Alex Okosi, Toolz, 8 others make list of the 10 Most Powerful People in Media | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 March 2014

Alex Okosi, Toolz, 8 others make list of the 10 Most Powerful People in Media

The YNaija list of 10 Most Powerful People in Media under the age of 40 has just been released and yeah, I made the list. Woop, woop! These are people who have gone beyond their own careers and their own empires, and are influencing trends, leading on success, and driving people to action. 

From OAPs to moguls, these are the most powerful in Nigeria’s media space. Check on it after the cut...

Alex Okosi
Okosi is the Senior Vice President and Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa. As an executive, he made his mark by bringing by bringing the urban-music themed MTV Base music channel to Africa back in 2005. It was perfect timing; African music was at the cusp of a renaissance and the presence of MTV Base on the TV screens led to an explosion of quality visuals and great video content from artists. Okosi was selected as a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum and his influence in entertainment circles is undeniable. Only recently, Nigerian radio OAPs were nominated for honours at the Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards and they probably have Mr Okosi to thank for it.

Ayeni Adekunle
Ayeni the great started his career as a journalist working for the likes of Enconium and Vanguard but has evolved to become one of the most important media men this side of the Atlantic. His Black House Media group has worked with a range of important clients from Nigerian Idol and Nigerian Breweries to superstars D’banj and Ice Prince and he publishes Nigeria’s biggest entertainment website The NETng as well its weekly newspaper equivalent. In 2013, he convened the Nigerian entertainment conference that attracted the movers and shakers of the entertainment industry and business world, sparking dialogue and creating networking links.

Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi
No one has a presence on radio quite like Gbemi. Sweet, sassy and slighty tart, she has been working on the radio for over eight years and has quietly built a formidable fan base and listenership that has followed her from her days at Cool FM to her present gig at Beat FM where she hosts the Drive Time Show in the evening. A graduate of Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan, Gbemi has also risen through the ranks to become head of programming at Beat FM’s sister station Naija FM. She is currently working on her upcoming television show.

Linda Ikeji
Everybody visits Linda Ikeji’s all powerful blog. It’s futile trying to deny, the Alexa rankings state otherwise. The blog has become the one stop shop for gossip, heart to heart dialogue, the occasional political commentary and yes, breaking news. Even the federal government is not unaware of the power of her platform, tipping her as one of the media partners for its centenary celebrations. She may do battle with a celebrity or two, but even they would agree that the publicity she offers is pretty much unparalleled. She generates millions in advertising but still manages to retain that girl next door persona.

Maupe Ogun
The television presenter and co-host of Channels television’s must-watch breakfast magazine Sunrise daily may be the only woman in the room most of the time, but she has managed to come across as one of the smartest. And articulate. And fearless. Always compulsively watchable, with her probing and unflinching questions, many an unprepared guest have been known to shrivel under her piercing gaze. Educated at the University of Lagos and the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK, Ogun participated in president Obama’s town hall meeting with young Africans.

Mfonobong Nsehe
Nsehe’s prolific work with Forbes magazine Africa and Ventures Africa has resulted in the eventual recognition of previously under the radar Folashade Alakija as one of the richest people on the planet. As a staff writer with Forbes Africa, Nsehe’s brief is to profile Africa’s success stories and chronicle the lives of its rich and famous. Shunning the hype and the gloss, the Akwa Ibom-born journalist and blogger goes in to uncover the real picture.

Tolu Ogunlesi
Tolu is a two-time winner of the CNN/Multichoice African journalist of the Year, most recently in 2013 when he won in the Economic and Business category for his reporting on Eko Atlantic City. Ogunlesi once worked as a features editor for the defunct NEXT newspapers and his writing has appeared in various international media like The Huffington Post, CNN, UK Guardian and The Economist. He runs a weekly column on The Punch, Nigeria’s most widely read newspaper.

Toolz
Tolu ‘Toolz’ Oniru may get plenty of notice for her stunning physique but she has proved there is more to her than meets the eye. Bodacious, beautiful and brainy, she has parlayed her OAP duties on Beat FM into a position of power, being able to fast track or stall careers with her choice of playlist. Her other gig on the Guaranty Trust Bank sponsored Ndani TV is about to commence its second season and the accolades pouring in for that stint thanks to the probing-yet-breezy comradarie she exudes while interviewing her guests. Those skills translate from the radio to the small screen and her performance on the debut season of the X-factor Nigeria is sure to net her next year’s deal. Is there anything that Toolz cannot fix?

