Zaaki Azzay's 8 year marriage ends; wife claims years of battery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 August 2012

Zaaki Azzay's 8 year marriage ends; wife claims years of battery

After 8 years and three children together, Zaaki Azzay's marriage to Hadiza Azzay has ended. The marriage actually ended four months ago but we are all getting to know about it now because the ex-couple are involved in a bitter custody battle. The police are even now involved.

29 year old Hadiza told me she packed out of her husband's house on April 17th after being badly battered the day before by Zaaki. She was able to leave with two of her children, but the third one, her eldest child, is still living at home.

She claimed he had been battering her for years, sometimes he would beat her so much she would faint, but her family kept telling her to go back to him for the sake of their children. She said she left him twice last year but returned to him after much pressure from family and friends. But when the battery continued, she made up her mind to end her marriage for good because she didn't want to be another dead wife.

Hadiza was a housewife, so since leaving her husband she has been under the care of an NGO that takes care of battered women. They've given her and her children shelter and are taking up her case.

She will issue an official press statement telling her side of the story in the coming days...right now she's dealing with the police who arrested her for allegedly 'kidnapping' her own children. She says Zaaki has been using the police to harass her. We are also looking to get Zaaki's side of the story. More on this later...

129 comments:

yemmy said...

A big shame to Zaaki for being a "woman beater", that the lowest level of..........
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

bbbb said...

this man sef

Linda correct urself"they police".Na wa for all this men o!!

This is pretty sad, why is wife battery on the rise in this country and it is worse when the family of the girl does not even do anything about it, why will parents keep encouraging the daughter they suffered to raise to remain in an abusive marriage.
I feel so sad about this because Hadiza was a school mate of mine in secondary school.
And women should wise up and look for something to do no matter how small it is.

Linda, please we want auto comments jare, haba we have gone past all this nau.

Smtcheew 2 2aki.idiot!

GlamNotchApparels said...

the way marriages are ending these days ehn....

What's going on with Nigerian men especially the artistes? Are they on drugs? Beating a woman till she faints! SMH. I commend her for leaving the looser. I hope more women suffering the same fate can summon the courage and leave the animals battering them

Can we have more first ladies, successful business women and professionals, etc, setting up safe homes, where battered women can escape to?

Engr Oge said...

Dis Zaaki na correct agbaya. Common sense shld let him know that a man doesn't beat a woman no matter d degree of provocation. I'm a MAN and I know its my duty to protect my wife not batter her. Na poverty of the mind dey worry Zaaki so Oooo. #smh

She did d right tin. Shame on zakky.

Are the police out of their freaking mind? Accuse a woman of kidnapping her own children while running from an abusive man? They should be taking the third child away from him and protecting them....a bunch of idiots

The high rate of Violence against women in our society these days is disturbing. My advice to the Ladies is to get themselves empowered both financial and otherwise. http://bit.ly/MWl33s

Na wa o,someone that is suppose to be a role model is involve in battering woman.what a shame

Zaarki u a a big disgrace.

My cousine was once battered by her husband and inlaws last year; 24hours after we discovered that she was beaten up by her husband who is a bank manager in a bank; myself and my brothers stormed their residence in festac with army and naval officers to keep the peace outside the building while we beat up the husband and inlaws inside the compound. the beaten lasted for 3hours; we chopped off one finger each from all the inlaws present except the husband who we only broke his left hand. Till date, the couple have loved each other more and more because each time my cousine offends her hubby, he remembers the beating and behaves himself. as a matter of fact if Hadiza had contracted her male brothers to beat and mutilate Zaaki, i'm sure they would still be married by now

Dr. Rukevwe said...

If this is true, then it is most unfortunate; I am a guy, and seriously, I don't know how a man can comfortably hit a woman let alone watch her cry from the brutality! It still BAFFLES me! Does it turn them on or something???

happyhausabunny said...

Beating a woman is a NO NO! Y do family n frnds encourgae battered women 2 go bak 2 deir husbands? He beats her until she faints! N she shld stay in d marriage?
To men to delight in beating deir wives, pls pik on sum1 ur own size n gender 2 fight wit! Only bitch niggas do such!
We nid tougher laws on domestic violence pls.

