Lekki Gardens MD Richard Nyong, detained at Panti over building collapse | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 March 2016

Lekki Gardens MD Richard Nyong, detained at Panti over building collapse

Following the collapse of a five-storey building under construction on Kushenla Road, Ikate Elegushi, Lekki on Tuesday, the Police on Thursday said Richard Nyong, the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Lekki Gardens, the construction company behind the collapsed building, has been detained at Panti Police Station.

Police Public Relations Officer in Lagos, Mrs. Dolapo Badmos, who confirmed Nyong’s arrest, said he will be charged to court as soon as investigations are completed.

On Wednesday, Governor Ambode had ordered all Directors of Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited to submit themselves to the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Mr. Fatai Owoseni, within the next twenty four hours or face immediate arrest.

Nyong complied with the directive and reported himself to the office of the Commissioner of Police in company of his lawyer, Mr. Wole Olanipekun (SAN) and was detained after interrogation.

It would be recalled that the Lagos State Government in the wake of the building collapse, revealed that preliminary reports and investigation, it was discovered that the collapsed building was served contravention notice for exceeding the approved floors and thereafter sealed by the Lagos State Building Control Agency.

The government also discovered that in a brazen act of defiance and impunity, the owners of the building, Messrs Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited, the promoters of Lekki Gardens, criminally unsealed the property and continued building beyond the approved floors until the unfortunate incident of Tuesday which has led to the death of over 30 persons.

Governor Ambode who is said to be irked at the spate of building collapse in the state had vowed to wield the big stick so as to put a stop to the disturbing trend.

105 comments:

Choi...
Nawa oo

O gah. Serious wahala for him

PEPSI ADDICT

Don't know why someone will set death trap for others

Kayode Odusanya said...

Once again, may the souls of those who lost their lives in the building collapse rest in peace.

Are You A One Minute Man?

*i siddon dey look*

Gbagun!

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

He can serve time, this is Nigeria..... Next

After warning they still continued. Waiting for the punishment on them

Hmmmmmmmm

Hmmmmm

Fiat justicia ruat caelum.

Nice one i hope he will not bribe them as usual because nigeria police are in bondage of bribe i don't know who lay that curse on them
He don use them for more money ritual yoruba guys love ritual pass there life,he is t b Joshua brother am sure because they did the same sacrifice.

People and greed

May the souls of the departed rest in peace. Amen

DoInZ said...

That's greed!So sad innocent have to pay with their life!Pray their death is avenged

Pearlie said...

Na wa oo

Very good

divino abiola said...

Most Nigerian real estate developers are fraud, pity pple wey dey haus anyhow....dey go jst build nonsense sell am 4 big money

Na wa ooo

Nawaooo

Very good! Someone has got to be held accountable. Linda take note!

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

Mmmm, me I don't understand all this ooo.

#LindaThumbsUp

when the synagogue building collapsed, the governor didn't come all out like this. Different strokes for different folks

Ele Blessing said...

Eyah

What's the charge? Corporate manslaughter?

Governor, those you put there use to collect bribes from the owner and allow them to build what pleases them, do your finding very well, you will see what am saying

Linda I hope your mansion has content and collapse insurance kwa. Not just buying bags and shoes to impress the poor o.

Let them dance to the music played by thr Govt ; they brought this upon themselves ..
RIP to the Lost Souls *RoseFlowers*

Damolia.DEW

God don catch am. The same man that defiantly broke the town planning rules and built houses across the main entrance of the Moremi housing scheme at Ajah. Causing untold hardship for land owners there. He has flexed his muscles enough and now the Almighty has decided to teach him a lesson in humility.

And how will that wake the dead up😒😕

Choi, u have finished Linda o! Am sure she does....haha

Am sure he used those people for human sacrifice.. See his face. Wicked man😁😁😁

Good work by the police officer in Lagos, let him explained to the public the course of the calamity,

I pray this matter doesn't go down the drain.. it will really pain me if thi man isn't jailed.. o ma dun nigerians gan ni oo.. Ambode pls let justice prevail.

