Imo Got Talent creator shot dead in his hotel room in Owerri today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 February 2014

Imo Got Talent creator shot dead in his hotel room in Owerri today

Prince Noel Tochukwu Unegbu, the creator and CEO of Imo Got Talent was shot dead in his room at Rapour Hotel in Owerri today February 4th by unknown gunmen. The Houston, Texas based CEO of Prince Noel Production arrived Nigeria this January to attend meetings and wrap up preparations for the second edition of IGT, which was to hold in a few months time, when he met his untimely death.

The show promoter & talent manager was a graduate of Psychology from the university of Portland and was a native of Akokwa in Ideato South LGA of Imo state.

Heard he was a single guy. His life cut short in his prime. Too sad. His friends have been mourning his passing on social media. See more tweets from his friends...

From Prince Noel Tochukwu's Facebook page
May his soul rest in peace...amen.

185 comments:

So sad....rip

Wow...that's sad o,God help us and may His eye never leave us

NMA said...

Nawah oo,may his soul rest in peace

This is sad... R.I. P

RIP, nwanne

Ego said...

Sad news

Omg!!!! Chei!!!! Ebelebebuoooooooooooooo!!! Hmmmmmmm!!! Rip.

That's sad o,sorry,may his soul rest in peace...this life is just full of vanity on vanity!

Let's all try to be good while we are still alive.

Wat actually happened,so sad,God give d family ,frds and relatives strenght to take dis,R I P,God knws best,crying

Living in Nigeria is by God's grace,anything can happen at any time,no security, u secure urslf sinx our government is mor concerned bout wat 2 guys do in d bedroom n wat we say online... RIP...

seunLondon said...

RIP bro,,,such a loss!!! Your friends in the States, Canada and even here in the UK are still dazed!!!may the wrath of God visit your killers, Amen......#SeunLondon

vivian said...

Wat a sad story!!!

Is Imo got tallent an offshoot of 9ja got tallent? Just asking! May his gentle soul rest in peace! Amen! D living should not his labour/passion b in vain. ***ogamba chux***

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

sad thingzzz again!..may his soul RIP...any "shocking" statement from the police yet?

Very sad n painful exit 4 dis handsome guy.wicked pple shall not go unpunished. Rest in peace! ETTA

Fuck your opinion said...

Rip

N . London said...

May ur death torment the killers. May their lives be cut short the way they cut urs short. We still chatted couple of days ago. U will be greatly missed. RIP
N.London

Its 12:15am Linda Ikeji! Go the fuck to bed! FLIPA!!!

Fuck your opinion said...

Who wasted this boy. Rip bro

My God will surely avenge your death. Rest in peace

N . London said...

We still chatted couple of days ago. Never knew that was going to b our last chat. May ur death torment those that killed u, may their lives b cut short the way they cut urs. RIP.

So sorry that that u left so soon. Wot a big loss? Chamberlain.

Olumide Samuel said...

That's very bad but there's more to this story obviously. Gunmen won't just enter a room and kill a man for no reason...

Reason why most people are always scared to come back home

Reason why most people are always scared to come home

Some times one can't stop asking questions. Who has he offended?What has he done Worng?Why should people derive joy in causing pains in families?Sucha Promising Young Man.......This is why Nigeria has not done anything to put things in place....Our Citizens in Diaspora are Scared of coming Home,our Home-based Citizens are scared of moving freely in our own country Nigeria. Indeed There was a Country.......A Country that knew no war......the Country of selfless leaders,the country where the people's interest were fought for by our great Democrats irrespective of their lives being at stake.....Where is that Country today? In Tears I say "RIP"..May God grant your soul eternal rest and bless your family members u left behind.

Wow, RIP bro.

--N.II.C.E

Chai,look at such a cool guy whose his life is being taken away just like that,may his soul rest in peace,we will be fine with God's judgement towards those illitrates that killed him who cannot create mosquito blood.its painful because that could have been me 3 years back when I visited home.shadding tears,prince.

Probably jealous people that know him r behind his death. Hope d culprits never rest easy until d cruel hands of d law wraps around their throat s

allgists said...

