Sanusi Lamido responds to allegations of financial recklessness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 March 2014

Sanusi Lamido responds to allegations of financial recklessness

Suspended CBN governor, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi yesterday Sunday March 16th responded to allegations of financial recklessness leveled against him by the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria (FRCN) and the Federal Government. Find the full statement he released below...
I am compelled to make this public statement to address the various allegations levied against the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and cited as the reasons for my suspension from office as the Governor of the CBN on the 19th of February 2014.
As a matter of record, the allegations were made in the following documents: Continue..

i. Briefing Note of the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria (FRCN) dated 7th June 2013, Ref: PRES/188/T&I/89 to His Excellency, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan [the Briefing Note];
ii. The Letter of Suspension dated 19th February 2014, which I received from the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; and
iii. The petition dated 9th February 2014 by Mr Erastus Akingbola.

However, before I go into the above issues, let me reiterate for the records, the achievements of the CBN during my tenure as the Governor: 

The Record

Firstly, let me state that I have been extremely fortunate to have had a solid and supportive team led by the Deputy Governors and supported by the Departmental Directors, as well as thousands of hardworking and dedicated staff who must be given the credit for all that the CBN has achieved. I would also like to acknowledge for the record, the foundation laid by my predecessor, Professor Charles Chukwuma Soludo, in a number of areas. The CBN Act, 2007, which he championed, established the CBN as a truly autonomous entity of the Federation, and made it possible for us to take the difficult decisions necessary for restoring and maintaining macroeconomic stability. The FSS 2020 and PSV 2020 documents provided the principal strategic roadmaps that led to many of the innovations in payment systems, non-interest banking, financial inclusion, the Asset Management Corporation, IFRS, Risk-based Supervision, and the like.

Indeed, it will be impossible for me to review almost five years of revolutionary change made possible by the work of thousands of employees in the CBN in collaboration with other Regulators, Banks and Other Financial Institutions and Government Ministries in this press statement. However, I will mention a few of the key highlights.

On monetary policy, the Bank has improved the institutional framework for policy-making. A properly constituted Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) with a clear mandate for maintaining stability has been established. The MPC has been supported by improvements in research, data and forecasting capacity, and we have also paid attention to clear communication of our objectives to the market. As a result, headline inflation has remained below 10 per cent since January 2013, from a peak of 15.1 percent and 13.9 percent in 2008 and 2009 respectively. Core inflation declined from 11.2 per cent in December 2009 to 7.9 percent in December 2013, while food inflation maintained a downward trend from 15.5 percent in December 2009 to 9.3 percent in December 2013. In addition to the conventional liquidity management products, the Bank approved financial products to manage liquidity in non-interest financial institutions. The CBN also promoted the formation of the financial Markets Dealers Quotations Over–the-Counter (FQDM OTC) Plc as a self-regulatory OTC operator.

In the area of safeguarding the value of the local currency and maintaining stability in the foreign exchange market for the overall sustenance of macroeconomic stability and growth, the CBN over the period has successfully maintained a stable exchange rate regime and a robust external reserve position conducive to sustainable growth and development.

On the Banking System, I was appointed Governor in the middle of a global financial crisis when the Nigerian banking system was on the verge of collapse. The Bank moved swiftly to remove the managing directors and executive directors of the banks where major corporate governance failures were discovered, provided liquidity support, pioneered the setting up of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) to purchase non-performing loans, recapitalize the banks and pilot a process that led to mergers and acquisitions, as well as recapitalization of all the weak and failing banks. As a result, all financial soundness indicators – Capital Adequacy, Asset Quality, Liquidity and Profitability ratios – were normalized. As a result of the work by the Bank, not a single depositor or creditor lost money in any Nigerian bank during or after the financial crisis.

In addition to the quantitative measures, we broke up universal banks and encouraged the setting up of specialized banks (including the first Non – interest Bank in the Country’s history), pushed for the adoption of IFRS and Basel 3, enhanced risk-based supervision, issued Competency Guidelines for the staff in the banking industry, established a Consumer Protection Department and developed a Financial Inclusion Strategy and Roadmap, among others for the CBN.

