Must a woman be Mrs before she is respected? - Charly Boy asks | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 April 2015

Must a woman be Mrs before she is respected? - Charly Boy asks

Thoughts?

161 comments:

Everything Rosham said...

I don't think so

ASAMPOKOTO said...

GOD BLESS THIS MAN! God bless him. I'm tired of this topic and the shallow minded people. A woman has a degree but still ain't worth shit Cus she ain't married? I got attacked by a foolish old man once and he linked it to marriage.
Urgh! The daftness is ridiculous. Like marriage is the ultimate gateway to heaven. Meanwhile half of you in marriages are bitter as hell. I've seen it.

Baby P said...

I have no idea.

dekamz said...

Charly boy,ask me again u hear@ "even me am married"" dey der dey deceive yasef,,,hisss,,e show for ya body

Unfortunately in Nig society, a rich woman is respected a bit, but a married rich woman is highly honoured. I think Charly boy should free us with this his unmarried daughter issues biko

dekamz said...

Charly boy,ask me again u hear@ "even me am married"" dey der dey deceive yasef,,,hisss,,e show for ya body

Kingsley said...

Nah ladies shud be respected at all times

Charly boy read my mind on this one! You walk into somewhere and the moment they ask for your name and you say "Mrs ....." The respect given to you is different.. This has happened to me on several occasions.. It's not fair it's not right. I truly agree that alot of women nowadays are truly more interested in marriage than the men.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

This is also why a lot of NIGERIAN men useless NIGERIAN babes. "They put marriage before their independence and ambition" <- I agree. When you have nothing to offer, the man knows your ass is not going anywhere.
I once met a fiancee whose friends told her to be grateful she got the ring out of her fiancé as opposed to the side chick and as long as she was the one getting married she's blessed(all of them, fiancee included, knew he was still smashing the side chick) PLSSSSSS WHO RAISED THESE WOMEN? AND WHERE DO THEY GET SUCH NONSENSE ADVICE. If half of you weren't in a rush to marry, you will also find out a lot of men actually DONT cheat. When most of you are willing to settle for whatever, you will be given whatever. And that's where most of you are today. FACT!

Linda's Intern said...

Personally, I respect an unmarried independent lady more than a Mrs house-wife.
So basically, you earn the respect you build.

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

IkejiLinda It's For U

Linda don't worry, you will soon be called Mrs too. Your Mr is very near. In Nigeria that is how it works sha. SMH.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Classic case of the insecure woman

My thoughts exactly, I can live ur life without getting married, it's not a big deal, ur happiness matters alot, some so called married women / Men are living in bondage not marriage, yet dey still force it bcus of wat society might say. U can live ur life wit or witout children, married or not,just live a positive life dat's all dat matter. Some marriage lead to dia death,while some some dia children lead to their death, if u like bash me o,but it's high tym Nigerians most especially start thinking forward! They should stop thinking like uncivillize people! It's 2015 dah! If bein single 4 ever makes u happy den so b it,just remain positive in all dat u do shekenan!

U r fucked boy

My thoughts exactly, I can live ur life without getting married, it's not a big deal, ur happiness matters alot, some so called married women / Men are living in bondage not marriage, yet dey still force it bcus of wat society might say. U can live ur life wit or witout children, married or not,just live a positive life dat's all dat matter. Some marriage lead to dia death,while some some dia children lead to their death, if u like bash me o,but it's high tym Nigerians most especially start thinking forward! They should stop thinking like uncivillize people! It's 2015 dah! If bein single 4 ever makes u happy den so b it,just remain positive in all dat u do shekenan!

My thoughts exactly, u can live ur life without getting married, it's not a big deal, ur happiness matters alot, some so called married women / Men are living in bondage not marriage, yet dey still force it bcus of wat society might say. U can live ur life wit or witout children, married or not,just live a positive life dat's all dat matter. Some marriage lead to dia death,while some some dia children lead to their death, if u like bash me o,but it's high tym Nigerians most especially start thinking forward! They should stop thinking like uncivillize people! It's 2015 dah! If bein single 4 ever makes u happy den so b it,just remain positive in all dat u do shekenan!

7F098C19 said...

