UK to pay 1million pounds to transfer 534 Nigerian prisoners home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 October 2013

UK to pay 1million pounds to transfer 534 Nigerian prisoners home

Hundreds of Nigerian criminals will be sent home to serve out prison sentences under a deal set to be struck by ministers within weeks, according to a report by UK Daily Mail
Talks are continuing into reaching a compulsory prisoner transfer agreement, which could see more than half of the 500 criminals from Nigeria currently in UK jails repatriated.
Prisons minister Jeremy Wright told MailOnline how 'more foreign prisoners must serve their sentences in their own countries'.
Ministers have been ordered to step up efforts to end the scandal of more than one in eight prisoners being from overseas. David Cameron vowed to end the practice of the British taxpayer picking up the bill for criminals with no business in the UK.
Doubt if Nigerian prisoners would want to come serve the rest of their terms in Kirikiri. Continue..

UK Prime Minister said in 2010 that he would ’personally intervene’ to send more foreign criminals home.

Britain has even made clear it would pay to build new prisons in countries like Nigeria to speed up the process of sending foreign criminals home. Up to £1million has been promised to upgrade Nigerian jails, including a new wing at Kirikiri Prison in Lagos.

Securing an agreement with Nigeria would be seen as a much more significant breakthrough. Latest figures show there were 534 Nigerian nationals in British jails, 485 men and 49 women.
 Nigerians account for one in 20 of all foreign prisoners, putting the country fifth in the league table of nations whose citizens have been jailed in the UK.
Justice Minister Mr Wright said: ‘I am clear that more foreign prisoners must serve their sentences in their own countries. 

‘That is why we are currently working with the Nigerian Government on a compulsory prisoner transfer agreement to increase the number of prisoners who are transferred.

‘Legislation allowing Nigeria to enter such an arrangement was passed earlier this year by the Nigerian Parliament. We are now working with them on the text of a final agreement.’
Overflowing jails abroad have made it increasingly difficult to deport prisoners to their own country.

It is argued that by paying for building new jails or making existing ones more ‘comfortable’ so they approach British standards, will be repatriated.

81 comments:

vivienne said...

First!!!!!!!!!!!

All na story. E no reach 1 Mlllion pound. Nonsense.

More crime on our streets!

why wont d case bn settled there. once dose prisoners come to naija d issue will change some wld even bn abadoned

Wow! Those are some crazy numbers up there!

Mich said...

Coming from a government that understands the importance of prison and prisoner's welfare.
Isn't it funny how one in every five prisoner in the UK is a foreigner?
Nigeria's fifth position on the list isn't bad,goes to show that we aren't as worse as we are often depicted to be. But how can we be sure that the £1m would be used for building and renovations of prisons when it is eventually released by the British government considering how unconcerned our government is about prisons and prisoner's welfare.
This must be bad news for some Nigerians doing time over there.

Let's be real. The 1 million pounds won't smell the prison.. The rogues we call leaders, would steal the money without thinking twice.

good, now they'll think twice before committing that crime.

Some Nigerians would rather rot in jail overseas than come home to freedom in Nigeria. That's how bad the state of things are in Nigeria.

turasegzy said...

SEE GOBE Mehn!Servin jail terms in naija ke?

That will be funny, Nigerians in British prison are in a panic mode right about now. Kirikiri = Bread and water x 3 times a day.

Switching from corn flakes to garrium sulphate. Wahaala dey...

I tought Nig should be number 1 in d list

WTF! Kirikiri go contain all of them? Na wah o

Thank God... da only bad thing we ain't topping da table! ....TEE

Jehnypha said...

Atleast we didn't come first in this one. *sigh*

james ibori will finally come back home.. LoL

Ibori will come back home,kinda cool

Nigerians prisoners would feel so bad about this pact. It's better to be a prisoner in UK than in Naija.....lol

Oluwadamilola said...

Hahahaha! Naija prison? Dem don suffer.

Yes..Make dem dey bring dem cme, space dey kirikiri....they are welcome

I pray they use the money for that purpose, cheeiiii, those prisoners will prefer to remain in UK prison, cos naija prison nor be am, but dey ve no choice.