Its easy for us to sit down here,listen to Hadizas side of d story n draw conclusions?supposing Zaaki ws battering her as she claims,on her own part what was she doing?Even if he is a mad man.let's face it

Fitfam said...

this is really bad, why would a man do this? Culturenaija.blogspot.com

But who is azzay? And no, google is not my friend lol

He is a hypocrite! He sang a song "Mata" which he was appreciating the role of women in the society. Shame on him

No one should live in such a house.

God help us to be better men. And please every woman, better find work oh. No matter how rich your husband is.

All this pple that r so quick to point out errors.... Abeg read n waka jere! Its rily a sad case n shame on Zaaki. Too bad!

Frank@ Ontario said...

What a sad story. So Zakki, you still get time to open your useless teeth and shine your torch light abi? are you looking for another woman you will batter with your torch. Shame unto you becos you no go see them again.Nonsense! Na for woman you dey get power, go face rey mesterio Nah.No wonder we dont hear ur name again. Rubbish. Linda abeg post my comment. all this Male musician them be Wash Wash!etcheeeeew

Alter Ego said...

If at all he was really battering her am sure he must have been using those his big torch lights..lmao

If this is true its rather unfortunate.
Despite all those songs about honouring women and empowering women he stills batters his wife?
Thats why I said 'IF this is true'.
I'm not condeming him though, cause we haven't heard his own side of the story. None the less, women battery is wrong.

Na wa o!!! But Linda which one is battered women and battery? Physically abused is politically correct..

shame to a popular man like zaaki,God wl arrange ur family 4u

YINOTINTO said...

may God deliver our women from all this evil men.

men have taken it as part of their primary assignment to constantly abuse their wives especially when they start seeing new ones.

May God help ds woman and see her through this case.

ONOME says.......
Sad all round.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

so sad.

Pheena said...

imagine parents advising her to go back. Na wa

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Na me go marry am haha im papa no like me haha im mama no like me haha.why dey go like u went u be wife beater i sure say if zaki meet im mate im no go fit fight coward way dey carry touch up and down Zaki did dat stupid song so he turned out to be a wife beater what a shame as far as i am concerned zaki is the worst musician to emerge from this nation.
a woamn that ahs given u 3 kids u end up battering her and arresting her for taking her own kids haba zaki ua re a disgrace to the men race

F_Waters said...

sad... the fear that woman must have lived in and the women out there still going thru the same dilemma.. GOD help us

@ anon 1:47 pm. "y is wife battery on the rise in this country"? FYI, wife battery has existed in Nigeria since forever. We get to hear about it more often now, all Tanx to social media and technology.

Zaaki haba may God repay you back in your own coin!!!

BLOGLORD said...

some men could take a woman for granted once they feel she is a liability to them. nevertheless, its very wrong for any man to molest a woman and what pains me is that such men can't stand up to their fellow men outside. "na woman body dem de get power"
yeye fowl!

Critical observer said...

Okay this rampaging problem of wife beating needs to be tackled..

Maybe the senate should pass a bill on wife beating..

Wait was the lady waiting for her doomsday before packing her bags?

Please women do not take beating once or twice(talkless of for years)

O ma se ooo!

surina said...

pls,can u kindly assist in giving details of a reliable NGO that assist victim of wife battering,i have someone with such issue and she desperately needs a help.response will be highly appreciated to save this woman.

Na wa o,men with there problem.

Obj said...

Dis Hadiza looks like one Hadiza dat graduated 4rm Federal Government Girls College Gboko, 2003 set. Abi i no dey see well?

Sugar Ray said...

battery ? he must have used Duracell or tiger head. anuofia beating your wife.

Stan said...

There are always two or three sides to any story. Wife or husband battery is very wrong but who knows the level of provocation(s) administered by both parties towards each other?

Also read & watch & share 'WILL YOUR NIGERIAN BOYFRIEND MARRY YOU?' (VIDEO)on http://mrstanleynwabia.blogspot.com/2012/08/will-your-nigerian-boyfriend-marry-you.html

@OBJ
Yes thats Hadiza Anyamkeh from FGGC GBOKO. all of us that went to dat school was shocked when she married zaaki. hadiza comes from a good home, her step mum is indian her sis are beautiful. its a pity this happened to her . Hadiza we de ur bk!

gbemmy said...

