Photos: Nigeria's biggest football stars turn up for Joseph Yobo's big centenary game launch | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 March 2016

Photos: Nigeria's biggest football stars turn up for Joseph Yobo's big centenary game launch

Former Super Eagles and Everton FC Captain, Joseph Yobo gathered Nigeria’s football legends as he officially announced his retirement from football after being capped 100 times for the country and playing top flight football for over a decade.

He announced his upcoming testimonial march billed for the Portharcourt stadium on the 27th of May, 2016 which will attract former Everton and Manchester United manager, David Moyes; Manchester United Forward, Wayne Rooney; Manchester City midfielder, Kolo Toure and three times African Footballer of the year, Didier Drogba among other top footballers.

Present at the announcement were Nigeria greats Jay-Jay Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu, Taribo West, Peter Rufai, Victor Ikpeba and Henry Nwosu, Ifeanyi Udeze along with former coaches Christian Chukwu, Shaibu Amodu, Augustine Eguavoen and Fanny Amun.

The event was also attended by veteran sports journalists and pundits.

Former PSG and Bolton Wanderers midfielder Okocha while speaking on Yobo, stated that,
 “It is not easy to play 100 games for your country and the fact that Yobo was the first to reach that mark says a lot about him as a player.”
Yobo began his career at non-league Michelin FC in Port Harcourt, before leaving for Standard Liege in Belgium. He went on to play for Marseille, Everton, Fenerbahce and Norwich and captained Nigeria to African Nations Cup success in 2013.
More photos...

29 comments:

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Seen...ProudlyDeltan

Dee Tee said...

Nice!

Kayode Odusanya said...

Nice to see Peter Rufai still looking good. Congrats to Yobo.

Are You A One Minute Man?

Good for him,x

The bull,i sight you......

#PEACEOUT

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Awesome.

OH so no foreign player could show face ehn

okocha i cant help but notice you arent wearing your wedding ring .....odikwa nma eeehh?

Taribo west good to see you.

Nice.
Linda mkn money snc 2000

**************legends all I see*********** and who is dat lady on blue**********she ix evwy whr on d pics************* shuuuu********** kee nke okasi eme ????????

That's nice

Oladimeji said...

Aisha Falode is just changing seats. I wonder what Yobo is celebrating oooo.

Jayjay okocha, i sight your belt steffano ricci... you are mouthed... not about the price but about knowing things... £2k still...

Jayjay okacha i sight your belt (staffano ricci)... you are very mouthed recognising good stuff.. not about the price but still £2k no easy.

IT Is nice to retire from any kind of work man find himself doing atall

Nice 1, Jay Jay are you this short? I see Taribo with his isi nkwocha head. Lol#Lindangwanu#

Nice 1

#spritual

A well established restaurant and bar in the city of port harcourt is looking for high-calibre,professional and experienced line cooks for its culinary activities. Applicants must be well skilled in the preparation of various local dishes. The job offers excellent career potential and attractive salary package.
Mode of application:
Submission of a well-typed cv and application to the address of the restaurant/bar
Contact Information:
Address: 116 woji road, woji, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.
Telephone: 07055248246
Email: proquo_services@yahoo.com
All applications must be submitted on or before 31st March 2016

Taribo west oo Taribo west.. *singin*

I see u all.. Great footballers

chommy said...

Datz gud. Linda observe!

Congratulations to him

great captain he was... I hope we miss him... Linda take note!

Awesome

Luciana Chinda said...

Odi okay.

Impressive I must say.

Linda, you for put there name now. I know even know almost all of them

Okocha is ever young