Blogger arrested over Facebook post on Gov. Amosun wife remanded in prison despite bail | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 September 2015

Blogger arrested over Facebook post on Gov. Amosun wife remanded in prison despite bail

Ojo Emmanuel, who was arrested over the weekend for allegedly writing against Gov. Amosu's wife on Facebook was granted bail today at the Magistrate court in Isabo Abeokuta but was surprising not released.
After meeting the bail requirements as at 4:00pm today the Judge of the State Magistrate court suddenly refused to sign the bail bond of Mr. Ojo Emmanuel. We received news that the sudden turn of event is as a result of an order from Governor Amosun. Ojo has been taken to prison instead of his home. Against the pronouncement made this afternoon." His friend told LIB
A man in handcuffs for writing something on Facebook? C'mon people. This is a democracy! You should sue for defamation not putting people in handcuffs like criminals.

Lawmaker Condemns Police Incarceration of Online Blogger After Bail
A member of the Federal House of Representatives, Hon. Adekoya Adesegun Abdel-Majid (MHR), representing Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency has condemned in strong terms the continuous incarceration of an online blogger and Ogun state citizen, Ojo Emmanuel Adediran after bail by the Nigeria Police Force. 

The lawmaker in a statement issued on Tuesday stated that the harassment and withholding of Ojo contravenes the provisions of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended and a direct infringement on his fundamental human rights. 

"As a law-abiding citizen and one who holds the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria sacrosanct, I believe an accused is presumed innocent until proven guilty, and there are provisions for the protection of the fundamental human rights of the citizens. In this case particular, I hold the view that the right of the young man who is being hounded to the court and paraded handcuffed is totally unacceptable and a breach of his right to dignity."

"I equally frowned at the manner of his arrest without first investigating the substance of his allegation; the police claimed to have only started investigation after he has been arrested. This is alien to the Nigerian law and Freedom of Expression and human dignity as enshrined in the Nigerian constitution"

"It is however odious to read further reports that despite meeting the stringent bail conditions as graciously granted by the trial Magistrate on Tuesday, 29th day of September, 2015, the governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, using his power as the state Chief Executive Officer opposed the release of Ojo Emmanuel. This, I condemn in clear terms as reckless and excessive use of state power, calculated at destroying the career of enterprising young men in the state."

"I think the law is vast enough to accommodate redress in the case of any constitutional breach against any individual, the governor and his wife inclusive, and strong arm tactics from the vantage position of executive power should be discouraged lest our democracy is threatened by despots masquerading as democrats. "

"Senator Ibikunle Amosun should allow the law to take its course and not resort to bending same to suit his whims and caprices against imaginary, real and perceived enemies and position. It is not for the sake of reading that Freedom of Expression was enshrined in the constitution but to protect against the arbitrariness and executive recklessness of potential despots.
Ojo Emmanuel Adediran has same rights and privileges just as Mr. Ibikunle Amosun and Mrs. Funso Aamosun, and the law cannot hold the hand of the young man for the delight of the Ogun State Governor."
The lawmaker thereby call on the Inspector General of Police to evoke his power in fulfillment of his avowed policy of protecting the human rights of every citizens of Nigeria against abuse and arbitrariness of power mongers to safe this promising young man against the strong arm tactic of the Ogun State Governor. 

"Ojo Emmanuel deserves the protection of the law and his continued incarceration could not be said to be in good taste. This has the potential of making mockery of the Change mantra of the President Moohammadu Buhari-led administration. " He said.

79 comments:

Okpemu!

Oh!

That's bad

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Just maka ihe edere ede...edemede nkiti! Thunder fire una dia!

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

People become drunk with power once elected in Nigeria. What a shame

Hmmmmm. Another level of military era in existence in dis state. Biko he should sue them to court.

Linda enough of this ugly head blogger I see everyday. Let him go to jail. Who cares?

Femi Falana to the rescue.

You see what APC governors do??? Change indeed!

So absurd and ridiculous

Is this democracy or dictatorship.

The judicial system in this country is a mess!There's no justice in the court of Justice

Shame on APC!

Human rights lawyers, there is an interesting event here o. The governor is above the law o. The magistrate is above the law o. The police is above the law o. Na so we go dey dey?

He should understand that our dear Nigeria is lawless, when you mess with some people you'll darely pay for it.

Nawa o

AmoNsu is not smiling at all. Linda,no vex am oo

If someone can't take criticism (especially negative), then they don't have business being in politics. Last time I checked, this is the era of democracy-freedom of speech. This is wrong on every level.

