Air disaster averted today as IRS aircraft makes emergency landing | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 October 2013

Air disaster averted today as IRS aircraft makes emergency landing

Another air disaster was averted this afternoon when an IRS Aircraft made an emergency landing in Kaduna. A Fokker 28 plane, carrying 89 passengers from Lagos to Kaduna, developed hydraulic problems few minutes before landing at the Kaduna airport.

The aircraft's front tyres refused to come out during landing, forcing the pilot to land without them. Fortunately no one was injured.

The Managing Director of IRS, Yemi Dada, later explained what happened to reporters. He said:
"The pilots received a low hydraulic warning minutes before landing, and this affected the landing gear, nose wheel steering, brakes, cargo doors, thrust reverser and the flight controls."
“On final approach to Kaduna today on our flight 3390 with 89 passengers, our cockpit crew got a low hydraulic in system 1 warning and decided to take precautionary measures to ask for ground confirmation that all gears were down and locked."
“The crew proceeded to land but followed procedure to disembark on the runway and not taxi in accordance with the procedure.”
He said all passengers disembarked with the assistance of a crane before the aircraft was towed to ramp. He also said the airline's maintenance crew is checking the aircraft to see what happened.

141 comments:

God save Nigeria

CHARMY said...

Hmmmmmmmmm!God help Us!86 passengers you said,thank you lord that the are all safe.

Thank God for his protection.

Thank God no one was hurt. Btw am i first today?

Hmmm. Thank God.

God save us from plane crashes in nigeria.

Serious matter....

Again!!!!!! Pathetic!we are talkin about lives here!! Stella shud resign plz!how many crashes n averted crashes jst under her watch??? Shameful!! Mayb dis tym she'll call poor devils name who's busy recruitin souls 4 hell!! Resign ma'am!! *ONYX GODWIN*

thank God o

God pls help us ooo land is nt safe air no. Sea no ha. God help Naijaria ooo

God help us in dis country, flakky says so

hmmmm thank God no one was hurt.

Is only God dat will continue 2 protect us in dis contry.

jaybeyblu said...

Haaaa wahala dey oooo

I will never fly in nigeria again! All journeys shall be made by road.

Another act of God! May God 4give that woman, and save us! Kai neglicence at its peak, using lives to play ten ten

Nigeria is in a mess! In two weeks: a plane crash, two emergency landings, and an aviation minister who smirks that crashes are "acts of
God."

Nigeria's appalling air safety record is a matter of finances, corruption, and governmental neglect.

Mich said...

Its an "Act of God".
Its hight time they did something about all the planes in Nigeria.
They can't keep toying with the lives of people,imagine boarding a plane only to disembark with the help of a crane.

Joey ADN said...

Lol....am actually waiting to see all you bastard pessimists comments, pls somebody should try his/her by insulting me...I can't wait!!

Rough Diamond said...

Tank God o!

HIAN!!!!!!

Joey ADN said...

Lool....Some of you jobless monkeys just come here and post rubbish comments...u will insult Linda (no respect to her) and still write rubbish...I can't wait to start seeing d replies to my comments...

Se na second hand plane

Joey ADN said...

Some of you that think you have mouth...10 of you can gather...I'll be waiting...I love Nigeria but most nigerians suck!!

Joey ADN said...

Some of you that think you have mouth...10 of you can gather...I'll be waiting...I love Nigeria but most nigerians suck!!

Jenny Amy Akums said...

Hmmm... Thnk God Almighty o. Those passengers wud be like '' ah baba God thnk u o, Na so we for take die?''

Can't imagine the fear in the passengers while landing....
Only God Protects!!!

Thank God no life was lost. May God continue to protect us frm all forms of accident.... My teacher tot me bak den n skl dt air used to be d safest means of transportation.*confused*

DoubleV said...

Our air flight È‹̝̊̅§ no longer safe any more,God plz help us in dis ember season.

I can imagine the Prayers by the passengers during the incident. Thank God for mercy!

PAVOUR said...

No more air crashes ijn.

If u want to die INSTANTA,,board naija planes ,,if u love ur life soo much,,learn to travel by foot cos " TREKKING SURE PASS"

nekkyville said...

Nw wats her name again so nids to resign.she jst wnts to kip killing pple.wen FFK talks nw,u guys wud stat tearing him apart wen dis woman is so incompetent.Land not Safe,Air nt safe,water nt safe..I wud jst rmain in ma house oh.

Jehnypha said...

Praise Jesus!!!

God Save Us All.
BLASH!

Tnk God ooo.I'm imagining how I wouldve reacted if I was in that plane.Wouldve died 10x b4 anytin.

@michelleogo said...

Naa wa ooh! They should do sometin abt our planes nw! What is all dis biko nu?

