The Vatican dismisses a gay priest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 3 October 2015

The Vatican dismisses a gay priest

The Vatican dismissed a priest from his post in a Holy See office today Saturday Oct. 3rd after he told a newspaper he was gay and urged the Catholic Church to change its stance on homosexuality, Reuters reports. Monsignor Krzystof Charamsa was removed from his position at the Congregation of the Doctrine of the Faith, the Vatican's doctrinal arm where he had worked since 2003, a statement said.

Charamsa, 43, and a Polish theologian, announced he was gay and had a partner in a long interview with Italy's Corriere della Sera newspaper on Saturday. He later held a news conference with his partner, a Spanish man, and gay activists at a Rome restaurant.

They had planned a demonstration in front of the Vatican but changed the venue several hours before it was due to have started. The Vatican said Charamsa's dismissal had nothing to do with his comments on his personal situation, which it said “merit respect”.

But it said giving the interview and the planned demonstration was “grave and irresponsible” given their timing on the eve of a synod of bishops who will discuss family issues, including how to reach out to gays. It said his actions would subject the synod, which Pope Francis is due to open on Sunday, to “undue media pressure”.

The issue of homosexuality and the Church has dominated the aftermath of the pope's visit to the United States last week. In Saturday's interview, Charamsa said his partner had helped him come to terms with his sexuality and knew he would have to give up the priesthood, although the Vatican statement made no reference to this outcome.

"It's time for the Church to open its eyes about gay Catholics and to understand that the solution it proposes to them - total abstinence from a life of love - is inhuman," he was quoted as saying. The Catholic Church teaches that homosexuality is not a sin but that homosexual acts are.

The Vatican has been embarrassed by controversy over the pope's meeting with Kim Davis, a Kentucky county clerk who went to jail in September for refusing to honour a US Supreme Court ruling and issue same-sex marriage licenses. The Vatican said on Friday that “the only real audience” the pope had during his visit to Washington was with a small group that included a gay couple.

Source: Reuters

63 comments:

Watch the video here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSmiBXfux7A

BEFORE NKO??LRT HIM FYN HD SQUARE ROOT...TOMJERRYSWIT

This polish man is of the devil #lindaobserve

But Catholics don't allow their priests to get married ..so what do they expect?

The church of God is marching on and it won't allow the gate of hell stand on its way.

anonymous cm said...

I think it doesn't matter if you are gay and a catholic or a priest. He was fired cos he was breaking his vow of celibacy and instead of leaving peacefully, he is making a circus outta it. If you are a gay/straight priest, as long as u don't act on it. What's the big deal.

Baddest Puta said...

Wow. No comment. I don't know where to start from

eseaisha said...

U r a priest u r not supposed to have a patner be it male or female.....so i dont get ur pain now on ur gay life wit ur patner.....u were not begged to be a priest.....i jusy belived homosexuals are just gravin toooo much attention...ah ah....lesbians r not all in ur face about it....it's now men dat r seekin for sooo much attention.....shud we kill ourselves bcos gay men r weak and dey cant keep dir emotions to dir selfs.....na wah ohhhh....

Na wa o.. This gay ppl are just everywhere! Its becoming normal thing for them. Uwa mmebi

#it WiLL oNLY geT bETTer
#iT mUsT enD in PrAise

Na wa o.. This gay ppl are just everywhere! Its becoming normal thing for them. Uwa mmebi

#it WiLL oNLY geT bETTer
#iT mUsT enD in PrAise

Gay priest? Dis sh*t ain't funny anymore.

Dats good, it is simply not allowed. Why can't dey understand, mbok! Linda take note!

Ginger said...

Good for him.they should not corrupt the doctrine of our LORD.

TEEDEE said...

The world is indeed coming to an end...I cant Deal😒

How the f is a priest even gay when he's supposed to be sworn to celibacy?! What a generation to be alive.

PURPLE said...

What an insult to the Catholic church. These people should be banned from existence sef! What nonsense?

People like corrupt the church.

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE... gbogbo yin ti ya we re a whole priest turn gay, hmm devil don take over dear lives Hmmmm Justsayingmaown ohh via ma LATEST TECHNO f7

May God help us o,this world is coming to an end. TIMLEYIN BLESSING

God 4bid sodomism in d Catholic Faith !

can yu imagin

Their palaver

Good riddance!!

Ladun Liadi said...

