An American Dentist paid $55,000 to kill Zimbabwe’s famous Lion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 July 2015

An American Dentist paid $55,000 to kill Zimbabwe’s famous Lion

Cecil the lion, a famous black-maned resident of Zimbabwe’s Hwange National Park, died at the hands of an American dentist, conservationists report.
They say Walter Palmer paid $55,000 to hunt and kill Cecil with a bow and arrow. The incident occurred around July 6, with a professional hunting outfit reportedly luring Cecil outside the boundaries of the protected reserve using a dead animal as bait.
“Mr. Palmer shot Cecil with a bow and arrow but this shot didn't kill him,” Johnny Rodrigues, chairman of the Zimbabwe Conservation Task Force, said in a statement. “They tracked him down and found him 40 hours later when they shot him with a gun. Cecil, who was known all over the world would have earned millions of dollars just from sightseeing. Walter Palmer apparently paid $55,000 for the kill."
It wasn’t the first kill for Palmer, who has multiple photos posted on the website Trophy Hunt America showing the Minnesota resident posing with dead lions, rhinos, water buffalo, warthogs, and other animals.
“As far as I understand, Walter believes that he might have shot that lion that has been referred to as Cecil,” the spokesperson said. “What he’ll tell you is that he had the proper legal permits and he had hired several professional guides, so he’s not denying that he may be the person who shot this lion. He is a big-game hunter; he hunts the world over.”
Theo Bronkhorst, the professional hunter who led Palmer to Cecil, has reportedly been suspended indefinitely from the Zimbabwe Professional Hunters and Guides Association for the way the hunt was carried out.

“ZPHGA reiterates it will not tolerate any illegal hunting or any unethical practices by any of its members and their staff,” the organization said in a statement. “We will await the completion of the current investigation by Zimbabwe Parks Wildlife Management Authority before commenting any further.”
Park rangers and regular visitors knew the 13-year-old lion as a tourist attraction, easily approached by safari guide jeeps for photo opportunities. Cecil had a propensity for lounging in the middle of roads, said Bryan Orford, a former park guide and a longtime visitor to Hwange. Hunting such an easy target only made the killing of Cecil even more wrong, he said.
“I used to drive down the railway line road following Cecil and had to wait for him to get off the road,” Orford said last week. “This walking in front of the vehicle would go on for ages. Other times he would lie in the road, and you had to drive off the road to go around him.”
The death of Cecil not only means one less endangered African lion in the world but also could mean the demise of a whole line of cubs sired by the leader of the Hwange pride.

“The saddest part of all is that now that Cecil is dead, the next lion in the hierarchy  Jericho will most likely kill all Cecil's cubs so that he can insert his own bloodline into the females,” Rodriques said. “This is standard procedure for lions.”

Source: Associated Press

45 comments:

Hmmmmmmmmm nawa oooo....

Wow RIP to Cecil curbs in advance

Samuel Elizabeth said...

Chai sm ppl can spend money on nonsense tins. Good for him sha

Dem whites sabi get mind sha....nigerian man no try am atall

*lib's namesake*

aproko manager said...

Jericho don dey ginger to rule...I dey hear to look

Look@his cecils eyes! Awww....d American dentist shuld get ready for mugabe! What am I say? he shuld be imprisoned sef

PARENTAL ADVISORY

“The saddest part of all is that now that Cecil is dead, the next lion in the hierarchy Jericho will most likely kill all Cecil's cubs so that he can insert his own bloodline into the females,” Rodriques said. “This is standard procedure for lions.”

Whao, so animals act like politicians too...

rip cecil

Hope the reverse wasn't the case. Morning friends. James :4:7

That is nasty if the dentist RIP Cecil :( I've seen s natgeo documentary , Cecil is a sweetheart that understands humans are not for his consumption and knew he was an attraction that made people happy

CURE THE INCURABLE said...

WTF! Sounds Crazy

VICTOR'S BLOG said...

Hmmmmmm nawao,them for give me that contract make I nak am juju weda e no go die...

SON OF GOD

VICTOR'S BLOG said...

Hmmmmmm nawao,them for give me that contract make I nak am juju weda e no go die...

SON OF GOD

Ndi ocha na nzuzu

Adamazi 1 of L I B

Hmmmmmm. Standard procedures for lions indeed. B4 u know another same type of lion will emerge frm no where. So no need for panic.

Its well.

So sad....
Animals have rights too

This is just sad! It is so wrong

Seen..! Read..! But it's ok!!!

Hian! Na wa o! Anyways na dem know. Linda take note!

For a mere bowl of soup, the persons involved in taking a paltry sum of $50,000 in exchange for Cecil, the lion to be hunted and killed, sold their birth rights, yet again. Ironically, the sell out permeates almost every other inconceivable treasures, including human lives. Pheew, Africa....Lord, help us to know our irredeemable worth despite the lure of the transient and percuniary "benefits" that rips the soul. To do otherwise, is: goodcause4trouble

money money
www.bidexmedia.blogspot.com

Poor animals..even tho I'm petrified of lions I feel so sorry for Cecil and his family

Wetinn the Lion do? Nawa oo

KWEEN said...

What a bloody cowardly bastard! What did he gain from this act? Killing a lion that has been conditioned to trust human presence is just low. Who even allowed him? Who did he pay the money to? I wish he could be killed in a similar manner as well. Stupid human being.

Earn a million dollars for sight seeing or let a stupid asshole kill him for a mere 50k. So sad that Africans are short minded and easily manipulated by cash

Poor animals..even tho I'm petrified of lions I feel so sorry for Cecil and his family

Apple Berry said...

Okay. Good

I pray he won't get killed 1day by animals

ADAMS eMMANUEL said...

Foolish dentist or whatever.
#lockHimup

***Adams***
Linda`s cuttie

Make una live me jhor

The amount ain't worth d risk jor....

7F098C19 said...

Oyibo. See as they dey narrate abt lion like human beings. They talk abt lion fam and all. Africa we dey far behind o. Engr Emy

This man get liver oo

Too much money....

All this is confusing I dont understand a thing apart from a dentist killing the lion!!! What are his motives??????

@ Jenny Nkem lmao! Try n understand Biko Nu

Eeya not cool at all nah!!!

Pls go and meet ur English teach for an apology letter, u deserve it sweetheart

Mihearty said...

All for money? Him no try abeg

So risky

slimmie-ade said...

Oh! Poor lion.