'I'm married to only one woman & we still share same bed 43 years later" - Alake of Egbaland | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 26 November 2014

'I'm married to only one woman & we still share same bed 43 years later" - Alake of Egbaland

Unlike many title holders, the Alake of Egbaland HRH Oba Michael Adedotun Gbadebo is married to only one woman, Olori Tokunbo, and they have been married for 43 years. They say he's the only long serving Oba in this country with only one wife. He became Alake of Egbaland in 2005.

The Oba revealed recently at a wedding where he was the chairman that he still shares the same bed with his wife and mother of his children, this was after he praised her for being an incredible partner. He said they have a strong bond and he never had the need to marry another woman.

The Oba who is 71, said his grandfather had 24 wives, while his own father had 3 but he decided one wife was enough and despite the fact that he was an Oba, he and his wife have always shared same room and same bed and that is how it will remain till death do them part. Aww, what a great man!

82 comments:

Uche Emma said...

Lovely.
May God continue to bless you

EARN 100NAIRA PER CLICK

How cute....

Better man

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

That's a great and disciplined man speaking. What aa role model to his children.

SANDRA said...

Very sweet. I pray I get a man like him. Amen

Yes o...dat is so nice

That's a good Yoruba man for you,unlike majority of Yorubas...even dr women marry more than one husband#ashewos

Neks said...

Inspiring, he is a great man and what a lucky woman his wife is.

Wow, is he 4 real? Dis is true love...

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

I love this Man

Long live @Alake

Eugenia said...

Good to hear.

Pretty wife

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

How sweet!! "The only woman"... How many Royal highness do this.. Wonderful. What is left now sir is to give your all to christ(if you haven't) it is well. Eph 6:18. BishopDammy#

Amen ooo #Adaeze#

wow! where can one get this typa husband material,i ll manage 5yards. Abeg

Mystique said...

No wonder the man looks young, u can tell he has peace of mind! Can someone tell KSA's wife dat not all men are polygamous in nature!

Jolaade said...

Waoh! Wat a lovely man! Linda post my comment b4 I hand Æ”U̶̲̥̅̊ over to shekau ooo*

Oga. Why are you an oba if you can't enjoy its privileges. Which one be one wife. You just dey waste d seat and spoiling oda peoples shine.

Your royal majesty da sure king with great sense and correct legacy may you live longer together in peace and good health jare na correct people be dis no be like some oda naija men and of cos kwam 1 where is so call wasiu ayinde AND ODAS make EM come learn better life from sensible and correct King nice life MORE BLESSING BABA....

Oga. Why are you an oba if you can't enjoy its privileges. Which one be one wife. You just dey waste d seat and spoiling oda peoples shine.

Lucky him, nt everyone is privileged to find someone they can share a bond wit so he shd jus thank God.

Kponskii said...

Highly commendable.

How many concubines though?

Only 4 sets of people can vote & support Goodluck Jonathan 2015.1) those who are intellectually blind.(2) those who are blinded by ethnicity.(3) those who are blinded by corruption & there4 afraid of d unknown, should power change hands.(4) those who are suffering from a combination of d above terminal sicknesses"Pls rebroadcast, it's a live saving message 4 Nigerians"

Aww! Your type is rare my dear king. May your life be long and may your reign be also long on earth. God bless you, your wife, your home and your throne. And may you two continue to live in good health and much love...amen. GOD BLESS THE ALAKE OF EGBALAND!!! Please, our dear men, may you learn from this wise king.

That's great

Oh yea I can testify to that... Olori Olatokunbo Gbadebo used to be my BOSS and she's a wonderful person in and out.....

You're a great man indeed, for maintaining your lawful and wedded wife.......may you too live long........

Iyaana said...

We can always make a positive stand and stick to it irrespective of our position n status in d society. Great man. Great lessons.

Respect.
Good

#Commenting thru glo 4G LTE

wowed! abnegation God I need this type of man in dis aspect of life. lovely. Mercyelvis Williams

Na this type of thing women dey like to hear.... Lolx... I wish them long and lasting marriage though.....

That's great. richard.yinka190@gmail.com

i wish for a home lik dis..

Angels Mummy said...

Awwwwwww i pray for such in my life and you too linda IJN.

Great Man! Now that's True Love! If u LOVE ur first wife,u will NEVER think of getting a Second wife, NEVER......I've always knew that not alll Men are Dogs and Men r not polygamous in nature,Only d dirty Ones are.

