Lagos is the 3rd Worst Place To Live On Earth - Report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 August 2012

Lagos is the 3rd Worst Place To Live On Earth - Report

According to a new report carried out by The Economist Intelligence Unit, Lagos is the 3rd worst place to live on earth. Nigeria's commercial city placed 138th out of the 140 cities surveyed.

Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, is the overall worst city, while Port Moresby in Papua New Guinea came second in the chart of the worst cities to live in the world.

Abidjan in Côte d’Ivoire placed 131st; Tehran, Iran came 132; Douala, Cameroon is the 133rd; Tripoli, Libya placed 134th; Karachi, Pakistan came 135th; Algiers, Algeria is 136th while Harare in Zimbabwe placed 137th in the category of the worst cities in the world.

Yeah, right! I hear you people.

72 comments:

LMAO.......

LT

Angel said...

Nawao! Lasgidi peepz, itz time to evacuate!

They are so wrong, its actually the WORST place to live in on earth, everywher is so messy, roudy and dusty, let's not even talk bout the traffic, I don't live in lag, but whenever I'm there its like hell.
Maleeka

Nonya said...

Chillax na. Na every thing wey Bella post you go post? Na competition?

Even the so called posh parts ;VGC, ikeja, lekki are still a far cry from an actual organised and civilised city.
Maleeka

Can these people shut up already? W e love it that way. Yet these white people wana come and work in Lagos? Abeg...

They sud leave it like dat. I love Lagos!!!! ....Sophie

Some hater said...

but why are we surprised? pple that have travelled out will know Nigeria is a shit hole. Tueh!!!

Jesus!!! What an Insult!! *crying* Do they know how many people in the villages that wants come and live in Lagos??? lwkmd....
How can a whole 'Center of Execllence' be the 3rd worst Place to live on earth?? They are Jokers. Biko Fashola is working and Lagos is the 3rd worst place Hahahahahahahah.

Linda where is the small sized bikinis I askd you to buy for me from obodo oyibo london?

This is my e'mail, pls mail me on how to come get them.
Chillyangel_92@yahoo.com

(U dnt have to post this comment)

Naby...!!!!!

Lol... atleast 1 bronze medal 4 9ja.

sinzu said...

Who sigh? That's their business. As long as A̶̲̥̅♏ enjoying the city where  live.  don't give a damn!!

cat-eye said...

when i consider life outside lagos i panic,3rd worst place indeed!

Legendkid@ Nigeria university said...

That is their business, as for me, lagos is home, oh how i love you ms lag.

Legendkid@ Nigeria university said...

And between ask them to #MindTheirBusiness.

Dex said...

Taking a drive through inner Marina, or from the top of the bridge above CMS, looking over to the inner Marina axis, you'll see lots of generators spewing soot and greenhouse gas emissions from the combustion of diesel. All the offices and shopping malls in Ikoyi, Victoria Island, Lekki and Ikeja boasts of huge generators and backup generators which vomit huge carbon emissions into the environment.
Standing along the CMS road, looking over the river, is Apapa. But no one has thought it wise to construct a bridge across the river. Suspended bridges are the trend in construction of bridges the world over. China boasts of several underwater bridges linked together which are controlled with traffic lights and it is simply amazing yet commuters are made to drive through the entire stretch of road to Apapa when they can "touch" Apapa from CMS in less than 3 minutes.
I won't say anything about the Makoko residential area.
The state of the BRT buses which should alleviate transportation problems is more of a safety concern than alleviation of transport challenges. The drivers of BRT buses drive like they own the roads, they struggle like the buses are collapsible and can squeeze into every space. They violate traffic rules because they are "Fashola" - a LASTMA official who requested bribe for me because I had already crossed the traffic green light and a BRT bus sped into my path. He said while I waited for the BRT bus to pass, the traffic light had turned red, therefore I shouldn't move again. My vehicle was going to be impounded then another LASTMA official said since it wasn't my fault and it was Fashola that caused it, his colleague should let me go.
We know about LASTMA officials and their excesses (Some are good and are doing their jobs)
There are several beach resorts along Badagry road but due to the traffic congestion and poor state of the Badagry road, very few people think it is necessary to spend a weekend over there.
Beach resorts on the Ajah axis suffer for lack of power supply. Akodo beach resort, LaCampaign Tropicanna, etc use diesel operated generators 24-7/365 yet they are all heavily taxed by the Government of the day when optional power supply, good road and transportation network have not been provided.
How many people chose to spend their work and school vacations in Lagos? I think a research on that should be conducted. Hahaha!
I'm not surprised... why isn't Lagos the worst place to live?

rayenter10ment.com said...