The Bank implemented policies aimed at reducing the excessive use of cash in the system to ensure safety, improve efficiency and curb money laundering. The transformation of NIBSS, the insistence on interoperability of channels, encouragement of electronic banking, the licensing of Mobile Money Operators, the Agent Banking and tiered-KYC frameworks have all led to rapid growth in volume and value of non-cash transaction and enhanced financial inclusion.

The Bank has played its leadership role in ensuring industry compliance with environmental sustainability and governance standards, including a strong focus on women and the handicapped.

The CBN in the last five years has taken a leading role in providing long-term low-cost funding to priority sectors of the Nigerian economy in a bid to help in bringing to reality the Transformation Agenda of the government of your Excellency. We have provided these funds at single-digit interest rates to micro, small and medium enterprises, as well as to companies operating in the power, aviation, and agricultural sectors of the economy, and also to large industrial enterprises with potential for structural transformation.

The Bank has invested in human capital, improved staff welfare and attracted and retained specialized skills in the areas of Banking Supervision, Information Technology, Shared Services and Risk Management.

On Financial Performance, the Bank has in the last five years kept a lid on overheads and cost of currency management. As a result, the Bank has continued to produce sterling results and contributed substantially to the Federal Budget. In the five years, 2009 – 2013, the Bank contributed N376 billion to the Federal Budget as Internally Generated Revenue (IGR).Based on 2012 financials alone, we paid N80 billion to the Ministry of Finance. On the basis of the 2013 results and at the request of the Coordinating Minister of the Economy (CME), we paid N159 billion to the Ministry of Finance in February this year; the same month the audited accounts of the CBN were approved by the Committee of Governors (COG). Indeed, due to the precarious position of Government finances, the CBN in February 2014, upon the request of the CME, gave the Ministry a further ‘Advance IGR’ of N70 billion in anticipation of 2014 profits.

May I add that, in 2008, the year before my appointment, the CBN contributed N8 billion to the Federation Account. Although the Bank is not a profit-centre, in the first four years of my term, the Bank alone contributed 75 percent of the total IGR paid by MDAs leading to commendation by the House Committee on Finance at several Public Hearings. 

Recognitions
As a result of these achievements of my colleagues and staff, we received numerous recognitions consistently throughout my tenure from highly-regarded publications. These awards are based on a competitive process where analysts and economists rank Central Bank Governors across regions and the globe.

In 2010, The Banker Magazine, a publication of Financial Times in London, named me Best Central Bank Governor in the World and Best in Africa. At the Annual World Bank/IMF Meetings, Emerging Markets, a publication of Euromoney Institutional Investor named me Best Central Bank Governor in Sub-Saharan Africa for 2009, 2010 and 2012. The African Banker Magazine named me Best Central Bank Governor in Africa, 2012. This is in addition to being named Forbes Africa Person of the year 2011 and listed by TIME as one of the 100 most influential people in the world, 2011.

I have always regarded these honours not as personal accolades, but as a tribute to our nation and the committed and resourceful women and men of CBN.

Response to the allegations in relation to my suspension

On Wednesday 10th March 2014, I submitted a Memorandumto His Excellency, Mr President, with supporting documentation,effectively addressing all the allegations contained in the FRCN Briefing Note, the Letter of Suspension and the Akingbola Petition.

Having submitted my response to the President, I am further compelled, following the recent press briefing and comments by the Senior Special Adviserto the President on Media, as well as numerous other references to the allegations in both local, international and online media, to put to the public my responses, in the interest of transparency, accountability and my responsibility to the Nigerian people.Let me also state that I saw the FRCN “Briefing Note” for the first time when it was attached to the suspension letter. At no time was this report sent to the CBN either by the President or the FRCN for comments or explanations. As for the Akingbola petition, it is a rehash of baseless allegations he has been making since 2010 which apparently he must have been asked to reproduce on February 9, ten days before the suspension. It is indeed strange that the CBN Governor can be suspended based on allegations written by a man who ran his bank into the ground and against whom judgement has been obtained in a London court, and who furthermore is facing criminal prosecution at home for offences including criminal Theft.

