FG may remove fuel and kerosene subsidies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 March 2014

FG may remove fuel and kerosene subsidies

The Minister of Petroleum Resources, Dieziani Alison-Madueke yesterday gave a hint of plans by the Federal Government to remove subsidies being paid on Petrol and Kerosene products. The Minister gave the hint while speaking at the Nigerian Oil & Gas Conference which took place in Abuja

While addressing the delegates, Alison-Madueke said subsidy being paid to marketers for petrol and kerosene was no longer sustainable and was only beneficial to the rich in the society.
"The continued regulation of the downstream sector has its positive and negative impacts on the economy. But the negative effect is more than the positive. The subsidy policy cannot be sustained any longer.This is because the subsidy payment is not benefiting the poor it is targeting; rather, it is benefiting the rich. The industry needs to move to next level by increasing revenue and curbing oil theft and pipeline vandalism.Without belabouring the point, we are all aware that the government has to deregulate the downstream sector. Continuing regulation, we all are aware, has negative effects. It is basically unsustainable, it discourages investment, and principally, it benefits the rich, not the masses in the society that we intend to reach in the first place" The minister said.
Analyst however say if petrol subsidy is removed, Nigerians would have to pay more for both products. Petrol for instance would rise to N144.66 for a litre, which is the landing cost of a refined litre as against the N97 its been sold for now at filling stations while Kerosene would go as high as N154.36 per litre, N138.87 as landing cost and N15.49 for distrubution margin, suming up to N154.36 it would be sold for

97 comments:

Nigeria ga adi nma ozo! Meanwhile this woman too fine!

Fire wood market go boom now ehn! Choi Nigeria is no land for poor men. A true elitist society. A good initiative, but it will be a while before the poor feel its impact.

Nigeria wil be there soon. With an eye of faith i see and say Amen!

It is good dat way cos d money is not doin we masses any good @ all. Make we dey liv as we been dey liv b4 joor! Corruption 2much 4 9ja.

Nigeria ga adi nma ozo! Meanwhile this woman too fine!

Shyla said...

Kai! This country! And who will suffer from all these that this okpolo eyes is opening her mouth to say here? This is more or less the reason why they have been messing up lately. Inspite of this untold hardship they still want to increase the cost of living for the people. May God judge them all!

Occupy Nigeria get ready.

see her big eyeballs! mtcheew! ogaju

Look at her statement abeg, like she just came back frm jupiter to nigeria yesterday """"subsidy being paid to marketers for petrol and kerosene was no longer sustainable and was only beneficial to the rich in the society."""" So na nw she just dey knw..... Nansance and this marketers that are delibrately increasing this price will be judged seperately by God, #97 and dey will be salling it #150 to us... Thank God they are starting to have the fear of God in them......

What is Jonathan administration turning into?They have made us go through hunger and now they want to complete the job by strangulating us with this subsidy removal again? This is the most civilized dictatorship I've ever seen in the history of Nigeria

The subsidy dat they removed b4. na wetin? Dis ppl are not suffering like ordinary nigerians, whether they remove it or not it won't affect dem cos they will still have fuel n kero for themselves while we remain in scarcity

If there should be subsidy, the FG should at least put measures in place to reduce the negative effect on the masses, I believe whatever they are doing should be in the interest of the masses

Atlist this okada people go stop dey tax us bcos the thing don prevent man pikin into doing many things....

madam,u people shoild use d money u ve stillen 2 pay for d subsidy.

As if there was subsidy on kerosene earlier.
This govt claimed they are subsidizing kerosene,while a litre of kerosene still goes for #150
Under Yar'dua's administration the NNPC was ordered to stop the kerosene subsidy due to the corrupt practices going on in that sector, but they still wenton to their benefit and that of their friends,then to the detriment of poor Nigerians who make use of kerosene. Its quite unfortunate.

madam,u people shoild use d money u ve stollen frm nnpc 2 pay for d subsidy.

last baby said...

Pls they should

Madam minister you and the cabals are Nigerians problems, what will it take for Mr President to give you the SACK. Am sorry our women in the cabinet are only taking care of the men and their family, as long as they are happy the Nigerian people can go to hell

Hahahahahahaha! Our leaders should tread with caution, a revolution is on the horizon if they keep taking the masses as fools. How will paying 150naira for fuel benefit the poor? Are they aware that the rich would not be affected by this? The subsidy they removed prevoiusly what did they use it for? These people are joking with us and frankly speaking the joke gets less funny with each passing day

Linda pls, I support what the federal govt wants to do. They,re 100per correct. Let us the masses surfer it once and for all.

Incompetent minister ,how does ur new so-called policy enhance the good living of the poor.U want to inflict more pain and suffering on the poor and average citizens. I urge u to conduct a proper research b4 making ur meaningless policies.

Why can't we refine our own oil instead of importing at such cost

Toh if it wil make evritin ok!but ds is quite unfortunate that an Oil producing Country doesn't ve enuf Refineries we had to import finished product!smh gas is made available abroad we d producing Country scarcity evritime...na onli God go help us!.

God will never allow the rich kill the poor.

