Ramadan fast continues after failure to sight new moon | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 August 2012

Ramadan fast continues after failure to sight new moon

The Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Dr. Muhammed Sa'adu Abubakar announced on NTA Sokoto yesterday night that the Ramadan fast will continue through the weekend after failure to sight the new moon of Shawwal.

Muslims had hoped to conclude their fast last night and break it with the Eid-el-Fitr (Sallah) celebrations on Sunday.

Is this 'non-sighting of new moon' all over the world, or just in Nigeria? And does this mean there's no public holiday Monday and Tuesday?

65 comments:

Oba said...

Fasting end today. 2morow sunday 19th Aug is Eid-ul-fitr.

it either 29 or 30 if the moon is sited on the 29th night then it would have been concluded,but if not sited the we have to complete the month i.e the month can never be 28 or 31 .Muslims over the world must abide by this rule.

mary gift said...

How u wan see the moon, my dear linda am in zaria kaduna state and its been raining for two straight nights let them complete it 30days, they always do 29days, at list last year and this year complete am 1 month......

Ani said...

Please tell em its only natural o b4 some "muslims" will take it personal by unleash mayhem on unsuspecting citizens

They didnt sight the moon?! God abeg o!

How will they sight the moon 7nwhen their brothers are really killing people,though alot of them are Good people,but some are so bad,infact,i trust an Hausa person more than a yoruba person,they are straight

9jadeltapikin... Abeg fast don end holiday na monday joor

@ Ani,lwkmd... True o. Ma dear muslims,d xtians didn't hide d moon o,its natural *b4 una come dey bomb churches 2moro*

I hope the moon will never come out, then let us see if they will continue fasting or not.

We ar Muslims, if the moon is not sighted, den we must complete the fast ie for 30days. It can't be for more dan 30days or less dan 29days. Its dat simple

My people pls let's join hands nd help our brothers look for the moon if not when they get tired of looking for it,they start looking for who stole it.

Lol!Smh

Lmao @ ano12:49pm...make dem find am well well! Nonsense! As dem dey enter house of God dey scater bomb every whr dem think say God dey sleep??? Jst d begining,many more wonders dey shall c.

hahhahhahaha............ ooo my, some of these comments had me in stitches. nigerians are clowns sha

U r a clown

‎​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=)),operation find the moon noni.make dem go NIGCOMSAT clarify..

shuga! said...

Lmao @ anon 12:49pm

It is said that if u don't have full knowledge about something pls ensure u always keep ur mouth shut and listen so that u can learn..within the Muslims they understand what is meant by moon sighting the best thing most of u commenters should have done here is ask questions so that u can understand...

Tunde said...

Ramadan comes 2 an end Saturday night with or without sighting of the moon and Sunday the 19th then marks the first day of Eid(Sallah) through out the whole world even here in the States.So don't worry linda ur public holiday is still Monday in 9ja!!!!! Eid Mubarak :-)

Moon de come out next month ooo hope they wud wait 4 it!

I love this country........

moon? How them go see am, u want make them bomb am?

Jehovah probably sent HIS moon on an errand.. they should patiently wait for its return

@ anon I laughed till I fell inside d abacha(Afrcan salad) I was eating. Even me since av been outside my house looking for the moon,I pray they find it soon.~BONARIO~says so via NOKIA3310.

I stole the moon...tehehe

May GOD forgive u guys... Seek knowledge b4 u start opening ur mouth....

banke said...

Allah akbar!

make dem continue dey wait mtchewwwwwwwwwwww

Lol@at the comments. I am on admission at Barnet hospital and it has certainly cheered me up.

leximary said...

I see the moon
The moon sees me
God bless the moon
And God bless me.

AAS said...

I thought a basic knowledge of geography would help explain the concept of crescent moon to some of our ignorant Nigerians who have no knowledge about it.
The Muslims' month is based on lunar months. For a crescent moon to be seen, it has to be 29 or 30 days. Most times, a crescent month surfaces after every 29 days and that is why you find Muslims fasting for 29 days. And incase it doesn't surface on the 29th night, then it must definately show up on the 30th night. It is never more than 30 days before a crescent month comes out. On the other hand, what if it doesn't surface on the 30th days, the fasting must be terminated on that day. The reason might be because of weather condition due to bad visibility readings...then Muslims are asked to follow the readings and sightings of other places where there is a possible visibility. For example, in UK, the possibility of sighting a crescent moon is low so they based their sighting on South Africa's reading or Morocco.

This shouldn't be a an avenue where other people should be attacking or mocking others. It is because we don't understand what we believe (Muslims and Christians) in that causes misunderstanding and problems in Nigeria.
And to Linda's question, it is not confirmed that there is a place where the crescent moon was sighted so Muslims are fasting today to complete the 30th day of fasting. As for public holiday, ask your question.