A careful examination of the allegations contained in the FRCN Briefing Note to Mr President, will show that each of the allegations could easily have been resolved by a simple request for clarification or more careful review. There is no doubt that if the CBN had received the Briefing Note, which was prepared in June 2013, all the misconceptions, misrepresentations and erroneous inferences contained therein would have been cleared.

I am publishing these responses to enable the general public see that each and every allegation levelled against the CBN under my leadership is false and unfounded, and that many of the allegations were malicious and fabricated, having been designed to mislead the President into believing that the Management of the Central Bank was guilty of misconduct and recklessness.

Having provided detailed explanations, backed by verifiable documents, it is my sincere wish that His Excellency, Mr President, in line with his adherence to fairness and justice, will apply the same rationale and rigour to other agencies of the Federal Government that have had serious allegations and queries levied against them, and prevail upon them to provide responses and explanations with the same level of clarity and transparency.

In closing, I would like to place on record the dogged professionalism and patriotism of the staff of the CBN. They have, over the years, conducted themselves very creditably, and discharged their duties with the highest integrity.

112 comments:

Is he the only thief? Atleast he's contributed a lot to the CBN and economy of Nigeria.Sanusi should concentrate on his ambition of being the next emir of Kano and forget this clown called govt.

Atleast CBN account was audited,what of NNPC whose account was never audited for over 5years.
Tired of this Govt trying to cash on the sentiments of gullible Nigerians.

Noted.

This cheapshit didn't respond to anythin nw.

Angie Cape said...

Honestly, I didn't read all that article but seriously, Nigeria does not need all those long story and grammar. What we, Nigerians need is a positive way forward not talk abt missing money everyday.. They should borrow a leaf/two from Her Excellency, Pres. Joyce Banda of Malawi; a future giant of Africa in the making.

*My R1.50c comment *

Igor said...

I am still waiting for a copy of his defence or response to all the allegation levelled against him.After that,I can then make my comment.However,need I say that he gave his adversaries,the knife with which they are cutting him to shreds.

Sensational response. His achievements and awards just tell you his repute in the international community. GEJ is looking more stupid by the day.

Don't 4get there was soludo b4 u...and he left without any noise. I feel ur pain..Sorry iya...pele.... I just hope d next learn from ur success n Flaws..I say flaws cos no mashine is 100% efficcient...ask linda she go tell u say e no easy too.
*The Cook*

He is busy speaking big grammar. We know you are learned oga sanusi, ßut next time, try break the grammar for the likes of those old women wey senior you. Cos everyone ιƨ really interested in this story about our money. Linda you try and break this things down. Lemme. Continue my reading.

This man his guilty he should stop the pretence. #bright bravo#

Thank u for appreciating the grand master himself,Prof Chukwuma Soludo, without him the bank would have still remain in ruin where northern elites left it. Check out all the succeful sector (aside from Agriculture) they were all started by patriotic Nigerians of Eastern origin.
Banks - Soludo
telecom - Ndukwe
Nafdac- Dora
Stock Exchange- Nndi
Aviation- Odua
Fiance- Ngozi

Give igbo tecnocrats the chance and they will turn 9ja into America

Haba linda u don read dis thing finish way u want make we read?

diamondblinqZ said...

Cryinq over spilt milk Mr x-qovernor. We all kn y u were sacked stop actinq as if u r a learner. U shud hv treaded more cautiously.

Please this guy should sought himself out

Penemperor said...

Without being bias or trying to take a position with no full information, listing a petition from a criminal like Erastus Akingbola as one of the grounds for suspending Sanusi already questions the integrity of the FG. This country sha

Penemperor said...

Without being bias or trying to take a position with no full information, listing a petition from a criminal like Erastus Akingbola as one of the grounds for suspending Sanusi already questions the integrity of the FG. This country sha

gabon said...

