Ooni of Ife, Oba Sijuwade dies at 85 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 July 2015

Ooni of Ife, Oba Sijuwade dies at 85

The Ooni of Ife, Oba Okunade Sijuwade, has died at the age of 85. Family sources say he died at about 5pm today after a brief illness. He was reportedly flown to UK in an air ambulance after he became unconscious following his illness. The late Oba is survived by wives and children. May his soul rest in peace Amen.

118 comments:

Lord rest his soul

R.I.P

Rip

Awwww so sad.....

aproko manager said...

Aunty pls sleep

RIP sir

Alayeluwa. Rest in peace.

SiSi TrAnz4mErs said...

Read it on stella's blog n was wondering who..may his soul RIP

Rip

Sorry o, Omoba.
As Ado Bayero don de wait for am since say make him come join am no one sabi wetin de holam for here.
Make Dem no sacrifice any human for am o.
He remain him cousin Wey dey Bini make ifollow.

ASHANKA said...

R.I.P

Confirm your story b4 posting.. He is hale and hearty in London

Onirisa ikubabayeye, alashe ekeji orisa RIP!!!

OMG! I SWEAR I THOUGHT HE WAS IMMORTAL! !!!! R. I. P sir - - - - - - @AMAKAWILLIAM on twitter.

Rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace ✌

Rest in peace old man.

Eyaaah...RIP Baba.

Omooba Adereti said...

Dear Linda, kindly comfirm your stories well and double check if possible before posting to the world especially in cases that bothers on life/death. Note that the Ooni of Ife, the Aare Oodua is well and hearty. I am a prince of the Source (Ife) and I write NOT as the spokesman for him but from confirmed sources. I am sure a statement will be released from the palace in due cause to dispel this rumour which you of course has also helped to propagate.

King Ade Olanbiwoninu said...

R.I.P. Olubuse II. Erin wo.......

Aww! So DAT young chick is now a widow! RIP baba

RIP Oba.

May he soul rest in peace.

Isn't this Dolapo's would - be father in law?
I guess her traditional wedding will not hold this weekend! And the wedding in October may be postponed! Sad!

Oba Sijuade Gone..... RIP

Was about to be Flown to the uk for what? Dont you have hospitals in your country?

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Oh no!!... :( May his soul Rest In Perfect Peace

May His gentle soul rest in peace.

Don Jazzy must see this video
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=D7vsYBTHuLM

Eyah.. RIP sire!! Iku baba yeye!!!

honour said...

Rip

RIP sijuwade...... ooni ife....run seee

Hear ur mumu self?

Hahahahahahahaha! Anon 11:49pm. You dey craze ooo! There juju don expire! At least the young wives don free to marry their age mate.

Rip

Rip

Rip

Is he the one with the fair wives that look alike?

it is i said...

Linda in yoruba land we dont say a king dies. U can say he went to meet his ancestors or anything not dies. Its our tradition and we will.appriciate if u can respect it . Thanksp

it is i said...

Linda, in yoruba culture we dont say a king dies . Pls its our culture and u may pls respect it. Thanks.

May His soul RIP...no matter how long it takes,we shall all come to this point.

rip

m3star said...

May he rest in eternal peace.

An Oba doesn't die ooo he goes on a journey......Oba waja

RIP... Why airlift him @ 85yrs for treatment in the UK? Guess, must spend some of the money collected from jona na tan saga.....

Rip

Dolapo Marcy oni would be father inlaw, RIP

RIP THE KING

Linda, I thought your knowledge of the Yoruba culture was rich enough for you to know that an Oba never 'dies' but 'passes on' or 'joins his ancestors'.

RIP eyah!!!

DJ Wan'Dae(Spin More) said...

SisiClara.!

Rest in peace Kabiesi

He died ogbeni

I thought he was immortal....the most stylish king that i know. Full of charisma. RIP Alaiyeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade OLUBUSE II

Na seven heads and seven virgins go follow am o, so if u're around that area be very careful. RIP ajiborisha OLUBUSE II

he's lived his life and surely to the full

goodnight king

hope people like obj learns to die peacefully too

CLICK....WHat Have You Been Looking And It Seems That There Is No Hope...

Who Are The Ten Virgins? Part 5

Put Off The Old Man

Christian said...

How can he die this period? This is the time the people of Ife and the entire Yoruba nation needed his service the most. RIP Kabyesi

Put Off The Old Man

Otuonye Chidera said...

serious?
Death is truly inevitable.
Rip Oba Okunade Sijuade Olubuse II

Who Are The Ten Virgins? Part 5

Put Off The Old Man

Abidemi oluyoku said...