Toyosi Ogunseye
Ogunseye became one of the youngest editors of a major newspaper when she was promoted to editor of the Sunday Punch. She may be tasked with preparing the weekly but she still finds time to churn out powerful features like her three-part piece on the impact of gases released by a steel company on an upscale estate in Lagos state which won her a second CNN/Multichoice African journalist of the Year trophy, this time in the Environment category.

Uche Pedro
The now married founder of BellaNaija, the most popular lifestyle/entertainment website in the country has overseen the growth of BellaNaija from a single girl’s blog to mentions by Oprah Winfrey, CNN and a permanent home on internet web traffic assessor Alexa’s top 40 listings. Quiet, unassuming and loath to step out in public glare, Uche Pedro wields a lot of power as her site has been known to dictate the latest fashion trends, attract advertising mega bucks and corner the market on wedding photography.

135 comments:

Toke Makinwa nko?

Congrats Linda. You deserve it.

Why is Omoyele Sowere not on the list? More like Most Popular People in Media.

I would have scored that list 5/10, if linda's name had not been there, but now I am scoring it 8/10, congratulobia to all those that made the list, especially to you Linda dear!

I love what they said about linda... """"Everybody visits Linda Ikeji’s all powerful blog.""" mehn, am feeling myself commenting in this blog..... Congrat lindiway and the rest names mentioned.....

Kudos

Vivians Jide said...

These are not definitely the 10 most powerful media personalities in Nigeria, maybe top up and coming media personalities in Nigeria. Those that did this compilation need to do their research thoroughly. None of them can make the list of top 10 powerful media personalities in Nigeria of today maybe tomorrow(future)

Mehn, toolz is fucking beautifull on this pic... She is really killing me....

Vivians Jide said...

These are not definitely the 10 most powerful media personalities in Nigeria, maybe top up and coming media personalities in Nigeria. Those that did this compilation need to do their research thoroughly. None of them can make the list of top 10 powerful media personalities in Nigeria of today maybe tomorrow(future)

BLAJO said...

Happy for you, congrats. You deserve it.Hip Hip Hip Hurray. How are we celebrating it, we all did it together,your fans are part of your success."wink"

Onyiielan said...

Lindiway
u rock gurl, happy for u

Congrat linda

Well done Linda nd tnx 4 alwys givin me a way 2 tackle depression.

Onyiielan said...

Lindiway! u rock gurl, happy for u

Onyiielan said...

Lindiway
u rock gurl, happy for u

Congrats Linda nwanyi oma.you merit it.I can't imagin staying the whole day without visiting LIB. You are a very hard working person.keep up the good work Biko.

Topebrass said...

Linda congratulobia. Wat re we going τ̲̅ȍ use τ̲̅ȍ" wash"it nah

Gee said...

4ur tiny mind LiLi...congrats doll

Congrats to all of una esp u linda

Toke makinwa na only mouth she get. Congrat Linda and other's

congrates linda

Nice one #bright bravo#

It's a celibacy ring. It means she's gon'
abstain 4rm sex till marriage.

must see:-female banker who slept with customer for him to bank with her bank photos leak. (18+ only) see photo here

Congratulations,Linda.

Yohooo... All my favorite pple made d list!!! Ik osakioduwa,illrymz,toke,dan foster nd freeze shud av made d list tooo.... (And yea,feeling on top of d sky dat i had lunch wit d 4th most powerful media personality- linda ikeji)

MARKET MONITOR said...

made his mark by bringing by bringing the urban-music themed mtv Base music channel

warri girl shares her nake.d picture on facebook,looking for a modelling company

Ooooo My linda of life congrats..xoxoxo

Maupe Ogun should be no 1....#A.cube_ahmad@yahooo.com

Linda y did u put uche pedro last.

Gudluck 2 dem al .kml

Linda linda I hail oh

Linda dem don cast u o, u generate millions in advert...but criously u shud be number 1 on dat list..toke go para, her name nor dey

So the didn't add Toke, Y naa

Take medal

What of japhet Omojuwa o!!

Cul

@smoothsamz

Congrats My Lin!

Aphrodite said...

Congratz Lindodo! A Bigger u darling. Yea we re Libers, every1 mks a stop hia to gossip, even d Kids still suckling dia mommas stop hia, u're doing a Marvelous job Love.

With all due respect to all the personalities on this list, I can't any list seriously which counts Toolz and Gbemi as more powerful in the Nigerian media than IK Osakioduwa.

Toke and Ik Osakioduwa nko?

