Photos: 'Did you try to close your legs?' a Spanish Judge asks rape victim | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 March 2016

Photos: 'Did you try to close your legs?' a Spanish Judge asks rape victim

A Spanish judge has been accused of offensive questioning after she asked a rape survivor if she had tried closing her legs when she was being sexually assaulted.
The comments were made as the alleged victim appeared in court in Vitoria, northern Spain, to make an initial rape allegation to the magistrate. The unnamed woman had told the court how a man had repeatedly violently abused her sexually and physically.

Judge Maria del Carmen Molina Mansilla, in the Basque Country responded to the claim by asking the woman: "Did you close your legs and your other female organs?"

After a shocked silence, the woman, who is four months pregnant, responded with a simple "yes"

The offensive comments has sparked protests in a country where a shocking one in five women have been victims of assault.

The Clara Camoamor Association, a campaign group for victims of gender crime, asked the General Council of the Judiciary, which reviews the independence of judges in Spain, to suspend Judge Mansilla for her insensitive questioning.

A spokesperson for the campaign association, Blanca Estrella Ruiz said the remarks showed a clear prejudice towards disbelieving the rape victim and even blame her for the ordeal.

"The judge showed obvious disbelief of the testimony of the victim, questioned her without allowing her to answer and asked leading and offensive question. A clear example of this attitude is the judge's repeated questions to the victim on whether she made any attempt to resist aggression including asking her 'did she close her legs firmly?' and 'did she close all of her other female organs?' Such questions are not only unnecessary to the investigation but are completely offensive and violate the dignity of the victim."

Ms Ruiz explained that the incident was not the first time that the judge had appeared to make light of a victim's allegations.

"Unfortunately this is not an isolated act but such behaviour by this judge. It is habitual and continuous. Other women have lodged complaints about the re-victimization they experienced in this court. Women are scared as to what might happen to them as victims in this court and it is disincentivizing them to report such crimes." Mz Ruiz added.

The campaign group's psychologist added: "Here we are talking about institutional ill treatment. That is to say she was abused in her home and went on to search for help and has now also been abused by the judicial institution."

Spain's judicial authorities have since confirmed they are investigating the complaint. Officials at the Juzgado de Violencia sobre la Mujer Vittoria (Court of Violence against Women ) said the judge will not be commenting on the matter as the investigation continues.

Source: Daily Beast

33 comments:

Was he joking? See how dey mk mockery of womanhood

Lame question!He is sick...

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

That question is dumb now!

And a woman has this boldness to ask someone a silly question?

Such stupidity, one will think with their exposure they'll be more endearing too rape victims..

Story

These hoes ain't loyal

After enjoying a Fuck, be hollering rape

HMMMM

What an embecilic judge.
This is the kind of judge the Nigerians have,a judge that sent pedophile and terrorist yinusa free after all the evil that he an pedophile sanusi comited he still sent him free that is the kind of incompetent judge asking the question not only closing leg why ask the bitch if she close her pussy two.

Pearlie said...

That judge surely must have been high on some cheap drugs

What kind of a silly immature question is that for someone that went through both physical and psychological assault

Some people needs to receive sense irrespective of their social standing

Mtcheeew

What kind of question is that?

‭OKORO UPGRADED

Just negodi! The judge is mad

Dan said...

He's high

Luciana Chinda said...

Ndi ara

I think the judge was trying to get a point...those hoes ain't loyal. They can go any length to eff up a weak nigga

Fifi's blog said...

My suggestions the question isn't a lame, or a stupid one, it's a good one @ least they ought to know if she did try to stop it.

Vela said...

See question

..Haters Just Leaked Nude videos of Blac Chyna's Mum, (please be 18+)

Two sisters Post Their Nude photos on Instagram just to be More Popular

*************** who is this free born abi na debt born ?????? Stop flooding this blog with your blunders********* shuu ******u mustnt comment************ I read comments n halt @ d mere sight of yours********** pls put on back your school sandals n get back to class********** make sure u don't come back on here************until u have learnt how to spell************ ginidi ?????

*************WFT

Imagine!!! See question...

Judge is female

K-REX said...

I have said it before and still maintain my believe that most of the judges, lawyers in the world are going directly to the pit of hell when d die.

K-REX said...

I have said it before and still maintain my believe that most of the judges, lawyers in the world are going directly to the pit of hell when d die.

Very silly comment

Nawa oo.
Dirty smellin question

Dont blame the judge. She is only doing her job in order to clarify some things to the victim's opponent. The lawyer of the accused probably said that the girls opened her legs wide because she wanted it and was enjoying it that is why the judge asked the question to everybody's hearing. The question might sound silly but the judge was just being professional. If you are lawyer you will understand. In court, some embarrassing questions are normally asked to clarify issues not because the judge or lawyer doesnt believe you but because they need to clarify that aspect of the case.

Dont blame the judge. She is only doing her job in order to clarify some things to the victim's opponent. The lawyer of the accused probably said that the girl opened her legs wide because she wanted it and was enjoying it that is why the judge asked the question to everybody's hearing. The question might sound silly but the judge was just being professional. If you are a lawyer you will understand. In court, some embarrassing questions are normally asked to clarify issues not because the judge or lawyer doesnt believe you but because they need to clarify that aspect of the case.

@Chizzy Lib abeg make you no blame Freeborn. Na desperation to get LIB giveaway cause am. Na poverty cause am. The guy is high on poverty mentality. If Linda no give am the money, the guy fit hang oh. Linda take note!

@K-REX what about you? Are you sure of your salvation? Are you sure you will make heaven? Dont condem people when you are not sure of yourself.

@Anonymous 10:28AM If she enjoyed the fuck, i dont think she will go all out to be protesting against the judge's annoying question. Dumb head!

Are you shiting me? The Judge is right? You must be high on cheap drugs. If the judge asked her if she fought back I will understand not 'did you close your legs and other female organs'