Father I praise your Holy name!!! Thank. You Lord Jesus!!!!!!!!...YOU ARE WORTHY TO BE PRAISED!!!!!!!!!!

Hian,odi egwu. Chineke save ur children from incompetency and carelessness in naija. Thank God I am far away in portsmouth for now!

Janelicious said...

Ha!!!!!

IRS is still flying? I had a really disturbing experience with the airline as far back as 2003-2004. The flight was from Kaduna to Lagos. Some 20 min. before landing, the smell of burning wires or cables filled the cabin. Neither the captain nor the head of the cabin crew made an announcement to assure passengers that there was no cause for alarm. Thank God we landed safely without any incident. I do wonder when the regulatory authorities will do the right thing and save passengers from any further avoidable grief. It is shameful that we do not have a functional national carrier. Even Rwanda that only recently was engulfed in a horrible civil war has something of an outstanding national carrier, going by the testimonies of those who have taken Air Rwanda. #TakeBackNigeria.

I thought an airplane is checked before any flight. All this pilots una dey take risk o, una go know say plane no good yet una go you am carry people go kill dem. Thank God for the averted disaster.

Again???? I don't want to hear another sad news ooooo, hmmmmmm mouth sealed

what is rong wit all ds.planes sef... anty linda r u not afraid ov wat is goin on? me am fearing ooo... d tin is no longa getn funny again... mayb.d benin witches r getn bad market dat is y..

Ikenco said...

what is rong wit all ds.planes sef... anty linda r u not afraid ov wat is goin on? me am fearing ooo... d tin is no longa getn funny again... mayb.d benin witches r getn bad market dat is y..

Thank God. I always use IRS AIRLiNES to kaduna almost every month. May d lord be praised.

Nigeria eeee well thank God no body die.

Me with local flight shall neva meet again.I refuse to use my moni to buy a Death ticket #watinhappen#

God shall not allow another plane crash again this year, in naija

God help us

NK said...

All thnx 2 d King of kings! D finger of God prevailed.

Na wa ooo,I kus visited naijaeast.wordpress.com
For the full story

4 Chrissakes Linda Puhleez verify ur facts before u go to press. Its an F100 n it was never d nose wheel. .

Glory be to God almighty!!

Every move you make is a risk. If you even decide to stay in your house and not go out, you are still at risk. Last year, Dana airline crashed into homes of people who were sitting quietly in their homes watching t.v. My point is don't say you will never fly naija planes, just pray for God's guidiance in every move you make. God Bless Naija

Even road is bad nw..accidents evry day..all we need is prayers

Nma said...

It's just God_awesome God! Oba awon oba! Eze ndi eze! Lord u deserve the glory_thank u for those lives u saved. I've lost three relatives to aircrash n I know hw it feels_thanks for averting this.

If u were d first to comment wat value does it add to ur freaking life?

All the planes in Nigeria are tokunbos! ALL, even the so called private jets. ALL

Thank God no one was hurt.

Someone's desperately seeking attention,ode oshi!

Oh God save ur people.

Seriously, very soon, the Nigerian airline services will be scrapped as there are no form of maintenance and regulations. Government pls fix the roads as they appear to be more safe.
PS: before boarding any flight in Naija, pray for protection as these aircrafts all appear to be bad!!!

Seriously, very soon, the Nigerian airline services will be scrapped as there are no form of maintenance and regulations. Government pls fix the roads as they appear to be more safe.
PS: before boarding any flight in Naija, pray for protection as these aircrafts all appear to be bad!!!

TAN GOD NO LIVE WAS LOST,can't an aircraft check b4 it allow 2 fly.2 emergency landing in 2wks plz aviation minister madam let der b no 3 one.

Hmmmmmn, to think I always use IRS, oga oh! Thank You LORD that no one was hurt. This is really scary, GOD helps in Nigeria, Amen.

You are not making sense.

So wen Stella steps down, who will take over? Most pple don't even tink b4 talking. If she decides to start sacking & grounding airlines, same mumu commentators will still blame her 4 many tins. Na she dey buy d retired planes from Jand? Na she dey maintain them? Na she dey fly them? Pilot mistake, Stella. Company mistake, Stella. Some even called her evil. He who is clean should cast d first stone. Which 1 of u works in d aviation sector?

Just want to study my bible.how sweet it is.

Tank God for safe trip

Blood suckin demonz @work.....God pass una

Babe, Read!..understand! Den bleepin comment pls

Thank God!

moji said...

NAMA NCAA FAAN top officials need to be sanctioned, if heads need to roll the minister is not excluded. Change has to be made Asap

Angry Nigerian said...

Τ̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘y said 89 u'r saying 86 u ds blind - stubborn goat! Dnt knw wat ur prob is! Mtcheeeew!