That's really really true. Lagos is quite a deadly place. too much competition there mehn....

And our elected officials think that social media is Nigeria's problem...

MissUs said...

Linda don't be a bigot. Did you bother to find out what criteria the survey was based upon? Where is the infrastructure in Lagos? Where is the adequate healthcare? Security nko? It's not about the number of people in that city! look at it critically before you crucify them.

gretel said...

I agree sha

All except one na African countries.Waeveva.

Is this lagos in this pic?

On what grounds Linda?

B

ONOME says.......
I dunno if Lagos is the 3rd worst place to live but:

The dirt,papers,refuse dump littering everywhere
People driving against traffic
The non existent traffic lights
The street urchins,area boys,street hawkers
The drivers/mad men of the molue buses driving like crazies
The honking and noise plus smoke from exhaust pipes coming out of cars
The pot holes in some areas
The general insecurity when driving at night
The never ending traffic congestion every day
The lack of basic amenities:water,light
The poor structural planning of houses and roads
The rundown houses in some parts of Lagos
The smell/stench in some areas
The overpopulation in some areas
The incessant billboards scattered with no regard to environmental aesthetics in mind

Ok,I don tire.Lagos is simply paradise on earth.lmao.

tripoli, and harare scored higher than lagos....what yardstick did they use to judge????

yet people are driving range rover vogue like its taxi...

Alter Ego said...

Linda just thank God ur comfortable & u can take care of urself..I swear if u go to some parts of Lagos u wud know how true that report is.

Hello, these two cities are better than lagos. Try n'visit, ul c'for urself

There is one thing i dont understand. Dont get me wrong but i fail to understand how pple in nigeria are confortable to drive big big cars yet nessecities like electicity and water is an issue.

Dr. Rukevwe said...

We don hear! Thanks. Next gist please...

Hehe.. See your life outside.lol

Lagos can b woteva they say or think it is but, not a fast tracking life consumer. @anon 12:37PM, anon 2:43PM, Dex n co, go live in Kadunna, Maiduguri, Yobe state or Syria, Iran, e.t.c (dts ur heaven/dreamland) where u wuld av died a long tym ago, if u all choose to live, work to av a better life n invest in ur states everyone in ur villages u won't aspire to b in Lagos. If u all go back to ur villages, Lagos will b free from u pple lyk u(pollutants). Pple shld stop condemning Lagos cos we all gain one thing or d other in Lagos but pray for Lagos. Linda, if u lyk don't post my comment.

babe,your information no tally, how can lagos state be the 3rd worst city to live in when it is the 138th out of 140....am i missing something?

dammy said...

linda post my comment oooo i just sent a comment now, if you dont then i will know say u dey do partial nd ur way no pure....how cal lagos be the 3rd worst city when it is d 138th on the list....babe, u no do maths for skool?

jojoophina said...

I love my Lagos at least is way better than this depressing so called developed country

Omg! Ur dumbness and mumu is on another level of its own! Why did u now disgrace urself? Go back to nursery sch if u cnt count
Maleeka

deekay said...

See as u jst disgraced urself lol

deekay said...

Zimbabwe 137, 4th worst place, lag 138, 3rd worst place, then 139 2nd worst, 140 first worst place. Got it?

dammy..u be duns. If 140 is the worst, and you count up to 1 as the best, then what position does 138 acquire????

Lagos stinks I wonder why people kill to live in Lagos!

sexy22 said...

is lagos that bad? thats a lie jare, i cant wait to visit...

na today .......I LOVE MY LASGIDI

ALLTHATJAZZ said...

