Stop condemning homosexuals, they don’t deserve it – Catholic Bishops tell Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 September 2015

Stop condemning homosexuals, they don’t deserve it – Catholic Bishops tell Nigerians

The Catholic Bishop Conference of Nigeria, CBCN has appealed to Nigerians, especially Nigerian media to stop condemning homosexuals and Lesbians in Nigeria. The bishops stated this in an article titled “Still on Same-Sex Union and the Stand of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Nigeria”, which was shared by the group’s director of social communication, Chris Anyanwu.

According to the article, the bishops welcomed the Nigerian government's anti-gay law but they do not seek the punishment or jailing of persons who err but to help them unto salvation.

The article reads in part
“There is certainly an obsession by some journalists about ‘severe punishment of gays or lesbians’ and they try to twist the Bishops’ statements to articulate their views. Nigerian Catholic bishops are very responsible pastors who do not seek the punishment or jailing of persons who err, but to help them unto salvation. In wrongly reading the letter of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Nigeria (CBCN) in January 2015 to President Goodluck Jonathan, some international organizations mischievously reduced the CBCN position to advocating severe punishment of gays or lesbians with long prison terms. What the CBCN supported, blessed and commended in their letter of 21st January, 2015 to former President Goodluck Jonathan was because the Nigerian government upheld the dignity and sanctity of marriage even in the face of all sorts of pressure. When, therefore, the federal government resisted the attempt to impose this culture on Nigerians by legislating against ‘same-sex union’, the Catholic Bishops of Nigeria felt a sense of great relief and issued a statement to affirm government’s decision. The Archbishop Kaigama we know is a careful and pastorally-minded prelate who would not have used such words as: ‘shameful’, ‘barbaric’, ‘madness’, etc. to refer to anyone. Our stand was and is ‘no to same sex union’ and ‘no to spreading of the homosexual culture’ which can only complicate our struggle to uphold traditional/ religious/moral values in our country,” he said.
Read the full article HERE

93 comments:

Can't read this. It is well

Na wa ooo. Notin ears no go hear. Heavy sigh

Bia ndi Bishop, kedu ihe unu na -akowa? Anam enyo okwu a enyo!

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Ginger said...

Ok we have heard

Bia ndi Bishop, kedu ihe unu na -akowa? Anam enyo okwu a enyo!

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Its a huge relief seeing that certain pple still have logical reasoning concerning LGBT issues .. Unlike alibaba saying exits are not entrances! Like a womans mouth is meant to give head! Rubbish

aproko manager said...

Okk

Hmmm I hope you are not one

thats what in his mind so we should wellcome homosexual abi nigeria olaniyidavid71@yahoo.com

Some of those bishops are the once molesting our Children. One day they will find their lives in Syria and get thrown off Skye scrappers. Christianity is full of impurities and we are the one preaching cleanliness most. It is better for a king not to say a word than to open mouth and say something stupid. You claimed you aren't married that you are wedded to God, but behind close doors, you molest our children. Both boys and girls are sex slaves to you. I like Fela Kuti, he said you guys are respected but you are the ones that do bad bad things pass. LGTB are like weeds that must be uprooted before it destroys others. Gays among Catholic bishops and priest and out numbering these days. I just quit church and watch God the best way it serves me. "That Bad Seed Shall Not Be Found Among Thee" You guys actually don't read bible.

Some of those bishops are the ones molesting our Children. One day they will find their lives in Syria and get thrown off Skye scrappers. Christianity is full of impurities and we are the one preaching cleanliness most. It is better for a king not to say a word than to open mouth and say something stupid. You claimed you aren't married that you are wedded to God, but behind close doors, you molest our children. Both boys and girls are sex slaves to you. I like Fela Kuti, he said you guys are respected but you are the ones that do bad bad things pass. LGTB are like weeds that must be uprooted before it destroys others. Gays among Catholic bishops and priest are out numbering these days. I just quit church and worship God the best way i can. "That Bad Seed Shall Not Be Found Among Thee" You guys actually don't read bible.

