Photo: Iranian billionaire Babak Zanjani sentenced to death over $2.8 billion fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 March 2016

Photo: Iranian billionaire Babak Zanjani sentenced to death over $2.8 billion fraud

Following a long trial in which he was accused of fraudulently pocketing $2.8 billion, Iran's billionaire tycoon Babak Zanjani has been sentenced to death, a judicial official said today March 6. The 41-year-old who is worth $13.5 billion and holds a Danish citizenship was convicted of fraud and economic crimes. 
Judiciary spokesman Gholam Hossein Mohseni-Ejeie said at the press conference that apart from the death sentence, Zanjani must repay money to the state.

Zanjani became notorious during the era of president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, finding ways to channel hard currency from oil sales to Tehran despite financial sanctions imposed on the Islamic republic's banks as punishment for its nuclear programme.

The trial was held in public, a rarity for such a major case in Iran, and two other accused were also convicted of "corruption on earth", the most serious offence under the country's criminal code, meaning they too will face the death penalty.

"The preliminary court has sentenced these three defendants to be executed, as well as paying restitution to the plaintiff," Mohseni-Ejeie said, adding that that was the oil ministry.

They must also pay a "fine equal to one fourth of the money that was laundered", the spokesman said, without specifying the sum.

Zanjani, who can appeal, had denied any wrongdoing, insisting that the only reason the money had not been paid to the oil ministry was that sanctions had prevented a planned transfer from taking place.

However, the case follows repeated declarations from the current government of President Hassan Rouhani that corruption and the payment of illegal commissions thrived under Ahmadinejad's rule.

Zanjani had repeatedly said in media interviews that in return for commissions paid by Ahmadinejad's government he was tasked with circumventing sanctions to get money back to Iran.

Source: AFP

97 comments:

Who cares ?

A billionaire involve in fraudulent act??? He's very greedy!

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Hmmmm the wages of sin is death...ProudlyDeltan

Hian...is that why he should be killed?...assets should be frozen or he should be sent to jail for a long time...Nigerian politicians have done worst than this ooo

MUSLIMS AND TERROR! should I be surprised? I guess not.

Ahhh!
Guess money can't buy everything

sanrock said...

Hmmm hope he wins the appeal and pay back the money only and stay alive

Unto wetin na

Kayode Odusanya said...

Whoa! Sentenced to death over fraud? I think our politicians need to be shown this news every morning when they wake up. This is a little bit too harsh tho. I mean, the guy did wrong, but death? Hmm!

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Until this kind of law is established in our country, the fight against corruption has not started. Weldone iran.

Chaiii. how can u die leaving all this wealth behind. Vanity

#LibBadBoy

This is what we call law.
This is what we tell Jonathan to do law is not a respected of any man whether u be hausa or yoruba.
Jonathan would have done the same to ape obasanjo and the criminal call danjuma,atiku and pedophile sanusi Nigeria would have being a better place what are we seeing imaging sentencing a billionaire why dengote and obasanjo is walking freely hmmmm.

a pilot was told to tranfer mad people from naija to u.s.a . he agreed and carried dem in his plane . every place was so noisy . leta one of de mad person approached de pilot and say pls can u teach me hw to drive the aeroplane . de pilot replied , i will teach u hw to drive if u will tell ur friend to stop making noise (knowing that he can't do it). de mad man went in . after some minutes ,everywhere was silent as if an angel entered de plane .after some minute de mad man came back and tell the pilot that everywhere is cool now . the pilot became happy and asked what did u do to dem that make dem to keep calm. de mad man replied , i opened the door for them to go and play outside. the pilot fainted

Yet all our own home based armed robbers here will not ever smell prison even. This is what we need. By the time they kill a few of these bastards the others will shape up. Instead we want to introduce more liberal measures to a country of monkeys.

Nigeria is such a joke. Iran is an example of a nation dat has zero tolerance for corruption. Passing fierce judgment irrespective of ur wealth and position.

