Uganda may be a homohobic country, but their men rank high in Googling gay porn | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 January 2014

Uganda may be a homohobic country, but their men rank high in Googling gay porn

Uganda is 3rd on the list of countries where "man f**king man" is most searched for, behind Kenya and Pakistan according to a new article by the UK Guardian. Check on it below...
The anti-homosexuality bill in Uganda is more than simply a bill about homosexuality, and it is more than a pernicious piece of local legislation that affects Uganda alone. Of course, the bill itself is bad enough. Originally conceived back in 2009, it was introduced with the aim of ridding Uganda of homosexuality and, to begin with, contained the death penalty. An international outcry forced the Ugandans to drop that section of the bill, but the form in which it passed through the legislature just before Christmas is dreadful enough, with homosexuality now leading to life imprisonment and a prison sentence for those who do not report gay people to the authorities within 24 hours.
Homosexuality is here understood as not just anal sex between men (yes, it's worth pointing out to some people that straight couples can just as easily do that sort of thing too), but also as same-sex snogging and heavy petting. On Wednesday, a gathering of 50 or so people outside the Ugandan embassy in London called on the president not to sign the bill, but there is little sign that he will listen. Described by its supporters as a "Christmas present", Peter Tatchell has it rather differently: "The bill is in some respects even more draconian than the extreme homophobic laws of countries like Saudi Arabia and Iran." Uganda is set to become the anti-gay capital of the world.

Last year, Google published statistics about the places in the world where their search engine was most used to find gay porn sites. The results were extraordinary. According to its figures, Uganda is third on the list of counties where "man fucking man" is most searched for, behind Kenya and Pakistan, both of which are countries where homosexuality is illegal. These figures also demonstrate a high degree of correlation between places of conservative religious practice and internet searches for gay porn.

Is there a connection, then, between homophobia and suppressed homosexuality, along the lines of "me thinks he protesteth too much"? Is it that homosexual desires, when shut out because of some sense of shame, can easily express themselves as a form of homophobia? When the US conservative evangelical pastor Ted Haggard, well known for his anti-gay preaching, was discovered to have been paying a masseuse for gay sex, he explained that "I think I was partially so vehement because of my own war". Freud coined the description "reaction-formation", in which anxiety-generating feelings are masked by an exaggerated reaction in the opposite direction. There is some experimental evidence to back this up, with one study showing that 20% of those who self-described as "highly straight" indicated some level of same-sex attraction. This discrepancy is often put down to highly controlling parents who do not allow their children room to explore their sexual identity.
Yes, of course, there are many people who do not experience same-sex attraction who are anti-gay. But one of the features of reaction-formation is its paranoia and lack of proportion. And this is precisely what the scaremongering nonsense about gay people being out to get our children – a common line in the Ugandan debate – clearly demonstrates. In conservative religious environments where God is depicted as a powerful all-controlling parent, it makes sense to me that this reaction-formation will be particularly strong.
Which is why so much homophobia is rooted in religion or, as I would argue, in a form of bad religion that has a misplaced understanding of the divine. And I suspect also that this "bad God" is not unconnected with having been introduced as part of western colonialism with all the control and domination that this involved. For my part, if God is love, then the so-called "kill the gays" bill is not of his doing. And so the battle to overcome the instinct behind this cruel legislation has to include some element of theological deprogramming.

126 comments:

SANDRA said...

Hmmmm very funny. Noting we no go hear.

diamondblinqZ said...

Na wa o.

looolz since u risk going to jail if caught,it pays you more doing you.

I can understand why 2 female are attracted to eachother, but 2 Men..G.R.O.S.S!!! #nOhOMO

When women full everywhere

disgusting

lol. na wa 4 dia men o

Just click here to see how this former waiter now makes good online money from from home

If US should support homosexualilty,what the hell is Uganda? Obama is a virus to the world.
-Yemoh.

Rubbish!

FAMMIE said...

That says it all, the bill didnt stop the act rather gave it a boost.... I'm watching

I just pity them... May God save d remaining #myopinion

Hope Emeghara said...

Kaı!,watz romantıc amongst those two naw?..fearfully made dudes!,none z gırl_lıke sef'..baq 2 dah ısh,Well saıd aunt lıly'...

that girl said...

Haha typical.....like I always say, wat two consenting adults do is none of my business....uganda is third, so who d hell are they fooling? I wounder wat position naija placed???? Hmmmm

It is well.......

Eeeew.....