Am a woman , a woman's mouth can give head if she consents. Come unto her in any position EXCEPT through the anus. If you are effeminate no p. You will be recognized on the side you swing to mostly .

EEEEEEHHHH??EEEWWWWWWWEEE....TOMJERRYSWIT

Am a woman , a woman's mouth can give head if she consents. Come unto her in any position EXCEPT through the anus. If you are effeminate no p. You will be recognized on the side you swing to mostly .

Slim shady said...

Lead them to salvation madam. Calling men of God molesters makes no sense. At least they are not agreeing with that life style.

JohnJeanK said...

There is God oooo

We all know u r a gay ass bitch so we were expecting this kinda comment from u

JohnJeanK said...

There's God

I don't agree with this article at all. These bishops hmmmmmmm
Mm. Let me not just say anything that God will judge me on. I leave everything to God

Why not quit the world cos there are armed robbers here too? Stop misleading people my friend.

Because you're lazy.

personally i dont like this rubbish atall. why bishop of all people dey talk like dis na. ayyyee ooo

Where did they say that? Read the publication. Aren't you a little devil by misquoting those men of God? Keep harming yourself.

Some people will just read d headline and come start talking rubbish

Make dem welcome na..... Catholic church people sha...

How do you lead a gay/lesbo to salvation when it starts with being repentant of your sins/unholy act. The Laws of the land shouldn't be justified based on religious beliefs/differences. If the law says punishment, then it should be carried out. God is not man.

Well.......

Any man caught giving his wife anal should be arrested......

#October1st... Dat dude is fucking on point!!!

Onyx Godwin....hmmmnnnn....
As for the bishop, most of them are worst, so he can spew whatever from his mouth.

Linda or whatever you call yourself, help yourself I nugo? I don't know whether you deliberately posted that misleading theme there or are you so daft? You can only mislead feeble minds anyway.

I'm happy someone is smart enough to see. Now ask the one who put the headline what she has achieved by not quoting correctly.

Etsako Pearl said...

Me too.
May Jesus fix watever it is dey r praying for......

I am highly disappointed by Catholic Bishop for saying this nonsense if they are homosexuals they should come out and say it openly as long as we are Nigerians we will not accept it the Catholic Bishops should read (LEVITICUS 18:22) they will see what God says about HOMOSEXUAL and LESIBIANS I rest my case.

But are we free to condemn Bruce Jenner n co? Nonsense!

These idiots call themselves bishops but they are enemies to anything Godly.They refuse to marry in other to molest young boys and girls. Shameless , godless , faggots. Enemies of the gospel of Christ.it will be worst for them than sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgement .

They are all crazy for saying that. Whr is homosexuality permitted in d bible? Idiots

Ms.Nicey said...

wonders shall never end. funny how the Catholic is now kinda heading the campaign for these people. *smh

BB said...

And some fools will only read the headlin without reading the whole article before commenting. That's what Linda wants y'all to see and sadly that's what you nub skulls saw. Wonder how some of u managed to pass yo exams. Mofos. If u like don't post this Linda.

FINNY aka SWEET TROUBLE said...

God himself condemn dem in sodom and gomorah. Pls don't encourage people to create anoda sodom in nigeria abeg. #teldemdtruthjooooor

I wish everyone condemning gays are double sure of making this heaven they have in their mouth only. Pleasure is pleasure no matter how one derives it so far there is mutual consent. I'm against force and rape. Judgement is God's

Eh eh eh madam shift one corner. Are you sure of heaven? Heaviest hypocrite

The Bible is not the recommended "how to" of all lives. Use it to direct your life and leave the who don't believe to live there's.

The bishops are right to start to distance themselves from the wholesale destruction of innocent people's lives. We have been expecting this development.

The government will soon be stating it's position in the matter.

All you who jumped on the bandwagon, when that enemy of humanity Ebola Jonathan passed this law, your heads will spin.