Just like that!

It's illiteracy for the Governor to ask Directors to report to the Police or face arrest. He is Governor and not Commissioner of Police. It's for the police to do their work. Police should also not detain a person who reports to them on his own free will, when they haven't concluded investigations. You can only detain when investigations are concluded and a case is established against an accused. If you are a Director, will you report when you see what has happened to the Director that reported? My deepest sympathy to the lost souls, but things should be done properly.

Luciana Chinda said...

Na waaa ooooooo!

What of SCOAN???!

Gud for him...

Zenon said...

@case Analysis for Ambode
TB Joshua: Building completed and inhabited
Richard: Building still under construction
TB Joshua: building certified and occupied
Richard : Building not certifid for people to live yet, Miscreants occupying in defiance of company policy
TB joshua: Not arrested
Richard:Arrested
TB Joshua: Impacting on the spiritual well being of Lagosians
Richard: Alleviating housing deficiencies in Lagos
TB Joshua: Church not sealed
Richard: Estates sealed
Haba Ambode, Be fair and just in judgement.
Anybody can make mistakes, Remember the building was never completed or certified for living.
Hang in Richard, God will vindicate you and help you and you will be better
My aunt cant forget how you helped her own a home in Your Paradise Estate!
We wont stop supporting your vision.

My neighbour who is an architect confirmed to me he discovered a lekki garden building where they filled a pillar with cement sacs instead of concrete...

oben said...

When u progress in error that is what happen| like I always say, if a container is change without the content been change all reamine the same!

Zenon said...

@ Oben, It can't be error progress because I was positively affected by the progress, as well as alot of people I know living in the posh estates we won't have dreamt of living in if he didnt change the estate system- where people collect your money in deception and run, and greedy men over priced assets making us unable to livein our own homes.

He changed all that, and just a mistake though ghastly wont lead us to draw conclusions...
Think objectively.
The problem with Nigeria is crab mentality, we won't encourage our own who tries to use his initiative in a good way, we only pull down.

Anyway they killed Jesus after all.

Sharrap dere Mr Zenon, bcos he gave ur hungry Aunty house, he shld not be prosecuted abi. Where the ppl dat died there goats. I hate people with poor mentality.
Linda all na wash, they will soon release this guy and believe me d projects will still continue. It will be biz as usual, they will take him to court, report it in papers, shout about it for some mths, maybe 3mths. Den d matter will be swept under the carpet as usual.
Mr man you might think u got away with it, but d blood of dos souls will be hunting you, you will not know rest. Pray cancer of d soul and body doesn't eat you up. You will use all ur blood money to treat illness.
You can imagine if the 30 families d 30 flats was built for was already living there. D calamity.

Your analysis is so true.
He is not a bad person at all.
This is an uncompleted building that was occupied by homeless people! He didn't put anybody there, they went on their own!
Ambode, you have to be fair. Arresting someone who shows up as requested while investigations are going on!
Meanwhile, he wasn't directly involved in the construction of the building, there's a contractor!
Na wa o

I'm sure your neighbour is one of those expensive estate owner when no want make avaerage person get house in Lagos!
Na dem dey bad mouth Lekki Gardens!

I'm sure your neighbour is one of those expensive estate owner when no want make avaerage person get house in Lagos!
Na dem dey bad mouth Lekki Gardens!

Zenon said...

@Anon, your comment tells your mentality , same thing I said previously.
Because you can not afford a block or a bag of cement doesn't make us hungry when we can afford to buy.

Get a paradigm shift, it would even be better if you write correct English.

You too shurrrup because your comments clearly show you have no brains.
Have you ever tried to buy a house in Lekki? Make estate owners give you bill when na only people when dey thief money go fit afford.
Lekki Gardens have made houses soooooooo available for the masses. The estate owners are not happy that he's opening people's eyes and helping them own houses.
It's you that the cancer you wish for will visit! Watch and see...

You are mad! Richard nyong is yoruba?. Senseless fool!

