Is Wizkid on ice again? - Etcetera writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 December 2014

Is Wizkid on ice again? - Etcetera writes

People won't let Wizkid hear word with this his 'In My Bed' song...lol. Singer turned writer Etcetera also thrashes it. Read below...
Six weeks ago, I was in Benin City to support a friend who was getting married that weekend. We drove down to Ugbowo campus of UNIBEN, laughing along the way at bini guys and the way they pronounce certain words. We got stuck in an unusual traffic jam and my friend who was driving, took the opportunity to reply his pings, pausing only to turn up the radio when Wizkid’s “In My Bed” came on. A few seconds later, he increased the volume even more. I accepted that since I was in his car, I had to endure his choice of songs. So I listened, trying to figure out why he was interested in that particular song. 
Though the melody has this jingle-catchy feel, everything else about the song is horrible. The mix brought to mind those days when Nigerian studio engineers were still learning how to mix. The overall instrumentation is noisy with the kick pitched high, like a headache. Played on F-sharp minor, which is a predominantly high key for most people, but the struggling syncopation over a lazy bass line weighs the whole song relentlessly down. My friends know that I have a crazy physical reaction to songs, mostly when I love it. In this instance, I was gasping for breath by the end, as if the song was trying to strangle me. I thanked God I was still alive when it finally ended. But as the traffic lingered my friend put down his phone, this time to surf through radio stations. Again, he landed on “In My Bed.” That was when I really got scared, thinking I was going to pass out.

This year, we have had a mix of both good and bad songs. Wizkid’s “In my bed” is one of those ear worms you don’t want to get into your brain space for three minutes and 46 seconds. Those who will say “WTF” is Etcetera saying? I want you to note that I have a zero interest in persuading you to agree with me. If you enjoy “In My Bed,” I won’t dream of changing your mind. I heard it again last weekend at my manager’s party, and for a second, I thought it was some kind of pain killer advert, because the radio station where I have my show, currently runs an ad that sounds like a more palatable version of it. My Christmas day was almost ruined when a caller on my show requested “In My Bed” for his girlfriend. Because Christmas only comes once in a year, I decided to grant her wish, but as soon as I clicked play, I had the sort of physical reaction associated with someone suddenly coming in contact with bees. And before my mind could process what was happening, I hammered the stop button quickly, arrgh! If you are one of those who regard this song as a standard club track with all the necessary “thumps and bumps” and you are angry at my loathing of it, it doesn’t bother me at all. I have fantasised for weeks about punching this song in the eye, but unfortunately, the song doesn’t have a head, talkless of eyes.

How can one song cram in so many failed decisions per minute? One minute you are trying to woo a girl into your bed, the next, you are saying Tinubu eleniyan, Fashola eleniyan. What has Tinubu eleniyan got to do with getting her in your bed? Are you pimping her to Tinubu or to the other names you mentioned in the song? There’s nothing wrong with praise singing if you do it right. “In My Bed” sounds like a guy trying so hard to get it right and therefore getting it all wrong. You packed in the same overused lines “Anywhere I go all my people show me love / And people trying to bad mouth me. Don’t you think by now, we’ve heard enough of your sniffy little screech of being chased by enemies? It is boring already. Even a connoisseur of pop trash won’t find anything to like about a song like this. “In My Bed” is one song you don’t need to know the lyrics, you may want to shield your friends and loved ones from its strange concoction. It is indeed the worse song of this or any other year. Oh sorry, this year is not over yet, so it’s theoretically possible a worse contender could emerge, but I doubt it. Let’s put it this way, if placed in comparison with any of Artquake’s songs, it would still be a distant second. I can’t remember the last time there was a hit song this whack.

242 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 242 of 242

mr. etcetera...not many people listen to the actual content of songs nowadays so if u feel like critizing, pick d bunch and state clearly not just one person..sounds like a beef

I swear i always listen to it via mute

Clemixx said...

Aside the lyrics.. The instrumental,voicing,mixing and arrangement is ok.. Ecetera criticizes artist who are at the top of their career and he is there talking trash, Why don't him take all this time he uses in criticizing and work on himself..He should ask himself why he is not making it and take it from there.. He should leave this people alone.. When God has your back everything will be easy even when u didn't give ur best.. He should understand this and work on himself... The last song and video he released is so so so Wack! and i don't think anyone criticize him for it.. So make e forget jare.. Its only the people who doesn't really understand music that will buy this trash of his...

So sad dt lib-ers can ignore d sense in etcetera's article and choose to abuse his person. That song is wack!!! Lyrics? Zero!!! If Wizkid listens to constructive criticism and does better music (like he did before), won't we all celebrate him? Tuface has remained relevant over a decade cos he pushes himself to do better. Let's stop celebrating mediocrity. In my bed is a terribly wack song! Shikena!

Etcetera or wat do dey call yu,is it not yet time yu stop critisizing all diz artiste.all fingers are not equal.dat yu failed in ur career does not mean dt every oda person should fail.rememba dt wen yu rejoice with people on dea success yu are heading to ur own success.so plz relax ad pray to God 4 forgiveness ad He will bless yu

gmog said...

tho to my own interest I really love the beat buh don't really understand wah wizkid is trying to say sha

Etcetera or wat do dey call yu,is it not yet time yu stop critisizing all diz artiste.all fingers are not equal.dat yu failed in ur career does not mean dt every oda person should fail.rememba dt wen yu rejoice with people on dea success yu are heading to ur own success.so plz relax ad pray to God 4 forgiveness ad He will bless yu

Love your comment jo. How many foreign artists write their songs. Buy songs with content than write rubbish n disturb our ears with fast paced beats n ZERO lyrics.