Dis is serious...Lindo. be careful oooooh

Haba... Enough is enough naa. He must have learnt his lessons. They should free him, at least for d sake of democracy

Absolute power corrupt absolutely

Limitation of freedom of speech. What an injustice!!

Cn U IMAGINE DS PPLE DNT GO N PAY UR WRKERS....JOBLES EEEDIAT...TOMJERRYSWIT

bummyla said...

This is an abuse of power! Federal Government should do something about this human right abuse! http://www.bummyla.com

Juliet Iwobi said...

Dis is terrible Shocking Video/Pix: Abuja runs girl allegedly slept with a politician for N300k & found worms in her private part after [Very Graphic]

Where r d stupid activists we claim to ve, d Falana's and co, no 1 can come to his rescue,i bet if it wus a PDP state d stuff happened we will not hear word, but well Linda and Seye Osewa take note d day u guys go beyond ur boundary,them deal with una like dis nothing like freedom of expression them go deal with una. It's sad, m sure when d guy comes out he will not b able to even scold his family members how much venture into writing again.Ojo Emmanuel no vex, it's either dis experience of urs makes u thick and strong or broken and weak.

flaky said...

Please Linda can u get us the comment he posted about the governor's wife. Was it that bad?

Ha oga o, because they are in power people shouldn't say the truth again abi,someone should please help him out before they do something stupid,awon ole buruku yi. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Nigerian youths what are you waiting for before you demand justice for this young man who is been intimidated and violated by a governor he probably elected? Where are the Femi Falanas, the Keyamos and other human rights activists? Amosun you have less than 6hours ultimatum to release your captive and end your demonstration of craze. Even after the release of the young man Amosun must face litigation.

Amosun jst remember the rot of God,can u imprison ur son.You r close 2 ur end

# releaseojoemmanuel #Nigerian youths what are you waiting for before you demand justice for this young man who is been intimidated and violated by a governor he probably elected? Where are the Femi Falanas, the Keyamos and other human rights activists? Amosun you have less than 6hours ultimatum to release your captive and end your demonstration of craze. Even after the release of the young man Amosun must face litigation.

#ojoemmanuel #Nigerian youths what are you waiting for before you demand justice for this young man who is been intimidated and violated by a governor he probably elected? Where are the Femi Falanas, the Keyamos and other human rights activists? Amosun you have less than 6hours ultimatum to release your captive and end your demonstration of craze. Even after the release of the young man Amosun must face litigation.

All APCriminals' leaders are ll barbaric, no single respect for the law. This is inhumane & I implore the young man to sue their asses when he's finally gotten his freedom. Those bastards, the nerve to detain a Nigerian citizen for airing his views, wonder what they'd have done if GEJ hadn't signed the FOI bill..

flaky said...

Please Linda can u get us the comment he posted about the governor's wife. Was it that bad?

lawless country smh

anonymous said...

This useless Thief of a governor should be impeached for violating the Fundamental human rights of this individual. If the governor believe that his wife was falsely accused, he should address the matter in a proper court rather than parading Mr. Ojo like a common criminal. The governor is harassing one of the people who gave him the mandate to be in that office. What a shame. The state assembly should start preparing the order of Impeachment against the governor. We are now in a democracy and the Nigeria people can't take these illegality no more from people at the top.

Na wa o! A stupid and dull governor who has no respect for d same democracy dey claim to supot.

hmm why pls visit twhib.blogspot.com for e news

Haba,

Wonder what it is that warrants such treatment, not nice.

I hope this is well taken care off and not covered up.
Really, even the police should not carry out their duties except proven guilty. Even the executive should be charged for this reckless, authoritarian and dictatorial attitude . If we are really talking about change

Ah ha! Is d governor n his wife bastards? Where z Baba go slow wen we need him? This z a democracy n so Damn wrong n unacceptable!

Just lost respect for nigerian govt over this, just for writing against a governor's wife....Who she be sef? Queen Elizabeth? what a lawless country. Mrs. First Lady, Your husband tenure is coming to an end in 3 years....remember that. Also remember a poor man today cld be a governor and a woman will stand by him as first lady tomorrow. it has happen and it could happen again. So madam use your years wisely and thank your stars for bringing you where you are today. Have A BLESSED TENURE!

But almost every Nigerian abuse Jonathan and Patience, and nobody was harassed or arrested for anything. Who are they? Thank God they are merely mortals.

edeone1 said...

in a country like Nigeria can you expect less..