Make them go arrest TB Joshua too. Nigeria is the most impartial and corrupt country on earth

Building collapse: We have not paid attention to little things; how then can we pay attention to big things. Until we learn to cross our t's and dot out i's, we will continue to have accidents like this. How many building fires in Nigeria in one year? Building collapses and fires happen because we thing, in Nigeria, that it is ok not to pay attention to details.

Dozie

O.o

You are just a sad fellow. Does Nyong sound like a yoruba name to you? Olodo

Am sure he used those people for human money making sacrifice.. See his face. Wicked man😁😁😁

You are both fools! Wat is he building the house for if not to sell it? Y would he buy such house in the first place? Guess u haven't seen this house b4 this is a building dat as been painted and merely looking at the house u'll knw it's a very substandard house. Scoan case was fashola tenure, so you pple expected ambode to go arrest T.B joshua besides his case is in court presently.

Different day,different stupid comment..you will have sense yesterday..

Sebi na Wetin ibo people sabi do be that.sacrifise.oponu ayirada oloriburuku

This Anonymous 10.47pm is non other than Linda Ikeji herself! Na only u still dey use expressions like Choi! In 2016..hahaha..u go girl..

Shutup there.the case is in court

Oben..you are from ondo or delta state abi??

Lagos Lawyer said...

As in.... Totally useless fellow building useless houses. Disaster waiting to happen. RIP to the dead.

Nwachichi said...

What about T. B Joshua?
Did they arrest and prosecute him when his building collapsed?

Nigerians will always use inferior materials to build houses. This will put a stop to all those wicked fools that use inferior materials or that do not lay a proper foundation before building a house. I will never allow a Nigerian to build my personal house. I will use white men that i can easily sue if anything goes wrong or i will use companies like Julius Berger that is run by white men. I love this government. No room for corrupt idiots. Ambode deal with all of them and jail them. It will serve as a lesson to all in the act.

chommy said...

Alright. Linda observe!

@Zenon and @Anonymous 1:22AM shut up! Be writing and at thesame time replying yourself. You think we dont know you are thesame person? May the blood of those that died hunt you and your family and generation for ever. Idiot!

@Anonymous 11:28PM you are very stupid. It is you and your parents that are illiterates. The governor is trying to help us seek justice which no governor has ever done and you refer to him as an illiterate. May you and your family die in a building collapse. Foolish idiot!

Sandra said...

@Anonymous 10:29PM is it Linda that made you poor? Is it Linda that said your parents should be lazy and not work hard to be successful? Is it Linda that said you should not afford nice bags and shoes? I hate people that are jealous of other people's success. So Linda should not enjoy her money and buy and wear things that make her happy just because she doesnt want to oppress the poor abi? It is her money and it is her sweat. When she was struggling and suffering to become successful, you were not there. Now that she is successful, you are now bringing your stupid hate blame here. Instead of you to be inspired by Linda's success, you are there hating. This is why you will remain in poverty. The topic on this post has nothing to do with Linda. If you dont have what to comment on the Lekki collapsed building, shut the "f" up and get over your stupid self.

Akinolu said...

@Anon 10:29PM for your information, Banana Island, Ikoyi where Linda stays cannot be compared to Ajah. The high and mighty live there. That area cannot be compared to Ajah biko. All the houses in Banana Island stand firm for ground gidigba. The area is not water-logged like Ajah. Linda is not an illiterate that she will not insure such a house ok. If tose the building go collapse, e for don collapse tay tay. So thanks for your advise but unfortunately i dont think Linda needs the advice. For the bag and shoe aspect, Linda wrote it boldly on her instagram page that her instagram will be used for fashion and her blog for gist. So if you dont like what she desplays on her instagram, simply unfollow her and dont visit her page again if u feel ordinary bag and shoe oppress you. Poverty mentality is really worrying you if you ask me. Grow up!

This Lekki gardens man and TB Joshua don use the people wey die for their collapsed building for money ritual. Make them ask them well. It is not ordinary.