Hisflyness said...

Hiaan!! Abeg ohh mk una help dem find d moon ohh b4 dem enter chrches n insyd our bedroom! Biko nu ohhhhhhh

My business sector makes it possible for me to meet so many muslims and northerners and the truth be told,they are as angry,if not even more,as other nigerians,with the madness of boko haram. I wish the best of celebrations.@logosfromDac

Na global warming and climate change cause am o.........Linda u ought to know that inabilty of the moon to appear is as a result of the alteration of the climate by green house gases.

Fasting ends today Saturday
Monday and Tuesday had been declared Public Holiday
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

LMAO!abeg which one be 'operation find the moon noni'? All des LIB readers will not kill me ooo.d moon shall be sighted,Insha'Allah !

Tbaby said...

some comments sha ...lol

Laff don make me piss 4 my BB .. Hahahahaha

Monique said...

Sitting outside looking at d sky. Helping dem to look for d moon.

Monique said...

Buhahahaha, hope we don't end up finding eclipse of d moon?

Raylah said...

Whether or not this moon is found, I no dey go office on mon and tues o! I no fit shout abeg..

dem say na boko haram don bomb am!

WHY IS IT THAT THE BOKO HARAM HAVE NOT BOMBED ANY MOSQUE THROUGHOUT THIS RAMANDAN IT IS HIGH TIME CHRISTIANS UNDERSTAND THE MOTIVE OF THE BOKO HARAM ANYWAY I PRAY THEY WILL NEVER SIGHT THE MOON AT LEAST THERE WILL BE NO MORE BOMBING IN THE COUNTRY AND CHRISTIANS WILL BE SAFE

dat one na their own palaver. Wetin concern agbero and over load? If moon no dey, dey shd manage star na. Afterall, all d stars no fit loss!

Operation find d moon

nigerians are such jokers...with your comments...I am a muslim and although some of the comments r silly n ignorant, they made me laugh. loads of muslims around the world a small percentage are evil doers n they should not be called muslims jus like the priests that abuse children should not be called christians...love naija and nigerians though..gambia xxx

LOLSSSS@COMMENTS.....I FREAKING LOVE NIGERIANS........HILARIOUS COMMENTS....

Lmao...be deceiving urselfs..there's only 1 way to God n it's through Jesus

Una wey dey make those negative comments about the moon, u no dey fear God at all. I pity u. Keep clowning!

nsikan said...

BREAKING NEWS:- niger delta militants have KIDNAPPED d -new- moon[shawwal],so dat boko-haram members can fast till d moon wld b seen..dis tym, 1500days fastin i̶̲̥̅̊s required as ransom I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ exchange of d moon..or else, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ WOULD BoMB d M:O:ON....

The fasting continues.

Ikunkun Babbles said...

Lmao!!!!hahahahaha Nigerians have now thrown caution to the wind oh!! no more political correctness!!!!, we just dey yarn am as we think am, chai! see what bokoharam has caused. We used to be so nice to each other.....eeya! !!

Moon don relocate to another country because of boko haram wahala

=)) Lǻ̀́ff:Wǻ̀́n=Kill<=-Mɐ̀́̀́̀́=))Diɐ̀́̀́̀́.̀̀́̀̀́̀ Operation Find The Moon! Lol

Ignorance isn't an excuse for stupidity just saying f u av no knowledge about sumthng simply ask...smh

abeg if u lyk, wait for d moon till nxt yr, u ain't gonna see anythn. Boko haram has claimed responsibity of bombing d moon, idiots!

I stole the moon coz of their wickedness.
Come and take your moon joor its in my kitchen.

It would be nice if they can never sight the new moon so the Boko Haram animals will continue fasting to eternity instead of blowing up innocent Nigerians!

@anon 12:49...thanks for giving me my first hearty laffa of d day....almost fell off my chair laffing...

AAS, u are really an educated fellow, u have said it all, pple in the house are just joking over it bcos they lack understanding of the concept. U can agree with me now that boko is halas (lawful) and not haram (forbidden)

As it is stated in the holy book 'My people perish for lack of ignorance'. Thanks AAS for the enlightenment. It is best to make a meaningful comment from which others can learn, than make a nuisance.......

Dauda said...

This year's fasting calculation is wrong, cos the moon was sighted on saturday but the sun was overshadowing it. Even on sunday, towards the evening time it appeared. This tells us that it was the sun that hid it from us here on earth..

Subuhanalah

I'm really glad as in just a few days, Ramadan will be here once again. I'd like to express my most heartfelt and heartiest Ramadan wishes to all of Muslims around the world. Ramadan Kareem!