#LibBadBoy

This is the kind of law our senators should pass. But they know if they pass it 95% of them will face death sentence for curroption. But until death sentence penalty is passed for curroption and mass looting of public fund we are still joking about fighting curroption.

Known anonymous

chommy said...

Nawa o, Linda observe!

Punishment is too harsh abeg. Whatever happened to life imprisonment????@@BiaBia 😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

Michael said...

This is what we need in Nigeria for the country to survive

Na wa o. What kind of blog is this? No comment since morning. This is rubbish. Ntchewww

What greed has caused him.. .. Wish Nigeria could learn something from their judiciary

Can this ever happen in Nigeria? Corrupt people watch out.

Hmmmmm

Not a good news at all... This thing can never happen in naija..

Pay back after death sentence?? funny.

Haba! Is d sentence not too much??? Linda take note!

hydro said...

hmmm what shall i say

wow... disheartening

Such can never happen in Nigeria.... Once u are rich here, you are authomaticaly above the law...

........ God bless Nigeria....

this is the kind of law to be practised in Nigeria not long trials in court and locking them up in Kuje prison then they are later released......Execute them all anyone found guilty in the scam arms deal.... Death by firing squad!!!!!!!!!!!

Sena Job said...

Awwwww wetin no fit apun for naija

Naija politikians shey una de see? learn from this.

If humans judgement can be this frightening, I wonder how man will stand before God at the Great White Throne Judgement

Jeo prince said...

As a billionaire thought money can do all things beside his net worth is more than the money he looted. Why couldn't he win the case? It shows no matter who you Think you are the law must be carried out and injustice brought to book.

The guy that built China airport that was sentenced to death for over inflating the cost of d airport was a case of Muslims n terror abi.

execute them all!!!!

And same would have applied to jonathan n patience.

Nigeria should have similar laws perhaps it would scare away all economic saboteurs.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Na wa o! Oliver twist, a billionaire still stealing more. He wan make Forbes List ni. But since he's repaying the money, jail term would be better now.

So sad

.. Merited happiness

Death keh? Over fraud? Whoever has not sin before should cast the first stone. He's got 13 something billoin, he should pay them back and move to Denmark jare. Him sef, he is ole. Millionaires that always want more to become Billionaires.

benito said...

Iranians don't play. Wish Nigeria could do this. All these stealing a$$ motherfucking rich politicians will be careful and think twice about stealing Nigeria's money. Wish Nigerians will kill all these thieving a$$ politicians. And Dasuki and the rest of them are still walking free. Fuck it

What a grave punishment.

He has gained the whole world.

A billionaire involved in a fraud scam? He's greedy to stupor..Never heard of d word 'content'

Jude Akinwole said...

Can we just have a very similar strict penalty for corruption here too! Trust me, fewer people will be involved in the act!

bibi said...

Weldone

Why must u always curse u this freeborn boy....am sure ure from the south cuz u always insulting Yoruba nd hausa people...better change before they find u

No matter what dis is not worth it

Nigeria judiciary should copy frm dis.

The money is huge! No doubt this can transform many lives of common citizens when it is rightly channeled into infrastructure. It is indeed a grave offense but death sentence?? How about you recover the money; imprison him for a good number of years and release him after all. at least Zanjani has been a billionaire, his assets; both liquid and capital should be able to cover the said amount...

ECHOMAN said...

U dey mind dis stern,his alwayz high on weed,na to just dey formit rubbish.ass hole

Dis is political trial,d state used him to circumvent international sanctions n still turn around to sentence him to death simply because you don't approve of d previous govtcommission paid to him..kill f man n lets see how u repatriate d money

tee 23 said...

Stern abi na step u call ur sef where u keep ur brain eh

/lol @anonymous u mmust av been patiently waiting for moi dear stern to comment cos u know his comment will contradict ur opinion....Mr stern the clown .

@anonymous can't u find his comment intresting , he's a type that will enter u wen u 're bored with his retarded comment ........ This day he has gain peoples attention that they just wanna see his comment .