LINDA GO TELL THE PEOPLE WHO HOST UR WEBSITE/BLOG TO CHANGE THE COMMENT PATTERN.DO NOT BE ASHAMED TO COPY THE BELLANAIJA STYLED COMMENTING, WHERE YOU CAN RESPOND DIRECTLY TO SOMEONE ELSE'S COMMENT,IT IS MORE FUN THAT WAY.I DON TELL YOU THIS THING BEFORE,WETIN DEY DO YOU SELF?

this survey by ppl who have never neen to lagos. DUMMIES like them

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I know a thing or two about living in developed countries..yes its comfortable and has the infrastructure and all..but there's no soul..too mechanical @times..and can be miserable as f..ck in winter..
Notice the senseless heinous crimes..suicide rates..
On the flipside Lag is boisterous..lively..tho people don't have much and infrastructure is crap..it has a certain charm..if we can have 24/7 Power supply..you would be amazed at the rate of transformation..life is not just about Infrastructure..but also the people!!

Leave our Lagos alone! If it was the worst place to live why all this plenty oyinbo people come full here? If they no like am make them all park comot quick quick. What nonsense? Na so so negative report card them dey give us

freebike7 said...

is bcos social uncover there ass...

jesus baby said...

Y are u confusing urself nau ITK!!!

Akolawole Shoremi said...

I bet this may be true. I use to tell people that I can never relocate to Lagos even though I grew up and spend my childhood there till the age of 16. Eversince I have left visiting other states, I realized how peaceful life could be.

Lagos has little difference from hell, just the missing fire. Lol!

@dammy are u daft? count from 138 to 140, that is 3, so lagos is the 3rd, that's why it's no.138.don't be ignorant abeg.

BREAKING NEWS!!!!!
I do not agree that Lagos is the worst place to live on Earth.
It's really surprising some of the comments on this blog.
There is a war going on in Libreville, Djibouti, Port-au-Prince (Capital of Haiti - where earthquake don do Rhumba dance - that wan no bad oo, no na Lagos bad), Pyongyang (North Korea - IF YOU KNOW WETIN PEOPLE DEY SUFFER FOR THERE?) - Perhaps these places were not involved in the study.
But it is blatant bullshit, to say Lagos na worst city.
Ok, if it is THE lEKKI cORRIDOR THE FASTEST GROWING REGION IN bLACK aFRICA AT AN EXPANSION RATE OF 18PERCENT?
Sure, by world standards, there is a long way to go, but my people, dont let these people and bullshit reports bamboozle you. It's a beautiful country with great potential. In 5yrs our economy has been touted as being on course to overwhelm SouthAfrica's and Kenya's.
JP Morgan just opened shop here.
Common gerraway! And those talking Nonsense like Onome and that other guy wey dey yarmn Lastma...
Na everyday dem dey catch you.
Sample Banana Island, Ikoyi, Vi, Festac, Osapa, Magodo, Gowon Estate, Parts of Apapa (No worry the bridge dey come), Lekki 1 and 2 and environs -
Na Army kill potential. And Army don comot - slowly surely we'll get there - not to say I always agree with Tinubu - even Fashola's decisions sef I disagree with sometimes.
But I believe their team has transformed this state.

Our State fine well well - Dont rubbish the book before you find the message.
I am 76, the Undergound's Don.

Linda reblog this news and paste this message as number one; our people's esteem is far too low. When they get dissed, they start to diss themselves on top. Wetin.
Look around the world.
Ikoyi fine pass some suburbs for London! as WELL, SOME SUBURBS FINE PASS SOME PLACES FOR lAGOS. We are growing. If the young generation are moaning like this, what will the coming generation do!!!??? Moaners, get your black asses up by the bootstraps and move this shit forward with brains and brawn.
3rd worst ko, Foul yansh ni!

Lind reblog this post o! And blog this comment!
There is a massive esteem issue out there!

@ anon 4;09 ofcos its the 3rd worst...
138 out of 140 means its d 3rd.... 139 would be the 2nd worst and
140 would be the worst (1st)....
get it now

princess of Zion said...

