Death Couldn't Stop Chyme. His Resurrection & Music Story. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 17 October 2013

Death Couldn't Stop Chyme. His Resurrection & Music Story.

I'm sure you all remember the story of Chima Charles Ugboma. A street kid who came out of a broken home due to parents separation. Parents married other spouses. Living with his father, his step mum mistreated him & broke his nose leaving him with a gash that can be seen on his nose today. When he was 12, he went out in search of his mum in port-harcourt. Found her married with children. Due to his early life experiences he turned to be a rebel, living a hard life in school and turned to alcoholosim.

It gets worse! In 2010, after university he had liver and kidney failure due to alcoholism and was pronounced dead at the Briathwaite Memorial Hospital in Port-harcourt for 7mins. Till date the nurses and doctors who operated on him will tell us it was God who saved him as he had already given up the ghost on them. Continue...

His mom got more involved and Chima began to live a much more better life. His mom called her nephew Charles in the UK and introduced him to Chima. Charles who saw Chima's good work and musical talent immediately formed a record label, Haven Music and signed Chima and birthed the artist known as ChymeHD. Haven music also signed ChymeHD's very good friend, producer and singer called Omo. Their first single was #killing me softly which went viral in port-harcourt and lagos. The song won them 2 odudu awards, best hiphop male and hiphop video in 2012. He also released a club song which did well in some parts of lagos called #cups in the air.

Unfortunately Chyme's rock which is his mother passed away in september 2013 due to cancer. His only reqret is that she did not live to see him succeed but he believes that her spirit is with him and he is determined to use music to share his pain, love and truth to the world at large.

Chyme is back rebranded and stronger with a new single asking unwell wishers to remain in their lane.

Here's his new single titled: "Stay Your Own Lane"

50 comments:

Rough Diamond said...

I like d title, stay on ur own lane! Paddle ur ow canoe, all join.

wemimo said...

Heya..

CHime? Doesn't ring a bell, but the story is really touching, now I know him

All this one na just to advertise one song Ooº° , chai, LIN LIN, nice track , listening to it already

Yeah mehn..may ur mums soul RIP. Ijn. God bless ur Hustle mehn. *bless

Wow really strong story. Would love to listen to his music. May his mother rest in peace.

I know yo mean well, Linda, but this was a VERY badly written article. Too confusing. A little lazy, if you ask me.

Seems like you cut a whole paragraph after the part where you said he died.

Too rushed. Too lazy.

Awwwww....wat a painful experience he's got...happy he made it @ last...God's indeed faithful...@rexo6

bad gurl mimi said...

i love that ibo guys are representing. i love this song, has originality.

zino said...

God go c u tru

Blackberry said...

Lol...more grease to ur elbow chyme..and haters remember to stay on ur lane.

Hakeem said...

Hey dude sorry about your mum, may her soul rest in the bosom of the Lord. I feel your story and I'm happy with the progress you've made, with your life. As for the music, nice track although I felt the hook was way stronger than the verses. The hook is wicked and will get any music lover snapping their necks, but your verses just didn't match the level of the hook, lots of room for improvement, but good music all round. Good job

D song make sence sha with too much raps.me like

Hmmm..I tot his "New singles"should b about dedication n Giving THanks 2 d ALMIGHTY GOD who had saved his LIfe.but Noo.d new singles na about "unwell wishers"hw typical.we r our own worse enemies.#fact#

wow!!! touche!!! the sky is ur stepping stone chyme, killing me softly is still my favourite naija song ever!!! keep it up

wow fell like crying, don't no y some women find joy in doing bad to other children, sabi d step mother is seeing his good handiwork now abi

Linda u stay ur own lane Biko

God bless ur hustle bro

Nice song chyme,keep it up

Such a sad story kpele jawe
even though I dunno you

Eya.....so sad nd God gave em a second chance

Xristo said...

Biography Aaye!!!

"he
had already given up the ghost on them" Linda didn't say he came back to life. Nigeria and its quack doctors. D guy neva died.

This is really good!

Oh dear,dats so touching. U will go far,just keep up d good work dear. And may God grant ur mum eternal rest.

Nice.........

Nice one...anoda MI in the making

Linda cnt watch d video...

Nice one I'm impressed!

Lin Lin so this story na 2promote his song abi.........nice song tho......tite flows

Classic old school vibe

sexy bitch said...

So touching..nice song.. serve God with all u have.

You 'fell like crying'. Ti e ti ba e.

Adeoluwa

I hope all Nigerians can acknowledge that alcohol in large quantity can damage kidneys and livers. Thank god that he was not a drug addict. He should become Born Again and save lost souls. His story should become a Nollywood film.

Morenike said...

WOW! I'm touched! I'd be scared of talking to him or even bring in the same room. I remember this story. He died for 10minutes.
Nice nice song Chyme! You need a video pronto

Amina said...

Am impressed,nice 1

Victory @last God is ur strenght

the man struggled and in all that God was preparing a better end...God Jehovah started it, HE will finish it. whoever you are, hang in there, God isnt finished with you yet.

i came across this dude at industry night and i can tell u, he spits fire..definitely one of the best rappers in nigeria in my opinion...if u doubt listen to more of his songs on www.chymehd.com

Anon 10:25,r u sure u r ok??Am sure u just came 2 d world 2 condemn dts ur purpose on earth am sure cos I don't knw what is badly written in dis article now,abi untill she write full d whole blog b4 u satisfy ba??Abeg go and sleep am sure u cnt evn do beta....

Honestly,i expected more after the story, but then the truth about Nigerian music is that we one's experiences; i see a lot of energy here, i still think he can go deeper to make a bigger impact. THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

inspiring

BARRY9ICE said...

nice story for the nollywood, i will need to inform dis alaba marketers & producer to get ready for dis. 2 in one good song & gr8 movie

Lol.... Even @d sabi*

eiyah...children are always the victims of their parents misfortune.Pathetic story!

LadyF

Nigerians..I hate wen u all criticize sm1's effort...na wa oo..y'all suld grow up na..appreciate sm1 u. Dnt knw wot u might b doing to d person..pls just stop all dis criticism.it really hurt..linda is trying her and so if u aint gonna appreciate her den u all berra dnt comment @all.

jennifer said...

One can imagine what he went through with such an uncomfortable experience in his early life..but what matters most is d fact dat he's now successful...shikina

I support u anon 10:22am,he must be jobless.u should try and do something better and let us see d 4k u gonna give us..go and sleep

All this to advertise this guy? Go and sit ur cunny ass down, Linda, I not that cheap!

Charley said...

Is it just me or were the last two comments written by linda. Because Linda is vain like that...still, nice message but poorly written. Do better linda and stop hiding behind anonymity