKOTO said...

What a useless body. Shouldn't all these factors be considered before announcement? Useless excuse

If they like, they should go whereever they want oo. APC will never rule in the south south. They want to reap where they did not sow: APC party, does not want the progress of this country oo, they alwaly refuse to accept defeact.

Sheer waste of time, and energy if they enage in election tribunals in their state to seek any redress they desire.

And dat's dat! Election in Rivers State was free and fair. APC should JSTFU!

Amaechi can't go to court because he shut down judicially in rivers state for a year now.

The judas is crying as if he doesn't know We Rivers people hate him with passion. When st different time in different communities citizens boo him away. Who does think will vote for him. Pretenders.

God punish u @chisa peace thief like u

The level of ignorance here is out of this world..You are almost worse than the americans who are so ignorant of what the world is really about...the igbos here and few others probably from south south display so much ignorance its unbelievable.. have you asked yourselves what these so called leaders you have representing you have done to make your lives better..your roads are not tarred and some don't even have roads, erosion has almost wiped your states out, you have coal there but nothing is being done to use it to improve your lives rather you all sit in darkness, use generator to charge the phones you use to abuse others leaders just because jonathan isn't there anymore or is it because the president elect is a northerner? have you asked yourselves deep inside if jonathan being there made your lives any better... i sincerely hope that the candidates that caused violence to win the elections improve your lives one way or the other because thats what you all seem to support. and don't go comparing your selves with the northerners because they don't have resources like the south east or south west or even south south but its obvious they want a better life which sadly pep could not give them..
Ignoramous dey worry una.... F.I

Which mandate. Do you live in Rivers State?talking nonsense

You here posters here saying APC will never govern in Rivers or Akwa Ibom. Well let no one from these states.complain when they are denied their basic rights and opportunities by those who have cornered their mandates. There is a change that is sweeping through the country which is urgently needed due to how the country has been mismanaged for years. Yet tribalism would not allow some to do what is right, they would rather stick with the status quo and then blame Federal govt and everybody else for their problems.
You've made your bed so........

amaechi is a big fool.he should go and hide his face in shame. he already knows dat he is not on ground in river state,rivers ppl hate with passion.they voted against him and not dakuku.he bought badluck to him.even if the election is repeated ten times, pdp will still win in rivers.he is looking for court and influence of federalmight to cover his arrogancy and inefficiency dat robbed apc rivers election. mumu amaechi.

The election was fraudulent and was played to perfection by the riggers including the presidency and Akpabio, who is yet to release the 72yrs old man in his custody. With Rivers, how can people be killed in an election and you INEC say the election is perfect.
They are all in it for tbe mere fact that they knew by rushing to announce the results they can quote what they are now saying now- Constitution says this..
Also whilst at it APC only has itself to blame. They had reports fed to them about anomalies in Rivers and Akwa Ibom prior to the Governorship election but they rather tell the newspapers and pressmen as if they are the authorities who will deal with. Steps should have been taken to reject preparations for elections in those 2 states by APC.but they were rather casual about it.

Austine said...

INEC should cancel governorship elections in Lagos, it was marred by systematic rigging and voter intimidation!

Bonario d imbecile! When buhari won, u had faith in the electoral system but when Wike won in rivers state, u no longer av faith in the system abi? Stupidity is ur middle name. Animal!

Ma dear, u ve said it all. We in ph ll tell dem dat 85% of rivers pipo don't want APC nd their..... Rivers is a PDP state,Amechi can't force APC on those who don't need it...By now he sld b ashamed of himself...

If elections should be cancelled INEC should start from d presidential election dat was marred with irregularities including having underage voters.Even Buhari himself came in thru a rotten process so he should better all those SS states to be n try to deliver all his promises.He can start a better process when he settles down but as for dis 2015 election all d politicians are guilty of election malpratice.

Any court dat entertain Any election petition in South south. Hmmmmmmmmmm

In Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio used the Police and all instruments of state to harass and intimidate voters while also carting away ballot boxes. Commissioners like Uwem Etuk, Bassey Albert, Enobong Uwah and Enoidem were moving about with guns and policemen from polling booth to polling booth!Ballot papers were thumbprinted at the homes of Senator Effiong Bob in Ubium and Aniekan Umanah in Abak for PDP Candidate Udom Emmanuel. Then, the final figures were written in Government House with the active collusion of REC Austin Okojie. How could PDP beat the APC in an intense contest by over 960,000 votes to a mere 59,000? Seven young men are dead, and the respected General Edet Akpan(rtd) is locked up on trumped up charges. Do Akpabio and Udom Emmanuel think there is no justice? Thank God there is Change in Nigeria, and no tribunal judge dare take bribes as in the Jonathan dispensation. There is abundant video and photographic evidence. There are witnesses. Akwa Ibom will get its justice soon.

Must all states be apc? Whats wrong with apc and this win it all attitude .. hmm i sense danger in the future o

Do u knw ur d bigger fool here

Pls tell dis fool dat dnt knw anything. Someone who will go as far as taking people's or dnt care if people die jst 4 him 2 win, or swears wit his last blood jst 2 win doesn't deserve to be there