Zenki brown said...

Congrat Linda Ikeji. U av done well.

Congrats but u delaying comments too long bfor been post nowadays nd its making it somehow boring..

The list isn't for "the most influential lying journalists or bloggers in Nigeria" that's why you won't see Omoyele Sowore and Omojuwa there. Look out for their own list, coming out soon.

An Honour well deserved, well done Linda. you have done well.

ABUJALAWYER said...

Congrats Linda. Keep up the good work.

Sylvonce said...

Lmao! U no well oo...Lindodo congratulations dearie...if u didn't mk it, I wil so sue dem.
U are such an inspiration, God bless u more...

Toke is over 40.

Nice one linda

tomisyn said...

Congrats linda,u're worth it!

NK said...

Linda congrats, U deserve it.

How come you never post my comments linder? Is it that u don't like me or what? Anyway I'm really proud of u and what they said abt iu is true cos no day passes by without me taking a look at ur blog. *thumbs up girl* love you and what you do

Congrats Linda....Hope Toke makes the list some other time sha..

Aby said...

Yeppie @Linda don did it. Congrats dear!

And congrats to others too

Wow! Congratulobia linlin

For Linda Mind Oº°˚˚°

Congrats my dear you deserve it

Congrats dear u deserved it

Congrats to uche pedro. Bella naija is such a classy blog. U can chose not to post my comment. Thats my opinion aniway

Congrat Linda, even thou I dnt comment on all d events u display, I sure read dem all, even wen I'm very busy @ work, n I comment mostly wen I'm less busy n faffing! I must say, u truly deserve it plus u'r always on point, I dnt get 2 read newspaper or watch news on tv again, I tell d news even bfor it gets on air(tv)! Hi 5 Lindy Love!

Hmmmm....... I'm really surprised Toke didn't make list!!!

Justyswt said...

Congratz lindiway

Lilly congrats! You deserve Ȋ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊. Make sure you celebrate Ȋ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊ i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Nigeria with us.

Whoop! Whoop!! Congrats Lindiway. Keep it going,dont stop!

mimi said...

How culd IK not make dis list?

PROUD of u girl! Kip it up

What I lik d most abt dis list is dat d name of my Linda Ikeji appears thr... I dnt care abt any oda media personalty... Its either Linda or no1 else. Gaskia

Jadesola said...

Congrats Linda you soo deserve it!!!!...where is my Toke now!!!!

AnnMarie said...

I see Linda's name there. thumbs up

Controversial list...

Congrats to them all most especially our Linda, may u continue to soar high...

This list ain't complete, Ik Osakioduwa nko?

Congratulations Linda. even the rich and busy business woman like me can not do with out visiting this blog.

hellloooooo, toke makinwa should b on ds list....

Congrats linda, y didn't u mention ur name in d headline, trying to be humble....lol..

LOL. Annon 5:34pm ur comment deserves a big thump up. Omoyele Sowore and Omojuwa are just 2 pathetic journalist. APC agents of malicious reports.

congrats lind

Congratulations Linda

stranger said...

Toolz? U fucking kidding me?

chy nkem said...

Kip flyin Lindy, τ̅hξ Lord's ur strength!

If you do not agree with the list, create your own.

Simple.

Congrat Dear

Congrats linda ! U sure have the girl next door persona all day everyday..

Congrats queen, you deserve it babe!

Congrats lin....more power

Where is Kemi Adetiba's name?

What of Tomi Oladipo of BBC?

Lindiewe!!! ! Congratsgirl!!!!! If I ever meet you at the airport or something am giving you a big hug... honestly though your blog has made me feel like I haven't been out of naija for 2 years. . Much love babes

who dey empower all these people sef..Toolz ko, What kind of powerful people in the media. Western media or African Media, Social Media or Print Media. Cultivation Theory

I love you linda..hugsss

I THINK TOKE SHOULD BE THERE! THIS IS JUST TO DOWNPLAY HER! STUPID ASS LIST!

I swear if all this people promote u 4 naija + God, u don blow.

Eesah said...

This list is jes complete nonsense. Infact all these people mentioned here aren't in d first ten. SMH

Congrats lindi babe

Where is Yellow network a.k.a ''Every where u go''
Toke, i guess it took you unaway.. Abi u kw get service for BB! SOS... SMH

~~Marilyn

winniekoko said...

I hope medals will be given.... congrat to my lindodo of life!

Congrats Linda...uve 2 wash dz 4 ur fans oh

Ginger said...