Wicked people everywhere. Juju and cultism is the order of the day. They have forgotten God because they want to get rich quickly. God is watching idol worshippers!

Nigerians will always use inferior materials to build houses. This will put a stop to all those wicked fools that use inferior materials or that do not lay a proper foundation before building a house. I will never allow a Nigerian to build my personal house. I will use white men that i can easily sue if anything goes wrong or i will use companies like Julius Berger that is run by white men. I love this government. No room for corrupt idiots. Ambode deal with all of them and jail them. It will serve as a lesson to all in the act.

so Lagos police arrested Lekki Gardens MD who showed up at the station but cudnt arrest TB joshua. wonders shall never end!

@Oluwasegun Akinbamowo when synagogue building collapsed, Ambode was not the governor then and APC was not in power. Change has now come. No more room for corruption and cases like this.

Fact be told, lekki gardens need to improve! They just build rubbish and sell at affordable prices! Very poor finishing! Jeez. This is a wake up call for him. A job worth doin is worth doin well, just imagine how many lives were lost becos of this construction error

Mr man! Its not about crappy mentality! Lekki gardens has the crappiest finishin ever! Just becos u beneffited and ur house neva collapse doesnt mean he has been doin the right tin! As far money dey enta him pocket, he didnt care to know the type of materials been used! They just do rush rush work with substandard materials and sell! Imagine how many lives were lost as a result of this and u are here speaking grammar about him doin u and ur family a favor, wetin concern us???

HMMM Trouble

For a 5 storey building to collapse, that mean the foundation is not strong or the building materials used were not properly use well in all area

The Chairman of Lekki Gardens, Mr Richard Nyong, as a responsible corporate citizen with a team of his staff went to the police voluntarily in response to the order of the Governor requesting that they report to the police. Contrary to news reports however, he was not arrested.

It's a pity...

Nawaooo

All the structural engineers should not be left out.

This is a man who has put a smile on the faces of hopeless Nigerians.

He provided jobs for hundreds, paid rents for thousands, fed hundreds of thousands,made it possible for thousands of Nigerians who did not have a hope of owning a home to own their own homes.

This building that collapsed was just under construction and not completed.

He employed a contracted to build it. He is not a builder.

Homeless people sneaked in there to sleep against company's rule.

Governor Ambode, you requested that he turns himself in and as a responsible citizen, he did.

What do you have against him?

Have you arrested TB Joshua?

Governor Ambode please let this innocent and good man go.

He has affected and are still affecting lives positively.

Please free him and look for the contractors who can explain what went wrong pls.
Thank you Sir.

By observations, this is a man who puts the people first and has changed lives due to his principles. The uncompleted building which had been put on hold by the way was being occupied by those seeking shelter temporarily while they worked around the vicinity. They were there of their own accord and not assigned to live there. It's sad what has happened and I pray that the families find comfort beyond any compensation that may come, but to lay blame on someone wrongly is not the way to go. Leave sentiments aside and judge the case clearly.

LIZIANO said...

WHY TALK NONSENSE ABOUT THE MD,AFTER ALL THE ENGINEERS HAS BEEN SACK OVER THE DEFECT BUILDING 6 MONTHS AGO,AND ITS BEEN ABANDON ITS SO FOUBTUNATE THAT OKADA RIDERS ARE LEAVING IN THE INCOMPLETE BUILDING,WELL MAY THEIR SOUL RIP,BESIDE ALL OTHER BUILDING THAT HAS COLLAPSE WHY ARE THE PPLE INVOLED NOT ARRESTED,THE DANA PLANE CRASH THAT HAPPENED WHY WAS THE MD NOT ALSO ARRESTED,THE MISSING PLANE ALSO WELL GOD SHULD VINDICATE LEKKI GARDENS MD AND PUT ALL HIS ENEMIES TO SHAME,THE MD HAS BEEN A SOURCE OF BLESSING TO ALOTS OF LAGOSIANS,THE MD ALSO HAS CONTRIBUTED TO THE FIXING OF MOST ROADS IN LEKKI,AND AJAH AREAS,ALOT PPLE CAN AGRRED TO THAT,AMBODE FREE LEKKI GARDENS MD NOW SAYS GOD IN HEAVEN

Oden'Igbo said...

