When a deputy governor holds the umbrella up for the governor.. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 June 2017

When a deputy governor holds the umbrella up for the governor..

Some indigenes in Cross River state are currently expressing their concerns over this trending photo of their state governor, Ben Ayade and his deputy, Professor Evara Esu. The latter is pictured holding an umbrella to cover the governor. While some say the photo shows the humility of Prof Esu, others describe it as a dehumanizing act. They accuse the governor of disrespecting his deputy who is older than him. Please share your thoughts on this in the comment section.  Photo credit: Ifere Paul

76 comments:

Your deputy governor is not supposed to be holding umbrella for you, come on.Go get an unemployed youth to be your assistant if you so need an umbrella holder.You are not Diddy and he is not Fonzworth bentley.

this is not disrespecting. only one umbrella available here.

Hmmmmmm well thats humility.. I believe the Things governor did not forced him to do it.. Its his own choice... Lets not make issues out of this

He's older than him meaning wat exactly? So the governor shud hold the umbrella for his deputy!? Stupid people think stupidly.

nigerians with their useless negative thinking...abeg nothing dey der...

He's older than him meaning wat exactly? So the governor shud hold the umbrella for his deputy!? Stupid people think stupidly.

It is dehumanizing act

There is nothing wrong with this mbok.

Money,answered all things..
Wonders shall never end.

Thts shameful, if for nothing,but for the fact that he is older

I don't think this is wrong. Anybody can hold or pick anything for anybody irrespective of age. He couldn't have handed him the Umbrella to shield himself from the rain. Mind you. He is an Executive Governor and not about age. In that government, the Deputy is his subordinate. Therefore he has no choice but to serve the Governor.I am sure he did it gladly. So what is anyone's business?

Onye isi bu onye isi

HolySaint said...

There is nothing disrespectful or dehumanizing here. If you have only one umbrella any one can carry it. In any case, there is nothing like age at work place your boss is your boss and must be respected older or younger.

B. Abanda | The guy with A&A Group. said...

It's humility and not dehumanizing act.In everywhere there is someone who is a boss

B. Abanda | The guy with A&A Group. said...

It's humility and not dehumanizing act.In everywhere there is someone who is a boss

I am sure that there are a thousand and one persons that can hold this umbrella. This isnt about humility biko. I jsut doesn't seem right, besides rain dey fall................Nonsense!!!

Willie said...

Please why is it that whenever Nigeria police did a good job and people praise them

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

always ends like a stupid corps for goodness sake? When will you Nigeria police ever.

So,is it the Gov that should hold the umbrella for himself and his deputy? Prod Esu is a humble man and doesn't care about ur ignorant opinion.

Hian!

Daily diet tv said...

In 2017? I expected more from the Prof. I find this utterly downheartning.

QUI OO said...

THE QUESTION IS THIS, IS IT THE GOVERNOR THAT SAID HE (DEPUTY) SHOULD HOLD IT FOR HIM?
This is what one needs to know b/4 judging anybody.

ELIZABETH said...

MR DEPUTY GOVERNOR WAS NOT DESTINED TO BE A LEADER, HE CALMLY ACCEPT HIS UMBRELLA CARRY LIFE ASSIGNMENT. A DISGRACE TO HUSBANDHOOD (IF THERE IS A WORD LIKE THAT) & FATHERHOOD YEYE MAN.

samuel said...

hahahahahaha......http://www.naijacrux.com
...make money online...learn how..free method

eye service...shame on you

I jst dnt understand why nigerian prominent leaders cnt hold common umbrella by themselves. From th pix, d governor looks proud of of deputy looks humble buh foolishly humble period

joyous baba,LindaIkeji First cousin said...

boy boy deputy.

He had the umbrella and the gov merely shared it with him. It could be the other way round. Don't see anything in it. Aside didn't remove a strand of hair from the dep.Gov body.

ONLY IN CROSSRIVER!

shade(LIE V TRUTH) said...

I don't see it as dehumanizing act, what I see here is humility. Shikena.

Edu Uwem said...

Hmm

The relationship between governors and their deputies has hardly ever been cordial in Nigeria. The governors have,in most cases, treated their deputies as their personal assistants and offcourse they always win.
If you don't want your office to be made redundant, you better hold the umbrella age or no age

This is a media mischieve. Apparently,the Governor in deputy,held up the umbrella for himself while the Executive Governor went under the umbrella also. Lesson: see a picture between the lines

Edwin. said...

People should not create problem where there is non.The deputy Governor was covering himself more than the Governor. It is a normal scene where one person with an umberal extends covering to the person without umberal .

Smh...

Joseph Igama said...

I see absolutely nothing wrong with the Deputy Governor holding an umbrella to cover the Governor and himself. The umbrella clearly didn't cover the Governor alone. This for me is making news over nothing.

