Two 15-year-old girls fatally shoot each other in Phoenix-area school | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 February 2016

Two 15-year-old girls fatally shoot each other in Phoenix-area school

Two 15-year-old girls died Friday in a shooting at a suburban Phoenix high school that initially caused panic among parents who could not reach their children but later emerged as a murder-suicide.
However, officers did not reveal any details of what the note said, and did not discuss what they believe the motivation for the killings may have been. 
Officers also refused to name the pair, though school teacher Phong Kieu earlier named one of the victims as her sister, May Kieu.  
Phong, who teaches science at the school, told ABC 15 she put on the news in her classroom after hearing about the shooting. 
'We were watching the live footage and it first said two students,and after half an hour it said two female students, and then it said two sophomore students,' she said.
'My students were on their phones and were friends with her. And one of the students said it was May and her friend. 
'That's when I called attendance and I asked for my sister's schedule. They put me on hold for 10 minutes and that's when I knew something was wrong.
'I was escorted from my classroom with one of the vice principals. He held my hand and told me we had to go upstairs. I walked up and I walked past so many people looking at me and they knew what happened.
'That's when they told me. My sister's gone. They confirmed it and she's not coming back.'
Police announced that a suicide note was found at the shooting scene near the cafeteria area of Independence High School in Glendale. They said the girls each were shot once, were declared dead at the scene and a weapon was found near the bodies.
"Information gathered by detectives reveal the two girls were very close friends, appeared to also be in a relationship," Glendale police spokeswoman Tracey Breeden said in a statement Friday afternoon.
Breeden said it is believed nobody witnessed the shooting.

Both teens have been identified, but Breeden said "their names will not be confirmed or released at this time by the police department due to their juvenile status."

Hours before the lockdown of the school was lifted, hundreds of worried parents crowded the parking lots of nearby discount and convenience stores.
Parents were bused to the school to be reunited with their children. Some cut through a nearby field as they rushed toward their kids in emotional reunions. Other students who got permission from their parents left campus on their own.

The Glendale Union High School District alerted parents to the shooting through emails and automatic phone calls and released information on social media, Superintendent Brian Capistran said.
Students typically are not allowed to use their cellphones during lockdowns, but as calls from parents flooded the district, officials asked teachers to have students call family, Capistran said.

Social workers and counselors will be available to students and staff when school resumes Tuesday, the superintendent said.
Minnie Kramer, mother of a 15-year-old student, said she rushed out of work when she got a text from her son right after the shooting, telling her that he was OK.

Source: AP

52 comments:

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Rip

tosisochukwu said...

Double wahala 4 dead body

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Good Morning Linda...America with their Gun palaver again, i think it's high time their govt do something real quick about it, 15 year old teenage girls for that matter..hmmm

This is horrible, RIP to the dead.

Babylawyer. said...

Oh my goodness Lord.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Geez! Why na?

#iT wiLL oNLy geT beTTer
#It MuSt enD iN prAise

Oyibo people and guns na them sabi abegg.

fresh presh said...

freshpresh says, too bad

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Na wa!

Too bad

Na waoo! RIP

So sad..two pretty girls.what a waste

Too bad

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Terrible

Hmm...

Hian nawao

Oyibo pple and their wahala. * it's well*

Ndi ocha sef

Noted

That is bad

Chiberry said...

Can violence stop?pls#chiberry#

Sammyp said...

ouch. lol murder-suicide?

It is terrible

Uhmmm. Tokunbo Cold room truck for sale. Bb pin 58BF8F56

Nawa o...

Mmmmmmm what woul have prompted dem to do so????????? May der souls rip.....

#spritual

Shit keeps happening with dis whites wtf

Who gave dem d gun?

D end is really near...see d devill kidnapping souls !....God help us !

TF!!

Na wa ooo...why are Americans like that na???

2 cute girls.. Allahu Akbar

Pearlie said...

Hmmmmm....RIP

Stop leaving spaces in your comments..
It's annoying for people viewing comments via mobile devices!!! Haba

R.I.P...

Oh anoda one again, hmmmm.

My question be say how dem take get gun?

AJ MAIN BOY...

chommy said...

R.I.P. Linda observe!

They were high maybe. RIP...leg out!!!

Gun everywhere in usa

Enter your comment...The news says they were in a relationship which means, they're LESBIANs . Na Dem Sabi o Jere

Jude Akinwole said...

What on earth could have driven these girls to taking their own lives!? It just doesn't make sense, not at all. Whatever is it!!!??? Just sadly crazy man, so sad!

Sad news...Rip

The should do sometin abt dis gun issue.

Linda, y do u approve these kinda comments?? What is the unnecessary space for now??

TOO BAD FOR THESE GIRLS...

For Trending innovations checkout

tollyjems said...

The devil at work. Rip

Rip

RIP to d dead

Jesus is Lord!