If he knows his right, he would get a lawyer

Obviously whatever the guy wrote is true! The stupid Amosu must be perplexed how the guy got the information, I'm sure he hasn't told everything that's why they're trying to intimidate him into silence. Amosi ole! Wicked governor, that was how he arrested a mere teacher who spoke about him sometime back. Foolish power drunk idiot. Buhari should put him under radar, he's hiding something . Oloshi

mr bebe said...

They av brought the state to a total halt, now busy constructing and aquiring properties at almost 60 and to cap it up, av resulted in making the state their private company by their total disregard for justice. Dis our leaders self, shouldnt they remember there had been people bf them ....?

Amosun! Amosun! The wrath of God is about to fall upon you o. You're misusing your power.

God is the Ultimate Judge said...

Amosu,it is unfair but remember there is God ooo Who has the absolute power,am sorry for my dear country who voted for change,this is part of change APC is giving you ,don't complain.

Nna na wa o! Warrisdis??? No no no! Dis is not fair at all. Linda take note!

U heartless fool c wat u r saying ur comments piss me off u neva comment anything gud. Pls buy urself sum brain wit ur kind of words

Absolute rubbish. He should also institute an action at the federal high court for the infringement of his fundamental human right. What nonsense!!!

The governor and his wife are both assholes. The have no right to deprive this man of his liberty on account of a FB post. This is not the power drunk change that we voted for

Says the funny looking dude, who is seeking favors by being Linda's bitch and actually need to say something meaningful,, too bad your silly is getting the best of you, like, what's that even supposed to mean, did that just run thru your mind and then you decided to post that?? You are one of the problems of this country, no doubt.

Not me!!! Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

yabsy said...

Nigerian Youths what are u waiming for? Ogunnusi Stateam is just 45 mins drive from Lagos. Are we storming g the Govt house for a protest or not?OSU students , una still dey classroom? OLabisi Onabanjo University nko? Tai Solarin Nko? We can't wait for Jeyamo and Fala na. We can commence our own peaceful protests.

This pure nonsense. The guy should be released unconditionally. Mofo Governor suppressing harmless citizen. Rubbish.

Let this be a warning to wannabe bloggers be careful what you publish!

Why not mind his business?is he 100% okay too?we all have our flaws$shortcomings,why didn't he stay in his lane$run his own business?ppl just know that having blogs pays bill,bt don't know how, this one will teach you lessons ewu

Dis is sad lord av mercy!

Like seriously? Someone got detained illegally nd all u could say is who cares...be careful what u wish others..kama is a bitch

Too bad for the constitution

Gabby said...

Ojo Emmanuel should sue the police and join Ogun Gov for infringement of his right because no matter how powerful the governor is, he cannot teach the police their job. In order words, the police should learn to do the right thing no whose horse is gorge. That is the essence of a strong institutions we are clamouring for.

Godon said...

Just listen to yourself? He shd go to jail who cares abi? One day u will be in the same situation and go to jail for a crime u were accused unjustly. Think b4 u post rubbish.

Human Being said...

It is such a pity that the poor has no one to protect them.
When the media houses said terrible things about Tinubu and Buhari, did they send the media house owners to Jail?

They were charged to court and not sent to Jail.

Gov Amosu release the young man first

Human Being No Be God

vien said...

Linda be warned!!!

joan said...

If it's safari now law makers will match to court... what about the poor masses...who defends their rights?

Well-done Linda. I hope our civil rights groups will take on Governor Amusu on this. Is this the Change APC is clamoring for?

PRESIDENT's DAUGTHER said...

Gov Amosu Gov Amosu Gov Amosu how many times did I call u? Release tht young man immediately and unconditionally did he kill anyone why re u behaving like a tyrant release b4 u incur d wrath of the youths nd ur subjects the next timedis news comes up again let it be tht uv released him. Thx

Fool... This is how u will blab wen Linda might get arrested too!!!

Priest, abeg What's the military got to do with this Na? . That's a governor whose actions and utterances should epitomise democracy but is rather demonstrating craze.

Just like one of the Wole Soyinka book tittle OUR HUABAND HAS GONE MAD AGAIN. We can simply sa"OUR GOVERNOR HAS GONE MAD AGAIN" shikenah.

JUNGLE JUSTICE

WE DO HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO IN THIS COUNTRY

Petro... T said...

U're a big fool

kings computers limited said...

You're a big fool.

So-Nature Ifeanyi said...

Onye ara. Lol