Two sisters were shot dead a few days ago in an honour killing in the Punjab village of Noor Shah, Pakistan by their brother. Fauzia,
23, and Surayya, 21, were shot in their beds by Mohammad Asif, because
he "doubted their characters and was against their lifestyle". He
then fled the small farming village.
The girls' distraught father,
56-year-old Muhammad Ashraf, flew home, paralysed by grief and shock. He
has lived in the United Arab Emirates for decades, where he drives a
taxi.
Sahiwal's district police
officer, Muhammad Baqar Raza said their accused killer had also murdered
his mother in 2011. Her apparent "crime" was a sexual relationship with
a local criminal. Asif was freed after his relatives forgave him.
"Had he been brought to justice, this should not have happened again," said Wali Khan, a Noor Shah village resident.
"This time he must be punished duly to save another tragic incident from happening."
Killing in the name of honour is common in the traditional parts of Pakistan.
Law
Minister Pervez Rashid told the national assembly recently that 933
people died in honour killings over the past two years. The majority of
the reported cases were in Sindh province.
But
Pakistan's Human Rights Commission put the figure at around 1,000 a
year, and in reality it is much higher, as many cases are never
reported. Procedural legal flaws are also blamed for the lack of convictions.
"Many
of the crimes carried out by relatives are never prosecuted," said
human rights activist and legal expert in the city of Mardan, Akbar
Hoti.
The Sahiwal district police officer investigating the killing of the two sisters, Muhammad Baqar Raza, shared that view.
"The police do their job well, but the criminals get released from the courts because of the procedural laws," he said.
Photos: Mourners gathers outside the victims's home
The victims' uncle(centre) receives people offering condolences.

37 comments:
Nawao
Lunacy
Hmmmmmm
Choi.. Such stories makes to wonda
Wia is thy humanity??
Subuhannallah! This is unbelievable and to think they released the evil doers from court is the highest madness!
Endtime is near.
Madness everywhere
God turn d table upside down against evil doers...
Can you imagine, he murdered his mum in 2011, and was freed after his relatives forgave him.
This time he must be made to pay with his life.
When you waste lives unnecessary..uou are a friend of the devil. John 10'10
In the name of tradition too?
Why did he run na since wat he did was good. The dead should haunt him
PEPSI ADDICT
Crazy how people don't value lives all in the name of tradition
Rip
Mmmmmmmmm
Watin person no go see honour killing..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY
I can never understand the mentality & laws of the people in middle east.WTF is honour killing? In this age & time?
Some people are comfortably living in the stone age & wanna drag the world to it.Rubbish
Hhahahaha.. This people eh.
Kindly visit my blog for Latest working free browsing cheat on all networks.. Entclass.com
Honour Killing? ISLAM is a deadly religion and I wonder why the moslem women are stupid to still believe in this fake rapist called mohammed.
How many times have you heard women killing the moslem men in honour killing? NONE.
Fanaticism at its peak,rip girls.
WTF. Killed for doubted character!. Islam hmmm,
So someone can just wake up and say "oh,ur lifestyle is disgusting, u should die" and kills you? Ahhh...mhen! I kent deal
Islam is evil... which one is honour killing?
Mtcheew
People can misbehave all in the name of religion
Ndi ojoo! Linda take note!
Nna, how is school coming along??? Linda take note!
Imagine!!! What a world
Endtime world
Islam is the problem of the world period!
Its always women they kill. They way most men treat women is just so sad.
Nonsense, God have mercy on him, such barbaric mind set
"The Naija Is Filled With Sad News" is the Title of my new movie watch out for it...Coming soon...Lol
This could be helpful for this issue
Discover how Mr. Albert miraculously reversed killer disease diabetes in a twinkle of an eye.
Click Here To See How He Did It.
Miraculously, Diabetes killer disease reversed in a twinkle of an eye.
Click Here To See How
He Did It.
Thats sad
Bonario come, since how many years now wey I don dey read your comments for this blog, you no dey change this your Nokia lumia? After una go they form sabi boy!
Ur a mumu are u not a muslim? Is this not why Biafra is fight so ur children won't get killed like this. Foools u will then call them terrorist