No forex for students, medical trips abroad – Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 7 March 2016

No forex for students, medical trips abroad – Buhari

President Buhari says the Federal government will henceforth not be making provisions of foreign exchange allocation for Nigerians schooling abroad or those seeking medical treatment overseas‎. This position is contrary to that of the CBN which had stated in a communique last month that it had not banned the allocation of foreign exchange for education and medical bills.
“The Central Bank of Nige­ria (CBN) wishes to clarify to the general public that it has NOT stopped the allocation and sale of foreign exchange for purposes of paying school fees and settlement of medi­cal bills overseas,” Ibrahim Mu’azu, the apex bank’s Direc­tor of Corporate Communica­tions, said.
However in a recent interview with Al­Jazeera, Buhari overruled the CBN, insisting that it will henceforth, not be making such provisions as Nigeria's present economic state can't afford it.
“We can’t just afford it. That is just the true situation,”he said.
During the interview, Buhai also said those who were making monetary gains through trading with the dollar would be pursued and punished.
“Anybody who was given dollars by the CBN to import pharmaceuticals and decided to sell at parallel market in order to make maybe additional N100, we will pursue them and punish them,” he said
Many Nigerians schooling and receiving medi­cal attention abroad have been complaining as the CBN has stopped the allocation of foreign exchange to them, since they could not access Form A.‎ They say it is inhuman for the CBN and the federal government to expect them to source for foreign exchange at the parallel market.

76 comments:

Is he okay? He wants innocent citizens too suffer the irresponsibilities off the government?

This man again.
No provision here.
Just talk only.

Oh my God what is this happening is doing so no intelligent person around at all.
Terrorist buhari is a joke and a liar so my junior ones there schooling will now suffer and your own children are in Britain schooling u must be joking useless business man.
This man will one day tell all Nigeria every to declare his asset or be paying his children.
Nigeria hmm this is just the begining buhari must end up in shame and disgrace he has close the boundary.
Linda post my comment.

Touché freya said...

OK, I guess this is part of the change,whereby our government is not willing to make sacrifices. Who know what else would be banned or stopped, this government should wake up and stop making excuses for our economic failures.

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Way to go!
I think students should b granted but for those with medical issues, should sort themselves..
For some of those bureau Du Change should b pursued and punished..

mopelove... said...

Buhari might just b the worst thing to happen to my beloved country. Oh! what were we thinking?

Hmmmmmm let's wait and see where God is taking us

The change has Come. Hope you all are enjoying it.

CHANGE is here!

Linda is it all you heard? I just wondered why you you refused to post anything concerned biafra,is it that you don't see all these killings happens daily by Nigerian military and fulanis. Buhari also refused to watch the shooting of armed less biafra praising in primary school at Aba

Issokay

But we can afford globetrotting and I am sure forex will be made available for his children who school in the UK. The thunder that will strike you is still in the making.

they should try and sha make life eazy for all. shikena!

Disappointing PMB

CHANGE !!!!

Lobatan! Linda take note!

It's called CHANGE

This is totally not fair! How worse can this get! Buhari shouldn't be this thoughtless. Expected more

I hope this includes the president, governors, senators and other top political office holders. if yes, then it's a welcome idea. let's build and equip our hospitals and schools.

This man has killed this country. The poor masses are suffering . Pls bring back our corruption biko

I just feel how president is senseless, with awkward policies dat isn't no good

But we can afford globetrotting and I am sure forex will be made available for his children who school in the UK. The thunder that will strike you is still in the making.

For what huh? Am an APC member but Pres . Buhari is beginning to annoy me. By d way, banks kip deducting 50 from my accounts evry time I make a transaction. APC is a Scam!

eh nawa o,linda see to this case

We can't afford dollars for medical bills but we can afford it for the president's travels, includng his 5-days leave in London?

Anytime dis clueless clown makes an effort to do something, he always does trash without thinking of the effect..You no make provision for good hospital, ppl wey wan go get good treatment with dia money, you still no wan let dem be....mtchewww, next pls!

Every organised country doesn't have a parallel market.

I. C. Ukwuegbu said...

The idea from the President is good. If the cost of education abroad is getting costly for them let them come back to Nigeria and continue their studies. The same is true medical tourism. That will create room to improve our education facilities. There are private Universities and private hospitals in Nigeria.

As nice as he sounds I just don't believe dis dude, u can lead by example by bringing back ur kids to Nigerian Universities.They r privileged enough to ve access to dollars so stop d payments of their school fees in dollars, bring them back to Nigeria and other Nigerians will follow suite.Buhari good governance and development comes with some level of flexibility and rigidity and not rigidity all d way. U might b digging ur own grave, unforseen circumstances can come ur way and u might not survive it with dis ur hard line on policies.Ur policies can only b effective after u have helped in developing d economy and not when d economy is in shambles.Fix d economy and Nigeria then u can start implementing dis policies of urs.

Nigeria is broke. The earlier we realize it, the better.

Dave Mide said...

Is that even constitutional ???