N that's Wat they call law irrespective of his status he was judge according to the law ....unlike moi dear country.

Victor Kachi said...

spirit of greediness.
Kindly visit my blog for Latest working free browsing cheat on all networks.. Entclass.com

Bitch pls.
Hang Z a corrupt fuck ASAP.

You think this is Nigeria? Efcc and Judiciary please take note! Onl way to stop corruption in Nigeria. Nigerians love life.

thieves always steal no matter how rich they became

Muslim extremists, why not jail time?

Dan said...

Chai I pray his appeal is granted.

You remain a goat. A hatred you have for Muslims will not favour you. I invoke Allah's wrath on you. You will regret your life unless you change.

Nawa O

Nawa O

This kind of law should be implemented in our country 9ja if we truly want change and eradicate corruption completely

But why ?

Linda na me talk am !!!!

Viva said...

Wow sentenced to death? Temper justice with mercy biko
Linda post my comment o
#IWASHERE

Why are you bothering to respond to a sick person. Some people wear clothes on the streets and you think they are ok until they speak. The kind of fixation this guy has on Muslims is a mental kind of thing but people here will think he is normal and just bitter. He is mentally unstable I can tell cos I work and study his kind.

Michael said...

Why are people having pity for those who have no pity for them and their family. People Who will steal everything and keep u in abject poverty. People who do not care if you die or live and some people are saying it's too harsh..... Abeg kill all of them jor and see if we won't move forward

Outrageous.

Nawaooooo.....to bad....

Hello Linda There is a guy on fb named Ngene Chibueze(Uncle JOHN)finished from kings college lagos,though I dunno the uni he graduated from,his parents still in Lagos. Instead of staying idle he went back to his village became a farmer and also does some road side cloth selling business .A very handsome young guy for that matter. I was highly inspired please post his story to encourage him and other youths. Thanks

Rip

Stains or what ever you call your self, you will die but islam will forever exist.

@ Stern Try to be objective for once, your hates towards Muslims is too absurd. The story is about corruption not Muslims or terrorism hate is a disease, it consumes the heart. # stop hating.

tinanneky said...

Tell that to Nigerian politicians

tinanneky said...

Tell that to Nigerian politicians

Does this warrant d death penalty....abegi other measures abound and should be used to make him pay

afuye saheed said...

Why do we nigerians like to copy other people, is that the only measure to stop corruption, pls nigerians let's grow up and stop copying other pples way of life style. God bless nigeria

Hahahahah... I hope naija wil adopt d death part..
I die.. Lol

Where are all the human right activists? Make una come out come make noise o. Don't allow Iran kill this man for fraud when serial killers don't even get death sentences anymore.

Sentenced to death!! Lessons to others

Na so!! No time

Did kind of thing can Neva happen in Nigeria,,, in Nigeria evrytin goes

chyyy said...

Such sentence will mk leaders to fear fraud & corruption

Schoffield or whatever the hell you call yourself, who has the Nigerian govt sentenced to death for the crime of fraud? This is how maggots like you spread false informationabout everything. Talking through your ass. You better shut your pathological lying ass off. Keep lying about shit. Just remember the story of the boy who cried wolf. He got eaten by the wolves because he had lied about seeing them so much that when he eventually did saw the wolves and cried out, no one believed him. They thought he was lying again.

emeka4rl said...

Interesting

Luciana Chinda said...

Interesting.

God have mercies on him.

foreverboss said...

Lmao... imagine tinubu,orji kalu, theodore orji,okorocha, obasanjo, Jonathan etc in kirikiri.

Billionaire for that matter, o GA oo

Freakborn - our in-house dim witted diddlyshit!

I totally concur wit ur respond. We should be harsher wit our laws. I tire for this country

why kill for fraud? its inhuman abeg. i don't subscribe to it. jail him for life its beta biko.
make the man run joor. die for wetin

That's too harsh! He can refund the money back