Steady said...

You are only hating make u go sleep abeg

ETCETERA ELENIYAN, WRITER AND RADIO HOST ELENIYAN, @BONARIO, AM ASHAMED AT YOUR WORDS.. SURE YOU MUST BE OVER 30 AND FEELS LIKE A BABY.. FOR WIZZY, ABEG STEP UP.. AIYE TI LA OJU.. NO DEY SING RUBBISH FOR US..

Doesn't careless?!!!!! Abeg do something to the way u execute your sentence

Take it easy bro.... lmao!!

I doubt if he cares bout all this, as far as his music enjoys airplay and the money is flowing in.... Fuck the rest

Looooool

True

Another truth

the Banku said...

I still dont get why people respond to criticism especially when it has to do with music by talking about the said artist's wealth...what does it have to do with anything?.if the topic is money,discuss money..if it is the song,by all means discuss the song.

Thank you etc. Too much mediocrity in Nigerian music these days. Musicians you need to get your act together!!!

RaySamT... said...

most people really don't get this article - the writer inclusive. wizkid's in my be is just one of wizzy's songs. if its shit to you, good for you. if it isn't, same to you. but the article's innate ability to bring about arguments,comments and insults(alphabetically arranged, is probably what Etcetera was aiming for.as for his 'wack' music career, never heard of him prior to this article not that i'm feeling like i've missed the sound of a pindrop though. oh and i'd like to email linda privately tho...or just talk to her via phone calls...cos, err, you need me and i don't need you.'

As for those that say he is making money so the BS is okay, are you guys for real? Excellence comes with hard word, you get better as the years go by, not worse!!!!!!! Learn, learn, learn and do better next time.

Etc, you know people hate the truth but some of us love it. Keep writing, no mind them.

I think the so call star boy should upgrade and start singing meaningful song...

heytheredelilah said...

A million likes.

Exactly. And so is 90percent of his songs. That's y i don't bother my brain with his songs.

Black Anchor 2 said...

Wizzy Eleniyan..Your cup of tea..MF.

EVA said...

leave Wizzy alone. Most musicians don't go to higher institution bcos they start off early. (foreign artist or local)Michael Jackson didn't, miley cyrus,many others worldwide didn't. so if ETCETERA or dat hungry Nollywood Actor lookin for popularity (thank God I forgot his name) need stuff dat are sensible, then you guys should listen to GOSPEL Music..these are songs to inspire you and u wil be blessed from them. Someone did his 10 top Nigerian worst songs. All these people are seekin popularity at the expense of others because they know blogs are snookin around twitter and facebook and will post some of their jargon about people who work hard, if they want sensible stuff they should write poems, poetry prose and paste on their pages. we may not even read them. they should not spoil young people's career who the society did not even help.. they should focus on themselves and act well or sing well. ECTETERA used to be a singer. He failed woefully and he has the guts to rubbish anoda artist's lyric. Have u listened to 'Mirror' by Lil Wayne ft Bruno Mars, drunk in love Beyonce, Post to be- Omarion ft Chris Brown..i could go on..am still tryin to make meanin out of these lyrics..if these guys want to spoil songs like 'in my bed' and 'dorro bucci' and so on..Linda don't go about postin them all the time..X3M Music label dropped Etcetera after a 3yr contract (am sure he did only 3songs, if he is talented, why did they throw him out?).how can a failed singer like Etcetera rubbish Wizzy?...Music is about voice..and every other thing is secondary. Wizzy has d voice.. .Let ETCETERA and co analyse the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Criminal Code, the Electoral Act..since their grammar is impeccable, they don't need to be lawyers to do dat.they can also do community service and be useful If u like don't post. bear in mind that some readers are myopic and before u know it pple's career wil dwindle....am listenin to 'in my bed' now on my bed...I love Wizzy

Ki lole to yen...you deh fear? u better don't give urself hypertension. Wait till election tym Ok. Nigerians know better, our eyes are opened. Affliction cannot arise twice. Nigerians hv seen the best of Jonathan in d 6 years of his governance and will decide either to continue with him or seek alternative. But I can tell u, Nigerians ve a promising alternative.

A very political response

Go to youtube and google whizkid in my bed. Useless song indeed!

Mtchew!!!!
Rubbish talk LINDA!

Wizkid has made his money

As a matter of fact, ur money is no way close to his..........

Go get a life LINDA, the low life blogger!

PRETTY GIRL said...

Nigga please! Stop with the Hate....No one ever succeeds by trying to bring others down#You're a failed artist , deal with it

Wizkid has made more money this December more than Etcetera has ever made in his lifetime. Guess what? he was paid over N10M for Ecob...k 25yrs anniversary and about N10M for GT.... end of year party and you are their hating.....was Etcetera ever paid up to N200k during his music career. anytime anyone wants to be noticed, just write a piece about wizkid and the whole world will read it....

BAD BELLE! IS ALLOWED

Mumu!!
He didn't rein as expected because the kind of songs people like u listen to is party jams alone!!!
Cheap lyrics!

No wonder Asa n Dare prefer the other side of the world

Stupid little boy talking shit. What do u know about success. Is money now the yardstick to measure life? This is what poverty causes. It clouds ur reasoning so much u believe life depends on it.it is this kind of perception that makes politicians steal money.money money money. U have to be super rich before u can talk. What do u even have yet onyx. Baboon

Gbam!!!

the song is very very useless.no head no tail

welcome to vieve's blog said...

yeye song

the only thing i enjoy in dat son is the beat....nothing els.

this etc person is just a hater...

etcetera you are an attention seeker ,if music did not work for u y don't u get sometin else to do dan critzising

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 242 of 242   Newer› Newest»