This is sad, under no circumstance should a man raise his hands on his wife, none at all. Besides, I need an explanation on why parents/family friends keep telling their daughters to go back to husbands who maltreat them always. these wives keep going back and still get maltreated by their husbands until the so called man beats them to death. Most times its not even the beating that kills these women.If the husbands eventually kill their wives who will take care of the children, another woman of course and there is no perfect love and care as that of a mother to her children. These wives are unhappy and always wonder ''where did the man i fell in love with years back go to, where did i ever go wrong'' and all sorts. This woman is not the only victim here, i think we need more awareness on this particular issue and enlightenment on marital issues and how to deal with them. Men pls stop beating your wives or maltreating them on very little provocation. There are more better ways of treating issues in our marriages. Show love and care to your wives always. Pls

gbemmy said...

This is sad, under no circumstance should a man raise his hands on his wife, none at all. Besides, I need an explanation on why parents/family friends keep telling their daughters to go back to husbands who maltreat them always. these wives keep going back and still get maltreated by their husbands until the so called man beats them to death. Most times its not even the beating that kills these women.If the husbands eventually kill their wives who will take care of the children, another woman of course and there is no perfect love and care as that of a mother to her children. These wives are unhappy and always wonder ''where did the man i fell in love with years back go to, where did i ever go wrong'' and all sorts. This woman is not the only victim here, i think we need more awareness on this particular issue and enlightenment on marital issues and how to deal with them. Men pls stop beating your wives or maltreating them on very little provocation. There are more better ways of treating issues in our marriages. Show love and care to your wives always. Pls

Sakara said...

Ezekiel ur story s d funniest v read n a while but sad, must it get to that before he could learn to treat his woman right? Anyway as for me o, any man that beats my daughter knows that that's d same treatment that he wl get - I always say t and people wl think am joking

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

Good on you girl i am glad women are waking up and realising that if he hits you once he will hit you again. I hope she gets all the resources she needs to move on with her life and start all over again....shame on her family for sending her back each time

Some hater said...

This is really sad, i was such a huge fan... Maybe he's taking out his irrelavance in he entertainment industry on her. God forbid i end up with a man like this. and shame on the wife's family. Till she dies before their eye will open. Shege Danbanza kowai!!!!!!!!!! *scrapes throat* Tueh!!!!!!!!!!

Priscy said...

Divorce here, divorce there... divorce everywhere. God help us!

linda i think you see am now this won wey you dey comment everyday say you no get hubby wekll it just shows that we single women should look very well before we put our foot in

good she left let us see who he would beat now yeye man

there are 2 things i would never take from a man

1) if he ever cheat on me there is nothing like forgive

2) if he ever lay his hands on me there is nothing like go back

let the woman start her life again without beating before he makes her childre motherless children

we women forget that men are stronger than us and when dey start the beating ehhh if dem never satisfied dem no go stop i wsih the naija system on beating works like in other civilized countries where the man would go to prison

jimi600 said...

Who cares whatever she did. No matter ow bad it gets Zaaki should never under any circumstance or influence raise his filthy hands to strike a woman talk less his wife. Its so sad.

Lmfao.funny.

Lmao!

happyhausabunny said...

Face wat! D@ he beat her 4 doin sumthn he did nt approve of? R u kiddn me! Even if she did sumthn 2 prove him, beating a woman up is WRONG!

Let's not all hang Zakki here!! We ve only heard from his wife,remember that a woman who is bitter can do or say anything to ruin a man,his image too.I don't support hitting a woman no matter what.but let's be wise before conclusion.u all will be surprised if zakki told his part.he might not even have laid a finger on her.Most women are known for fabricating stories to save face in a relationship or marriage.I will advice we apply caution.

Lol, you guys are crazy! Sure d bastard will think twice before laying his hands on your sister

Wife battery is not on the rise anywhere. More women are now just finally speaking out. Nobody knows what happens behind anybody's closed doors. Many a happy couple in public live in misery in private. I hope more women can find it in themselves for the sake of their sanity, health and safety to move on.