Useless pple

See what these two beautiful Black girls are doing on camera
Here

Hidden Camera Expose a Gate Man and his ‘Oga Wife’ Doing Things
Here

Prophet Caught With a Married Woman in the act.
Here

Best Ass Shake Ever
Here

Eeeew.....

Eeeew.....

Ngwanu...BGM

I dispute the data; there's always some agenda.....and doesn't it depend on how you phrase your sentence/

correct yourself, homohobic *homophobic*

Lmao dose men re extremely ugly***divy***

emsqure said...

please Linda i love u so much and love what u are doing as well, but don't help post these nonsense, don't help them infiltrate our society, we still value our culture and morals. commenting on this is recognizing them, please don't look them, just ignore them. that picture is soooo........., feel like throwing up.

God created Adam & eve not Adam & steve! God destroyed d ppl of Sodom and gomorah bcos of their homosexual acts just to show u hw much God hates d act. Homesexuality is a sin! Its against d law of nature! Pls let's pray 4 d salvation of those dat practice it instead of seeking to make it acceptable! Have you ever seen a gay goat? Or dog? Let's be wary of d devices of the devil in this end time.

Lol na wa ooooO

Queen Eliza. said...

Linda wats ur take on this issue are you with this gay thing or not?

How can someone be attracted to the same sex gender? I still don't get that...WTF!!

They probably just scared there wouldn't be a younger generation of Ugandans!!! Hehehehehe gay people can have kids too you know! Hehehehehe

Paulette said...

I do not support homosexuality but I find these rules completely wicked and unnecessary, life in imprisonment ke!!

Ufuoma asamaigor said...

gays!! Believe me, there are a whole lot of em in naija. Had two "toasting" me in my undergraduate days and that was like 2008. Sets of gay dudes were caught doin it in d public bathroom in my school durin my time (uniben), needless to say they were almost beaten to death. May God help us

There shd indeed be a sighing for men who lie wt men.Woe betides them.

It is a lie. These Oyinbo people like bringing out false reports in order to criticise people who would have different opinoions from them.
The number of gays in their country would be higher their countries than the african/asian countries, so you will expecting these people to be watching gay porn.

I am sure if nigeria did the same, a report would come out the 9ja has the highest gay views in the world

Era of Anti-christ in progress.

Jimcateringservices said...

Common, those people are only curious about the act that is causing so much drama in their countries.

AnnMarie said...

Gosh wat an irritating sight

#End tym

Charl3s said...

Mstchewwww ....see you lesbianism...and gayism are still the same...homosexuality.. To understand lesbianism is to understand gayism......

Oloshi ni awon boys Uganda yii .. Although it is IdI Amin Country .. Guys Banging themself .. Wtf

funny world, we are in

Juwon say say via how sex changed my life

DARREL said...

i hate ds tin cal bonario or wat eva hs name is.i hate him.i wish he cud just die n leav LIB alone*SPITS N FARTS ON HIM*

End time God help us,thank God my naija broders no dey don am

This is serious.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Mehhhnn!!!! The picture ewwwwwww

vivian obey said...

I think dat de world is coming to an end

ifeanyi Anderson said...

D world is coming to d end,let's amend our way!

Daddy's Girl said...

Aru!!

Na wa oooo... This is getting serious!

DARREL said...

Happy new year to u linda n libers frm other tribe exception of d yorubas,not interested abit wit any of them,dts hw i nearly got mad wit my hubby cus he went n booked a yoruba man to anchor our forthcomin weddin,not until i spark n spark d hell out of me,he then drop shd lame idea n book smbdy difrnt entirely n frm anoda tribe.dt aside linda,ve nt been here for a while i mean visitin ur blog,my dear its nt easy for me ooo,ryt now am comentin fm paris,i came here wit my kid sis n a personal shopper bein paid by my hubby ,we r here to shopp for my weddin gown n acessories,sun mornin we wl move ova to new york for my shoes n necklace n i wl also get my fiancee's suits n shoes frm his design,he s too busy to travel.d weddin is on d feb,i wl psnally invite u via ur email.i wud ve drop d venue n d date here,hehe na naija we dey ooo,i dnt want to giv any silly kidnappers a new job n unwanted libers to be thr.dear dnt worry ds s ur year,okay?u wl definitely get married.*HUGS*LINDA wl apreciate if u post ds,tnxs.DARREL.

"Homophobic"

I am gay and pround

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Different strokes for different folks

Timarella said...

God forbid!

Nobody should judge bt God.

Linda you Sound like you are rooting for gays in Naija...I am watching you sha

Phaeton Phoenix said...