The remaining Nigerians shld just behave weda you have paper or not these pple are not smiling. They now collect their paper from pple and deport them.

BLAZER said...

If I'm dis prisoners I'll beg to remain nd serve ma prison term der...Naija prison na die.

They should also consider repartrating Nigerian athlete's who won medals for them during the London Olympics.......

We all know that once they get here they'll probably be let free.

its a nice one!!thumbs up uk!!

wemimo said...

#lobatan# frypan to fire..

Hehehe,na now them start. They where enjoying before in jand. Debee

Quintessence said...

But this prison in the pic is kind of fine. Looks comfy. Lol.

TX,US said...

Haaaa, THEY WOULD DISAPPEAR WHEN THEY GET TO NIGERIA..PRISON KO, PRISON NI!!

So Ibori is coming back anytime soon

Omg ÈŠ̝̊̅§ dat a prison??I knw sm of them will prefer stayin there dan comin bk Ï„̅☺ naija

it will.never happen. human rights argument will block.it. trust ECHR

Very nice. They would think twice before any action

Smart move by the UK government, reduction in expenditure for taking care of the prisoners.

*Minxy* said...

I'm sorry, why is Ghana not on that list?

Hope it is only those that are illegal that will be sent to Nigeria, and UK does not make the mistake of sending Ibori back...

See Gobe for these prisoners....

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! So those bros we think say dem dey UK go soon land back in kirikiri. Sign of perilous time

bad idea

What a moral lesson. Ibori, an untouchable who could get away even with murder in Nigeria was sought after by Britain by all means to face criminal charges originating from the same Nigeria, got properly tried, convicted, imprisoned and now waiting to be returned home to a Nigerian prison to serve his term. Will Nigeria ever get it right? 40,000 British pounds on him annually is not tenable.
We are all waiting to see how Ogahra citizens will line up the streets leading to MMIA to receive their illustrious convicted “hero” and demand that he be taken to a prison in the south-south zone where his cousin governor will have good access to him. And what about the wife, a co-prisoner? Perhaps if they are still in good terms could be made to share a conjugal apartment with him. Why not because we in a land of anything goes.Who knows if Niger Delta militants will not demand for his release too soon as a condition for Nigeria to export oil.

Firm, Flatten and Correct your Posture in a snap click here

Young men seeking for greener pastures abroad should better beware!

change is constant...by facethefact

I hope they will come over to Nigeria to oversee and ensure the money is used for the purpose of rehabilitating the available prison. If not, once that money gets to Nigeria, forget it cos some government officials will smile home with it and the condition of the prisons will remain the same.

I hope ibori will not be part of those people to repatriated ootherwise all the money spent in investigating him will go to waste cos na prison breaks tinz go happen for naija be that or a body double and the guy contesting for presidency from prison.

Pls exclude ibori from the list. Don't allow him to come back

Naija d only africa country on dat list, new experience 4 d prisoners cos they ar goin 2 witness power failures, evryday beans, hard labour etc, PITY!!!!!!

HOLLA-AT-MOI said...

Walahi if am among d prisoners I'll bribe d UK govt to continue ma terms in their prison dan coming bk to naija.

Lol!! Na him good 4 dem,, stay in ur country!develop it!nooo!dem won go enjoy "already made"!! Sorry!but yo"ll brut it on urselves! And UK spendin 1mill pounds,I cud care less,,,, *ONYX GODWIN*

Chiee I pity ibori ohhh.hmmm nija cells na rubbish he berra remain dia..Linkoko take ma comment fry egg ohh as u dnt post any of ma comments..

Well thank God naija is not the highest number, Poland is topping the chat.

waxy said...

The only prisoner that shouldn't be repatriated is IBORI. We all know what will happen if released to Nigerian Government.

Ehhhhh abeg abeg make d cucuma stay der ooo cos nija prison na hell hole water beans dat full of cockroach, uk prison be lik rich man house 4 naija biko kwanu

And wat are they waiting for to have dat kind of agreement wit china? They shuld bring our boyss home. Goverment shuld be making such arrangement for their citizen. China is using our boys as organ donors. Business of organ selling is booming in china bcos ous boys are there. Pls they shuld agree Wit them too. Most time they nt as guilty As they made them to be. After all the so called goverment made them to leave Their Country in search of greener pastures. They shuld talk for ous boys in china Too. Angry citizen

Nice idea. Onanafe should benefit from this plan.

