Court okays release of Obasanjo’s book, My Watch | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Court okays release of Obasanjo’s book, My Watch

A Federal High Court in Abuja has vacated the order restraining ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo from publishing, printing or offering for sale, his controversial autobiography titled “My Watch.” which had been in the custody of the Nigerian Customs Service since 2014 following a N20billion libel lawsuit by PDP chieftain, Buruji Kashamu, asking the court to stop the distribution of the book because of some things Obasanjo wrote about him in the book. In the book, Obasanjo described Buruji as a fugitive wanted in the US. A court, last year, ordered security and law enforcement agencies including ‎customs to confiscate the book anywhere they saw the book.

But on Monday, Justice Valentine Ashi who in December 2014 placed a ban on the book, vacated his earlier order on the ground that the plaintiff and a PDP chieftain, Buruji Kashamu, suppressed fact from the court to obtain the order.

According to Justice Ashi, Kashamu who had approached the court saying that the book was libelous, did not prove that the book was indeed libelous. Lead counsel to the former President, Mr Agabi proved to Justice Ashi in court that he was misled by the plaintiff.

Justice Ashi afterwards set aside his order directing the Inspector General of Police (IG), the Director General of the Department of State Services (DSS) and the Comptroller General of Customs (CGC) to recover the published book from all book stands, sales agents, vendors, the sea and airports and deposit them with his court’s registrar pending the determination of the substantive suit.

He also restrained the Comptroller General of Customs (CGC) from charging demurrage on copies of the book already confiscated. The case was  adjourned to May 25 for further hearing.

Source: Vanguard

45 comments:

Oh yels! Power has changed hands. Linda take note!

Power talking

It's expected since PDP won't be ruling
after May.

Can't wait to lay my hands on it.

Pls how do I buy this book? I can't wait to read it. Linda pls help!

CHERRY said...

Seen!

Cant wait to lay my hands on it.Scintillating chapters i anticipate!

Congrats obj

Seen!

C wat jonathan as caused, a wanted criminal in US, drug baron 4 dat mata now having say in d country, can't jst wait 4 Buhari 2 hand him over 2 d US. Lawless country wt bad leaders

All good, and nice for him. Congrats to a man witout honour.

Obasanjo are u better than Kashamu? I beg go pack. Thief wey dey call angel thief. God will pay you according to ur deeds in Jesus name. Amen. Baba Oshike.

This is a screwed up country. Only in a country like Nigeria will a drug baron fugitive not only contest for senate position but have the gut to sue a Former President for saying the truth. Wow!!!! Can't really wrap my brain around this situation. This guy shouldnt even see the time of the day not to talk of Him being elected as a Senator

Baba has achieved is aim.....

The power of Buhari

Pathetic and shameless judicial system.

Did you expect him to present the facts?Before rushing to place a confiscation directive,didn't it occur to the the corrupt judge to study what was brought before him?

If you don't know that Buruji Kashamu is wanted in 4 continents for drugs and fraud related offences then you don't know your onions.Mr. president finally lost the support of the international community when he allowed the fugitive lead his campaign and sponsor it.I reiterate,Mr. president might have been a good man,but when you say you are fighting corruption,yet surround yourself with no gooders,its very difficult to take you seriously sir.

Now Buruji has released a press statement,praising OBJ and even Asiwaju Bola Tinubu for their good works.Ironic isn't it?

But we come here on a daily basis,cursing ourselves when the people we do it for aren't loyal to us,We kill each other while their friends and family are safe in obodo oyinbo.

Think Nigerians,Think.

ogeee said...

Waiting till then

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Cant wait to read.

princess dee said...

PDPeople....loosing on all sides!

biijay said...

I hope he critisizes himself in the book too

Finally I can grab a copy

Good one.
They didn't want baba to expose their evil acts.

Lucasbalo said...

Buruju Kashamu was a well know drug trafficker in Chicago. His base of operation is on the north side of Chicago called Uptown, around Lawrence and Sheridan. He's a fugitive and Uncle Sam will eventually catch up with him.

Finally!!!!! Can't wait to grab a copy. Been looking for this book

I want to read o!

Bad market for d book has lost its value.

Royal Priesthood or what do you call yourself, you will see that the book has not lost any value. People are willing and ready to buy the book that exposes your criminal masters.

Obasanjo should stop this holier than thou attitude. He should not be allowed to give Kashamu to anybody.The same way he wanted to allow Adenuga to be interviewed by a foreign government. Adenuga did not do anything yet he wanted to hand him over.He is wasting his time if he thinks that is the way to be an international leader. He is just showing the world that he could be manipulated. This is wrong. Leave Kashamu alone. Tell any of these countries to hand their own citizen over to Nigeria & c what will happen. Obasanjo should stop this nonsense.

Me sef can't wait

Finally it's out, naija and their drama

Emeka4life said...

Fucked up judiciary.
Wig for head, robe for body, all for nothing.
Used by Government of the day for whatever.
PDP surely abused their time in office.

No, you have not been looking for the book! This book is everywhere in Lagos I know and other states I believe! In fact, on daily basis, it is hawked on major roads in Lagos. So, go and get a copy and stop pretending!

See mean face. The name Buruji and the face match.

Tboy said...

Buruju kashamu is not only a drug trafficker in Chicago but the entire US. He's got agent in almost all the state in US. He's a black sheep to Nigeria and he has a very bad record Chicago and here in Houston, Texas. I pray God save us from the hands of tyrannical leaders in the name of African solidarity.

Please bear with Loyal Prickhood. Biko nu. Enyi

That judge is a disgrace to the bar and a shame to our justice system...

That judge is a disgrace to the bar and a very big shame to our justice system...

events in Nigerian politics is just one big movie, like the judge will do this if GEJ won.

Information said...

Na them sabi! She make $800=#160000 profit within 2day importing ladies Makeup download the book here free naijawealthinfo.com/import-optin.htm

No oh make them no release am na, the court fear cos na two generals plus two rugged mafias they rule nigeria now. lol

Was it not Obasanjo that just gave back $200m that belongs to the country?. What was he doing with it all this while and what of the interest on the money since it was deposited in an account. Abeg all of them our theives.

Good for Baba Iyabo