Meet America's first openly gay Imam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 December 2013

Meet America's first openly gay Imam

The land of freedom, America, now boast of an openly gay Imam. And the Muslim community is not happy about it. Imam Daayiee Abdulah, the only openly gay Imam in America & possibly the world, was born and raised a Baptist Christian faithful in Detroit but converted to Islam while studying in China. Upon his conversion, he noticed the spiritual gap lesbians, gays & transsexuals in the Islamic faith had and decided to become an Imam so as to provide an ideal Islamic support for them, he says.
"Being an openly gay imam and having been identified as such, I do get a lot of feedback and also kickback, but that's OK,” he said. “I think that when people are unfamiliar with things, they tend to have an emotional knee-jerk reaction to it. Sometimes necessity is the mother of invention. And because of the necessity in our community, that's why I came into this particular role."
Abdulah, who says he told his parents he was gay at age 15, converted to Islam at the age of 33 and went on to study the religion in Egypt, Jordan and Syria. Asked what was his first spiritual act as an Imam, Abdulahi says it was the funeral for a gay Muslim who had died of AIDS. Continue...

"They had contacted a number of imams, and no one would go and provide him his janazah services. This pained me. I believe every person, no matter if I disagree with you or not, you have the right as a Muslim to have the proper spiritual rites and rituals provided for you. And whoever judges you, that will be Allah's decision, not me. The beautiful thing about God is that when you change your attitude, and say, 'God, I need some help,' and mean it sincerely, God is always there for you,”
Abdullah serves as the imam and educational director of the Light of Reform Mosque in Washington, D.C, a place he calls a a rare safe space for Muslim LGBT. In his Mosque, which he founded in 2011, women and men kneel side-by-side and women are allowed to lead prayers, an action that has sparked controversy in the Muslim world.

232 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 232 of 232

Linda deh ready to buy husband o,,cos wat is in d bible dat 5women will chase after 1man jst to bear his name Is being fulfilled,cos all d men nw are turning gay lawd av mercy evn imam hian

#didi

I have always known muslims to be the pioneers of homosexuality. growing up in the north, they were everywhere, they call them Dandaudus. it is an Arab culture that they inherited along side Islam, and have spread it around but make it look like it came from somewhere else. Almost all religions are involved in it; Sebi its not long ago, one Muslim Imam was stoned to death in Cameroon for screwing a minors ass? them de do am pass anybody, make i hear bo

if he read his book (qur'an)correctly he could have come across where its stated a society dats been distroyed for that kind of practice, dats HOMOSEXUAL.GOD forgive us uor sins.

some ppl does't know wat islam is all about. posting ambigious words about islam cannot eliminate islam from the earth. talk your own in good manner pls. i beg una.

Absolutely!

@ bliss, the light ( Islam ) is not for shallow minded people like you, so you really do not have to like it.

Ezigbo Mosque a gbasa go #datsall

This man is not a Muslim, this is a total falsehood, May I remind man what Allah said about people who bring shame to Islam or propagate falsehood against Islam. Allah said use ur money and ur properties to support the cause of Allah. Am a Muslim from Ekiti state of Nigeria and am a proud Muslim and servant of Allah and am not a fanatics but in the case of this man I will whole-handsomely donate to the cause of stopping this man from continuing to degrade Islam. Am not been wicked or anything, its my duty to my religion.

all is goin to be well,some Christian ar gay an some Muslim to ar gay,so God knw beta

this guy is crayyyyyy. He's just Crayyyyyy.

No matter wat...he's gay@15 converted to ıslam@33 dat ıs hıs funeral nt relıgeus,Allah ız dere,ınfact ı wunt cal hım a muslım,bt a man on hıs own cuz there ıs no relevant relıgıon nıether ıslam or chrıstanıty dat encourages gay,so he can only survıve dıx rubbısh ın a dırty country lyk u.s,jst try dıx even ın naıja n see...thıs world ıs enuf 4 us,do wat ever we lyk choose who u wants to be ın d earth,bt GOD wıll judge ın dayaftr.

lets pray that nobody tries to kill him for coming out

dis is just a simple example of what is happening in Nigeria. Linda posted and others got mad at each other. cus if is not madness I see no reason y instead of us to unite as one, we behave like kids. meanwhile Linda is in her crib enjoying her self. hhmmmm! the Lord is our strength. @Linda well done !

steve said...

Islam and christianity the same thing just like pdp and apc,no religioon supporys homosexuaity.don't be fooled,even our own fela has his worshipers.tongue out.who do u believ in

If u r r going to be gay , be gay, if u r going to follow the doctrine of the quran then follow, u cnt b gay be a gay iman..

Juragan Harga said...

Finally, an issue that I am passionate about. I have looked for information of this caliber for the last several hours. Your site is greatly appreciated.

Darwin Krisnajaya said...

Not my business

CANE BLOG'S said...

funtastik.......
is wonderfullll

Cara Mudah Mendapat Pagerank said...

The world is indeed coming to an end

bond totty said...

some people would change the concept of islam and its teachings!one of d numerous signs of the Day of recompense...
Gay of course no matter the conversion! Islam condemns homosexuality-it is written in Holy Qurian. He is doomed!

Faisal said...

Oh shit.....

PANTAI SAWARNA said...

right, so good,
owm .. getting serious,

Desa Digital said...

only god knows the real truth

PostBerita.com said...

wow

kaos distro muslim said...

First You got a great blog article .I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics , i will be always checking your blog thanks.

My visit website
Kaos distro muslim

baju muslim modern said...

why not, this nice sharing information

andri priana said...

I know he couldnt have been born a muslim, And I'm sure he wasn't a true christian as well,How can u b gay & turn to islam n still be gay? andri, may Allaw SWT forgive you.. Amin

andri priana said...

semoga saja bisa di maafkan oleh Allah SWT...

majalah online said...

why so stupid ?

celeble said...

what a ridiculous news, but I think we don't need to judge him.. Just leave it to GOD, He knows what's good and bad.

wisata indonesia said...

well, it was a great job linda
Wisata Indonesia

wisata indonesia said...

it was a great job linda

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 232 of 232   Newer› Newest»