Summary plz. No time

Mr Sanusi didnot address d allegations. He merely reeled out debatable achievments without addressing d core issues stated in d report by d FRC. English good o! U fit use am do cut and paste. Lol! Make una try.

Respond to allegations and he goes into a frenzied self praise singing. The vanity of this government is just unbearable. Granted you might have worked, does that make your supposed inappropriations right? No!! Stick to the facts and let Nigerains be the judge of your hard work.

What nonsense is he talking about! Abeg praising himself does not look like answer to your query my friend. Na now u no say Soludo work yet u try to wipe his signature off every currency he signed. U be Agama lizard? Abeg

Well said, anyone coming up wit gibbrish shuD do tht wit clear facts n nt just allegations

Where is the response naa. This is not a response to the allegations. All i can see are past achievements and awards received by My Sanusi. Aunty Linda, are there some parts of the response which you did not post. Or is Mr Sanusi just beating about the bush?????

Sanusi is a criminal and a thief who messed up the Nigerian banking sector. How many pple did you throw into unemployment market? Nonesense guy

Abeg lindodo Ω̴̩̩̩̥o vex, which kind long assignment be dis? Abi na M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ Α̲̅πδ dem follow chop d money. Abeg sanusi park well jor!!!

Good one Mallam! Our president will only suspend those saying the truth. The facts don't lie! Fellow Nigerians, pls lets all research on this!a govt that says nothing when its citizens r killed in a stampede in their teritory; what will it say when same happens to her nationals in other nation states? Nigerians, lets put on our thinking caps! This govt doesn't care for u or me and they've made that all too clear! KD

Ok oooo. Coudnt read! Too long! Not my ting! Summary pls. Then I can comment.

Dis man sha,he's jus too proud. I like him though,the cashless policy,when bankz had issues no one lost their money unlike cases of national bank where ma mum lost money when it was abt folding up.

Story! Story oooO. Alo. Everybody is corrupt in this country jare.

There's some sort of orderliness and calmness that surrounds this man. When someone is truly educated, its so obvious to see it in him, because it shows in everything he does, ranging from the way he speaks, how he addresses himself, how he dresses etc

May GOD Almighty, help our president. He truly cant do it alone, even if he really wants to.

In the case of Nigeria, there are too many captains in her ship. Although, only one is recognized, but the rest are operating and demanding their ways behind a curtain.

AnnMarie said...

See his face. Aboki

AnnMarie said...

See his face. Aboki

Dis man sha,he's jus too proud. I like him though,the cashless policy,when bankz had issues no one lost their money unlike cases of national bank where ma mum lost money when it was abt folding up.

Blitz Crush said...

Sanusi Ɠ♡ straight Τ̅☺ †ђξ point n stop much talk, tell us WЂε̲яε̲ †ђξ money vanished Τ̅☺ datz all Nigerians demand 4rm ɣ☺υ

Sanusi lamido sanusi pls stop cry and go contest for Emir of kano

Good Man! Linda please where can we read his response with the actual facts!

DOBY DOBY said...

D write up is much.. makes me feel lyk im readin for exam

DOBY DOBY said...

He doesn't wan to blame d president bt blames it on pple who made d president to believe false statement against him.. seems he stil wan his post bac..

Kerpy said...

This man did not address the allegations naaa....this shld be headed CBN's Achievement n Honours under d administration of Sanusi nt Sanusi Responds to allegation..

Bla bla bla bla bla. Whatever!!!

Who u think Get time. On a fresh monday mornin to read ur long grammar....oga u get hand 4 boko haram sponsorship finish!!!!

Wea don here u .Aboki

this guy jus dey yan grammar , he no answer any of the allegation leveled against him , he just talk about him achievements ...lies n lies this thief no diff from him oga

Linda you mean; you typed all these?? Choi!

This guy did not counter any of the allegations raised by FRC. I expected more from him. If FRC allegations were made public then the counter allegations should be pubic as well. Let us be the judge since it is already in the open - except he merely wants to hide behind achievements recorded while he held sway.