Congrats! Linda a well deserve honour.I'm happy for you.congratulations to others too.

Wey toke makinwa? Lol dis niggas dey mentioned dont pop up at each nd every event yet they are recognised. Toke easy

Alldese awards wey no get roots...e dey remind me of IMSU award nights...sho popi

Thanks...everybody get award for everything....miss world...miss earth...miss universe(aliens dey follow?) Enjoy d 3mis fame

Mekese said...

Congrats Linda

Cannot find Toke Makinwa on the list

Congrats, Linda! Where's Toke?

Wow... Congrats Linda. You rock!

Hahahahahahaha nawaoh.

Aymii said...

Sharrap Dia! .....Ode! ..... Cant you see our linda in the list??? And you are even commenting on her blog.....

#Linda of Life...Congrats Baybii....no be beans....ill vote you as my own number one anyday anytime#

ON 2 The Next!

Didi 3000 said...

That's my girrrllllll!!!! Big ups to u, u soooo deserve it
Congrats, congrats, congrats.

ISIDORE MBIANDA said...

we dont get the criteria for putting up this list, anyway congrats to alll that made the list.. here we have media entrepreneurs alongside presenters so its a little bit complicated to match them..well the list says '10 most powerful people in media..in Cameroon who would made this list today- let me see, watchout for the Cameroon version..God bless and kudos to linda.

Congrats Linda. I'm so proud ofToyosi. Ogunseye, it gives me so much joy. Associating with young achievers like that. The sky is your limit babe. I love you

IT'S LINDA IKEJI, UCHE PEDRO AND EVERYONE ELSE.........

Linda u d best...

Linda u d best....

zibaintl said...

d word media get broad meaning o....people wey compile list no know wetin media mean...congrats sha if ur name de there.

Toke isnt there. Im not surprised. All she does is sit in her plain wallpapered bedroom and talk BS wif a fake accent for minutes on end while we hear her dog bark in d background. Madam cant even get a studio for all d talk. Wetin she don do. Biko she shud take several seats. Gbemi sef never do anythin, all na hype

I'm telling u! Lol

sparkles said...

congrats my linda. it pays to work hard. love u dearly.

U dey feel like sumbody now...I think

Congratulobia Linda...very good list...no sentiments.and seeing toolz on the list gives me joy..Congratulations to u both .

stelz said...

You really deserve it dear....u always spice up ma day....I usually can't wait to visit here every day....although I don't usually comment and when I eventually do,I don't get to see it;may be it's not always approved* bbm sad face*...buh I sure enjoy reading the comments too....Thumps up girl,u rwock....

SENAMI said...

THIS LIST IS SO WRONG. WE CAN'T RECOGNIZE SOME OF THE NAMES AND TOKE MAKINWA IS NOT THERE. LIKE IT OR NOT SHE TALKS AND WE LISTEN. SINGLES AND EVEN MARRIED WOMEN LOOK UP TO HER

thank God freeze is not dia,that guy is so disrespectful n disguisting on air

Good for them

where is IK osakioduwa?

I believe he is a more powerful figure than all the people mentioned on this list, kudos to the beautiful toolz ;0

Ineisoks.wordpress.com

waoooo linpopo abeg na where we dey go wash am nah, we ur fans are here for u. come oo linpopo na why toke name no dey here hmmmmmm abeg make she go hug transformer joor, linpopo congrat jare na my pin be dis incase of any party 75952908

Toke ko, Tonto ni... because someone jumps around from party to party doesn't make her a force to reckon with. What achievements or contributions to the media has she done? That dumb VLOG is the dumbest idea ever. Shé's picking her self up nicely though.

Congrats Linda, Bella.

where is 360nobs.com and whosendu.com?

Congrats lini...much luv muah

this toolz is not as beautiful in person like her pics, shes short and just looks likes one fat sisi eko

"that girl next door persona"....Lili darl, shebi u dey smile ni....congrats jor...but cut down on nude adverts...ur one of her kind....stay real. Cheers!!!

Congratulations! Lilly

DRIZZLE said...

Where is Toke?

Gender Equality said...

Linda u don see ur own do ooo.. See as ghost pimples full my body while reading dat column bout u. Babes u are blessed. Sail on swt. my belle just dey sweet me as i dey read am. Thumbs up gal! U did go places INSHA ALLAH. Much Luv.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Keep representing Linda love...
Congrats..

Congrats 2 all of you on d list esp linda, how come wana wana,chaz b n d rest r not included.

congrat Toyosi, u are a role model.