Once a female child is born, she should be respected starting from that moment. Women needs to be adored every minute and in all their steps. Women are god living in flesh. Engr Emy. God is still speaking.

The same respect is not accorded at all, even your friends who are married will not like to move along with you any more

Charly tell them o.
Marriage is not do or die affair

Pls help me tell dem! You see a lady with no job or no handwork craving for marriage! Forgot their calling and their main ambition on earth! Marriage is beautiful but wat do you have to offer the world! What would you tell God dat you did for him ! Look after your husband and make children? What did d people of your generation achieve from you? You spoke well Charlie man!

In our society, yes! Which isn't supposed b so. And I find men usually disrespectful to ladies. I have a single colleague who thinks pple talk to her in an annoying manner(vulgar words)simply cos she's not married. And compares herself with me. Men be cautious ooo!

Mtweee

JAY said...

We need a lot of sensitization in so many areas in our society, even the married women are mainly respected out of fear for their husbands, sometimes in a fracas you will hear someone say (if no be say u be person wife i for just slap u) in other words he's respecting the woman's husband, not the woman, cos he doesn't know who the husband is or what he can do.

Hmmm...I'll come back for the comments....i need to read people's idea on this issue

As far as african culture is concerned yes every Mrs. Should be respected..4 crying out loud she's someone's wife!!!!!!!!

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Is a gender based society, whr d woman must aspire to marriage. Is quite unfortunate but dats d African society for u. Am an independent, selfmade lady wit my own property in Abuja, nd is so bad dat people make remarks like what ll she do qit all dis moni, is not even as if she has any children, dis one ll neva get married, etc. U know stuffs dat hurts, but like I always remind myself, am a 21st century woman, ambitious, a CEO, nd failure isn't an option. If as a man u re timid dats no fault of mine. And lastly I tank God my mum is educated nd understands dat bein married doesn't define who I am as a person.

Here in our part of d country ppl don't, dey feel a woman must be Mrs before she can be respected- Hmmmmm dats d situation we find ourselves in dis part of our country

I blame the society for this.People need to understand that not everyone has to ride off into the sunset with a man for her to earn respect.Some ladies just want a tan and that should in no way demean their status.

we need to change our mentality. Marriage or no marriage every man and woman must be respected.

please Mr charly boy is not as if single women don't get respect no, but the thing is more respect is given to married woman as an honour to her husband i hope this answers your question,

Get the update of great achievements in the world with news updates at www.achieversdiary.com

Linda pls help me tell Kristen Stewart dat I love her so much nd I can turn gay for her biko. Amaka bae

In actual fact, the "MRS" comes with a lot of respect. However, being single doesn't take out the respect in a woman.

Its the society we live in, but I think its changing a bit, people are beginning to respect achievements as they respect marital status, we'll get there. I think women should be respected irrespective of their status. I know great single girls who some married woman can only get to their level in their dreams

Noooooo

My dear.. help me ask them o?? Anyway, i know where i stand n nobody feeds me! So before a man will disrespect me, i must have belittled myself in front of him.. It's that simple.. carry yourself the way u wanna be addressed.

I hate to see did guys comment,pls Charlie or whateva u call itself park well

How can a mannerless man seek for a decent answer?

chibyks said...

100% with you Mr. Charly

Kponskii said...

Like he said, marriage is a good thing...but it isn't for everyone. There's more to life than just getting married and making babies. If it happens, all well...if not, focus on achieving your goals. you are single is not a prerequisite for living the life of a hermit.

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person

Not really.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

well its juts this part of the world oo cause i think every woman need to be respected either married or not #team@seybyth. IN D CLUB dropping next week finally dope dope DOpe shittttt

Oya o....over to d men

Me sef the thing tire me ooo... I just dey think am! On a serious note, I'm also considering putting my ambition and career on hold because I have accepted a man that says I can not work! Its weighing heavily on my mind and I'm confused! I'm good at what I do, I have a good degree but he says no to working.