It is sickening that family and friends would encourage anybody to stay in such a situation just for the children. Children who grow up in these kinds of homes have numerous problems later in life. No woman is doing her children any kind of good by remaining in a violent home. The children's suffering only shows later in life when they themselves become maladjusted, underachieving and failing adults.

My dear, true there are 2sides to a coin but what should she have done? Fight him back or shoot him? We're are saying that no matter the provocation a man should be MAN enough to leave

Ahn ahn
Hilarious

wen i saw dis his song came to my ming' yan uwa ku bar raina mata' he did so opposite of wat he said in dat song. its is really sad

If u r experiencing battery & u don't come out to talk & ur family & friends keep telling you to go bk bcos of ur child/children lemme just tell u point blank he ll kill u & ur child/children ll live & they ll call d nxt wife mother. So the earlier u leave d better 4 u.
I wonder y women have the mentality of I will stay bcos of my children al I give a man is 6 months & he is married again. Ladies wake up & get tins straight its high time we leave tradition & face reality.

I reserve my comment.

Hmm....I have said it that very soon divorce will like break up!

At Anonymous 2:17 PM May God 4give u o, hmmm! if u re a gal may u not go thur such in ur husbands house, and if u are a guy may ur sistas not go tru such as well...Zaki used to sleep with her frnds and even take her children to his girl frnds house is dat not enuf to bear how much more beating her for eight years dats disrespect, I ve a frnd who once worked in a media house and intervwd Zaki afta d interview d idiot made passes at her... C'mon she could not futher her education afta secondary skool cos of him is dat nt enuf sacrifice already...Wat else do u want to hear Zaki's side of the story for

adukeologe(clickme) said...

Shaaame on you, u should take that anger out on something positive, u need to be beaten, just so u see how it feels.

CLICK MY NAME FOR AMAZING DECOR TIPS THE AFRICAN WAY AND ALSO LOTS OF NICE DIY IDEAS.

NAEGRI said...

There are always two sides to a story. Remember the glamorous case of the BANKER who supposedly crushed a LASTMA official to death? We all now know better.
Let us hear ZAAKI's side b4 drawing conclusions.
It takes two to tango.!

Ezekiel Eseagwu, u r a very funny man, I just love ur story men. And na only Ibo man go reach that level of teaching the silly wife-batterer a big lesson.

I am a woman n I blv when a man is dealt with properly, giving him a lasting physical injury, he will never lay his hands on a woman again. The only way to fight a coward is face to face challenge.
Apia ya ezigbo itali, omalife.

NecFix said...

I hate that phrase "She's a housewife"...I really do. Don't care if your husband is bill gates...Portrays women as lazy + gives men more leeway to take women for granted. #My opinion though.
Having said that, for battering his wife who stays at home cleaning up & taking care of the kids, zaki azzay is a cunt. A massive & despicable one. Anyway, expect anything from someone who goes about with a lighted torchlight in broad daylight

Am sure some ladies wpoud be queuing up already to take her place in the house

Anu mpam,i just knew it, mtcheww!!! once aboki always aboki, they dnt value human lives even as a celebrity he couldnt it even standout. 2bad

hmm i cant biliv he would act like dat..all dese men eh..ny man who raises his hand on me even for the first tym,i go use hot water baf am..he is stupid. i even saw zakky yesday at allen,ikeja.i even greeted him and he sounded so pleasant and 9c.mtcheeeew..
nekkyville

I AM NOT SURPRISED!

Zaaki ur mates dey work hard to release hits for us, u dey busy dey beat your wife for house. No wonder u no get better song for us. Olosi Agbaya

Haba! This is hilarious. If this truly happened then you pple tried oo

Awww, i wish i had a broda like U̶̲̥̅̊
*sobs*

Jojophina said...

Thank God this is a sensible woman,who got out of an abusive marriage on time,some would die there #literally. Follow @ meanminaj on twitter :)

Janded said...

Shame on her family for telling her to go back. Thank God she is alive to tell this tale. She should be careful hence forth though because an animal like this can do worse when scorned. good luck.

Neva liked dis Zaaki guy! Let's hear his side of d story sha.

Jojophina said...

GBAM!

