Jibrin drags House of Representatives leaders to court, seeks N1bn damages for his suspension | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 October 2016

Jibrin drags House of Representatives leaders to court, seeks N1bn damages for his suspension

Suspended member of the House of Representatives, Abdulmumin Jibrin, has instituted a lawsuit against the leadership of the House over his recent suspension. Jibrin was suspended on September 28th after failing to appear before the House committee on Ethics and privileges.

Jibrin today filed the suit at the Federal High Abuja shortly after he withdrew the suit he filed against the House on August 9th challenging plans by the House members to suspend him.

In the suit filed this morning, Jibrin is seeking N1billion as damages for his suspension. He urged the court to declare his suspension as a violation of his fundamental human right to freedom of expression. He prayed the court to declare that the resolution passed by the House of Representatives suspending him was in breach of Section 68 of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

He asked the court to restrain the House of Representatives from preventing him from Participating in the committees of the House or accessing the legislative chambers to perform his legislative duties. Heraing on the case has been fixed for November 22nd.

16 comments:

K

Getin more interesting am jus watching

hehehe

All the best to him. Linda take note!

Oleh....lol na 1trillion you go get. Barawo kawai.

1billion gini? This man self

Bless you Jib...!

I don't see him wining

Dragging them to the court they control? Only God can epp Jubrin now

****************************Ekperima !!!!!!

I'm actually to tired of this their issue. Quite unfortunate.

NA WAOH!
THIS IS GETTING SERIOUS

Very good,and I hope he won the case at the end of the day.

The case continues. More here

LIndodo...U no see the man egg plant ? abi u just over look am....

Sam said...

Good move! All the corrupt national assembly thieves must be brought to book. "If i go down, you go down with me". That is the slogan.