Lekki Gardens maintains very very poor quality in Construction. Nothing like bad belle.

All so they can get rich quick? May God have mercy on you.

benny said...

Let's face the real facts. The building was still under construction. Is it normal for people to live in such buildings. Why are we used to crucifying the rich and calling them names at every misfortune and yet we want to be rich. Mr Nyong is a genius who has achieved so much in his few years in business. He constructed the major road that leads to my house and many others that i know of. How many businessmen in Nigeria can do that.Ambode be wise!!!

Odenigbo biko Mechigodi onu.

What have you contributed to your community.

Lady E said...

This is clearly bad belle. His competitors are at work. This ambitious youth should not be crucified. If everyman was like him, Nigeria would be heaven on earth

If he could thrive by personal efforts, think of what he would have done if the government has given him any form of support.

Governor Ambode please talk with this man, he is a great candidate for Commissioner/Minister of Housing Sir.

He is a rear gem.

God bless you for this! @ Zenon

Madam, get your facts straight before you comment. Nobody set any trap for anybody.

Zenon said...

Thank you chinenye.
We have a lot facing Nigerians with extremists like this anon on the loose. I haven't even thought of it. Talkin and replying myself .hmmm this guys are not worth answering only criminal minds speaks thus. I won't be surprised if they are part of the dubious estate developers that Richard helped extinct while sanitizing the estate system.

@Anonymous 1:37AM and @Zenon why are you trying so hard to defend this disaster that just occurred? Nobody is saying they did not try by building affordable houses for people. The issue is, even if you are helping people to build affordable houses, do it well with authentic original materials and let the finishing be fantastic. Dont use fake materials or build on a faulty foundation filled with water underground. You get my logic?

@Zenon do u know that i would have respected you if you come out and apologise to the public instead of being on the defensive? If you had said we hereby apologise to the public and take full responsibility for the collapse. However, we were not aware that our building contractor did not lay the foundation of the house properly. Going forward, our project managers will carry a step by step routen check while work is going on to avoid this mishap in the future. This would have been a better thing to say instead of being on the defensive. Nigerians never like to take responsibility. They always want to pass the bulk or apportion faults. Lives were lost for Christ sake. Consider the families of the diseased biko.

Zenon said...

Thank you Anon, I think the company already did that,I dont speak for them, I only speak my mind just as you are free to express yours.

IT may not be the company's fault that the building collapsed but unfortunately if you have ever tried to buy a lekki garden's property, the finishing is quite poor. They just paint in nice colours and put some effects but you'll know it is cheap work because they want to make it affordable

Nnnene George you are very stupid for what you said "used human money for making sacrifices" its people like you that see this side to every progress, i bet you're just a poor sorry ass. attack the issue at hand, people died its devastating, ROP to the deceased and heartfelt sympathy to their families, nothing can replace lives lost not even your stupid mouth.

Soo true. Just Google lekki gardens and see how the people who built his substandard houses are suffering. Terrible houses with cracks everywhere. No effective drainage.

Nnenne George, ur comments were rather archaic and pathetic; how could u have emanated such a devilish thought that such an unfortunate incident happened for money ritual reasons. Get a life and stop posting comments that will cause chaos and doom.

It is sad that incident happened but it wasn't a trap. It is unfortunate anday the departed souls rest in perfect peace.

The only reason I feel Richard was arrested is as as a result of the deaths; but the question is" are we saying Richard should always go around all his incomplete buildings every evening to restrict illegal occupants so as to avert impending dangers. We need to be reasonable. #justice4all #justice4all #freeRichard

Do not judge richard anyhow, i have met him one on one! He is a man of principle! he told them to stop the building but they ddnt listen!!! He owns other branches ,ts not easy for him