You chopped off fingers? You are insane. Even worse than the wife beater. And the couple love each other more because of the finger chopping, abi? Insane lot, you all.

Zaaki is the host of True Nigerians, how "True" can a wife beater get. I am very familiar with their story and I can tell you Hadiza as suffered a lot from Zaaki. I think series of test should be run on Zaaki, I am convinced he is into drugs.

nawa o, so celebrity(or is he sef)they beat him wife, with all his exposure,some people will foreve be backward in their lives...hipsy

Such men ǎ̜̣̍я̥ε̲̣̣̣ demon possessed

We women need to march against physical abuse in Nigeria.. Where are our female law makers. We have to take a stand against it cos its become a trend. God punish all wife batterers. Idiots!

Its sad that men still beat their woman, be it wife or girlfriend, do not in anyway tolerate that from any man. But if the abuse is emotional what will that person do. My younger sister told me that her husband constantly throw her out of the house, she does not go out,no life in her at all, all she do school runs, her shop which she resume by 1pm close 6pm,nobody visit and she does not visit anybody, in 12yrs of marriage she only visited home 3times, at age 33. Men re jst heartless

Ok na!!! Skul mate kor, skul mate ni. Abeg make I hear somtin jare.............................

@Ezekiel Ezeagwu, I don't get it ooo. You said you lot chopped off a finger from each in-law and not the husband? Was the husband not the one that battered your cousin, wetin concern in-laws? That was barbaric o. It shook me jare! I dey fear you ooo.

I'm sure u batter ur girlfriend/wife. i'm a male & No matter wat a woman do, u must not hit her. S

Someone pls use that yeye torch lite he's always holding to knock him teeth in.... Shame on him!

Tatafo said...

In the words of my boyfriend any man that beats his sister is a DEAD man walking!

Princess of Zion said...

Wow!

It's the Celebration of Marriage Week- Appreciate your spouse today

www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/sex-and-marriage

With his "mata" song, so he use to beat his wife then...see double standard..fake life...smh *Floetry in motion*

Gbemmy,God will bless you!am just showing my wife beater husband ur comment!!

Its true oo! I met the beautiful lady in a saloon in their at Aderanijo in Obanikoro. With a blk eye. After she left was told she was zakkis wife n that the man was always beating her up.

nike babalola said...

Ure a fool

Abegi, no matter what she has done, it still doesn't justify his beating her even to the point of fainting...so irresponsible of him

♍Ɣ dear its not on d rise, it has always been there. Women αяє wiser now & thanks to social network, awareness is being created everyday. Hopefully a law will be passed to protect women.

Lwkmo

You are stupid

beebee said...

Eeeya frustration of not making any hits/waves has gotten to uncle saaki (in suliat's voice) and he resorted to venting out his anger on his wifey.Pls God i pray thee ....let men of this generation know how to pamper their wives and treat them lyk princesses.'Tis said dat 2 shall cum 2geda and bcome 1.....Zaaki can u descend on yur self and beat yourself to stupor?

Linda,

I (once again) applaud your efforts to get all these Female Batterers out into the open. They have festered long enough in the Nigerian society and done enough damage.

They should all be hung from the lowest tree while the abused attack them with knives and machetes.....

***Lush

Also, the NGOs supporting these women need to be noted. (Although you don't want to mention the organization directly in case the woman is in hiding and needs to be protected.)

We want to know who they are so that we can support them financially.

***Lush

Angeleyez. said...

That is ridiculous! So it has degenerated to d point of chopped fingers n broken bones??? Lord have mercy! So basically ur in-laws, including ur brother in-law had to be scared straight to keep d "marriage". Personally I don't think I want to remain in an abusive marriage where d only thing suspending d abuse is d fear of chopped fingers n broken bones! Trust Nigerians a defective marriage must work by fire n some broken bones 4 good measure.

Angeleyez. said...

While I believe in fair hearing n listening to both sides of d story, d fact remains that on NO account shld a man lift a finger to hit a woman regardless of d provocation! That's what makes him a man, d ability n self discipline to walk away.