Are u trying to reduce the number or wat? *Straight face*

I won't be surprised if the Aviation sector in Nigeria records a decrease cos I think most of the Planes used are old and almost dead. Something serious has to be done to curb this awaiting disasters. For over 2 months now, the downward escalator of the MMA 2 wing hasn't been functioning. The relevant authorities should act

Joey u r a big fool! Thank you

Joey ADN u are looking for bad mouth people on this blog today ?well u won't see one. Everyone is sad and angry about these plane crash tingz. And not every Nigerian sucks! Take am easy biko.

Na wa oooo, make God dey hlp us 4 dz our darln country, we shud jez b tankful nobody got hurt sha...

Come and experience Arik's international flight..... you would know that Nigeria has a real problem.

They cancelled Arik, Lagos - NY on friday, announced 3 hours later, with no apology whatsoever, passengers stranded at the airport, most of them slept at the airport till morning.

they asked the passengers to return at 5pm the next day, on getting there, they said sorry no flight till the 23rd..... moe or less, to hell with you.

Oya give us our bags, they said they need permission from their oga at the top. Finally after rounds of fighting, 2 bags were found, one missing.....

Nigerian carrier my foot........

Like seriously? Do u have sense at all? Attention seeker GTfoh
Psycho bratt

HATERS-SLAYER said...

oh sweet baby jesus.tnk u we are greatful.

I give God praise cos my mother in law was on d plane!! Its God dat saved them bt its nt d act of God dat d plane almost crashed,its jst aviatn needs to step up n do their wrk!

AGAIN, CHINEKE GOD HAVE MERCY ON THIS PRE-HELL CALLED NIGERIA OOOh, NOTHING WORKS IN MOI COUNTRY, CONFUSED PRESIDENT, CORRUPT OFFICALS AND AVERTED DISASTERS, HEEY BABA GOD SAFE US. I DON VEX LINDA POST MY COMMENT OH.

Afroprofile said...

why will i use my money to pay for my death. better i ride on cars after all if any accident, i may recuperate in the hospital than burn alive in slightest plane crash.
see best cars at: http://afroprofile.com/blog/2013/10/12/10-most-expensive-luxury-cars/

IRS IS A DEATH TRAP. Flying with them 60 minutes of praying that my mother will forgive me for my stupidity if something happened. They should be banned from flying. Dana is prob safer.

Father Lord! Hallowed be your Name!... IRS ke???... God abeg ooh... which kain tin... may God protect us all. abeg for those that have to fly, na fasting get una before gettin on any plane oh.. what the hell mehn! This is not funny at all.. in the end, we thank you Jesus!!

But, for real , what is the Matter with Nigeria? This is so uncomfortable ...

Ms Ikeji..its called 'LANDING GEAR'...NOT Front Tyre... if you're corrected you'll start to show your attitude.

To God be all the glory!

89!!! Not 86! It was mentioned 2ce! Can u read?

Roselle said...

Thank God for divine intervention.

Bosstalk.com said...

Those passengers sure prayed to be @ this xmas' dinner table.

True talk treking of life!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Thank God for little mercies!
Recently was in a flight to PH...
Before the engine of the aircraft could rev up to taxi, we were held up on the ground for not less than 20 mins, I guess!
It was like eternity!
And you could notice that the aircraft was struggling to climb and push over the clouds when it managed to move off the runway...
I ate my hearts out with fear that the aircraft might just fall down like apple from the sky yakata, just like that!
Reached cruise speed, and a certain woman by my side, who claimed she'd been flying all her life just suddenly stood up, and quickly started towards the cockpit as if going to warn the pilot (driver) to stop speeding!
Imagine the likeness!
Apparently the noisiness of the aircraft's engines, which ought not to be, remained her of Lagos molues!
She needed a lot of calming and convincing that she was not in Ojuelegba, but in an aircraft!
AVIATION IS CAPITAL INTENSIVE...
IF YOU CAN'T RUN IT, BACK OFF LIKE JIMOH IBRAHIM DID WITH AIR NIGERIA!!

Lwkmd

Really depressing!

sipsocietygist.blogspot.com

Hmmm, God I thnk U ooo!

Alex ~ USA said...

Thank God oo

Thank you Jesus for saving us from another national disaster. Good job pilot!!

Infact not only u o. Same thing I said when the last plane crashed. There's nothing anybody can tell me, if they like they should even buy a new plane I won't fly within Nigeria o. Well av only done it once with Arik anyway. Can't even allow my family fly too. All u runz babes routing Abuja etc, shey una don hear, don't let aristo moves terminate ur lives mid air o. In one week there av been 2 emergency landings after the last crash. Haba!!!!! Heart attack won't let person rest sef if u are onboard. Msheew!