Kulikuli said...

it's in your head Charly Boy. Now you can't contain it any more and you are masturbating in public! Get over your conscience and do the right thing: respect people on their own merit, not on their label. Your making this an issue shows where you still belong, and what you still believe. So primitive. Urghhh!

in Nigeria???the answer is yesssssssssss .di bu ugwu nwanyi

Well as you can see from day one that the pride of a woman is her husband,that is tradition & can not be changed at this your own time. So i do not see it right to accord a single woman same respect of a married woman,

it is not cultural, it is everywhere! that said, respect has nothing to do with marital status.

jazzmma said...

My brother this is a major dream killing issue for the Nigerian single lady. we wish our society and family can insist on us fulfilling our career and other dreams the way the press in us getting married. It leads alot of ladies into the wrong hands and into commitments they were not ready for, it has also paved the way for our men to treat good ladies like a piece of game they can do whatever they choose with, afterall she is desperate to settle down.

Am with U charly.....A woman shud be respected...married or single........I hope things change in dis aspect too

The answer is big NO, personally speaking I don't care what people think, am single and in my early 20s but even if am older I still dnt care, what matters to me is how to be a better woman , independent , build a heart void of offence towards God&man#though we Cnt pls men completely# do my part and allow things to happen naturally , if the right man comes praise God, but being married or single shouldnt be the whole essence of life, yes marriage is good but speaking from experience I know lot of couple round me that wish they can take back hand of time & wait more to carefully choose there spouse , a lot of marriage crashing , doesn't mean if I delay I get the best man as nothing like that but prepares me to face the challenges, though not everyone will be married in this life, I rather be successful and happy than Marry bcos my Frnds are or to Pls family/people , by the way it's me who will bear this cross #myopinion

In Igbo yes! In Yoruba pls who's a man? In Yoruba it doesn't even exist!!!

optimisticlady said...

Even the married women are no longer
respected.

BECAUSE TWO IS BETTER THAN ONE.

Even if a lady is successful, people will still look at it that she's not successful enough until she's married.

Akahi Group said...

NO!

Linda go and marry stop consoled Urself with waiting charly boy got to say,he is only giving his his daughter hope.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

A woman should always be respected, single or married but she has to earn it and behave like someone who deserves it.

I tire ooooooo chalie kukus. All over the work there are women of substance that are not married by are contributing alot in the society. So even if the man is tiger , u must stay nd die because u want to be MRS OVURERIA? NAIJA LOWA!!!

Nope

Don't mind the kind of a society that we are now, that shows how low of a mentality of people that thinks a woman must be Mrs be4 she is respected.

Dani said...

No she should be respected irrespective

I think it has 2 do with our culture in dis part of world, we feel dat a women is not complete without marriage, and in d real sense marriage makes a woman 2 be more responsible cos in our country is d men's world

naijavibz.blogspot.com said...

I believe respect should be reciprocal...
If a married woman behaves like a kid..
Mennn!!!
she is on her own...

I think it has 2 do with our culture in dis part of world, we feel dat a women is not complete without marriage, and in d real sense marriage makes a woman 2 be more responsible cos in our country is d men's world

I don't think been respected has to do with been single or a mrs! People can respect you for your status,age,money,they need your help or the way they perceive you as a person!

Only thing is when guys find out you're still a 'Miss' everybody will be toasting you..dwarf self go approach...hehe!

yettymamma said...

the africa mentality is what is working here in our country....to me i dont believe in it.

Yes she must be married......my own opinion

comfort said...

Nice question jare, I dat am even married cos of my small stature pple find it difficult to respect me and it's so annoying most time....mtchwwwwwww

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

I tire ooo. Afriican low mentality. May God not allow people choke women with marriage issue. Marriage is not for everyone!

I wonder ooo,so many women Hv lost deir self esteem bcos of marriage.dey feel bad nd depressed seeing deir friends getting married nd thus make d wrong choice cos of inferiority complex. I jus pray God help us all. Cos me as a woman want 2 b independent nd wealthy. #notaganistmarriage

Miss Ferragamo said...

Good question Areafada, my thoughts exactly. Well.. that's the way we make it seem, our society is very barbaric. The men and our parents think the single woman is less a woman,too bad,. We gotta change it. Marriage is not a do or die affair mbok.

Plz help me ask dem oh..as for me itz #careerlove #money luv den #manlove...

