Read Malala's touching letter to the missing Chibok girls | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 April 2015

Read Malala's touching letter to the missing Chibok girls

17 yr old Pakistani education activist and the youngest-ever Nobel Prize recipient Malala Yousafzai, wrote a touching letter to missing Chibok girls to commemorate their 1 year in captivity. In the letter, Malala who was in Nigeria in July 2014, said she will never forget them and called on Nigerian and World leaders to do more towards the rescue of the kidnapped girls. Full text of her letter below...
To my brave sisters, the kidnapped schoolgirls of Chibok,
On this first anniversary of your captivity, I write to you with a message of solidarity, love and hope. My name is Malala. I am a Pakistani girl your age. I am one of the millions of people around the world who keep you and your families foremost in our thoughts and prayers. We cannot imagine the full extent of the horrors you have endured. But please know this: we will never forget you. We will always stand with you.
Today and every day, we call on the Nigerian authorities and the international community to do more to bring you home. We will not rest until you have been reunited with your families.

Like you, I was a target of militants who did not want girls to go to school. Gunmen shot me and two of my friends on a school bus. All three of us survived and are back in school. Now we speak out on behalf of all girls about the right to get a proper education. Our campaign will continue until you and all girls and boys around the world are able to access a free, safe and quality secondary education.
Last July, I spent my 17th birthday in Nigeria with some of your parents and five of your classmates who escaped the kidnapping. Your parents are grief-stricken. They love you, and they miss you. My father and I wept and prayed with your parents – and they touched our hearts.

The escapee schoolgirls my father and I met impressed us with their resolve to overcome their challenges and to complete their high school education. My father and I promised your parents and the girls who had escaped that we would do all we could to help them. I met Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan and urged him to work harder for your freedom. I also asked President Jonathan to meet your parents and the girls who escaped the kidnapping, which he did a few days later. Still, in my opinion, Nigerian leaders and the international community have not done enough to help you. They must do much more to help secure your release. I am among many people pressuring them to make sure you are freed.

There are reasons for hope and optimism. Nigerian forces are re-gaining territory and protecting more schools. Nigeria's newly-elected president, Muhammadu Buhari, has vowed to make securing your freedom a top priority and promised his government will not tolerate violence against women and girls.

You will have the opportunity to receive the education you want and deserve. The Malala Fund and other organizations offered all your classmates who escaped the kidnapping full scholarships to complete their secondary education. Most of the escapee girls accepted this scholarship and are now continuing their studies at a safe boarding school and with the support they need. We hope to someday extend that same scholarship to all 219 of you, when you return home.

Remember that one day your tragic ordeal will end, you will be reunited with your families and friends, and you will have the chance to finish the education you courageously sought. I look forward to the day I can hug each one of you, pray with you, and celebrate your freedom with your families. Until then, stay strong, and never lose hope. You are my heroes.

Your sister,
Malala

51 comments:

Aww I always admire Malala's strength. So much love dear.

Ethel said...

How Sweet of her!

God bless u Malala.. #bringTheBabesBak

Olisa said...

Malala! old soul in a young body. She'll never cease to amaze me.

My thoughts and prayers are with you girls as i weep for this country. Beta days are ahead though.

You'll all return home IJN

God bless this lovely little girl.. This bring tears to my eyes.

Olisa said...

Malala! Old soul.you'll never cease to amaze me.

My thoughts and prayers are with you girls. you'll return iJn.

Ghani Rotimi said...

So emotional.

Will read tomorrow

So touching.....

Very thoughtful of her.
I just pray the world should do something.
That's if the girls were really kidnapped.

Bimablinks said...

Very touching, I like.

Pray they get back. to their e

Wat a brave nd interlligent child. She is full wit wisdom nd courage. May God gv our govt all wat dey need 2overcome boko haram nd may our sisters return 2us in peace

MacSpeedy said...

This brought tears to my eyes and am a man. God bless your good soul Malala. PLEASE BRING BACK OUR GIRLS!

