Ishaya Bako returns with new documentary on gender-based violence 'Silent Tears' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 September 2015

Ishaya Bako returns with new documentary on gender-based violence 'Silent Tears'

A new documentary on the victimization and abuse of women in Abuja will be premiered in October. The documentary, which is titled Silent Tears, was directed by award- winning filmmaker, Ishaya Bako. In 2013, Ishaya Bako's documentary about the fuel subsidy scam in Nigeria, 'Fueling Poverty', attracted wide attention when it was banned for being highly provocative.

The new documentary, SILENT TEARS, was funded by the Open Society Initiative for West Africa (OSIWA). It explores the methodical victimization of women in Abuja by a task force established by the Federal Capital Territory Administration to apprehend and rehabilitate sex workers. The October premiere of the documentary, will take place in Abuja. Other screening dates will be announced subsequently.

The trailer below...

29 comments:

How much will he pay if i watch it..let's endorse a deal

www.glowyshoes.com said...

this doc really moved me...really nice

Glowyshoes's blog

Waoo great moves,wish him all the best.

That's nice

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

I can't wait to watch dis documentary and I no it will b very intersting

Nice move, quite unfortunate how the evil perpetuated by this task force brought into Abuja by Bala Mohammed have been harassing innocent Nigerians.
I hope this documentary will do justice to this issue.

Good for dem interested.

Wow! Nice one frm them and I wish them all d best. Thumbs up and more power to their elbows.

Ok, good for him

Any chance this is going to go on sale?!

Very gud documentary! The woman wearing green shud shut the hell up n b a lil bit open minded..

Nice one.

Something really needs to be done

Wonder shall never waya see oooooooooo:

Funny Video: Cow runs away after its neck was cut off at eid, injures people

‘Murdered’ woman found alive THREE DECADES after being 'murdered'

Video: Refugees set up nightclub in The Jungle in Calais – selling beers

Issokay seen, thanks for the info. Linda take note!

Oky seen....

Rated E-Online said...

Thanks for this Linda. It has been a labor of love for all involved. We hope to raise awareness to this situation that has been going on for many years and its time the higher ups take notice and do something about it.

Chop Chop said...

Naija needs to grow up sha. Police dey take style dey find dia chop chop at d expense of women wey dress fine. Na wao ...

I have to see this

Nigeria has a really loooooooooong way to go...The police force should be looked into seriously as they are causing too much problems.

Hmmm!Truth be told no human created by GOD need,to be disrespected,but don't u think @times we bring this disrespect to ourselves!? Right Frm the number 1 citizen to the least!!!? Deeper thinking; FOOD 4THOUGH.

Linda. Tanks for dis matter. Dis is really a true silent tears. Am a guy also. N I ve met cases lik dis too. This poilce force pple not only harrass gals but guys too. If u r well dress goin out to see someone or tryin to meet up wit ends meet. They jst jump out of their busses harrassin u wit all sorts of allegations. Last askin u wat u do for a a living n even afta providing ur proof. They wil neva let u go free. Such harrassment needs to stop. I cant even go out anymore not knowing wen dey will attack. The worst is as I do not have any connections in my own country, its difficult to easily leave dia traps

Nice one.
Well done!
Tackling real society problems in your own way.

That lady in the mint tshirt is off her rockers she has no idea of what she is talking about indecent dressing , what law in nigeria says you should arrest people for the way they are dressed . these are the sort of people give nigeria a bad name

To think that the coordinator of the so-called SAP-CLN is even a woman! Listen to her definition of a prostitute. Ha, na wa!