.is anybody disrespecting my crush, is anybody disrespecting u linda? tell me, lemme treat someone's effs. Well women r d weaker sex n r always disrespected by both sexes but once u r married u become one wit a man. Odr men disrespect u less cos they'll hve their fellow guy to contend wit, gals jus dare not period. So dat backing is ther.

Hmmm! This man is always making sense

Don't care! I'm married and I use my maiden name and Ms. Nigerians can go to blazes with their old school thinking! Nonsense! Most Nigerian men are not worth the respect that they as for!

Its so unfortunate that is the norm in our society.

INK_HER said...

Well..

hmmm...........that is why some women end up making wrong choices becos of this kind of perspective, culture or believe that is common among African.

Cynthia Iyede said...

Hnmmm this matter tire me sef.

Charleyboy,abeg go and sit down.

Abeg it's true so many women have lost respect as men see through their desperation to be married!!!

No

Dnt knw why our girls are so desperate. nigerian men arent even worth all that stress

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Ask ur mother?u for nor marry

Abdul Adepetu said...

Please tell them. Society has changed. Population has increased. Opportunity are abound. Women should please understand that marriage is not the ultimate in life. Yes institution for procreation. But be ready and be strategic and smart. Area Father please tell them!

No she must nt b Mrs b4 she cn b respected..

The society in which we live do believe that single ladies are not responsible because there is no one to control them and they are seen as unfulfilled and so that is the reason why women want marriage at all cost. We must begin to change our perception about this because life is no more linear but dynamic

Honest truth.....Nay.
Who you're in a society commands respect
Not your title as mr or mrs.

In our society today, marriage accords respect not only to the women, but also the men. Even, divorcees/widows/widowers who are still of marriage age are looked down upon until they find another spouse. This is our culture that we grew up with, let us respect it. Enough of bringing foreign mentality into our system. Oyinbos culture and belief are not better than ours.

Girls are so bent on the term "Mrs" than having a good relationship or knowing who is good for them. That's why divorce rate is high now in our society.

Its not a must... There is no commandment relating to that. Is just the shallow mentality we have here in nigeria

Mr charlie , as an old man i expect you to know better and tell us the real answer. I dont think its a nigerian thing, its a global perspective, but less pronounced in more developed countries than here. Not just marriage but your ability to stay committed to your marriage earns you respect. If a woman is married and sleeps around she doesn't earn respect from those who know her . And if you are unmarried and remain a nun or dont sleep around you equally earn respect from people around you.Its a two way thing.
Another thing is being in a marriage makes you more responsible even though we know lots of irresponsible mothers around now. Its presumed that you are directly responsible for the care of your husband and the lives of your children which earns your more respect than a single lady but a single lady who does more stuffs may need to prove how responsible she is to earn that same respect.

Adeiza said...

Should we give same respect to a lazy woman and a hard working one? Uneducated to an educated one? A woman with morals to the one that lacks moral? To a prostitute and virtuous woman? If the answer is no then a married woman should be more respected that a single one.

He is true

Cc: Are you Raped on a Date? This is What You Should Do

Megoli said...

In my office if ur not married ur not respected for real...but as for mi it depends on the way u carry ur sef!naija mentality is so low happy Sunday y"all

I am myself even in d face of family pressures. Independent, smart, comfortable. A man will be a partner not my life. We don't need to be married to be respected.

luvmybaby said...

Nigeria mentality

A woman must not be a MRS to be respected. However, its a norm in our society not to accord the same respect given to a married woman to a single one. Very sad

Uncle Charlie. U have come again ehn!. No bizzare pics this time?. That's d dictate of our own society, so people should deal with it. A remnant of our cultural, traditional and social beliefs and it's okay, only some ladies find it hard to get a husband and d ones who have at times, find it hard bearing children, this ain't their fault, but the society still victimise and is hostile to them.

Well,dunno buh me dnt wanna die a lonely old lady

Charley Boy, tell them o!!!! It is only a lazy woman who is refusing to make something of herself that will expect aan to complete her. That is why men of nowadays treat woman like crap. Girls of nowadays are just too lazy and desperate

Only small minded Nigerians think like that. It is usually women that act like without being a Mrs they are nothing. Gone are the days when we thought marriage meant responsibility, as you can see they sleep around and disgrace themselves with alacrity.