Rip

*Barr to be* Ryan. said...

Sad!

STRANGE... SOOO STRANGE! MURDERED IN HIS HOME TOWN? RIP BRO!

Nikkypaker

FAMMIE said...

God rest his soul, this is why those of them outside wouldn't want to come back help develop Nigeria... Too bad...

A software that can read emotions from facial expressions developed

FAMMIE said...

God rest his soul, this is why those of them outside wouldn't want to come back help develop Nigeria... Too bad...

A software that can read emotions from facial expressions developed

Awww dats really bad R.I.P

Chinenye C said...

Rip such a big loss! Pple keep telling us to go back to Nigeria ! Hmnnnnnn...,,,,,,

SYLVIA MARTINS said...

Hmphh! I dnt even knw wt to say. RIP

I am going to miss u so much RIP

life

life

This is so sad,wonders will never cease in this country oo

RIP. But Rapour is a shitty trashy 0star hotel in an unsafe ghetto neighbourhood
. Sad news really

wat a life

Dis life self e get as e be....no man knw wen e go die. Live right!!!!

Dr Kevwe said...

Choi, painful. Correct man wasted from gun shot trauma. I,ve attended to a few cases in hospital. Only God can save. God grant his family courage to be the loss.

haters-slayer said...

what a wicked world,God almighty will surely avange your death,continue to rest in God's bossom.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmm I'll still say it again we don't hv security in nigeria police re just there 4noting were re d police they assign 4 d hotel? mtcheeew...... May his soul rest in peace amen... Jor

RIP bro..#IMOSTATE.your Fathers land...#ParoskyCandan

Sad! Rip! Oh lord have Mercy! People can't spare lives y? Even if the person ve offended u, y not leave it to God?

RIP dude. May d souls of those who killed u know no rest. So sad! God will protect n guide us n our family throughout dis year from all dangers in Jesus name.

Pretty Abeke

RIP. He had enemies who knew where to find him. Can't trust everybody.

tammy said...

Amen,!

I am shocked at this story...unbelievable

What a wicked world! R.I.P

PinSource said...

So sad...

Igwe RIP

OMG, this is absord... Hotel Room?? Damn we aint safe man.. RIP Brov..

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

RIP,God knws best

Linda, please it's Akokwa!

Prince Noel, Rochas and De Emordi in Houston TX.
R.I.P Prince.

RIP pray god will fish those behind this

ADEBOLA said...

Hmmm wat a sad news RIP broda we miss u #CRYINGMUD#

My villa boy.there r natural disasters dat take lives.I wonder y pple r so wicked enuf 2 tk pple's lives dey didn't create.see how dis candle lite as bein blown off.rest in peace

February said...

Oh dear so so sad! Habatically... RIP bro

RIP bro. I was hoping to be part of his event.
#FYI, it's Akokwa and Ideato please.

Tricia said...

U wudnt av come 2 nigerian ooooo.... Chei

Ada Ejike Onyeama said...

May his soul rest peacefully in d lord. Linda its Akokwa not Akogwa & its in Ideato North local government area of Imo state.

CAN PEOPLE EVER EMBRACE ANYTHING GOOD? ANOTHER REASON WHY I WILL LEAVE AND NOT RETURN KPA KPA!!! BECAUSE EVEN IF YOU'VE GOT PLANS IT'LL STILL BE CUT SHORT...I CAN TELL YOU FOR REAL THAT THIS GUY IS ALREADY GAINING GROUNDS AND IMO PEOPLE ARE LOVING HIM SOMEONE IS SCARED SOMEWHERE THAT HE MIGHT BECOME A FORCE SOON..RIP!BABA GOD KNOWS THE BEST..INFACT JUDGEMENT DAY I CANT WAIT TO SEE MOVIE THAT DAY LORD LET ME BE IN THE FOLD TO SEE SHA OOO!!

Lucy said...

So terrible, guess the killer as gained all he had in the world. God grant him eternal rest and for the killer, God is on the throne!