@Joy Chidinma loool. Have you made any form of sense now by that post? You can understand why two women would like themselves but you cant understand for the opposite sex? Silly girl!

Linda did you write the last few lines yourself or is that part of the Article from the UK Guardian?

Either way, Nice conclusion. One day, hate of any kind will be illegal. If it is not illegal, then at least, the heaven many of you so zealously believe in, would forbid any one that hates his fellow man.

TOPNOTCH said...

LINDA has am typin ds am in pains.i just gave birth two days ago n came bk home,imediately i enta d hous afta payin my hospital bills,ds man call my husband start beatin me lik mad,telin me to tak my baby boy to his fada,dt he s nt d father.dear has am typin ds he has packed my tins n dt of d baby outside n go to work,telin me dt he doesnt want to come bk n see me n d baby in d his house agn,else he wl throw d new born child outside.am nt movin an inch here,let him do his worst.ds man is owin me 250,000.d money i single handedly gave him to come n c my parent since octo,but he refused n lavish al d cash away.i dnt knw wat to do dear.two days ago i spoke wit a frnd of mine telin here to be prepared for our weddin ds year n now ds?wia wl i hide my face.mum n dad warn me abt ds,i ignored them cus i was in love wic he wasnt.LINDA IKEJI PLS WHAT SHOULD I DO?Pls post ds.

Darrel 5:55pm

Congratulations om your wedding. However you are a bloody fool and blatant idiot. You are one of the problems we have in nigeria.

What has your comment got to do with the topic? Its obvious you just got on a plane for the first time and left the shores of nigeria for the first time. You such arrogant, big-mouth, useless bride. I pity your groom. Talk about Uganda's gay stuff, you talking about paris and wedding. Wonder why Linda posted your comment to begin with. An idiot abroad that's what you are.

I think Uganda's stand on LGBT is commendable. Because it's practices in westen world doesn't make it African. Think the rest of Africa should follow suit... if the west decides not to do business with us, China would and they don't give a tiny rat ass about policies or laws.

this isnt so adorable...

That's an eye sour I swear down!!!

this isn't so adorable..

halliday said...

Darrel u kan find attention ehhhnnn english sef u no fit speak..shoppin ma anus no be ur type so get lost osi sor... Mbeke feelin funky wanna be!!

Wetin dem dey gain 4 dis thing sef?...makes me wanna puke

halliday said...

U hate Bonario @Darrel him tell u say him lyk u b4??or u wish say he notice u?? Efuaaaaaaaaa!

Chidigood said...

Why will u wish him dead? Well, like they said. Be it unto u as u wish others. Look at death at ur front door.

So DARREL you didn't invite me for your well advertise wedding??

Ash baby said...

Attention seeker ok. O u've caught our attention so go. Use am collect money from. CBN stupid show off*flip my hair and walk away*

1st of all b4 I comment pls darrel don't be so mean to ppl okay! Those who said gay exist or lesbians exist pls ask them how were they born? Right there they will know dat gay or lesbian is a thing of choice a mindset and a habitual thing it is not natural

Exactly

Empty barrel makes the most noise.

Linda u should read up other articles on that report and see that ur darl naija is amongst the first 5, so no be only Uganda get the Issh. Naija follow too. So guys commenting here and saying all sorts shd be sure 'cos the truth is that only we and God know what the hell we do behind closed doors on our lappies, tabs and phones.....uwa ntooooo!

Normally, I don't do this but right now, I'm moved by your comments and your Bona attacks to say this. FOOL!!!

Biko kwa.....

gay or lesbian is a choice and sometimes fun i dnt want to say i hate or like any of them but them search yourself before criticisin dem <<<<<>>>> for the weedin and chopin animals makin noice here una mumu na inbuilt i swear

Be it Gay, Straight, Lesbian, bisexual or transsexual, the Lord God created them all. We should be mindful on how we jugde people cause we are not their maker and don't know the circumstance that led to the choices the make in life. As for me I believe in libralism and equality. We all are one.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Very funny...
This writer feels there is a nexus between homophobia and suppressed homosexuality....
Conversely, by implication, then, there is a nexus between homophilia and heterosexuality...
That is the more love you have for homosexuality and homosexuals, the more heterosexual you are!!!!!!
What a logic!!!!

Teeheehee..actually i have seen gay cats and dogs.. btw sin is all over this world. No one sin is greater than the other. Let God do the judging when the time comes...to all of u..just make sure u r living your own life t in a way that is pleasing to God.