How does it feel to know that you are just a peripheral act in an industry that you have been part and parcel of for over 20 year? Very frustrating and the nearest person to take the frustration is who? The wife even when she didn't sweet talk you into an arena made for talented people. God is with zaki the lady is not my sister.i would have used bottle to transpose that stupid name zaki to kiza. God punish you! LogosfromDac

Angeleyez. said...

That is ridiculous! So it has degenerated to d point of chopped fingers n broken bones??? Lord have mercy! So basically ur in-laws, including ur brother in-law had to be scared straight to keep d "marriage". Personally I don't think I want to remain in an abusive marriage where d only thing suspending d abuse is d fear of chopped fingers n broken bones! Trust Nigerians a defective marriage must work by fire n some broken bones 4 good measure.

Frank said...

never knew someone as Zaaki who seems to be a lot more enlightened than a man in a remote village who sees women as commodities could stoop so low as to raise his hands on a lady,let alone sumone he calls his own.so so disappointed in him.
do you know you could make as much as $1200 working part-time for some U.S. online firms?.for more info on this,mail me at frankkunrazer@yahoo.com

Wetin I know b say many many times all these beatings dey happen cos woman dey wan show man strong head then d man go show d woman im own strong head.Women of nowadays no know how 2 behave.Too damn disrespectful to everybody cos of poor upbringing & low intellect-correctguy

Yes! She is same Hadiza in modesty house

Can't believe y'all are so stupid here, have you heard his side of the story. All of you are here running ya dirty mouths just because she said she was battered while i'm against wife or even husband battery (yes husbands are battered in naija) it's always better to hear both sides of a story especially in marriage disputes cos the true story may shock you

Nekky said...

Kai. Eziekel,I just had a good laugh after reading ur comment. Funny buh sad. God help us we ladies. Zakky,u r a huge disgrace!!!

You sound like one jobless idiot I know. You are a big fool and a lowlife for saying that. You wld continue sleeping in police cells till u change. Mumu boy with bad upbringing! I pity ur mother

SARATU JD said...

Until the laws of the land can protect women, we shall continue to experience this insanity. And of course the uneducated police force would continue to reign supreme.

SARATU JD said...

Until the laws of the land can protect women, we shall continue to experience this insanity. And of course the uneducated police force would continue to reign supreme.

Meaning all the other wife beaters have northern origin. Stick to relevant points akuya kawai.

You are very stupid for writing down this rubbish.. Chopped their fingers off abi.. U have gone to sell em to native doctor abi ? C ur hat sef.. 419 boy

Ikunkun Babbles..... said...

singing **na me go divorce am, hey hey!, I suppose to divorce am hey hey!.....***

Doo said...

Why are we so quick in jumping to conclusions?Let's not crucify Zaaki pls,just as there are two sides to a coin so is this issue.we all might just be equally shocked when the other side of the coin is flipped.

Gad said...

What does she always do to receive this beatings?a man cannot just wake up and beat his wife,there must be a reason if only she will say the truth!in most cases when husbands esp those in show biz like Zaaki travel their women delve into various affairs?could this have been the case here?let her say the reasons for the beating/battery

@Doo wwhat are you saying ehhh no human being as an adult has a right to beat another human being no matter what dey have done okay

it's incredible about this 2 sides to a story theory, the only side to Zaaki's story i would want to hear is that Hadiza is lying and never got beaten, otherwise any side that involves hitting a woman is not worth listening to. A man who beats a woman is a coward and and a retard and should not be suffered gladly, infact they should receive public flogging, hanged by the balls, under the hot scorching sun and made to fight to death with heavy muscled men.msschiieeuww!

@ Lush August 15, 2012 @ 9:41pm: Many thanks for appreciating the work of NGOs especially those that strive to protect abused women and young girls in society. I have it on good authority that Hadiza was taken to Project Alert; An NGO that is at the fore front of safeguarding the rights of abused women. You can support their work by calling 08052004698 (hotline). You can also visit their website www.projectalertnig.org to see their work. I am an avid supporter of Project Alert

Every woman should en roll into a kung fu and taekwando class for self defence. That way, nobody can use battery to intimidate u. Says team Glow_Sparkle.

even hausa man sef dey do this.... na wa o

mariamah said...

Not surprised, lousy musician, not expect his family life to be any better