As a married woman, I believe it is bullocks for anyone to say marriage should give a woman respect. Unfortunately, silly Nigerians believe this rubbish and doltish Nigerian women will be agreeing to such stupidity.

Girls have been

Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

conditioned to think that way right from childhood. She's ingrained in her the physiological knowledge that she's unattached, SINGLE and meant to be COMPLETED by a man and if she's not COMPLETED by a man at most in her mid-twenties, all manner and sorts of interventions including assumptions begin to follow so she lives daily with the pressure to conform to societal expectations that she largely would be considered worthy of attention WHEN married. The constant catfighting among women over men to a large extent reinforces the belief that a man is a rare gem to be captured by the woman with the most guile after all she is largely 'sold' to the man who can afford her. Marriage is such a good thing that women run into blindly for fear of bearing the 'unmarried woman' stigma and the behaviour of people especially men towards unmarried women is not encouraging. Yes, some have their reasons for being unmarried just as men have theirs for being highly reluctant to marry and society praises the men for their playboy lifestyle while the women who are unmarried are called 'loose'. Every woman has a story to tell just as men do. It's a case of the chauvinism that exists in our world where masculinity is deemed divine and feminity serpentine.......no be Eve give Adam apple to chop?

All women should be respected

Abegi!! tell him to shut up there! I'm a happily single girl of 29, educated,successful etc, but every phone call from home people keep asking when i am going to bring a husband home. You think us girls like to be harassed like this. It is not fun, so just park well. Look at how some animals talk to Linda sef for not being married. It is is so so "Linda you no go go find man marry" ,"Linda you old o, go marry"....as in, na wetin!! free us ok, just free us!!!

The people dat see themselves dat way have a low self esteem..... I wanna marry buh its not crazy abt it like some do.....

Both married n single r suppose 2 b respected bt d level of d respect varies

Lillygal said...

Don't mind Nigerians and their annoying mentality.

Release comments na

molebaba said...

Mr Charly am still pondering that same question for years and have not gotten any reasonable answer from the female folks! Like u said "Am not against one getting married"! But is so disturbing to see most of our ladies value Mrs more than anything else. As if becoming successful, independent and probably adopting a kid if no suitor is forth coming has become a crime! Hmmm... pensive

Speechless

Every woman (sane ones) deserves to be respected. Even some married women doesn't deserve respect. But a society and culture is weird and shrewd.

What concerns charly boy a 60 something year old man with this topic?

That's what is going on in our society. #we need a change of orientation

Nice one frm Charlyboy. Well it all depends on how d lady or woman place hersef but in a nutshell there is nothing lik b married instead of b single. It pays to b married than b single, dat is y our culture respect those married than d singles.

Abi oooo. When some Mrs are lookin for ways to bcum a miss again.bad marriage

Sir, I don’t understand ooo….
Women now see their selves as inferior materials until they get married in Africa, especially in Nigeria.
I believe the parents add to this crazy mentality in the head of women, they always throw it to their female children that Marriage is their pride as a woman in this part of the world.
Instead of teaching them the power of an independent woman, how you can earn your respect anywhere anytime.
Later they come out to host a Women Empowerment seminal … rubbish.
One thing I understand in Nigerian is women as scared of Old Age and are scared of being alone.
They should go see how women are crying “Had I know” in their marriages, especially the once who were established in an interesting career before the alien called Marriage steps in.
Marriage is a good thing though but the way women see it in Nigeria …God help us.
We should start saving for our old age, have a life insurance … I know Nigerians are scared of that but try it on your own, I mean the “Bank thing” if possible and not to depend on your children to do all that for you.
People say the only reason they get married is because of children … Seriously? While some say the highest investment in this life is having a child, that’s why some children are scared of growing up while some are so in a hurry to leave their parents house.
Any good business man should try opening a CARE GIVING SERVICE, that’s another business that’s not rampart in Nigeria of which I know the growth of a business depends on how you package it. Try it and give it good attention, I know most people don’t like to stay with old people while some don’t see it as a problem.
Make the pay attractive, call on foreigners if possible (English Speaking African Countries) for the job if Nigerians are incapable of doing the job because we all know what we can do.
Monitor the affairs very well and keep a close watch, be patient and consistent in all aspect, don’t go start using your last card to open the business because that’s where Nigerians fail most times. They open a business with their last savings and expect money flowing into their accounts in one year.
Most business can be taking from your Account for a whole 3 years before it starts giving to you.
You don’t have to travel down to your Village because you are old, some people don’t like going down there…. they like seeing their children at least once a month.
Because you are old doesn’t mean you can’t still see the good stuff, go places and enjoy your golden age…. Age gracefully and died happily.
We should think about this and start to make amends because life is short and this time of life we live in is unpredictable but I know with God all things are possible and one with God is with majority.
Be vigilant, be wise…