You leave the comfort of the US to come to Nigeria and you get killed! The hotel management should be arrested with immediate effect. What sort of business are they running?

Damochedxb said...

Oh Gosh!! I hate reading these kinds of sad stories. What a young bubbling exciting life cut short by evil people. Seriously, hell is empty, the devil dwells amongst humans and in humans.. It is such a shame that the motherland is unsafe.. I still say make these guns accessible, lets see whose gun is better when evil people decide to show themselves.. Bastard evil doers. RIP to a young Hustler...

Wetin d guy de find for dat hotel na..dat hotel is Old n Local..same hotel Sam Loco died in mysteriously.. May his soul rest in d Lord #Amen.... Fct Mayor

IF you ask me...somebody took him out bcos he was BAD for business...he or she didnt want a rival. so he had to go...STRICTLY BUINESS

Is akokwa in ideato north... Linda pls change d name of d village nd lga u wrote dia, is totally wrong. Rip cousin. Stl hard to believe... May God accept ur soul

Zenki brown said...

May Ūя̲̅ soul Rest in peace Amen

Remember how you always came to my office demanding I buy that lkcal rice for you. Sadddd, saddd.

After seeing all this, why will people in diaspora want to return home. Abeg make una chop naija. Yankee for ever.....

garcinia cambogia

Amarachukwu said...

May his soul rest in peace,Amen.

Wat a sad story!!! RIP Bro,

This is my cousin u guys are talking about like this. We his family members are yet to confirm he is dead. And Linda am very disappointed in, I thought u do investigate before publicising, never thought u to be d copy and paste type. And please he is from AKWU, AKOKWA in IDEATO NORTH LGA.

There's no smoke without fire however RIP...ik1881

Linda are you kidding me now? OMG! We were school mates and he was just a yr ahead of me in school in Nigeria. This is so sad and very unfortunate. Emma Unegbu, R.I.P bro. Acha

I see consdpirary! An unfriendly friend at work! If not an information from a friend, how come d killer know his hotel room? Also, poor security of d hotel. No detector for weapons. So saaaaaaaaaad! RIP bro.

bravest hrt said...

First tym f typing sumtin reasonable, guess there z hope 4u

Hmmmmmm, so sAd. May your soul rest in peace. Amen

Smtims I jst think hell isn't real, cos with d rate of evil, it won't take pple dat day. RIP 2 d Dead,

lovlyivon said...

So pathetic that no security of lives in nigeria wht a dark story RIP bro

And Who Approves Linda

This Rapour Hotel! First Sam Loco, Now this

chioma said...

God will punish your killers... Your death must be avenged! We imo youths say NO to such wickedness... Bad politicians that don't want to see any good thing come out of imo state. God will punish them! *crying*

AnnMarie said...

may his soul rest in peace

Nigeria entertainments said...

too bad, at the stage he shd be enjoying his hard earn fame, people are wicked sha

read more interesting stories

So sad RIp .......~ chidinma

~Medusa~ said...

Good people with good intentions don't last

diamondblinqZ said...

Rapour... Hmm I comment my reserve. Buh seriously security situations in hotels shud b tiqhten up. May God console d bereaved.

Chuxx Obi said...

G0d why this young man????? Pls lord may you expose his killers.. May they never go unpunished s0 that such w0nt repeat again!! R.I.P bro!
(_\
/ \
`== / /\=,_
;--==\\ \\o
/____//__/__\
@=`(0) (0)

Oge Nsimah said...

Rapour again?.... Oh God! this is heart broken. Is that how nigeria will progress ?just look @ this young guy full of life and talent..my condolence to the famliy,friendz and well wishes.may God judge the evil doers and there supnors. The will know no peace. All the enemies of growth and development in this country will all die .RIP Noel your killer will not go free.

Rip bro but they should close down that hotel because Sam loco efe died in Rapour too. Their security over their is zero percent and government should act fast.

lady kim kim said...

R.I.P,d story get Kleg.bros no go slp lyk dat for heaven oo,come tk revenge...pple re heartless,if he did nt come to nigeria to do anytin now,we will abuse him for staying der witout doing sumtin for his motherland.