The Bible is not the recommended "how to" of all lives. Use it to direct your life and leave the who don't believe to live there's.

The bishops are right to start to distance themselves from the wholesale destruction of innocent people's lives. We have been expecting this development.

The government will soon be stating it's position in the matter.

All you who jumped on the bandwagon, when that enemy of humanity Ebola Jonathan passed this law, your heads will spin.

Na wooh the article and the head line re two different tins oops

Seriously! D headline, wat has she achieved, deceit?

YES!!! Linda is a lier and a devil's advocate for misquoting them and painting a false image....knowing all too well that people won't bother to read through it.
The archbishop clearly stated that "THEY ARE AGAINST HOMOSEXUALITY".

Betty said...

Wow!!! What do you you expect from people who also practice those stuff in secrete. God have mercy

Is a pity that people read but they don't understand.

Distinct herbs. said...

This bishop is a Gay or he doesn't read his bible. Hmm wonders shall never end. Believe me, the end time has come.

Distinct herbs. said...

The bishop na gay.

I support the Catholic bishop of Nigeria on this issue. because many Nigerians still think that someone just wake up one day and decided to be homosexual the thick skull head will not let them know that it's biological the next minute you try to explain to them the start quoting bible what an ignorant set of people. At list there about 20 million homosexual in Nigeria both men and female and the are living in the closet which is not good. let be free and live there life the way the want instead of hiding it.

Gbam!!! Let he without sin cast the first stone

The are not crazy the intelligent not like you ignorant backward thinking idiot who brings bible into biological matter

The are not idiot the are human like me and you and the are 100% correct homosexuals are humans the needed to be treated the same way as straight people. The did not choose to be gay it's who the are

She is right to post it many Nigerians are very anti homosexuality I am glad that the catholic bishops have come out to support them

Gays deserve to be free around the world like everyone else in Nigeria the living false life out of fear I hope this open a dialogue in which Nigerians mindset towards homosexuals can change

anonymous said...

The way linda captioned this story clearly shows she is an Homosexual herself. We all know that linda is a big supporter of their cause and that of transgender people. Even the pope tag them as atomic bomb because they both don't adhere to the course of nature. May be this is one reason why we don't see linda being linked to any man. If you like, don't publish this. According to Mugabe, Africans are not Homosexuals and if you want to practice it, go to Europe and America that are CURSED continents by Jehovah

Who are these bishops?!

anonymous said...

To add to my commentary, the Catholic bishops have so missed the mark that many of them are leading the catholic denomination into hell fire. Saying we should leave Homosexuals alone and let them be serving God the way they are, somehow, they would get salvation. This is from the pit of hell. A sermon of Lucifer. It is just like saying we should leave murderers, rapists, thieves, prostitute and other evil doers alone and continue sinning and let them come to church and continue in their evil ways and somehow, salvation will come their way. The Anti Christ IS Already in the church, people should open their eyes. The first thing is to tell them to repent from their evil ways and telling them that salvation only comes when they stop their evil ways. Going to church and still doing evil will NEVER lead to salvation, the way the bishops are alluding

God will judge them..

Did you actually read this at all or you just read the the headline and start to talk rubbish.

Stupidity is when you actually read a story headline without reading the body of the story and start to talk nonsense.

My goodness, I don't want to believe dat people can't read n understand in dis age n time, let me make is very simple to u all who misunderstand, d bishop r sayin dey stick to th traditional man n woman union, but r not in support of d 14yrs imprisonment, dat we shld not condemn d LGBT but rada preach salvation to dem, make dem see differently, I'm a catholic n I agree 150 percent wit dat, whoeva doesn't agree, well dey r entitled to dei opinions so am I, so don't even say anytin here.

Kachi said...

Never knew anyone this shallow and naive as u!!!!!

Chinwendu said...

The last I checked, the mouth is an entrance, not an exit. So it is legal. Besides there are no erogenous zones in the anus!!!!