I wonder when will a 17 year girl in our dear public schools be this constructive grammatically. God bless you dear #chibokgirlsmustreturn

Thoughtful Touchy...Uhmm.*Deep Sigh*

B Ud said...

Nice words!

udieblessing@yahoo.com

Anon 1:17am,what do u mean? THEIR ARE LOADS OF 17YEAR OLD NIGERIANS WHO CAN BE MORE CONSTRUCTIVE GRAMMATICALLY,MAYBE YOU WERE DULL AT HER AGE BUT PLS DONT RUBBISH US ABEG.

Awwww... she's even an oyinbo

Na only 2go and Olamide those ones knw

Jeremiah said...

Very touching

Jeremiah said...

Very touching

Ode ni ee..What a shameful message and you called yourself a mother..Brainless mother !!How could you be excessively daft by saying"will read tomorrow".It shows you dont have sympathy for those girls ,despite ur posture with ur kid as a mother.
Pls if you cant help with ur motherhood sympathy,pls stay off and rather be a freak of low life.
Ode agbaya alaini ronu iya Oluchi.

Amen,May God help us.

@anonymous 1:17am and who told you that no 17yr old nigerian school girl can write this constructive and even better grammar, pls speak for you olodo self you hear dumb ass, I dislike people who always try to bring or look down on their fellow nijah mtewww!!!

atleast am not the only on that cried..I thought I had a problem..or perhaps she put onion in the words..cos am a 31 yr old male crying while reading what a 17 yrs old wrote..and I ask..WHAT HAVE I DONE FOR THESE GIRLS!!!?

So sweet

Nova Planeta said...

So touching.. .. we pray for the safety of Chinook girls and their return soon.

WhatEthniSees... said...

Powerful message!! Come home safe girls!! We love you...we have failed you. God help us all!!

Bless her heart, very encouraging words.

Nice write up Malala, God bless you

Deep. God bless ya

@Anonymous, April 14, 2015 at 1:17 AM - now is not the time to worry about the 'grammar construction' of 17 year old Nigerian girls- this article is about the Chibok girls. I pray they are found and returned to their parents. The Nigerian army and government missed a window of opportunity in not going after the kidnappers immediately

Ehyahh! This letter is so heartbreaking. Got me imagining d possible horrors these girls r going through. It will end in praise.

Mr 47 said...

All ye Jonathan's supporters should be shame off urself. It took a 17yrs old girl to tell our president to meet with the parent of the girls.... That guy is a complete failure

And I wept...

@ziniex said...

at one end of the world a 17 year old is touching lives and being a good example to millions while at the other end another 17 year old is there taking selfies and doing everything she can to be become a bad bitch. LIFE

Thanks to her

So touching, Buhari will soon free them from where he kept them

Don’t fear: God is there with you

3 spirit that controls the world

thank u Malala!!! for being so thoughtful......

c'est moi said...

Malala you are so full of wisdom, we have not ceased praying for thier return. Thank you for your continous support and words of encouragement. God pls bring back our girls..

Nice one frm her, and God bless her.

May God protect and return our girls to us... And God bless Malala, a sister like no other.

Edison Obodo said...

Jennykiss said...

Hmm......

If only any CURRENT ACTIONS gives light to this becoming a reality.
If only we lived in a world that hopeful..
If only presidents where that united to fight a common enemy.
If only The whole of the Nigerian Government had any conscience reliable enough to believe your conclusions.
If only all Nigerians where'nt such hypocritical COWARDS.
If only we "unitedly" for once believed that this height of inhumanity was a reality executed right before us all.
If only our forsaken Chibok daughters had any access to media, to see how a very rich world continues to fight their freedoms tru SENSATIONAL SPEECHES, ADVERT-RALLIES & "NOTICE ME"-WRITE UPS!
If only the Brave girls still have any soul left to @least imagine a brighter future.
.....IF & ONLY IF!!

Bwaaahaaahaaa

May d world doubt u when u will need help from danger. Hope u can say amen.

See your comment here and the one you wrote on the boys on the bridge... I will summarise you as a total DISGRACE!