I just read thru his facebook page. I think he got himself involved in politics without knowing the tricks in politics. May his soul rest in peace. Amen.

Gudtins dnt rlly last.RIP

So ☹ !!!!!RIP

This cute guy ,gone just like dat? Ooooh no

Linda eeeeeeh..its Akokwa, Ideato please correct your spellings. May his soul rest in peace!

Abegi, even there US they kill pple like fish anyhow. So its just not Nigeria. RIP man! May ur killers be caught soonest in Jesus name, Amen.

Wot a wicked world,am so devastated....MAY HIS SOUL RIP,AMEN

So if there is a good reason, its allowed to waste somebody's life just like that eh? Check ur comment Mr Man. More to d story koor...smh.

This same rapour hotels that sam loco died that useless place should be sealed up enough of rubbish.

I dnt know him but the little I heard about him makes me wept seriously in my mind.RIP!

Lagos state still get more protection than any where in Nigeria....Go rest in peace dude

WABIC said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace.Y r pple always killin.nemesis wil catch upon d killer N hater wil not no peace. RIP

Janelicious said...

RIP handsome one

Hw I wish I knw d people behind ur death I would ha cm 2 say it,so dat dey will be killed d same way dey killed u God punish dem dere useless guys dat does wnt 2 struggle nd become sometin in life all dey do is go about killing innocent dat God has blessed

Same rapour hotel in amakohia owerri is where Sam Loco Efe died. That hotel should be shut down!! R.I.P...

ROXIE said...

Ahhhh this is too sad oooo.... a young man wif good intensions 2 promote talent. May d killers know NO PEACE!!!!!!

So sad... RIP

Eeeyaa am just speechless,thinking it happened in my own state. The hearts of men, why sooo wicked...

Rapour hotels Again...that's the same hotel Sam Loco efe died.Investigation is needed pls

albertblessing71@gmail.com said...

Same hotel Sam loco died. RIP.

Gbam! Real shitty hotel in Amakohia with no security. I don't know what he was doing in that dead part of town. The hotel and location made him vulnerable

Same hotel Sam loco. Died. RIP.

win said...

This is definitely the plots of those that detests good thing. Good things dey give them running stomach. Rip bro

wht a wicked world

Same hotel Sam loco died. RIP.

How do u kno his soul is gentle?? Linda, why r u concerned with his single status?

Of all hotels in owerri he chose to stay @ Rapour, dt dead zone dt people don't come out alive, d same hotel Sam loco Efe died mysteriously. RIP to him

What a sad story.....Indeed, it's a wicked world. Prince Noel, may ur soul rest in perfect peace, Amen. And may d Almighty avenge u in Jesus Name, Amen.

RIP Bro! Our govt,police are dead!!!!

Harnikky

Think b4 u speak sisi...

Exactly my point. Y did he lodge at Rapour hotel of all places. Dat probably has rats n snakes n creepy crawlies in Amakohia.

Eyah

PAVOUR said...

Shit!! Shit! Shit! Linda u must follow up for justice. What nonsense. Such a handsom dude. He left tx 20 Jan and being killed in less than a month. The government of imo should explain n produce d killers. And that hotel also. Good vision, nice guy wasted. How can naijas abroad fell free to come home n impact knowledge to d younth. Oh no this cant be true. ..crying.

Security challenges always a problem in this country.. Instead of tackling vital issues they are looking out for unnecessary actions to carry out like the Ban of sachet water production and sales.. Make I no talk pass like this. Dint know if they've passed the bill on cyber whatever #Mr Lucky

Hw I wish I knw dose dat killed u,I would ha cm out 2 say it so dey will be killed d same way dey killed u God punish dem nonsense instead people will be praying 4 God 2 bless dem d same way he blessed odas wat dey re after is hw dey will waste d ones God has blessed RIP nwoke oma God will surely tk care of ur killers

JIRO said...