Dis man is very correct. Single ladies also deserve 2b respected

Ucee said...

Naija mentality.Gbam!!!

Don't mind them Charlie boy...it's a very stupid mentality that is so irritating....am married but I hate it when people just talk to single ladies like they have nothing important to say till they are married....that's the reason men feel like mini gods all over the place...there is no marriage in heaven....parents and society pressure women who settle for men that are not worth the trouble all to answer mrs....I know some young ladies who do not go home often cos the only topic their parents talk about is when will you bring your suitor? Very very annoying

Lolz

Abeg uncle Charly ask dem oooo.low mentality Nigerians hisssss

Mehn!! Charlie even at ur old age u stil get sense I agree with you a lot..linda first to comment happy sunday,#kryptonkenzy#@twitter

Bikonu where is Linda nwa ikeji?

Karlsson said...

If U ask me, na who I go ask? Ask ur wife Oga.
Ubanagum

I dont blame some women, lastweek thursday i had to carry my baby to do her international passport ,sadly i was attended to last simply because i did not go there with my husband, other people with their spouse were attended to first, Naija for u... For your wholesale baby clothing contact me.

This is very rampant in our country. You wonder what future have we when women marry with a witless idea of making a happy home to better society and change life. No wonder violence, raping and other atrocities that has taken a center stage the face of Nigeria good tommorrow. The tommorrow seems to be for eternity. God helps us all

Asampokoto, I totally agree. I would venture that a lot more than half of the women in Naija marriages are bitter, upset and abused.

mk said...

Ask women who tried this shit , they lived in regrets....he's only scared of ur success . Open ur eyes jor desperado

Nneka Oma said...

Shame on you! So the only essence of your existence is to be someone's wife? You don't have an identity of your own...like when u die God will judge you based on whose wife you were. Smh

Nneka Oma said...

Archaic and outdated way of reasoning.

Linda's sugar daddy said...

Abeg all you people ranting about facing career, being successfull, educated blah blah. Na una go first go school or face career?
Omotola Jalade got married at 19 and still had a good career. And that's why she's more respected than Geneveive

Gaddiel said...

Marriage is just an overrated shii...i wouldnt still understand why more than expected emphasis is being laid upon it....abeegi, let me remain single and be happy than to be married and be full of bitterness of heart.

kayyy said...

#TrueThat!

How dare you compare a single lady to a prostitute? And say she lacks morals?? Is it marriage that makes a woman virtuous? Chai...you have just shamed your kind. I have never heard such appalling reasoning before.

Charly Boy always have interesting topics. He should have a regular column in a newspaper, or running his own blog on cultural affairs.

Charlie it really swings both ways. A man who has passed the age of marriage is even viewed with greater degree of levity unless of course he is a priest. It goes with the norms of the society which developed over the years. It has little to do with gender. Respect however, should be earned regardless of marital status of any person.

NO, But it attract more respect.

Well said!

Thumbs up, you earn my respect.!

A like button pls Linda.

I like your point of view my sister. Marriage is a beautiful thing, I grew up in one and I am so looking forward to it someday but with the RIGHT person becaus being with the right one makes marriage a walk in the park( with thorns which will never harm you).

