Jonathan, Sambo, Ministers, others to get N3.24bn severance pay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 April 2015

Jonathan, Sambo, Ministers, others to get N3.24bn severance pay

According to the Remuneration Package  put together by the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, President Goodluck Jonathan, Vice-president Namadi Sambo, non-returning Senators and House of Representatives members, ministers and  presidential aides will be paid a severance package of about N3.24bn as their stay in office terminates on May 29th this year. 

According to Punch, President Jonathan  is entitled to 300 per cent of his annual basic salary which is put at N3, 514,705 and therefore his severance allowance will be N10, 544,115 after May 29. This however does not affect his constitutional benefits as a former President.

In the same vein, Vice-President Namadi Sambo, is entitled to 300 percent of his basic salary which is put at N3, 031,572.50. This means that his severance allowance after May 29 is N9, 094,717.50. He is also entitled to his constitutional benefits as a former Vice President. 
76 senators who will not be returning to the National Assembly will be entitled to N462,019,200 at the expiration of their tenure on June 5. They too are entitled to  300 per cent of their annual basic salaries as severance allowances. This amounts to N6, 079,200 per senator.
290 members of the House of Representatives will not be returning to the National Assembly. They are entitled to N5, 955,637.50 each as severance allowance. This means that they will be paid N1, 727,134,875.
The ministers, on the other hand, will be collecting a total of N253, 967,212.5. There are 42 ministers in Jonathan’s cabinet. Thirty one of them are senior ministers and 11 are ministers of state.
Each of the senior ministers is entitled to N6, 079,200 severance allowance while each of the ministers of state   will receive N5, 872,740.
There are 113 aides who work with the President, Vice President, Office of the First Lady as special advisers, senior special assistants or special assistants to the President. Each of them is entitled to 300 per cent of their annual basic salary which amounts to N5, 828,625.

76 comments:

I'm getting dizzy just by looking at all these big figures. Trying to empty the coiffeurs are they?

Many of them don't touch their salaries. What have they really contributed with the over 100m unemployed.

WOOOOW! SUCH A WHOOPIN SUM??TOMJERRYSWIT

God help us in Nigeria.
O motherland!!!!
God bless Nigeria

Tomorrow we will say there is no money. God dey sha

Green said...

Money! Money! Money! Money! Eh eh diaris God oo

Green said...

Oskirin said...

nio to ri olorun oooooooooo.wey i still dey luk 4 0.5million 2 start up a bizness.na God go punish all of una.....Buhari pls reverse ds trend,if nt na curse we go curse u whn ur time reach.

Hmmmm can u imagine the way they are looting Nigeria to dry, this is corruption and they should stop it! They should crap it out of the constitution!

A retired level 10 federal officer won't get half of this......Little wonder they crave for political office by force..... God is watching!!

sisi said...

Nigeria is in trouble. This is one of the reasons people would kill to get there.

Na waooh. All these for una. Tax Payers money. And the country is still bleeding. Which way Naija???

Na wah'''' they can pay their self's while some ' federal organisation staffs don't even have guarantee 3 square meal '''''

All this Perks for almost doin NOTHIN.
BOLLOCKS.
They should do n go abeg.

113 aides? Na wa o. This is clearly waste

All this Perks for almost doin NOTHIN.
BOLLOCKS.
They should do n go abeg.
Is there no way that they will be compelled to get out before May 29?

All these for just 4 years in office, even the legislators that have never contributed will also enjoy this benefit, While civil servants who have served for good 35years are out there dieing all in the name of getting their pensions. There is God o.

That's chicken change compared to all the monies they have looted so plz spare me the foolishness.

Nigeria is a failed state... after they enjoyed them self... in American here it can't happen at all.

Our leaders are heartless. After all they stole, they will still get this huge amount of money. And d masses are living below a dollar per day. These are the rich 1s d bible said it will be easier for a camel to pass thru d needle's eye than for them to enter heaven. This is sheer wickedness

I'm ashamed to say I'm a Nigeria. The mother country of corruption. Mohammed

For what?????????!!!!!!!!!!

I don't understand- why are these outgoing government officials entitled to severance pay? This is not the private sector, for goodness sake!

kpekpeduke said...

Ndi oshi

raybeewld said...

ibu Owo baba Mulika

How much is Patience getting as her severance pay.

I must be president o or hold any other big position.

Politics is big business in Nigeria. Why is every Tom, Dick and Harry who's ever breathed the same air in the same room as the president receiving benefits? Another question is, what are the president's "constitutional benefits as a former President"? Spell them out please. If this article is about post-presidency benefits, tell the reader exactly what they are instead of being coy with the information.

They have made multiples of this amount so this is toiletries allowance for most of them.

I understand the constitutional benefits for the president and vice.But a severance package is a little confusing.By the definition of severance,it means terminate,end usually before its expiration time.To the best of my knowledge,the tenure is four years.They weren't severed prematurely.

I think our learned colleagues should begin to challenge the constitution and look at it critically.Any well informed lawyer in the house should help me out please.Emphasis on "well informed".We need to hold our leaders accountable.The laws only seem to favor the elite.

A poor man steals a goat and he gets multiple life sentences.My big brothers and sisters at the top steal billions and they get presidential pardons and senatorial slots.its well!

WOW

Good to know.