These our so called leaders really think we are stupid and it is only a revolution that will jerk them back to reality. You were asked to respond to allegations and you are talking trash. Now am convinced you should be speaking from a police station not your house. One hour at Alagbon and you will sing like canary walahi!

Toluwalope said...

The true response of a liar...

Cupcake said...

One word from me sanusi you are fired.so sharrap.

You are obviously dense.its copy and paste (hopefully you know what that means.)

please how is dis a response to the allegations????

Hahahahahaha.
I hv better things to do than to read this long writeup.
Bye..

Sanusi finally made fool of himself,he did not address any financial allegation against him..He just wrote an easy on how he came to be CBN governor and how his team of looters supported him..Please sanusi tell us how you use N2.3billion for afternoon foods of your police aids.tell us how you hired a private jet with N36BILLION While the same company and aircraft was not in operation for 3 years,Tell us how you hired Emirate airline for distribution of currency locally in Nigeria While we know that Emirate do not operate local flights operations.

Sanusi, mallam with cow brain go away!

NAIJA MUMU'S! Sanusi may not be clean, but for God sake, open your eyes and ears. The man is trying to enlighten the masses and if that means that his crime is to be investigated and punished with the wanton corruption happening in Nigeria now, so be it. Naija idots, keep suffering and smilling.

You posted the irrelevant part. His response can be found on channels tv website, which deals with the relevant and important issues. Please delete this post and stop being a lazy journalist.

Justice team said...

Guy Google "Google Sanusi response to suspension" check the Thisday magazine copy and you would see the real response. Don't mind Linda. I think she supports corruption by not posting the real response.

Justice team said...

Check Thisday magazine, you would see the real response. Nigerians linda Ikeja blog is not always the full news

Justice team said...

Check Thisday newspaper

Anon 8:43am f stop all dis tribalistic shit as far as am concerned all this people are the same , they all don't give a shit about we nigerians but themselves, and for those who insult hausa people we all are not perfect every one has his/her flaws. we are all Nigerians, so there is no need to insult eachother while the people at the top are there enjoying we are here defending them...which they don't deserve

Justice team said...

Check Thisday magazine

Most people here are just ignorant. Did you not read where he said Those accusations against him are FALSE. All was made up cos he Exposed d $20 Billion which is 3.3 Trillion Naira. You people should face that and not tackling the whistle blower.

I de laugh in OBJ voice. The mallam thinks he is smart abi? He is trying to buy sympathies from Nigerians as usual. Educated aboki take ur time oooo. U are just a mediocre trying everything possible to be heard, so go hug transformer. Tell ur midget friend Hell rufai to give u a post in his Agency to enable advice Boko haram on how to kill all of u. GOAT!

Nigeria said...

Responding seriatim to the 30 allegations, he said the allegation of weak corporate governance at the CBN on account of the fact that the Office of the Governor is fused with that of the chairman of CBN’s board of directors ignores global best practice.
“This allegation ignores the fact that global best practice is that the governor of the central bank is the chairman of the board of directors of the central bank. See Annexure A, which shows the composition of the board of directors of central banks in over 55 different countries,” he pointed out.

On alleged fraudulent activities and sundry payments of N38.233 billion in 2011 for the printing of banknotes to the Nigerian Security Printing and Minting Plc (NSPMP), whereas the entire turnover of NSPMP was N29.370 billion, he said the expense item of N38.233 billion to NSPMP was made up as follows: a) N28.738 billion payment to NSPMP in 2011; b) N6.587 billion accrued liability in 2011 but paid in 2012 when deliveries were received; and c) N2.829 billion audit adjustment journal entry into the account at the end of 2011 in respect of prepayments to NSPMP.
“Evidently, the difference between the numbers in the financial statements of CBN and NSPMP is a simple reflection of timing differences between recognition of expenses by the CBN and income recognition by the NSPMP, with both entities applying conservative accounting policies,” he said.

Nigeria said...