For me respect begats respect, respect yourself and respect others married or not .We young ladies of nowadays need to look beyond the cultural factors our parents tend to lay down for us when it comes to marriage.Stand your grounds, make use of your time, learn to love God more ,love yourself and love others, at the end of the day "nna you go wear the shoe o"no one will do it on your behalf.Marriage is worth doing it right on the word GO"no be JAMB no time for resit", get it wrong the first time, it will take the grace of God to get it right again, so, why not take your time.

Lets leave the African/Nigerian mentality behind, there are more achievement on this earth than being married, take your time, enjoy yourself, improve yourself and make an impact...Marriage will come when you don't expect and to the right one which will make it even better.

Oluwayemisi

Putting your career on hold, is he a trillionaire? What happens to if in a moment in the nearby future he is being addressed as the head/husband to that woman who made an impact in that so and so career he wants you to quit or is he afraid of success? We are in the 21st century, there a no stay home ladies anymore because of marriage, we have career married women, in fact without the career to the MRS, your being respected as a married woman will be decreased and as you stay in that marriage without that career that's how the respect decreases.

Well stated!

Well said sir!

Nneka u are the fool here......she's living in reality, but u prefer to live in a dream world, the early u face the truth the better for u.......every country, tribe, group etc have there culture, its out culture to be that way, so why are u trying to make it look bad, bcos other cultures don't do it....

I so agree with you bro/sis, God bless.

This topic brings something to mind, if respect is only given to married women, is the same respect given to her if she eventually divorces (God forbids)?
Respect begats respect, it is the way you see and compose yourself people will see you, making an impact in your life and that of others before marriage is even more respectable.
Women should be respected be she married, single, widowed, divorced, young or old.

Oluwayemisi

Sweetheart who are u fooling.........u can only trying yo fool ursef......21st century unhappy girl......why do ppl prefer to lie to them self, btw me and u, we all know u are sad and lonely, u are just finding it hard to admit bcos u have a lil money to ur account, from how u sound u are probably in ur 30's..........ur mum is educated and understands blah blah blah, if she had been single u won't have her to call ur mum....get of ur high horse and get married........before u end up being so miserable and depressed later in future................even the richest men in the world have wife abi wives, so why is it that when women makes a lil money, they think marriage is not necessary....opray for example........ Fcuk all this how's with fucked up ideologies

Sweetheart who are u fooling.........u can only trying yo fool ursef......21st century unhappy girl......why do ppl prefer to lie to them self, btw me and u, we all know u are sad and lonely, u are just finding it hard to admit bcos u have a lil money to ur account, from how u sound u are probably in ur 30's..........ur mum is educated and understands blah blah blah, if she had been single u won't have her to call ur mum....get of ur high horse and get married........before u end up being so miserable and depressed later in future................even the richest men in the world have wife abi wives, so why is it that when women makes a lil money, they think marriage is not necessary....opray for example........ Fcuk all this how's with fucked up ideology

There is more respect to a woman who married well and not pressured into the Institution if at the end of the day the family, the society and the individual from that so called marriage comes out well, the kudos goes to the woman of the house, that is a well respected woman at the end of the day and the respect definitely goes to the man too.

Jack Ubong said...

It is not a topic to talk about. Whether you are a Mrs or else, it's irrelevance. What we should argue about is the lifestyle, morality, integrity, sincerity etc of woman cum man. Being a Mrs/He does not change/stop cheating, divorce, rape, human trafficking, child abuse in our society. Whoever or whatever you are or whichever name you bear learn to help others, do the right thing, promote human dignity, hate violence, encourage love and harmony etc.

Jack Ubong said...

It is not a topic to talk about. Whether you are a Mrs or else, it's irrelevance. What we should argue about is the lifestyle, morality, integrity, sincerity etc of woman cum man. Being a Mrs/He does not change/stop cheating, divorce, rape, human trafficking, child abuse in our society. Whoever or whatever you are or whichever name you bear learn to help others, do the right thing, promote human dignity, hate violence, encourage love and harmony etc.

Jack Ubong said...

If you ask me na who i go ask kwanu? Linda i sight you.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

@henryeze, if every woman in the world had that mentality, we wouldn't have womEns rights. Watch us takeover :). Ignorant frog!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Yea but the question is DOES YOURS MAKE SENSE?

Wendy said...

A thousand likes! Abeg who raised these women?