They re looting our money nd hide under baseless constitution.. Bunch of thieves

Haaaaa, dats kind of much o weytin now

They re looting our money nd hide under baseless constitution.. Bunch of thieves

Haaaaa, dats kind of much o weytin now

Useless people this is why the rich is getting richer.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

3 Million? Wey dem dey giv runs girls as Thanks fo coming? Na laaaaai

How much then go give me inside.?

...... black somebody.....

WORD!!!!

lami said...

Yet they tell their is no money and allocation low. Shameless ,greedy people , they only care about themselves.

Justified theft in Nigerian political system. Pls what was the severance package of George W bush and his cabinet members when they left office.

That's a huge sum of money.

Just Sayin' said...

These are the reasons we need these people out of government.

Massive severance allowance and undeserved entitlements for shoddy work.

How much is the average nigerian worker earning..?

This is too much nah, see where all our money is going.

This need to be stopped ASAP!!

Mr 47 said...

Hmm, Not surprise Jonathan/PDP supporters on this blog ain't commenting, After all are hypocrite... Well Linda see how ur Hero is looting our money and killing us Slowly... Not Fair, Not fair at all. God safe us

mikkyjanec said...

nah so they share our money. Nigeria is broke yet, he no reach for they pay.

Uche said...

Blood of Jesus!!! Can u imagine, and a lot of youths are unemployed, GMB please do something please.

Who told you that they are not commenting. That is the constitution. Unless the constitution is changed the same thing will happen if this new administration is voted out in 4 yrs time.

Now we know why our politics in Nigeria is do or die. This is absolute nonsense. They are supposed to be public servants, their salaries and pension should be enough just like other civil servants. This is why you and I are suffering. There is no justification for this at all.

Until this aspect of our constitution is holistically reviewed there will always be rigging, snatching of ballot boxes and killing during elections. They are obviously conscious of a lot of undue benefits that await them as a potential public office holder during and after their tenure in office. Democracy is a scam in Nigeria.....

Oh God wen will I start receiving like this, and am a graduate on same line with dem. Father lord take me there

Massive Package! Uhmm,Nigeria I hail thee..

black zoro said...

ha!!! Jonah you don't have the fear of God

black zoro said...

Jonah and gang you no dey fear God?!!!!!

Roche said...

This is sickening,dis-heartening & discouraging.
Moreso,what of those going to hold a higher post E.g senators & ex -ministers who are now governors????
THIS IS NOT FAIR....

Roche said...

This is sickening,dis-heartening & discouraging.
Moreso,what of those going to hold a higher post E.g senators & ex -ministers who are now governors????
THIS IS NOT FAIR....

Ok after these figs, aren't we going to be in debt??....graduates are still on every strt in ds country, more are still bin recruited to stay on d strt, infact d strt is full now...the appointees are to document because there's no budget for them n see ds huge figures given to one person!.......start bin a human being not human doing!!

All this people are supposed to be in lion of den by now so the lion can crunch them, because all this figure amount of money that we are hearing is too much for them, but still yet they are still stealing more and more. God would punish them one by one. All of them will die of hearts attach. In Jesus name. Amen

Hmm...yet they can't afford paying workers' salary and give states their correct allocation.This is why a lot of people go into politics,despite knowing that they lack the sense to make the country better.A lot of Senators just sit in the house like decoration but the Ghana must gos keep moving into their cars.Nigeria will be a better place if they can look into the ridiculous allowances/salaries/severance pay these politicians get.When they cut theses pays then only we will know those that really want to serve Nigeria.Constitutionally justified National Treasury Loot...Diaris God oooo

My God!!!!! And yet, that bastard Jonathan had the audacity (during one of his interview) to say 'Nigeria is a big country, oil money alone cannot fund the country. 'Yet see how much this gabbage president stand to collect as he steps down from office. May he and the rest of his gang of looters choke on that money!!!What a shame. All that money for practically sleeping throughout his 6yrs in office?Hello hero worshipers, here's your hero. Shame on them...smh

If u look at the individual take home pay..it's not a scam or anything to stab them of...our President will recieve 10m..Davido prolly receives tht in a show...don't let the media deceive u with d full figure in billions as if GEAJ is pocketing 3billion...ok?

Phew! Need me some ogogoro from ondo state. We have lost it as a country.
...Mama J...

It is their entitlements it is their rights go and work hard for your own

@Anonymous- April 29, 2015 at 8:50 AM- relax- the journalist (along with Linda Ikeji herself) does not know the details of the president's 'constitutional benefits', whatever that means. Nigerian journalism at its laziest

DIDN'T THEY say Nigeria is broke? How are they going to get the money. Borrow more before they leave govt. Unbelievable people.
You would think they will forfeit this and move on, knowing this is unjust. Well staying tuned to how it unfolds.

I wonder how people reason sometimes, that the president is leaving office and he takes 10.5million is too much or what or cos he is Jonathan that u guys are complaining

The same bible verse shared yesterday...

Compared to the billions they have looted dis is chicken change......

Bloody yama yama

After if Lai Mohammed talk now Nigerians will say he talks to much, are these things not worth talking about? This Government is the worst since I was born 30 years ago, after Nigerians go forget move on to the next topic within a week! God Bless Nigeria....

Absolute fraud and these are the reasons for lack of progress. "Our" Govt is in the business of looking out for its own survival instead of the basic welfare of the state!! We get the Govt we deserve! This is the price of "Zombie" state of the populace who praise these criminals instead of realizing they work for us. SMH!

they should take it and get the hell out

resume writing service said...

super!!!

resume service said...

Super!!!!!!