Lmao!

dhobiz said...

That they search for it doesn't mean they do it,i av once helped a friend search for a gay mojo bcoz she wanted to see how gays do their thing so pls everybody should mind their country,they shouldn't turn my country to Sodom and Gomorrah

dhobiz said...

Supported! no one is born gay something or someone might either have influenced or encouraged it

But are you okay though???? What a looser

Amarachukwu said...

END TIME!!!

Darrel!!! U are a mad man 4 wishin Bonario death. U'll b d first τ̅o die ....stupid asshole. Tell us wetin d guy do u nw ....u no go fit tlk. Swine!!!

Ur a complete idio 4 dat comment on d yorubas.bsids dat, beta issu ws being discusd n u brot in ur stupid worthles show off tin. M sure u av same sex mates dat y ur distracting us all frm d topic of discus. I encourag all nt to pay further attentn by responding to ha coment any longer. She's jst out here to distract us. Mad human being

Jst imagine I go jst dey die for my fellow guy

olori said...

Ewwww,gays irritate me

Hmmmmm the end time is nearooooo

@darrel wit d kind of evil minded n satan controlled soul U̶̲̥̅̊ hav...I swear down U̶̲̥̅̊'ll die long b4 bonario. Wuhz Ūя̲̅ p,U̶̲̥̅̊ gay?

Mature tb's add me 08168612692.......bb pin 28112e65.........

@charles N̶̲̥̅̊a̷̷̴ђ‎​‎​ lie, they r not d same...two gals smooching or foreplayin is somewot pleasant 2 d eye buh 2 guys even as much as huggin is jus one Fugly picture....yuck!

TRUTH IS, THE SO CALLED "oyibo" 'scientist' 'psycologist' WILL ALWAYS HAVE THEIR WAYS WITH LIES & DECIET. HOW DO YOU RATE A NON GAY INCLINE COUNTRY AS THE NUMBER 3 IN THE WORLD WHEN MARE STATES IN US DOUBLE GAY RATES IN THE WHOLE OF AFRICAS COUNTRIES ALL PUT TOGETHER. THEY CAN FOOL SOME OF YOU, BUT THAT % RATING ABOUT KENYA IS A BLANTANT LIE. If God could destroy a whole Contenent over been 'GAY' Sodom & Gormorrah then am sure God will be happy if such is alterly abolished or jailed or even killed such culprits. May God change the world & teach us to please him more & more!

@darrel abi wetin be your name!you are just an empty vessel!why must you make noise abt your wedding plan.and worst of it all,you dey abuse yoruba!onyioshi,wherey

Dis darrel must be one of dm loser bloggers pickin on linda n bona. Bitch b indirectly mocking linda....may al d females in Ūя̲̅ fam ds gen n d next b used,dumbed n heart broken by men, infact may U̶̲̥̅̊ b jilted n stood at d altar on Ūя̲̅ wedding day dahs if actually therz one, p.s U̶̲̥̅̊ cnt sound ds pained if U̶̲̥̅̊'ll soon experience d joy of a weddin day. ....evil bicth U̶̲̥̅̊

Dm don pound Ūя̲̅ nyash finish shei. Better go 4 deliverance asap, proud 2 b #HellBound oshi

Even animals knw better dn U̶̲̥̅̊

@charles N̶̲̥̅̊a̷̷̴ђ‎​‎​ lie, they r not d same...two gals smooching or foreplayin is somewot pleasant 2 d eye buh 2 guys even as much as huggin is jus one Fugly picture....yuck!

God will give u Grace to carry on. He will later look for fibd a place safe for you and yiur son. since u can make money. raise the child.

Man to woman not man to man,this world has turned up side down already...smh

i have nothing against any gay man. we all sin…and God will judge us no human is a greater judge.

Anyways what i find disturbing is gay men in a relationship with a woman. its really unfair

creamy B said...

Darrel loves Bonario choi!! Nw I understnd y his angry Bona my love run for ur dear life cux I kn u don't do men*wink*

please Linda i love u so much and love what
u are doing as well, but don't help post
these nonsense, don't help them infiltrate
our society, we still value our culture and
morals. commenting on this is recognizing
them, please don't look them, just ignore
them.

God created Adam & eve not Adam & steve!
God destroyed d ppl of Sodom and gomorah
bcos of their homosexual acts just to show
u hw much God hates d act. Homesexuality
is a sin! Its against d law of nature! Pls let's
pray 4 d salvation of those dat practice it
instead of seeking to make it acceptable!
Have you ever seen a gay goat? Or dog?