Responding to the fictitious payments to (a) Emirate Airlines: N0.511 billion which allegedly does not fly local charter in Nigeria; (b) Wings Airline: N0.425 billion which allegedly is not registered with the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA); and (c) Associated Airline: N1.025 billion which allegedly did not have a turnover of up to a billion naira in 2011, he said the CBN neither engaged, paid nor claimed to have paid Emirates Airlines.

Rather, he clarified that the CBN engaged and entered into an Air Charter Services Agreement with Emirate Touch Aviation Services Limited, which is a local Nigerian charter service company. He contended that a simple enquiry by the FRC would have clarified and avoided this misrepresentation.

With respect to Wings Aviation Limited, Sanusi said the CBN had contracted Wings Aviation Limited, which changed its name to Jedidiah Air Limited on 21 August 2009, but only notified the CBN of the change on 28 February 2012. Again, he said a simple enquiry by FRC would have made this clear.

On Associated Airline Limited, he said the CBN did in fact pay a total of N1.025 billion to Associated Airline Limited and that the CBN was not responsible for how the company reports its turnover.
On the allegation that the leadership of the CBN was unconcerned about its investment in the Bank of Industry (BoI) despite not receiving the share certificates for investments made since September 2007, he said he duly instructed a reconciliation exercise be carried out by the CBN on all its investments in parastatals and companies in 2009, adding that the CBN wrote various letters to BoI requesting its share certificates.

He pointed out, however, that on September 20, 2009, the BoI wrote to the CBN explaining that the delay in the issuance of the share certificates was as a result of BoI seeking a concession on the payment of stamp duties and other statutory fees from the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) and the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) with respect to the investment by the CBN and the Federal Ministry of Finance (FMF).

On the charge by FRC that the leadership of the CBN wrote off loans supposedly made to staff members to the tune of N3.85 billion in 2012, he said the write-off was not made in favour of CBN staff, but rather it was a CBN board approved write-off as forbearance to Heritage Bank on 17 December, 2010 as part of the process of facilitating its resumption of business as a regional bank.

His response on CBN's non-compliance with the IFRS accounting standards in preparing its 2012 financial statements further indicated that FRC had waived the requirement for the CBN to comply with IFRS standards in preparing its 2012 financial statements by its letter of exemption dated February 26, 2013.
Addressing the issue of unlawful expenditure on CBN intervention projects and donations to universities, Sanusi said the interventions were part of the central bank's corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiatives, which fully comply with the CBN Act and were duly approved by the board.

“It is worth noting that the CSR policy of the CBN is consistent with the activities of many other central banks of developing countries including, Bank Negara Malaysia, the Bank of Namibia, the Bank of Botswana and the Bank of Indonesia,” he said.
The suspended governor also provided detailed accounts on all the allegations, which were contained in the FRC briefing note to the president and also attached to his letter of suspension.

Calabar boy said...

Please Linda, I think you just sought to create mischief in not posting the full transcript of his open response to the query. I read a copy of his response on http://news.naij.com/61915.html.

Its quite obvious, the reporter of this story and in this case linda, posted only half of the story (response), its either she didn't read it all or just copied nd paste from an incomplete source... So madam linda update the post and educate ur readers, its obvious they didn't check elsewhr 4 it, seeing as most of them whr even too lazy to read through this, wen this here was more like an introduction...

And u lookin more idiotic evriday!alys insulting GEJ was he not supposed to do his job?dt doesn't change d fact dt he was queried y shd he be any different!NNPC is stil been investigated .abeg park well no dey yarn rubbish

If I hear

God aff finnish 2 punnish u,but u dnt know, RETARD

True talk my dear

U are a mad Dog!!!! Idiot,Retard

Go straight 2 d point Mallam

U are d idiot ! Stupid tin. Ewu.Faggot.pig

Akin said...

Hello Linda... you did not put the link to the response na! This is the link of the full response to all the points one by one.....
http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/sanusi-lamido-responds-to-allegations/173873/

Of all d names u mentioned,only Dora is a NAME. What's Odua,Ngozi? Gush! Maybe Soludo I can manage.

$$k@y$$

But this guy made no mention of any of the financial impropriety allegations levelled against him. You guys are all thieves, can you imagine this barawo giving El-rufai 5billion as consultation fees. 5billion. Nigerians don suffer. CBN, NNPC, presidency, NPA, PDP, APC, all of the thieves.