Emmanuel, you came back with good tidings for our people and now this..... we talked about how big the season 2 of Imo Got Talent would be and now this..... you left for the US to pursue your passion when becoming a priest became impossible after leaving the Seminary and now this.... we relished the joy of eventually ensuring that IGT starts this February and now this.... God I am so moved to ask 'why' but I won't because You hold the key to our lives. Please grant Toochukwu Emmanuel Unegbu aka PrinceNoel my friend eternal rest in Your bossom... Amen. For the records, Emma was from Akokwa in Ideato North of Imo State and not Akogwa in Ideator South as reported. This life sha.......

This guy wouldn't go to that rapour.hotel.with his clear eye, cuz that hotel is old and irritating, the person that lured him to that hotel killed him. Shikena...RIP my imo brother.....

In nigeria,d righteous keeps dying bt d wicked liv n continue do evil

RIP broda.

miriam-generous said...

RIP dear, *tears* sometimes I wonder why we complain about the government when we are the problem in that country taking the life of your fellow citizen won't make you a true nigerian. where is the love for one another? when you are filled with envy, jealousy, hatred what more can come out of that nothing but this type of situation that happened to this young and promising man. May God give his family the strength to bear this irreparable loss.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

So sad. RIP.

He was my blossom friend. He always call me from Houston telling me how he wants to empower the people of Imo. May his killers never go unpunished.. Adeui bro..Sley

Igor said...

Imo State and it's political killings.The management of that hotel should do more security wise.It is my favourite neighbourhood hotel in Owerri.Linda it is Akokwa,in Ideato North LGA.As an Nkwerre girl,you should know better,since it is about 25 minutes drive to your place.

When they tell them to read righteous man in power....they won't read. Another life wasted.All you do is promote gay marriages. Lord help you.

RIP Dear.
This was how they shot and killed Irawo Adamolekun in Lagos traffic and no body has done anything!
*Chayanna*

Whats going on, ar we now making nigeria so difficult 4 nigerians abroad to invest nd promote d young ones? RIP BRO.

This Rapour Hotel,not safe oooo.

May his soul rest in peace

wat a tragedy, this is sad, God shld pls unveil the killers of this well meaning Nigerian

What na, why are people wicked? RIP

So sad 9ja infact Africa no wan better thing kai!!!! RIP

Mikun said...

Soo sad, May God forgive his sins and accept his soul. @ Olumide Samuel I want to be suree you don't mean ur sentence.

Dis is so sad.
So hotels are not as secured as i thought.
What happened at d reception! or people just go in & out as dey please. Ain't dey suppose 2 confirm dat dere customer wants 2 see a guest b4 d person is allowed in.
Lawless in every ramification.

RIP Young Man......

Dis is so sad.
So hotels are not as secured as i thought.
What happened at d reception! or people just go in & out as dey please. Ain't dey suppose 2 confirm dat dere customer wants 2 see a guest b4 d person is allowed in.
Lawless in every ramification.

RIP Young Man......

I read on imo state blog website that he was pronounced dead when they got to FMC hospital. This is very sad. Somebody posted on his fb page that he received money from the govt for contract he did or somethn like dat on Monday b4 he died. That also makes sense bcos his last status on his fb was a "check in" at govt. House and he wrote #meetingthings.

Sorry bro. RIP

The evil men do these days even surprise the devil himself.... RIP bro and may ur killers be brought to law amen!!!

Really sad, who could have done this? Too many wicked people in that country, it could even be people that are close to him out of jealousy…Hmm. R.I.P

U cant really blame d police in this case. Probably, d guy just gave himself up by showing off to d wrong people that him carry n those people took advantage of d info he fed them abt his lifestyle.
Too bad it ended this way

...That's a good start to findig d killers cuz some of d hotel staff orchestrated this murder from d info they received about d guy

So tell us d real truth if u doubt that he died as Linda informed us...hope its not true. Please, tell us, we're waiting 4 d real truth

naija politician are wickced. Let your soul haunt those who killed you at this prime age. We will miss you bro

Rapour Hotel has always been a den of Robbers. It was the same Hotel where Sam Locco Died. The Owner was a 419 Kingpin, may be they thought the guy has Dollars. R.I.P

Mscherryswank said...

