Civil servant who did no work for six years exposed by officials preparing to reward him for 'long service' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 February 2016

Civil servant who did no work for six years exposed by officials preparing to reward him for 'long service'

A Spanish civil servant who did no work for six years has been fined almost £21,000 after his long absence was finally noticed.
Officials in Cádiz were preparing to hand Joaquín Garcia an award for long service when inquiries revealed the true extent of his contribution to the local authority.
In 1990, he was given a €37,000-a-year post at the Aguas de Cádiz public utilities provider, Spain’s El Mundo newspaper reported.

Jorge Blas Fernandez, who served as the city’s deputy mayor from 1995 to 2015, said he was given an office in the municipal building and no more was heard for more than a decade.
“We thought the water company was supervising him but that was not the case,” he added.
“We found out when we were about to present him with a commemorative plaque for 20 years of service.”
Inquiries with the manager of Aguas de Cádiz, who had an office opposite, revealed he had not seen Mr García for several years and when Mr Blas phoned his absent employee, he allegedly “could not answer” questions on what he had been doing.

A legal case was launched in 2010 alleging he had not done a day’s work since 2004, despite continuing to collect his €37,000 (£29,000) annual salary.

After a protracted lawsuit, Mr García, lost his appeal at a Cádiz court on Thursday and will have to pay his fine, which is the largest possible, The Times reported.

Mr García denied the allegations, claiming that he turned up each day but found there was no work to do.

Asked why he did not report the situation, he said he had a family to support and feared it would be difficult to find another job, so read extensively and became an “expert on the philosopher Spinoza”.

The 69-year-old was not fired from the post because he had already retired.

Source: The Independent

43 comments:

Can you imagine

Not only in Nigeria. I'm encouraged

One day for the owner

PEPSI ADDICT

Danny said...

Ok o, we don see am

Good for him...

Lol.. Come to ours and see thousands that don't report to work. I simply don't know why civil service work is so a lazy work. They are so relaxed with work.

Bliss n blossom 2016

Nenyechi said...

Good fr him

Nenyechi said...

Good fr him

His pay day is here

Bad man lol. Collecting money and not working.

#LibBadBoy

Really clever.......

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Bursted!

Ole

Eyaaaaa...99 days for d tif 1 day for d owner

#spritual

Oleeeeeeeeeeeeee... dee

Hiaaaan, they are everywhere in 9ja! Crossing their legs while others are working... Its just so rampant in 9ja

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#It MuSt enD iN prAise

When u're not a Nigerian, u wan just chop dat money n waka like dat... dee

Na wa o.

They should come to Nigeria and see enough

Lucile coconut oil,carrot oil and black soap Abuja 07059605320 said...

End time "quoroption"

DashenDuch said...

lol

Thank God it's not Nija this time.Buhari take note.

99 days for a thief, one day for the owner

Mufliat said...

Eeya
But how come they didnt find out for good six years?
It is well

#Hajia Mufliat

lol..so for 16 years he kept getting paid without doing a single thing.His luck.

#XENO-FABIAN

Lol he want to reap where he did not sow

Very good

Ok seen...good for him

Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner

*737#

Very Nice...

Pearlie said...

Ghost workers here and there

Onye oshi...

AJ MAIN BOY...

let them cum 2 Naija and see our civil service commission.... sum of 'em cum 2d office and leave 4 their various homes an hour later wit d inscription "see you in 3 days"

Corruption everywhere

U-C-J said...

No comment for now.
Linda mee k'anyi fu anya! @uchemacj

Donjazzycrush said...

I thought it happens only in Nigeria ?

Don~jazzycrush

LOL said...

Hahahahahahahahahahaha

No work no pay?

Gerrarahere!!!!!!

Well played. I thought that shit only happens in my country.

Ghost workers everywhere.

Amaram ogechi

Ogechi230@gmail.com

This is what I call SUPER GHOST WORKER.

Posh Queen said...

Nabbed!

You can imagine that

Many employees are exposed to the hazards of industrial diseases because of their occupations. People who suffer from vibrating finger are liable to be compensated by their employers. The legal advisors assist people in getting their due claims.Take a look at:-civil legal service