The truth is homosexuals are not to be condemned, but helped. Molested as a child and going to a same-sex highschool, I struggled with my sexuality all through my formative years. I had a few sexcapades with my same-sex counterparts, but I knew deep inside that what I was doing wasn't natural, gladly I had supportive friends who never condemned me, but they stuck with me all through. Now I am married in a heterosexual relationship and haven't had same-sex attractions since over a decade.

what i have to say is that give cesar what belong to cesar and give God what belong to God said by my lord Jesus Christ ......cesar made a law and God made a law......so as nigeria made a law so we have to give Nigeria what belong to Nigeria....no to homosexuality but thats doesn't mean we should treat them that practice the act as an aliens....we need to preach the word of God to them...cos that act is demonic......

Anonymous Personified said...

Anonymous 12:37 and Nnenne George (always gullible), I weep for you both for speaking against the ordained. I have nothing to say but to advise you guys to kneel in humility and ask God for forgiveness cos You might not be able to stand the heat when it unfold. #sincereadvice

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Anon 12:12 God bless you don't mind him nd his silly comment

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Yeah Linda quoted wrongly

Thank God 4d law probihiting dis act's in Nigeria if not it wil b a full day for dis act to tak place.

I don't really support wht dis Bishop said abt not punishing them bcos wht is d use of law's witout reprimanding those dat break d law's.

Biko d Bishop should stop b sentimental and also stop b two tongue sided for those who break d law's should b punished accordingly.

Interestingly, the main male erogenous zone, the prostate (look it up) is within the male rectum. So stfu and go back to school.

bummyla said...

we don hear una! http://www.bummyla.com

Bishop or what ever you call yourself, I cant judge you as it is against God's will but i think you are just the devil himself or you have been manipulated by the Americans but either way God will Judge you and when the time comes, I hope you rot in hell and you name be wiped from the face of the Earth, Why didn't question God as to why he created Adam and Eve instead of Adam and another Man. I think you should be investigated. May God Judge you and those that are in this mess with you and may God intervene in the lives of those that you are Misleading. The Pope visited America and even on the American Soil he forbid Homosexuality. If your father had married another man i wonder if you would be in existence. I think that it is because you are not allowed to marry now makes you think about immorality and this kind of Sacrilege which is against everything that we believe in as African starting from the days of our fore-fathers. You are a disgrace and an Abomination to the Human Race and i know that soon God will Judge you and Punish you for spilling Such Abomination and Sacrilege. If i was President Buhari, i will bring you out on the Field for many to Learn from you Mistakes and then Cast a death sentence on you with immediate execution. God will Judge you sha, My name is Asogwa Uchendu, LIB Take Note.

A man's rectum is a more sensitive
gspot than a woman's vagina. Educate urself chiwendu.

Jesus, few so-called bishops had a moment of weakness now all r condemned. Relax ppl not all (not even up to 1percent) r child molesters...it's like saying all Muslims r terrorist.

Dr Obi-X said...

aunty linda...i think 90% of your readers just glance and the headlines and comment. I think you all should at least read the whole article and understand it before you make comments. This is purely a reflection of the poor level of education in nigeria. Please read the article and comprehend it before making comments...some of your comments expose ur pitiful ignorance. #learntoreadplease.

Local champion, what are you saying?

That's a good one

Can not believe that a bishop can say this and after GOD destroyed a city cos
of those act,,
well is right time to open my own family church close to my house soon

@Nnene George they say my pple perish cs lack of understanding..from your comments it shows the kind of person you will be.. someone lik you has even touched your fellow girl as your wining ya mouth check deep down you know what am saying but God will help you one day plsssss don't say what you don't know.... @anonymous 11:57 also 12:00 yes the bishops molest children you heard from CNN yes and am happy the Pope said he will do something abt it. The priest we pray for them everyday to hold on to their faith cs is not easy they are human being like us and blood runs through their veins it is not right but we pray for them . If they spend 15 years in seminary school to become a priest and you open your deadly mouth to say rubbish abt them my dear there is a cs for u !!!!! So watch ya sinful mouth!!!!! Am a Catholic and I was mad when I read the heading but when I read down I begin to understand why they say so... killing and punishment is it what God will tell you to do if he was here? His not a wicked God !! Grab your brains where you left them all ya illiterate. ....