RIP ooo my God

This is another reason we Nigerians should force our government to build solid hospital for us so we don't have to put our lives in the hands of white man. How many times have you heard of white man flown to Naija for hospital treatment. Oba would have been alive and well if we had our own decent hospital. But no, all we have in Naija na hospital inside gutter. Panic a hospital smell like death before you even enter am. To come out of Naija hospital alive is always a miracle. Nigeria has lost enough souls over rubbish hospital. It's just too much and our stupid govern just sits and watch. Everyone just remember this, Oyibo(white folks) don't like you black people in Africa. They hate the shit out of you. So I urge our Naija people to work hard in getting our own hospitals set up

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Na you go follow

RIP TO A GREAT KING. ONIRINSA

Amy said...

Hale and hearty. Renewal things? He should please rest in peace. "The days of our years are threescore years and ten, if by any reason they be fourscore, yet is they strength labour and sorrow, for it is soon cut off and we fly away". Psalm 90:10

Amin!

RIP BABA

Linda! Igbo geh! Kings no dey die ffor yoruba land. They go to be/meet theeir ancestors. So gbo mi. Oya change ur topic! Ose my dear.

I Just hope things will still go smoothly in ife

Music Downloads @ Naijakick.com

Maye of ife said he is alive.. hmmm

Rip baba...that's a whole lotta break for OAU students...

Awwwwwwww.. Ehya.. Rip..

Aww just before his sons wedding this weekend....rip

Rest on

Dee said...

RIP His Imperial Maejesty.

R I P

Wahala go start now. #propertyhustle

ChincoBee said...

RIP and respect to our past elders and ancestors....I am sure they will be looking out for us more than the oyibo ppl we prefer to give more respect...My condolences to his family

* Linda's Future Hubby *

Died@85!... He tried. Rip

May God rest his soul

oooohhhhhhhhh!!!!!! why now? may his soul rest in peace. why at this time?
WHAT WILL happen as per Dolapo Oni's wedding? Well, God knows best

no fresh virgin to keep him alive, guess they have used all the virgin in that town

Sad..

Omar Suleiman said...

Great man. May his soul rest in peace

RIP to him.. .

Isn't that dolapo oni father in law? Nd thr trad is dis sunday?
RIP SIR!

Smh! Now he will b buried at benin bt before den dey will take him round for 3 months from one place to d other....his head,heart n other parts will go...will b buried with an incomplete body.....alot of blood will flow, *sobs* tradition sha.....students in that area be very careful!"!

...King Solomon.. Vanity...RIP

Rest in peace baba okunade....

May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

RIP Ooni. His Son's wedding is coming up on Sunday :( Getting married to Dolapo Oni. Whats going to happen?

Wedon o sisi Linda 4 not posting my comment

joyous babe said...

He has realy tried i grew up to know him .RIP kabieyesi

May his soul Rest In Peace

Mihearty said...

Thank God

RIP Kabiesi

R.I.P

Dolapo Oni don carry bad head enter palace o. Introduction one day father inlaw to be dies the next. Hian!

Now he has his maker to face...

Adimula, Iku Baba Yeye.RIP

Oba waja! RIP

olatee

KATO said...

I have always admired this man, my perception of him from a distance is he was such a gentleman, rarely spoke and peace loving. Don't know if he truly was though. May you RIP

Rest on with your ancestors baba. I still remain Prince Ologbenla Abisoye from the Giesi ruling house. Ile-Ife has lost a great man. RIP

May his soul rest in peace....

May his gentle soul rest in peace

Now time to face d maker naked, witout all d acquired billions or title...RIP to ur soul...a lesson to us.

I'm far frm usual said...

Rip kabiyesi but Dolapo's wedding will have to be postponed

RIP his Royal highness.

Hibeeee

Will that statement brig him bk to live........abi no he die he die....idiot

Rest in peace

Nope

Such a liar. He will not be buried at benin. lol. oniro. beni ko, bini ni. The rest of ur tale is partly correct. Now d afobaje chiefs will be doing serious ifa meetings. The coronation will be interesting. So much order and tradition. Even visiting obas must enter ife in order of seniority.

Alaafin of oyo is d only iku baba yeye. Pls check d oonis greetings, dts not one of them. Learn ur culture.

Ooni is olubuse, not iku baba yeye.

U must be very stupid. I guess u think with dt tiny thing btw ur legs. Ode oshi

Who z this idiot?!!! How can u say such s thing! Smh!