Its about time

AnnMarie said...

maybe the cabal isn't benefiting from it anymore

tomisyn said...

Explain to me again how ds is supposed to benefit d masses? The truth is,whatever they do in ds country doesn't just have an advantage on d poor

Ahnahn è de beru Olorun

This bunch of idiots are calling for revolution. When you push the masses to wall we will turn and fight back.

I dey c danger,wahala dey dis Jonathan administration o I pray make e no enter 2015 cos people go die of hunger may God help us. All we need is change o

Dis fuel subsidy again? Nw its kerosene nd fuel subsidy.... Nawa oooooo abeg mk dem no mk us switch over 2 usin firewood 2 cook

Okay o.
May God help this country.

Nigeria.....

Ipad said...

Ojuyobo,you and Jona better not try it, if not we will paralyze the economy. Nigerians will rise beyond your imagination, enough of this suffering.

Not good enuf!!!!

I think the minister is making a point, because the rich are really expoiting the poor which the subsidy are mearnt to benefit. In fact, the scam which oil marketers, PPMC & NNPC are pulling with the petrol and kero sudsidies are massive and are at the expense of the poor. The so called missing $20Billion is traceable to it as well as other corrupt and sharp-practices.
However, the masses will feel the pain of hike in prices for some time but along the line the prices will stabilize and normalize by market forces as the marketers compete, since there would be competition. There would be prices crah as in telecom industry after deregulation. Let's support her...

Sally p said dis people don't fear God oooo.....Honestly I feel like crying? Y is the government doing dis nau? D money each person has stolen is it not enuf to subsidize dis product? Must we starve to death b4 u people stop? Haba!!!! U guys av The most luxirious life any being could wish for,individually richer than some african countries yet u want the poor to keep suffering? See the number of people that turned out as unemployed in the immigration exams.........pls give us light,give us good roads and give us clean drinking water and a secured enviornment.if u people like raise the fuel price to 500 per litre.

FUNMINISTA said...

They will all perish.they dare not

U can't put d cart before the horse. If u want 2 remove subsidy, provide light, Good roads and transportation system 1st. Else there will be another uproar. This time it may be bloody.

Yeah Right O:) even D gods are still Dancing.

Music:- Deejay Mob – Minerva Entertainment
http://t.co/4jhykv3llx
Via @Naijamember_co @djaymob

NB
Minerva Entertainment Mix tape 2 #anticipate

dhobiz said...

jona will kill us in this country

x-cutie said...

Can somebody pls tell me what Benefits nigeria got from the part subsidy removal? Yet we are going there again. #rollingeyes#

Dis woman wan finish herself. If my memory serves me correctly I fink she said by dis year we shud ve 1 refinery abt 50% of production capacity completed. Nw if u nid fuel for ur generator u nid 2 carry it 2 d fuel station else u buy black market cause fuel ain't sold in kegs in lagos anymore. May God judge all corrupt Pple making Nigerian suffer quick.

Revolution loading...Blood will flow.

Oh lord,where is naija going? Chei!

Sometimes, I wonder what work this woman does as a minister.

Oh Nigeria which way 4ward?:(

God help Nigeria pls vote out Jonathan PDP

One of the most insensitive statements ever

mummy3 said...

Dis country is a country were civil servants make dem selves too important!!! Shh jona shld have sack dis woman long time ago!. Now u pipu want 2 suffer d masses again ba! 2015 will tell

I totally agree with you

Our lives in this country is now completely incidental,we are a direct product of all the bad government policies.my question is this why i we still importing petrol in 2014 when we have refinaries.madam minister are u trying to tell us u dont know the names of these oil marketers .in a country where things are done in the proper manner these guys would ve been charged to court for financial crimes.

We are watching......May God save us.

Dey should think properly b4 removing d subsidy of fuel n kerosene, D rich doesn't even use kerosene its d poor dat use stove 2 cook n they should also think abt transportation, everything will be very expensive cos of cost of transportation. Hmmm!

It can never work you ppl mr president and co.God is our strenght

H S C said...

True o! It is because of all the missing money that NNPC cannot account for, FG doesn't have money to sustain subsidy again cos they have stolen everything. And so once again, the masses should pay. Nigeria is a real piece of work!

Dis reminds me of Fela song-"govt magic".U guyz can do wateva u lyk now, bt. 1 tin is sure "evryday 4 d thief 1 day 4 d owner.Calebsy

Se Jonathan ya were ni?

You are a fool,ass licker ass wipe,can see ur name in full,seems u want favours,how has dis benefited us eh tell me,same bulls hit everytime,meanwhile wat did they remove the last time,pls ansa ooo.

MRS JAY said...

These politicians are bunch of liars. how was it only benefiting the rich when it is the poor that will pay high transport fees. it is the poor that buy petrol to fuel their i better pass my neighbour or is it the rich that uses kerosine too? aye JONA YI ONI DA AT ALL.

MRS JAY said...

Support this economic strangulation? u are not serious at all.

Who cares

And watch Nigeria burn....

Gentletee said...