Enjoyment things coming to an END! Naija prisoN Na hell oooo! Hmmmmm!

True talk.

This is a nice move by the British government.
How i wish the United states government copy this arrangement.

May be this will make our brothers and sisters in UK 'rethink' BEFORE going into crime knowing fully well that if caught, they will be serving their time in NIJA prisons.

Who cares if the money allocated by the British authority is well spent or not.

In fact i pray that the money be stolen so that the criminals would have a hell on earth and ROT in NIJA prisons.
I also pray that with time, this arrangement be extended to cover all UK-born Nigerians. It is high time.
olu@atlanta.

NIGERIAN PARLIAMENT ??!! Really? Since when did we elect a parliament ? Dis is how you know when someone is lying. We have a National Assembly , we no dye use parliamentary system of government . A decision like that would most likely go through the ministry NOT the senate, this is not uk were our legislature makes every single descion.
Just sayin....

@anon 2:18, calm down, which Ibori? D one wen go come get freedom 4naija? Na him happy pass sef, u go see na, make Ibori come back, u go hear say e don get presidential pardon, make we bet am? MAYOsaysSO

GHENGA OLORE said...

Olu@atlanta you must be a bastard and a fool for that your comment. Useless bastard and never do well like you. WHY ARE U A BITTER BASTARD

Ladipo Fernandez said...

All have spoken well but one paramount thing is missing in the list of countries whose prisoners will be sent back to their home countries. The missing link is: has anyone thought of United States of America in the list of prisoners to be sent to their countries? Does it mean that US citizens do not involve in crimes which will send them to prisons? In essence, US citizens are not in the list of prisoners to be sent back to their home countries.

Too bad

Oge Nsimah said...

Sad news for them...

Ghenga olore, are one of Nigerians in UK planning to go into crime?
You better have have a rethink as olu@atlanta has suggested because if you enter KIRIKIRI ( naija prison) , you may never come out alive.

KIRIKIRI is a real 'hell on earth'. Inmates either comes out dead or alive with incurable tuberculosis.

LAM said...

As in. It would probably be a sad end for them. Cuz the prisoners here will prolly beat them to death;as aje'boa prisoners. On the bright side,they get to see their families.

All for James ibori

for once we no carry first! and our ministers go chop the money!

Ginger said...

@oluatlanta may God punish ur stupid mouth for making that statement.I wish ur love one will be there too so that u will feel the pain.don't u know some did not commit any crime?if u don't know how they operate there u keep ur mouth shut.ewu gambia

I am guessing about 70% or more of the Nigerian prisoners are inside the pen for 419 and Fraud.. other than that I cant really see what other crime would get so many Nigerians in prison in UK. I want hammer syndrome.

You must be a CRIMINAL for being upset with olu. YOU GO SEE GOBE SOON. Odaran

Ghenga olore,

Are YOU one of the Nigerians LIVING in UK AND planning to go into crime?
You better have a rethink as olu@atlanta has suggested because if you enter KIRIKIRI ( naija prison], you may never come out alive.
KIRIKIRI is a real 'hell on earth'. Inmates either comes out dead or alive with incurable tuberculosis.
There is no need to abuse somebody who is telling you the truth.
I KNOW TRUTH IS BITTER, LIKE BITTER LIKE BITTER LEAF.

I just hope Ibori will not be among! *Crying my head o*

Yimu! See prayers sha!

makasteve said...

Is it not better to stay there than to come back to naija were only the rich 1c will be set free then d poor will die in kirikiri

Sylvia said...

True talk, all 4 ibori, am sure wen dey are transferred hia, govt will gv Dem amnesty to ensure ibori is awt

vampire lestat said...

New definition for gombe, gombe is when you are in prison in the uk eating sausage and bacon and you are transferred to nigeria kirikiri to come and eat beans and die of TB.....lol

Hmmmm,I doubt if most of them wuld want to come back home,chai we can't compare naija prison and dat abroad

Bad nonsense of a good of rubish u pple should stop deceiving us we are not kids.