Student expelled for speech and hearing challenges sues Rivers University for N20 million | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 10 February 2016

Student expelled for speech and hearing challenges sues Rivers University for N20 million

28 year old Jane Ottah, an ex-student of the Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST) has instituted a N20 million law suit against the management of Rivers State University of Science and Technology, for expelling her from the school because she has a speech and hearing challenge.

Jane, a first year student of the Department of Educational Foundation at the university, was expelled on January 30th 2015, over claims that she had speech and hearing challenges.

Jane has approached the Rivers State High Court and has instituted a N20 million suit against the school management, challenging her expulsion and also demanding a perpetual injunction restraining the university or their agents from discriminating against her in any way.

Excerpts from Jane's expulsion letter signed by RSUST's Principal Assistant Registrar(Senate), C.M. Ewhorlu, reads
“I am directed to state that during your recent medical examination in the Health Services Department, it was observed that you are medically challenged and have hearing and speech difficulties,” the university stated in a letter to Ms. Ottah signed by C.M Ewhorlu, Principal Assistant Registrar (Senate). You are therefore advised to hand over all University property(ies) in your possession to your Head of Department and thereafter leave the campus.”
The Vice Chancellor of the school, Professor Blessing Didia, had already said the school does not admit deaf and dumb students.

Hearing on the suit filed by Jane against the school comes up on February 19th, 2016.

68 comments:

Hope she wins

They shudnt av expelled her cos of that nau.

baba said...

That good

yumyum said...

someone should do me strong thing ooo.I wanna sue.
IgboBorn!

I pray she win

Let me sit and read comments on this. Such a pretty girl

I hope justice is done in this issue.

Odusbaby n linda

Lobatan

They couldn't even transfer her to a proper school for the deaf,they expelled her! U claim to be educated and can be this inconsiderate and discriminatory on the disabled! Shameful

MUFASA said...

i support her all the wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Eyea...

Demmy said...

It's unfair to expel her unless she's truly deaf n dumb

Oshiolo 1 of Belema kingdom said...

God will see her through...

Why will they expell her na??? Na wa oo

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

That's just wrong, sue their ass

Is this in Nigeria or u s a this girls must be from yoruba well goodluck to u sha i remember when i sue one senator in Nigeria i came to court to hear about my sue the only thing the incompetent judge could tell my counselor is that we have no fact, my dear goodluck.

Alright

Hmm, this is serious, at least the medical dept has the test results and the girl in question, if she doesn't have such challenge, then the university has no right to give her a false result, cos UST rivers is always very strict when it comes to your medical issues, let's see how it goes.

Ghen ghen

Na wah oooooo... dee

Nkem4ever said...

Imagine that! Only in Nigeria! Did she ask for any preferential treatment because of her condition? I had a partially deaf student in university then. She always made sure to pick notes from other students cos she couldn't hear the lecturers. She graduated with a good grade. The lady should sue them for 400M. Kkkppsshhhhh

Good move and they must pay that money

So becos she has such challenges that's why they asked her to leave? Even the manner they did it sef. Which way Nigeria...?

-LIB PIKIN-

lizzy said...

So unfair... And I pray she gets fair hearing... Babe do come and pay ur tithe in my acc...
Lols

Why will they expel her it unfair..they should even pay more..Linda observe carefully

iffx wel krested said...

aww! so sad...

baba said...

Enter your reply...ok

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Enter your comment...
What's d meaning of this? Is she not human? Doesn't she deserve education too?

I honestly hope she wins the case...

But how would she understand what's being taught??? Linda take note!

Hanni Tonni said...

Awwww......I know this babe wella.she can hear but the speaker have to scream for her to hear, as for her talking you can barely hear a word. She is a resident of Rumuokwurushi off Christ Chapel, Igbo etche road.

tollyjems said...

They keep saying no stigmatising, what this one called, Bae 20m is small, u should have gone for like 50m

Mtchewwwwwww abeg sue for millions na for treatment? Aunty if medically u a challenged then sue your parents

Only 20 million?!! Not enough

Even if she with does conditions it not right to expell her ,it will be up to her if she can cope now I hope nigerian judge can help

tosisochukwu said...

Sue their father, it unfair nah

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

So deaf n dumb students cnt go to a uni in Nigeria? That's serious discrinations

Na wa oooo...

This is madness,I'm really disappointed

Okay...

@to hear about my sue, is Sue your girl friend? Fish brain, now I know why your comments stink

I could remember we had a blind law student then who was good n also graduated. If she's speech challenges she can still make it. They should stop adding to ppl's problem jare. Go ahead n due them.

chommy said...

Nawa o, nt fair at all. Linda observe!

Imagine,wat if d girl was their daughter,deris God ooh

very bad of the school. Never knew that a disability could hinder one from pursuing their academic ambition. Why is the educational system in Nigeria still stuck in the 1960s

That VC must face human right. I have a colleague who has the same problem, she graduated with 2nd class upper, and she has been working with us without any stress. I pray she gets justice.

Sesan Adetuwa

That VC must face human right. I have a colleague who has the same problem, she graduated with 2nd class upper, and she has been working with us without any stress. I pray she gets justice.

Sesan Adetuwa

Sue them pls, it's only naija u see and hear rubbish. The most important thing is she passed JAMB before gaining admission to uni. All she needs to do is read very well. Even d blinds goes to university and came out with good grades.

Femi-nist said...

N20m is too small. She should have sued for N200m. This is a case of pure discrimination. Why won't you accept deaf and dumb students? That's like saying no handicapped students on wheelchairs. It is up to the school to make provisions that accommodate disabled students. Rubbish!

nice move

Maryann said...

If the school has screened her medically and found out she has those problems, then I think they are right. Maybe she should go to a school where she can learn with signs, because I see it as fruitless for someone to be in class and not hear what her lecturer is saying. My opinion though.

Andy sneh said...

Say no to Injustice

Ok, hope she wins the case

@Freeborn Zinalima,you must be stupid and blind for saying she is from Yoruba
D.R.I.M.R.s

portable said...

Enter your comment...nice 1 gal

Not fair at all

Inspector said...

Maka gini. Why

So what is her been a Yoruba got to do with the case? You sound like a brain dead. You even wrote that you've sue before,and you're also in Nigeria, how come she can't.
Look at how you typed USA, ode!!!

You need a copy of Brighter Grammar!

Hope she wins d case.#Lindangwanu#

For what....expelling a student for such a reason is wickedness...hope she wins the case

Okwunaesoakuko

OK OO

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

SEEN

i pray she wins too