Ok mr president you guys have to speed up your plans

This man is just plain WICKED and HEARTLESS. So people who need critical medical care abroad should die if they cannot get the needed treatment in Nigeria? Buhari Please receive SENSE and a HEART.

Heartless spoken 😖

Mikkyjanec said...

so Parents and Students should then suffer to pay Tuition with the high rate in the parallel market. I wonder why this government will not come in sync to decide and agree on none thing. today this one is saying another tomorrow the other is counter opposing. How is it Buhari's office to decide who gets what? Hmmmmmmm. Linda I bow out

In that case the president should also cut down his various trips abroad because he don't spend naira there I think. Clueless dead brains rullers.

This APC govt shaoooooooh. A people always get the government the deserve.

Monemi said...

To, na God hand we dey. Pray for nigeria

Just like that.abi linda!

Good....nuel

This is OK as long as long as long as issuing of foreign exchange to pay for pilgrimage will follow immediately

Rent a car at jinkola.com

Cas_paul said...

Buhari was never my choice

Tefe said...

all u see is saboteurs, and all u talk about is punishing........shuooo,are u a punisher? work o or resign if u are confused,u can't fool me with all these ur gist,resign and handover to ur vice president abeg,rubbish nonsense.

Most useless Government i av ever seen. I regret ever voting in the sun and rain for dis man. Pls, Stern and other critics of Buhari, i am sorry. U guys av been right all dis while Pls where is GEJ. Sobbing right nw!!!!!

Okosi kingsley said...

This administration is full of deceitful thought. Linder take note

No forex for Nigerians right? But there's forex for all yo globe-trotting ass ..you disgusting !

hafiz said...

Invest in Nigeria, train your kids in Nigeria, patronise made in Nigeria and let's move forward. Thank you. Critics your opinions are welcomed.

But ur children school abroad Buhari. Why did you not send them to university of Zaria. Y do u go abroad for medical check ups? Anyway u wont be president 4ever. Well done 2 all those who voted 4 Buhari. I hope una dey enjoy now?

cheiress said...

Where are all those touts that were here screaming change change, febuhari, what again were they writing during the elections? Why are y'all so silent now?

Chris said...

Dis is heart breaking

Do u talk b4 u think or think b4 u talk

this man is such a pain in the ass...very unrealistic policy. So what should parents with kids abroad do?

to the person who says that there are unis and hospitals in Nigeria, you must be quite silly. how can you even begin to compare the effectiveness of our healthcare or educational system with those abroad? Open your eyes pls.

who voted for this buhari again? very nonsensical fellow

If only ones comment on Linda can help, I do have a lot to say, but it off no used, this man think we are all fools.

Peace nwadire said...

If they can't afford it, they should look for an alternative, the students abroad can't jus be stranded. Haba!

When will federal government stop funding pilgrimages? we will save more don't you think so? I don't still understand this government, so sick people should all goandie?

The dullard has spoken this is the height of wickedness he is doing this because of the igbos who are far more educated and enlightened than his dull ass God Will punish you and your useless government old normadic ignoramus

In this state the country is in would you invest or send your kids to school here Nigeria is a joke governed by a joker of high pedigree

Chi chi said...

Mr President, you can't impose that with the terrible state of the Education system in the country.

People have the right to choose where they want to be educated like your kids. I am all for schooling in Nigeria as long as the Education is global standard. Until then, you must make Forex exchange available to students.

Buhari is getting really fat o

All na change.

God will punish buhari and his family, he will never know peace. He will die a death worse than ocholi.

In your heart you are crying just be real bonario. What change are you talking abt.

What change? pls be real

In your heart you are crying just be real bonario. What change are you talking abt.

Shut up onyx, u just a confused fool

Arrant nonese, this very minute as I type , my father is undergoing a brain tumor removal surgery in the states , it costs almost 90m ( thanks to forex issues )plus radiation post surgery . Dr David Baskin, a renowned neurosurgery expert cannot be compared to all the Drs in Nigeria who lack the equipments for such a delicate procedure . If people can't get medical forex, where is the quality healthcare here?

This new policy is unfair to innocent children whose parent are struggling to pay the school fees at the official rate. Government can not be selling dollar to manufacturers at the current rate (subsidised)while asking the children that ate already in difference schools and those who need medical attention to suffer fir our leaders wickedness'. They should therefore reverse the policy because our country educational systems and hospital are unreliable hence will pay dearly in future. I pray that God will touch his heart for the common good of the people.

Linda is not God,sje cant be everywhere..if u have an event,snap photos and a brief summary n send to lindaikeji@gmail.com after confirmation,she wld post your story.she cant ppst hearsays or baseless rumours...

This is bad, really bad

We haven't seen anything yet, shey u guys wanted chang. Now ur complaining.

Daval8 said...

My dear where is the medical equipment? A student just died because doctors were on strike. Please let him repair the sectors. He is sending his children abroad and going on medical check up abroad. What a hypocrite!

Old people with old ideas should stop ruling us time has change alot we need young and brilliant people to rule not grandfathers

Hmmmmmmm