Boko Haram!!!

Chika said...

Sanusi has not responded to the allegations. What he did was to tell us about his achievements and awards so as to attract sympathy. He didn't tell us about the source of the millions of Naira he doled out, was it from his pocket or from CBN? What about the Hotel and shares in Access Bank?

Its obvious the Anonymous idiot at 11:21 didnt read the response.

Linda why didn't you put the full response on your blog? For those interested you can read it via this link www.proshareng.com/news/22540. From reading the comments on this blog its obvious majority of Nigerians are ignorant of the facts and are so impatient that they won't read the full text, a people get the leadership they deserve. In a nutshell, Sanusi addressed every single accusation raised against him one by one and produced documented evidence to back it up.he might not be a saint but the man definitely knows what he's talking about which is more than can be said for most of our leaders and people on this blog.

Sis Linda, Your version of the response to the allegation does conflict or seems incomplete as compared to that of sahara Reporters. I read the whole report on the Allegations response and he did respond.

Allot you talking trash dat he did not respond to allegations are idiots. If you want to read his response to EACH allegation levied against him, go to Sahara reporters and you willing the full response there. Obviously linda knows the calibre of lazy intellectually inept audience she has and dats why she wouldn't even bother posting the full response.

Sanusi is a jihadist.

Bonari inaga, how is it then possible for sanusi take cash frm an audited CBN and donate to his cronies? So you honestly believe the story of missing $20b or even $10b . And pls stop insulting your fellow country men, you get?

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Sanusi stirred the problem in the banking industry and used this as an excuse to deal with his antagonists.He closed the discount window for the banks despite CBN being a bankers bank. In the process, he complicated the Nigerian problem by causing a lot of unemployment in the land. He came in to implement the plans of the North to takeover the 5big banks as stated by Vanguard Newspaper article of March 23, 2009.Most of what Sanusi accused the CEOs of, he went beyond with Private jets and similar awards from banker magazine and other one room awards.

Is this a good enough reason to let it go - bcos @least CBN's account was audited and NNPC's not in the last 5 years?

Let's begin to deal with the issues on after the other i.e. if the Govt is sincere about doing that.

I was also looking for the response to the issues @ stake.

Thank U Sir... U jst voiced my thoughts

Oskirin said...

tank God u av responded 2 d allegation.it's nw left 4 d president's bulldog 2 fire anoda counter-accusation or we are nt satisfied response.
if dey are satisfied (whc i doubt) dey shd let us knw.
as 4 u pple dt refuses 2 read d full response n also complainin dt it's too long,well,,,unlimited gbosa 4 una head.coz if 2 say na rihanna/chris brown issue,una megabite go finish afta una don finish d readin.mr presido, ova 2 u if he's guilty or nt.peaceeeeeeee...

Igor said...

Thisday magazine of which day please.

Mallam Wise! who asked u to count achievements? Moreover, dem put u there to go play? U kno no who pass u, abi? Becos CBN has autonomous power, u com 4get say GEJ be de boss. Other CBN bosses worked wt d Federal govt & left quietly, but u wnt to show dt u ar a noise maker, Mr sabi. Bcos u hv ur interest in APC politics, u ar challenging Jona. U ar sponsoring APC leaders to import ammunition to destroy Nigeria becos of ur pple's wicked quest for power. U ar lucky dis president is practicing pure Democracy. If na Obj, u for don die since.

Igor said...

It was the same international organisations that honoured Soludo,Akingbola and Cecilia Ibru that also honoured Sanusi.The fact Sanusi was honoured,does not prevent him from turning into a wolf overnight (emphasis mine).

Igor said...

Thisday magazine of which day please.

Kemikal said...