"giving the interview and the planned demonstration was “grave and irresponsible” given their timing on the eve of a synod of bishops who will discuss family issues, including how to reach out to gays"

very good!

Aunty linda......

very good!

Aunty linda......

How can a priest be gay? Only God knows those who re serving him truly....

That serves him right.. He want to be a priest and gay at same time. Thou shall not serve God and marmon... Matt 6:24

Indeed. He forgot that sex is not on the plate at the vatican, ummm actually in the priesthood. How would you care about your sexuality if you are not having sex? And if you are having sex, how do you remain faithful to your duty to reform and stay true to the requirements of celibacy that go with the profession. Excellent choice by the vatican.

*long sigh**

Dis priest is a lunatic
He is not normal at all
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Rock of ages...

Rev father - gay then dis means d world has already come to an end moreso d ones we see and hear over here is just sth else whereby Rev sister is doing collabo wit married man wht abt fellow Rev father impregnating Rev sister and she ending up commting sucide when people found out she was pregnant.

Indeed accordngly to d Lord, he is going to judge his houz and those dat r his so called MOG first b4 any other judgments b passed to others.

My people biko repent b4 its too late and if any one of us dat has gone else while in d walk wit d Lord, pls repent and retrace ur steps back 2d Lord.

Rock of ages...

Rev father - gay then dis means d world has already come to an end moreso d ones we see and hear over here is just sth else whereby Rev sister is doing collabo wit married man wht abt fellow Rev father impregnating Rev sister and she ending up commting sucide when people found out she was pregnant.

Indeed accordngly to d Lord, he is going to judge his houz and those dat r his so called MOG first b4 any other judgments b passed to others.

My people biko repent b4 its too late and if any one of us dat has gone else while in d walk wit d Lord, pls repent and retrace ur steps back 2d Lord.

Serves him right

No Time

cazonzy said...

God what is going on?

Innocentia Annie said...

Good for him
He can now go into the world
and be whatever you wanna be

He is a mad priest

Burn in hell.

Ok good, I belief he is possessed.

My frnd leave abeg no tym....
***CURRENTLY IN JUPITAR***

The devil is seriously playin tricks on some pple, God help them #singinavemaria

God bless that Pope. He's a true man of God.

O.N. Progeny said...

Love them but hate the sin

Bella D Chemist said...

As a Catholic priest he would have taken the vow of celibacy at his ordination so for him to say he is gay and has a partner is that he has not been fullfilling his vow. Na him sabi

Gay nor join, e nor join. Church follow bible, e follow. You nor wan go church, nor go. Nor be by force. Rewrite the Bible to suit your stance. You can call it Ible.

Apparently he thought he could take advantage of Pope Francis' liberal spirit!

hilarious said...

You must confused and you don't know what to say. close your mouth

Adanna Elechi said...

What does a Catholic priest have to do with a partner in the first place?

I just blive this gay stuff is a devilish spirit dt Possess pple

Thou shall no judge. May the Lord fight his own fight himself.

"To d catholic church homosexuality is not a sin but homosexual acts are"plz what is d difference?

With all due respect, ur comment is exasperating and dumb! Homosexual individuals are being stigmatized, disassociated from, facing jail terms, and even being killed just cus of their sexual orientation. Heterosexuals just feel the need to judge them rather than been properly orientated...why can't u just love and accept pple for who dey are, dats what jesus taught innit?!

Understand? Why can't u understand that their sexual orientation is simply different from yours! They just different cus they born dat way! D way we have introverts n extroverts?!

I DO NOT THINK ,THAT GOD EVER ASKED ANYONE TO BE CELIBATE , IT IS JUST ONE OF THE PRIMITIVE IDEA THAT WE SHOULD GET RID OF.

THE PRIEST ARE HUMAN , THEY WANT TO MAKE LOVE , THEY WANT TO HAVE CHILDREN.

SO IF YOU ASK THEM NOT TO DO ALL THESE THINGS , THEN THEY WOULD LIKE TO FIND A WAY OUT WHICH IS TO BECOME A LESBIAN AS NUN , AND THE PRIEST WOULD GAY .

The difference: priests should be celibate. No form of sexuality.

*craving*

Don't mind D dismissed priest who wants to eat his cake and have it.

You're pained I can see

You can love ur dog, just dont fuck it. Comprende?

Shut up bro. Must u be stupid?