Please people, make sure of your facts before you comment or share. The heading of this message is totally different from the body. God's wisdom and understanding is essential for everyday living though. The Catholic Church is the only church that still stands up against divorce, abortion, homosexual, contraceptive and the rest of the other vices. I'm staunch Catholic and yet still learning and reading about the faith. Please take time to research any doubt you have about the church before conclusion. The USA is seriously against the Catholic Church because they are adamant in reversing their stand on divorce, abortion, homosexual and contraceptive. The church is guilty of molestation but only 4% of priests in the whole world are guilty of that. The USA also uses this fact to pull the church down. Carefully watch Pope's vist to the USA and see all he did, the visit to the prison got me crying. No one deserves to die because of his or her sins because conversion might come in a snap. The Pope also pleaded for the woman that was executed today in a US state. He even visited the Davis lady that refused to issue license to gay couples and encouraged her. It's one thing to condemn a sinner and winning the sinner over is another thing. Love is the key. Put yourself in the shoes of these clergymen, they can't preach the wrong message on the pulpit. As human, I support jail for homosexuals but if I have to put on that cape, I'll think twice.

@Uju, did u read the article at all sef???

Muslims nko....una own better??? Mscheeew....abeg take several seats!! Ogini k'ina ko sef?? Aturu Hausa

Funny how u look pretty in ur picture and still sound stupid!!! Mumu...read the article and leave the headline...#Estee

Hell is real oooo hian! N I Hia say d fire hot well well oooo....mk una no say I no tell u ooo...even me sef my way no pure bt heaven I shall mk ooo....hell is very hot..o gbo no gaaaaaan ni ooo

Lol...October 1st!

All you idiots here insulting the bishops are very stupid.....fools.....do you encourage someone to change by jailing them and calling the names? Do u encourage someone to change by pouring venomous insults on them? Has the bishop said anywhere here that homosexuality is good? Has he said it is not a sin? When Jesus met the woman accused of adultery what did he say? Go and sin no more...if he started shouting harlot, prostitute, ashawo Kaunakakai would he have made any impact? In case some of you don't know, church history records that former adulterer as the woman who poured the oil on his feet from her alabaster box.......a lot of you here pour venomous insults on the gay people yet you are fornicators, adulteres, thieves and what not......u will also not be spared heaven....for your information the hell for gay is not hitter than your sins......nobody deserves to go to jail cos they are gay....that law is so wrong....God hates homosexuality and anyone who is a believer should know that...no church should marry them....as Christians we must speak that truth but when u see gay people and you show so much hate and ask them to be jailed or killed or stigmatized cos of that then that is judging and hypocrisy.....u are not a child of God.....Christians stop claiming to be born again and showing so much hate.......loving someone is not the same as loving their sins

Hahhaha

And ur mouth will lead u to doom....nwa mkpi

Amazing Grace💕 said...

I wouldn't be surprised...... I saw an article on pope saying that Christians can learn a lot from homos & lesbis.......... that they need to be accepted. I dare not judge but these are the signs......... the end is near. I still stand by what Leviticus says concerning this issue...... let them serve the jail terms and in the process let them be led to Christ...... every action has a cosequences. Shalom

Pure local champion read wah they said....and stop asking stupid question.....they hav a point even duh I stil like the law against gay.....the bishop are just goin religious with the mata....they hav a point shaa....

Whr is ya medication? Pple don't read stuff b4 they comment shoooo dey are just tryin 2 handle the mata how jesus would hav done....I get their point shaa buh I like the law against dem cos if we start handling the mata with religious teaching this gay is gona be an everyday thing....