Extremely shameful. Both of them are living examples of old dogs who cannot learn new tricks. In USA we have seen Obama carrying his luggage himself, we have also seen him holding up his umbrella. This guys we call Govs and leaders, men they are a bundle of disappointment. Never do well.

STEPHEN GODS TIME said...

Is see nothing wrong with it. Respect is not by age

yetty k said...

This is what happens when your son chooses you as his deputy

Eeyore said...

Can't he hold the damn umbrella by himself?

Yiza Usman said...

Please support my blog
https://fifthcornerblog.wordpress.com/

Everything about this country is annoying.American president nobody is holding umbrella for him here in Nigeria is different...nuel

Na f nice wry fall make goat climb am. Anybody force am to hold umbrella. Na as person keep inself naim others go take treat am.

A Nigerian man wealth or power is not complete until is use to insult another man's. Who is Ben Ayade dat he can't hold his umbrella by him self Obama, Queen Elizabeth Emmanulle Macron Theresa May all this people holds dia Umbrella by dem self not to talk of small Ayade... his deputy is a slap a very big slap...

Mhiz A... said...

He's not holding an umbrella for him, rather for them cos he(DG) was also covered.

There is no much difference between us and illiterates. We go to school to pass exams and not really to learn. Even some with PhD are not better behaved than village clerks!

Mr Governor, this is really below the belt! Cant you hold umbrellas yourself? Or have your security aide do it?

The office of deputy governor is a public office. No one has the right to strip it of its dignity as both the Governor and his deputy are doing here. That office is not their personal property. They are both belittling that office and that position. Enlightened members of the public will also feel humiliated to see them doing this.

Amy said...

But seriously, what happened to the governor's hand? Looking at the pix,it doesn't look like he is giving a speech or something. So y hold the umbrella for him? This is so not right.

This is an abuse not humility. However, Prof should know better.

hmmmm...not fair.

I don't know how to describe this, but I think the governor is stupid for not being humble. How would you allow your deputy to cover you with an umbrella? It's weird dude!!!

I don't know how to describe this, but I think the governor is stupid for not being humble. How would you allow your deputy to cover you with an umbrella? It's weird!!!

Only in Nigeria.
Extremely Erotic! Ademola Toyin Goes N*de In New Photos

Kelikel said...

my Broda wen it come to work no age oo..

Kelikel said...

my Broda wen it come to work no age oo..

Honestly it is disrespectful as an African

Chris Aimakhu said...

Nothing wrong...His deputy and running mate....

ENGR BEN said...

Absolutely nothing wrong in that gesture on both sides, you were not there to know how the umbrella holding started. The deputy is displaying loyalty to a superior officer. age has nothing to do with governance, besides if age has been a factor then both the governor and his deputy should leave the office fcor young and great minds that can hold their umbrellas themselves without aide. Think deep please. Thanks

Show respect to ur boss but not servant.

oluude said...

I cant understand why some people are not seeing anything wrong in that act!what most poeple dont understand is that,any position that has a period of tenure will someday comes to an end.for the deputy to be older and a as deputy governor,he shouldnt be holding that for the governor and courtesy demand that the governor should reject such offer,even though it was made by the deputy.when such offer is being made to a white person he reject it.

Why the governor cannot hold the umbrella for himself?

tayo said...

It is not even raining so why the umbrella???

hrm paul said...

If I was the governor I would hold d umbrella for my deputy d governor should lead by example

I guess there was only one umbrella at the time, and both Governor and Deputy needed to be protected. It's obvious the deputy should be the one holding it cos if a third person held it, all would be soaked. Ko ba haka ba?

That's one thing about Yoruba culture some tribes lack courtsey and respect if this people are Yorubas the Governor will never allow the deputy to hold that umbrella for the fact that the man is older him, that respect has to be there
Even if is boss the courtesy and respect is very important.

www.asovillanews.ng said...

It is very wrong for an older deputy governor anywhere in the world to hold umbrella for the governor.

www.asovillanews.ng said...

Exactly.

Stop saying rubbish, make scenes jour In fact let the deputy drive him

Don't forget that the governor is still his boss!

That's Africa for you , no matter how educated they might be especially people from the east,that BUSH-MAN behavior never shaved off, that's the remnanst of BIAFRA Low-Self-Esteem.

AGB said...

Exactly!

AGB said...

My brother, I tire o.

AGB said...

...absolutely!

Prof. Ivara Esu is an elder in Presbyterian Church and during communion, he serves the congregation who are not even governors... His loyalty and humility has taken him all the places and offices he has held... A boss remains a boss... Age don't count here but the office.
This act of humility is rare and worthy of emulation... Our youth should learnt something from here.

very annoying