Good for him, gathering wives like livestock, for what na! You might be able to provide for all your kids but they will never feel that attachment to you, cos it will be difficult to spread the love equally.

We hv ear u.

When real men talk u dnt nid 2 ask questions.. U re a real man Oba. Only weak men marry many wives. Congrats God bless and keep u sir! We nid more of u in dis world

Kabiyesi Indeed u are a great man

This is what am talking about, you are a real man sir. May your days be long on earth #onelovefromSnow#

Kabuoy said...

Ki Ade o pe Lori, ki bata pe lese Kabiyesi!

You see... unlike the fake "king" Sunny Ade and several others that give silly and stupid excuses.... this is a Real Man. i'm sure his life is better for it. All you silly men with insatiable libido, continue.... o n kuku ba yin lo! nonsense!

Kabuoy said...

Ki Ade o pe Lori, ki bata pe lese Kabiyesi!

You see... unlike the fake "king" Sunny Ade and several others that give silly and stupid excuses.... this is a Real Man. i'm sure his life is better for it. All you silly men with insatiable libido, continue.... o n kuku ba yin lo! nonsense!

eby said...

That is nice, thank God Madam say ur oga no marry on top of ur head

Emmy said...

Nice one oba to da. Let other Oba know that there's great gain in contentment n godliness.

The power of education... Unlike akiolu illetrate police man..education aint just about passing through sch..

I was under the impression that marrying more than one wife comes with the throne. His type are scarce this days. Long live Oba of egbaland.

Walsmorgan said...

This is awesome.

Deedee said...

REALLY NICE. WISH DEM MANY MORE HAPPIER YRS AHEAD.

The king of my town has one wife

lovely couple.

Digwe....

I respect you sir.May God continue to protect and guide both of you.

Wow

beads arena said...

great man indeed. It's rare for an african titled man to stick with just one woman. True depth of character.

Seyi Jetli said...

Kabiyesiiiii ooooo,
For once I am proud to be a Nigerian.
Egba Omo Lishabi.
Baawa.

I rep Egbamo' lishabi.

Kade o pe lori ooo

Are couples not supposed to share their beds? Is it a big deal to share bed with one's wife for the rest of their lives? I don't understand.

Unlike the alaafin of Oyo with multiple young wives..what a life!!!!!

He seems to be Godfearing

Yes o greatness does not just end at becoming an 0ba or a President or the Richest person ever. It shows in a persons mentality, and lifestyle in general .:) ----C21

Wish most men would learn this onyimadusommy@gmail.com

Great man.......May God continue to bless ur union

lucian said...

Reasonable man and he looks better than all them marrying many wives.

One of d ppl I wish 2 Emulate in Marriage. Long Live d King n Queen#Brassman#

@Apple. You are senseless.Here is a man in a traditional society like Nigeria who has the means to acquire women saying he has been faithful to his wife all his life. Even as a first class traditional ruler, still holding on to her, and you say "You don't understand". I PITY YOU!!!

Loveth said...

I WILL NOT MARRY HIS KIND

He is indeed a great man, incredible. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Papa well done.. Men like u are my role model, not king Sunny Ade..

You took d words right outta my mouth. Our royal fathers should be serring the right example. My maternal great grand father, though a very rich man, was a polygamist and his family is still a mess several generations later. Great African men are often let down by their windexing loins.

Nwa Abia

Good one, wish more couples were like this, let us save the institution of marriage!!! Whizman

Good daddy, well done Sir

Walsmorgan said...

Must u write that?

TY said...

Tribalist oshi,fool,no ashewo for your side abi,mschewwwww

nystyle@ said...

For your info, he is also born again! These are deep family friends from powerful military days.

Elodie O. Mbape said...

God bless you daddy! May he bless your wife as well. Behind every great man, is A GREAT WOMAN (not a multitude of women).

gud to hear dat

WOW GREAT AND UNIQUE MAN. TITLED MEN LOVE TO MARRY MORE THAN ONE WIFE. THEY FEEL IT GIVES THEM RESPECT.

Lagos Lawyer said...

Learn wetin? An Oba marrying only one wife is a misnomer; probably even selfish.

sade said...

Awwwn..dats lovely..mzsade23@gmail.com

abujakenneth said...

Congratulations Sir. It is not easy. But Sir, this your wife is pretty even at this age.