She is making sense. Its a painful reality. We really have to prepare for the obvious. The advantages seem to outweigh the disadvantages. The interplay of market forces will still will certainly bring the prices down.

But wasn't it the removal of fuel subsidy in 2012 that made the price of petrol increase from 65naira to the current 97naira? What stupid subsidy is she talking about again? May God punish our leaders

leecia said...

If its d way forward y not,whichever way de choose is NT benefiting us d masses so whatever.

They should stop giving us dis crap..they jst don't consider d impact of their decisions on the average Nigerian. Yes, dey are tryin to curb the activities of the so cold cabals but how does dis affect us..d price of garri neva stil change 4 mkt, now dey wanna remove it entirely so we should continue suffering..I wonda y citizens of a country blessed with crude oil should spend so much to acquire it...#sad

Jade said...

When the Lord of hosts arises to fight these leaders,none of them will be spared! God is not deaf to the cry of the masses. He will arise and bring judgement!!

Igor said...

I started suspecting this when the pump price of petrol increased from 97 naira to 140 naira.The Presidency should have been bold enough and told us a long time ago.

Angelic said...

With all due respect 2 GEJ & his crew, I tink dis is d most porous administration ever. #am out of here

I thought this subsidy was removed Jan 2012. Which fuel subsidy again na. Am so sad to be part of this country

didnt u pple av mercy,rememba u ar once like us nt all of u re frm rich backgrd

Maybe she forgot dat she once said removing d fuel subsidy will upgrade Nigeria to a better level and later on we didn't see any changes, so she now v d guts to come out and say dis out, like seriously d POOR will start killing d RICH.
Civil war loading...there plan can't work cos it's gonna turn to a war.they look before they leap.

akpa-ose said...

Wicked generation! Wicked government! Stupid evill ministers! Naija is masses are living on hell in this earth.

akpa-ose said...

Wicked generation! Wicked government! Stupid evill ministers! Naija masses are living on hell in this earth.

akpa-ose said...

Wicked generation! Wicked government! Stupid evill ministers! Naija masses are living on hell in this earth.

Good move poor timing, constant electricity first and then you can do that cos most Nigerian spend more on their generators than cars...first things first

SMDH!!

CAPT J.D

May u n ur entire family 'surfer it once n 4 all'

For those asking which subsidy again? There is still a subsidy on Fuel and as for kerosene well that's a full money making racket.
Truth is now some people are buying kerosene for N150 or don't see it to buy. GAS is safer than kerosene but that sensitization has not been done and will soon be increased as well. Truth is the subsidy has to go if not we will look for more than $20
billion soon!!!
So which way Nigeria?

@iamnoble_d said...

Pls I HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING ABOUT OUR $20B Linda tell them we dnt want oooo. Everything is very bad in dis our so called country. ..

Na you, ur papa, ur mama and that ur imbecile brother go suffer am "once and for all" irretrievable idiot

Na you and you, your papa, your mama n dat ur imbecile brother go suffer am "once n 4 all" irretrievable idiat

"Benefiting the Poor" that is always the line the rich tell the poor....D power situation is very terrible,d average man is providing light for himself thru generator n now the FG wants to increase d price of fuel to 140..is dat not wickedness..NO Light,No Jobs,No security,..n yet dey wld kum n beg us to vote for dem..#Plis Vote Wisely in 2015

Na beauty we go chop?Abegi! If dis Govt removes subsidy then dem go smell pepper!Walahi we wont allow PDP rig 2015...evil Govt..nvr sensitive to poor mans plight.Hw can removal of subsidy benefit anyone?Is Diezani intelligent @ all?

Anyone who does not know that the removal of subsidy is the best thing for naij is clearly not literate

Okay, the problem is that most Nigerians are not literate. Some went to school but learnt absolutely nothing. GEJ remove the subsidy, let them go ahead and occupy their homes and this time, pay no attention to them. They don't even know what's good for them. Government will pay someone millions for bringing in nothing and you want them to continue. Please if you don't understand the meaning of subsidy, Google is your friend. As for those of you who are saying subsidy was removed in 2012 please I de beg una, go hide

The fg is a thief. The previous subsidy removed, where are the effects? The promised refinery is in thin air. Our leaders r corrupt. They need more money for their pockets. GEJ is a failure. May he die n untimely death for causing pain n suffering and may the blood of all the neglected souls lost as a result of his carefree attitude befall him and all his generationz.

My thoughts exactly !!!

Mischievous said...

Stupid statement.

ABOUT TIME!

Unto d next one or previous 1.....Abacha stove

I hate madueke 'the woman whose hands are always tied' so much. i still can't believe she is a woman!!!!!!!!!! subsidy doesn't exist, we know the true story

I don trier for this country!!!

STORY! Just trying to fool Nigerians some more, Smfh

PRETTY GIRL

God shld arise and fight 4 d masses...let strange ailment begin to afflict them one by one. Let God prove to them that nobody is above Him. Seriously this pple r too comfortable n selfish,even if they sell fuel for N400,they will buy n wnt feel it AT ALL. I tire. Nigerians....suffering and smiling.