Na wah....no be small matter, u all are just trying to break ur heads over nothing....it says they searched for gay porn via googles,doesn't certify them to be gays....some peepz commenting here,just can't help but reason thru their butts instead of brains

Why do I feel that the writer of this article actually 'selected' anti gay countries purposely so that they can fully accept homosexuals as part of them. Hmmmmmm, tins do happen. 'Sergio Frankie'

See their rough faces. Among the two of them, who is the man and who is the woman in the game?

@darrel,u must b stupid 4 sayin dat....pls park somewere else.asshole

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ joy chidinma don't dear it don't practice lesbianism, @ anon 7:22 u re d one dat's mumu I promise u, if God want 2 deal wit u if u re gay or 4 supporting gay @all he'll perish all ur family do u remember sodom nd gomoral in d bible, idiot evil dual u want 2 tell me dat God who created man nd woman he dose nt no y or what he's doing? Hmmm I sorry 4 u pple if u no what's gud 4 u quit frm it nd beg God 4giveness or S I smile @ u pple shall.

There bombom shaaa

-linda oya swallow

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ joy chidinma don't dear it don't practice lesbianism, @ anon 7:22 u re d one dat's mumu I promise u, if God want 2 deal wit u if u re gay or 4 supporting gay @all he'll perish all ur family do u remember sodom nd gomoral in d bible, idiot evil dual u want 2 tell me dat God who created man nd woman he dose nt no y or what he's doing? Hmmm I sorry 4 u pple if u no what's gud 4 u quit frm it nd beg God 4giveness or S I smile @ u pple shall.

gay or lesbian is a choice and sometimes fun i dnt want to say i hate or like any of them but them search yourself before criticisin dem.........

Lmao..wtf darrel, u are so evil. He wouldn't die in Jesus, so stop ur nonsense

Darrell, U're obviously GAY! U deserve to die, not Bonario!!!

If U're proud, reveal ur identity pleeaase!!!

The pressure is on for homosexuality acceptance by everyone. These stats can be skewed to shame countries known for their homophobia.

Utter rubbish! Y all this bruhaha about anti-gay laws? Is it a crime to have values in a society?? Dem talk say dem no want, na by force to accept "gayness"?
Abeg make we hear word jare. Any man wey go follow man for uganda na him know o.. They've bin warned!

I feel so cold,noone to hold.my wife is but a stranger,my hearts leaps for danger.I want something that doesn't want me.been hiding ..hiding...but for how long?it feels so wrong...yet so strong...so strong.on d downlow there is no show!

I taya o

Linda common now, some comments are not meant for ds space. I'm sure u love our dear country so much that u won't pray for another civil war.lips sealed

God go continue to bless u,Leave d idiot @darrel. I wonder why boko haram dey kill inoccent ppl when they Shld b after unwanted souls like ds fool.

Ok, they have signed the anti-gay bill into law. Now they should do the same for corruption. 14 years imprisonment or even more for people caught embezzling public funds. When our leaders sponsor such bill then they will have my support and attention not some anti-gay shit that doesn't impact positively to our economy. Our leaders are just jokers.

Am telling u ooo bro women pass men in dis world wetin I go follow my fellow man do 4 wat kwanu ???

Another very arrogant UK editorial. Really annoying how the UK think just cos they indulge in shameful acts the rest of the world is somehow savage and primitive not to agree with them. I'm sorry i don't buy this silly articule.

Who is dat he-goat wishing my liber crush dead, it's u dat 'll die b4 time 'eranko jakujaku, bonario u shall not die but live.. U're Linda re my favouurite here *kisses*

Unreasonable comments, all of u here should seek God's face to know why Linda is reporting the bad things the world is doing to gay people. Linda show love in reporting so u guys could change ur hateful comments, to find reason why Christ died for us all, as much as the sun shine on both straights and gays. Then who are we to question God's wisdom

See aS I go Just Break eva wine Bottle for their small smal Head..!

cindee said...

Hehehehe......am short of words sha, dis world, only God will judge....

Wht is dis world turning into?

The Pink Jewel said...

Judge not people!. It's all of you hypocrites that will still ask ur girlfriends if you can go in through the 'back door'. How does that make you less perverted? I have a gay friend and life is just a torture for him already cos no matter what he does he feels no desire for women. He's born again now and does not intend to continue homosexuality but he doesn't intend to marry and make a nice lady's life miserable. Don't be quick to judge what you don't understand.