Sanusi Lamido Sanusi you are being clever. YOU ARE NOT TELLING THE TRUTH. You have a case to answer. You have a lot of explaining to do. You cannot fool all of us. Do you, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, or any member of your immediate and extended family, including your in laws have any undeclared bank accounts or TRUSTS in Nigeria OR OFFSHORE TRUSTS? Cayman Island? Bahamas? Seychelles? Do you, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, or any member of your immediate and extended family, including your in laws have any undeclared bank accounts in Nigeria and outside Nigeria? Do you, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, or any member of your immediate and extended family, including your in laws have any undeclared OFFSHORE TRUSTS in Nigeria and outside Nigeria? Who set up the OFFSHORE TRUSTS? Who are the beneficiaries of the TRUSTS. When was the TRUSTS setup? As CBN governor, what were the connections between you, your family OFFSHORE TRUSTS and those individuals and companies that were awarded contracts by the Central Bank of Nigeria? Sanusi Lamido Sanusi you and your cronies corruptly enriched yourselves, and you know it. El Rufai was one of those who profited from your corrupt tenure. The video on this link, explains how Nigerian and African government leaders, politicians, drug traffickers, armed robbers, tax avoiders, pastors, bishops, "prophets", general overseers, imams and government officials rob and impoverish Nigeria and African and stash their ill gotten gains in multiple OFFSHORE TRUSTS.

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/peopleandpower/2012/11/201211714649852604.html

People just love missing the point.

Linda, please publish all that Sanusi responded to the allegation. You are not being fair to your readers.Sanusi reply is excellent.

Shut up. Guillty of what? Our president too should be held accountable to lots of financial crimes including acquiring designer food for aso rock villa. No where in the world does any president send that much on such issues. And that is just one of mr president's many sins against Nigerians. Whenever someone has tthe guts to stand up to them, he or she is sacked. GEJ is surrounded by hungry greedy yes men.

Justice team said...

Very true, Nigerians get the type of leadership they deserve, if the youths can even read .SMH

Justice team said...

Linda I dare you to post his real response if you are not supporting corruption. Remember that the truth always wins and God is watching you

Linda. You should post the full letter. Incomplete information is dangerous and misleading.

Igor said...

Dear Justice team,I just finished reading the report.Sanusi did not defend the allegations levelled against him.Instead he was rigmarolling and by bringing up very ambigous answers.Imagine not knowing,that an airline that you hired to fly money distribute money around Nigeria changed names,and they failed to inform you for over three years ? Please ! Was he addressing outright dullards ? Sanusi should stop insulting our collective intelligience and face his own music squarelly.

There's no how he could have taken cbn money to El Rufia just like that

Lol....... Obviously that person is dense n braindead

Don't be surprise that majorityof this readers are only glazing thru n not rreading with full understanding. Don't understand what part they find not truthful in his response. Excellent Reply I agree

Thanks so much justice team for all or effort. U can tell that the people that don't see what sanusi has responded to are just pple that don't have a better understanding of anything. All they do is to glaze thru n that's is. Excellent response from a brilliant gov.

This is not new. Before you make your conclusions go to THURSDAY newspaper and read the remaining facts.

You lot in Nigeria have far more chance of Abacha being resurrected that get the truth from Sanusi Lamido Sanusi.

Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, Goodluck Jonathan, James Ibori, Sanni Abacha, Ibrahim Babangida, Olusegun Obasanjo ... THEY ARE ALL THE SAME. THE DIRRENCE IS THE AMOUNT EACH ONE HAVE IN OFFSHORE TAX HAVENS, OFFSHORE TRUSTS, OFFSHORE TRUSTS IN TAX HAVEN, etc.

ON GOOGLE & YOUTUBE, SEARCH:

corruption Nigeria offshore trust
corruption Nigerian offshore trust tax haven

True talk, KD!

Real Naija mumus! Like Anon 12.48pm

Honsylglobal, I worry for the people who allow u to advise them.

Igor, did we read the same response?

Igor said...

I do not know.The one I read is the report that he spent more time reminding us of his achievements and lesser time defending himself.