Dey should aquire utra modern aircrafts or get dem merged 2gether to raise their fianancial base. Where is Professor Charle Soludo when u need him.

What wrong wth the razz modafucker why are you barking like ajegunle dog you need attention or wat u cn go to the zoo ODE

Does it mean they dont check hydraulic on a daily basis.

Thanks be to God for protecting his children.

Rubbish airline. .mtwwww

Seconded!

Stella should resign how na? I don't get us o. Like all the rot in the system started from her. Obviously it's a systematic decay only showing fully now. These operators sef God must punish their money grabbing lives o. They want to bring down the whole system

Hmnnnnnn.......
Thank God o!

The Minister of Aviation and Head of NCAA need to be fired. They are not monitoring what is going on in their sector. We have a lot of cutting corners in that sector.

Beautifying airports without ensuring that the essential and critical aspects - regular maintenance of aircraft, is carried out, is an exercise in futility.

Fire the incompetent lot and bring in thoroughbred professionals for that sector!!

This Ministry should not be politicised. It deals with lives.

hmmmmm......since road no safe...air no safe.....sea sef no b sure tin....den na trekkin sure pass.......thank God 4 dier livesoooo...Linda if u lyk dont post

Act of God or man?
Madam Minister over to you!

Earn $200 and above from your home in a week.http://www.Paynized.com/?invite=64240

Mixer! Is ppl like u dat will hear smfng and say anoda fng.. Its 89 nt 86.. Get ur facts strait!

Devil send Stella Oduah message o. Thank GoD for safety n a good pilot.

This is our problem...God God everywhere...We are bunch of Mumu. Ban what is worth banning. How long we go dey sacrifice our loved ones on air.

Attention seeker. Now you can finally rejoice

Prayerfully manage the bad road,God will help us

Maybe these pilots take oats of suicide to be risking their own lives too.

Prayerfully manage the bad road,God will help us

etochi21 said...

All thanks to ever loving God

Na wa o so dis witches in d air hv sworn 2hv a piece of d national blood abi? God pass dem...

This is no longer "an act of God"the pace at which all this is happening.Something is definitely going on in the aviation industry.There is more to all this than meets the eye.

LadyF

Prince jobless has gotten another handle. Don't worry.... This one too will loose steam.

Fly at owners risk

Noo! You are no 100...

Which airline maintenance crew? the ones with free attitude to work? Sorry too atc cant confirm that your gear is locked for you on touch down you collapse and find that out yourself. Im just wondering where Nigeria gets the expertise to maintain complex vehicles like aircrafts. Its not by force to fly if we don't have the right infrastructure in place even if the prices paid to the airlines are ridiculous and should cover any sort of maintenance. The airlines are definitely cutting corners for this to be happening. The resignation of stella is not the answer, the answer is Nigerians changing their mentality and attitude to work. You might as well get another stella if you think her resigning is the solution. As long as we keep on playing european roulette with everything in Nigeria every thing will remain in the hand of luck and we wont chart our own destiny.

Fly at owners risk

Airbus and Boeing won't sell their latest craft to Nigerian carriers, is that it? Which kain methuselah aircraft wey govt still dey allow for our skies, Ehn, biko.

Silence is the best answer for a fool @Joey ADN, but why are you so mean? If u are a man , i wonder how ure going to be able to handle , that is if u have 1 anyway. if u have dis kind of gut to be challenging people as if u are getting paid for using abusive words on people nd u cant even give any reasonable reason for doing that. U really need to check urself , cos u hav a very big problem... @Linda, is there any problem with ur Blog comment moderation? Cos i dont see any reason why approving comments from people like dis using abusive words here..

So its plane crash trending now! God unto thee we lift our souls.

I wonda o...dats supposed 2 b part of d routine check..

I had a similar experience with this same airline way back in 2011 from Lagos to Abuja. We spend an extra 30mins in the air flying around the Abuja airspace because the landing gear couldn't come out. Eventually when we landed, we were chased down the runway by ambulances and firefighters and were welcomed by a fully greared fire fighter as the aircraft door opened.
In all of this, nobody said a word. Not the captain nor the crew. We the passengers were oblivious of what exactly was going on.
Just sad! God help us.........

Lets see if they will ground them now like how they grounded dana if thats the stupid way of thinking of this nation tell stella she would have to ground all the airlines too

Hmnnnnnn.......
Thank God o!

Now this is an ''act of God'' saving lives! When there is a continous sectorial challenges as such it simply means deliberate appointment of square pegs in a round hole! by facethefact

oladboy_chapkin said...

Thnk God ..I hope dis planes don't go for sale @ olx.com sha

Helguera said...

Nah weti with ai wahala all tyme nohhh.Abeg make these Airport company dem check their planes well.Niaga government need for do something.