Casually reading the blog and I see my uncle has been shot dead. Speechless is all I am right now...Rip

Rest In Peace Brother...

u must be a mortuary attendant in USA since u dnt knw the difference btw blossom and bossom.

May ur soul rest in peace nwanne,God knows best.

Rip 2 d dead.

Yes! This old village mentality still exist amongst some of our people. Instead of tapping from his talents, by helping his efforts to blossom, so they can also grow from him, those people have just cut his life off out of jealousy

What a sad news i just came back from Naija a week ago very peaceful xmas n new year no kidnapping no robbering until now very shocking story, possibly something is behind this guys death, rest in peace dear.

Izubanj said...

Short of words......... So u jes left me??????? U will surely b missed.....

Izubanj said...

Short of words......... So u jes left me uncle Tochukwu??????? U will surely b missed.....

Izubanj said...

Short of words...... So u jes left me uncle Tochukwu?????? U will surely b missed!!!!!!!?

This same Rapour hotel Sam loco died in.

I've not stepped into Africa since 2003 and I DO NOT have the urge to. Too much evil

Emma, I still remember the last evening i stayed with you at the parish, and how we shared the stories about our secondary school days and our experiences outside the country, how happy we were when we were parting. Emma so that will be the last. i cant hold my tears. May the Lord who allowed this to happen to you take you into His kingdom, where we will meet to part no more. Sleep well Uneeee as we used to greet Till we meet to part no more.

Babe! said...

HOUSTON will miss you!!!

It is a great pain to lose a great son of igbo land. may his soul rest in peace amen

Hell await wasters of blood whether they believe it or not. Should this be a reward to get for this young promising Nigerian for having his country in mind. I wonder what people gain from killing fellow human. But the truth is that the wicked will never go unpunished. May the Lord console your family and good friends. RIP

Stan Nkwocha said...

Had the opportunity of doing some media hype for him and his Imo Got Talent project. I even got a US visa to travel for the later cancelled IMO Day in Houston Texas, through him. Called me wen he flew into Lagos and when he got into Owerri, just as we always chatted on BB as we always pinged. Am short of words, but truth is no matter where he stayed, no matter what happened, the Government of IMO State MUST ensure that the Police brings his killers to book! No excuse and it's as simple as that. We counting and soon we will go haywire on the streets of IMO till the Police does its job. No excuse!
Adieu Noel. Stan Nkwocha

Prince Noel gets Candle light concert March 2.
------------------------------------------------------------------
Friends of late United State of America based show promoter, Prince Noel Tochukwu Unegbu will on
March 2, 2014 hold a Candle Light Concert for the deceased in Owerri.
The event which is event to feature testimonies and performances will be held at Heroes Lounge’s Pool
Side from 5:00pm to 7:30pm.
Friends of the deceased around and outside the country will attend the event en masse to support the family.

His friends in Houston, Texas have already set the ball rolling by putting up a similar event on February 28, at Igbo Catholic Community Centre
8250 Creek Bend DR Houston Texas from 8:00pm to 2:00am.

Prince Ikem Obioma, one of the facilitators of the event in Nigeria and project manager IMO GOT TALENT said “Noel deserves a bigger event because he has always believed in talents that are rooming the streets. He put up Imo Got Talent to harness
them; his dream was to see talented children from the streets become international stars. He spent his
money for it, came home for it and died while trying to achieve it. There is nothing more we can do for him now but to support the family and see that his dreams are sustained”

Comedians Yellow Mouth, and Prince White are to make appearances at the event while Acharaman, LMG, Floxy are among the artistes to perform at the event.

Those who wish to support or play any role at the event can contact Hardy on 08038704454 or
Obioma on 07066978780.

I'm amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter
a blog that's both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit
the nail on the head. The problem is something that not
enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
Now i'm very happy that I found this in my hunt for something relating
to this.

Feel free to surf to my blog post max garcinia burn super colon cleanse pills