Cambodia court reduces sentence of Nigerian man jailed for fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 June 2017

Cambodia court reduces sentence of Nigerian man jailed for fraud

A 37-year-old Nigerian convicted of fraud had his two-year prison sentence upheld, but half was suspended, at the Phnom Penh Municipal Court yesterday, June 15. Chimere Meze was convicted of fraud and sentenced to two years imprisonment in absentia in February. He was arrested in April and requested a re-trial.

Judge Ros Piseth said Mr Meze scammed a Cambodian woman out of $300 in 2016 by informing her she’d won a grand prize but first had to pay him $300 via Wing to collect the reward.
“Because he often phoned to disturb the victim and ask for $300 from her, she filed a complaint against him to police,” said Judge Piseth. “Police prepared a plot to arrest him.”
Mr Meze’s accomplices, Nigerian tourist Uchechukwu Vincent, 37, and his Cambodian girlfriend Sarim Kunthea, 27, were also imprisoned for six months to a year during the initial February trial. Judge Piseth recommended Mr Meze appeal the judgment within 30 days if he did not accept the conviction.

15 comments:

Lucky him

tm said...

That woman is a big thief as well. How can u win a grand price of what u never played. As old as my mom is, she get text from different network that she won a kind of price n to come claim it. N she like why would she claim something u never play.

good for him....

Naija people with quick money

Ibo everywhere committing all sorts of crime to make it even outside the borders of Nigeria. Nonsense

A sign he was innocent

Igbo again!!!
Now I believe it's a curse

Mr 47 said...

Smh! I am speechless

Olashile Canada said...

300$ pere?are they mad?oya werey ni?cambodia na country?

LOL

These people again?

Even his name is a fraud! His supposedly first and last name should be a single name, but this guy cut it into first name and surname.... Chimeremeze not Chimere Meze

Nony said...

D most wanted kidnapper in d northern dat d soldiers caught dis week is an Hausa guy, a Muslim for dat matter. So rest Oga, evil has no tribe.
Fraud started with hausas as far as I know

Where is dammy krane🤔🤔 omo Yoruba

Tpy said...

Biafra kwezuenu