I am a cancer survivor- Prof Wole Soyinka reveals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 November 2014

I am a cancer survivor- Prof Wole Soyinka reveals

Literary Icon, Prof Wole Soyinka, revealed today at a press conference in Abeokuta Ogun state, that he's a cancer survivor. He said his appointment as a board member of the African Cancer Centre made him undergo a routine checkup last year which revealed he had cancer. He said he was diagnosed with the disease in December 2013.
"It never occurred to me to test myself because men have their separate test like women and I have heard people who lost very dear ones, closed ones. They just told me, ‘Prof, we hope you’re having your own?’ And I told them I had one 10 years ago and he said, “No, no, do it regularly.” And by accident in December last year, I discovered that I had cancer.”.

Prof Soyinka who is cancer free now after undergoing a vigorous treatment that ended in October this year, said although he was uncomfortable speaking about his experience, he was obligated to speak about it now so as to get rid of the public perception that being diagnosed with cancer is a death sentence
"For me, this is not a decision which I like but I felt I have all obligation, being a member of African Cancer Centre, and also having even donated a performance during the festival, fund raising for cancer, I am under obligation to make it known and to also demystify cancer. Many people feel it is a death sentence. Family feel it; friends, colleagues, they begin to look at you as if you are a ghost once there is rumour you have cancer. No, cancer is not a death sentence, it is curable, I have undergone the treatment and I am able to tell you that I even have a model, that’s my certificate.” he said

36 comments:

Wish we can out a stop to cancer.. God help us.. Onyimadusommy@gmail.com

We thank God for him.... Atleast, it was detected on tym, dah was y... Vivian E

Congrat

Mischievous said...

To God be the Glory!

Amazingly great. God be with you. You shall not die but live. Psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

O.P said...

thank God he is a survivor not victim or casaulty

DEguebe said...

Wow.... Never knew. Thank God for your life sir. Mc Baba Oloye says so via Opaeyin and Alombo

Dazzlnbeau said...

Wow!!! Tank God for ur life!!!

Very gud our Icon and may God continue to guide u IJN

Congrats grand pa and i think i gats to check my own too.....

Thank God for him #bright bravo#

Going to hospital to get scan. Oya Linda, leave and follow me asap.

Thank God for ur life ndibaby33@yahoo.com

Praise God
Thank God

Eeya so unfortunate

justme said...

linda, you are really doing very well with your blog

Hmmm richard.yinka190@gmail.com

Thank God for your life.buh you need to regularly checked.
Faceoflib

Thank God for his life, early detection sure saves lives.

Some types of cancer are curable some are not like skin cancer, cerebral cancer,prostrate cancer etc
He was lucky not have d incurable ones and he was also lucky to confirm it in its early stage

JayJay said...

Story for d gods... Cancer of d WHAT did u av??? Nd is ur afro lace wig cos if u were a survivor,u must av gone tru "kemoterapi"

Thank God urs was discovered on time nd treated............

Awesome God

So what do he want us to do... he was saved to destroy the country, abi?

SHOP ON DEALDEY

Greatest Battles!!! Part 1

His Grace- Part 1

Not Darkness - Part 1

Thank God for your life.

Nope! Not necessarily. Depending on the stage and a few other factors such as age, chemo may not be necessary. In some cases the only thing necessary might be Radiation.

Uche Emma said...

Thank God, even though you don't believe in Him

Not all cancer are curable. ovarian cancer isn't. Lost a close relative to cancer two months ago seeing her go through pain is the worst thing have witnessed. prettyeyesinu@yahoo.ca

Glory b 2 almighty God d maker of all things!

Cancer is a very deadly disease, may it neva com near my tent IJN. Mrs Babatunde Edward

Mayowa Adebayo said...

congratulations Prof

Its a testimony. Thank God for his life.

Adetola said...

@jay jay FYI its not everybody that has cancer that goes through chemotherapy most especially if discovered early.

Ovarian cancer, like any other cancer, can be survived. It all depends on the stage. What makes it deadly is because you never really see a sign, and when you do it's always too late..stage 3 or 4. A stage 1 can be survived.