Compared to Western cities, that sounds just about right; bear in mind that only about 140 cities were included on the list. So, that figure isn't totally representative of the percentile Lagos falls into!

Once they sort out the electricity, roads, traffic, littering, security and so on, it will be great place! AMEN.

It's the Celebration of Marriage Week, appreciate your spouse today!

www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/marriage-faqs-and-prayer/

The stress in Lagos n Aba will reduce ones life span......

palominose said...

Princess of Zion ever †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ optimist, wish I could share ur optimism.
I totally agree with this survey even before reading Dex and Onome's comment, now that I have read them I more than concur, Lagos is a dreadful place to live in, its overpopulated,polluted and filty.

Join in †̥ђε̲̣̣̣̥ walk against domestic visit: http://lwtze.blogspot.com/?m=1

Ken_Whizzy said...

yeah right ... with all the rolls royce phantoms and bugatti in the place ... they should go and sit down .

Fashola is working, Lagos is not working...

That means those who say "lagos is working" are lying. Lagos gets N23 billion each month from IGR - about 20% goes to Tinubu's pocket while 50% are frittered away on frivolities including those that go to election campaigns in other states. This assessment puts a lie to the statements often made that Fashola is the best governor in the country. Those who believe that ACN can rule Nigeria should have a re-think.

Too bad. Hope this new traffic law would lift some of the burdens.. follow my opinions on other topics on www.muyiwaadesblog.webs.com...Muyiwa

Shut up Jesus baby is he/she not saying the truth cos I live in lagos n so its d truth....

monticarlo said...

sometimes, lagos dey sweet and sometimes it's badt. but come to tink of the only tins that can lagos intresting to stay is 1. contants power supply 2. good transport system (water,road and train) and finally..removal of LASTMA...God men dey are corrupt..

Dex said...

@Anonymous August 16, 2012 3:58 PM

What is the reason for your anger? Yes Lagos is a rapidly growing city, thanks to the current administration albeit, are the points I stated false? There are other worse cities in Nigeria and other parts of the world but to maintain an international status, you can neither be here nor there. There is no sitting on the fence. Surely, Lagos will get there. TimaRiv is to Port Harcourt what LASTMA is to Lagos and they do incredibly worse things. State owned transport alleviation buses in Port Harcourt have been mismanaged and it's no more. Imagine Uyo now has better drainage and expansive road network than Port Harcourt, Sapele, Benin and Asaba now. But once Uyo gets into the mega city status, there is no sitting on the fence. It's either you are playing big internationally or you are not. Let's be objective in our comments and reasoning rather than venting anger which is a major characteristic of people hanging around Lagos bus drivers and park touts.

@jojoophina... i concur with you! Lagos state is even better than most developed cities, i live there and i knew how those cities look like. U wont believe ur eye if you see some ramshackle cities in USA. Happiness is what matter most in life and it can only be found on african continent

So even Mogadishu Somalia if a better place to live than Lagos??? Chei, Nigeria has suffered. Yet people will pay $5 million to live in Ikoyi. Mtchewww

nena said...

Lol! @jesus baby; ur actually the confused one, or did u reply the wrong comment? Thers no connection.
@maleeka, I live in lag nd sadly, I agree wiv u, only the residential areas r calm.

mariamah said...

Na them get their mouth, we love it like that.

Wetin the Oyibo ppl still they do for here mtcheeewww...Make dem comot na.

Was the conclusion based on verifiable parameters or assumptions deduced from newspaper reports?
Logos is progrssively getting better as against those war torn cities ranked ahead of it.
@logosfromDac

wow its sad that I'm a Nigerian but I hate lagos life sha if not for Fashola it would be the worst city to ever exist http://thenigerianjeweler.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default

The truth is bitter.I was born and bred in Lagos - Primary, Secondary, University. I even worked my NYSC to Lagos cos i felt there was nowhere like it! Then I visited Calabar in 2003. Then Enugu, Jos, Minna. Then I realised folly. Forget about the rest of the world. Lagos is one of the worst cities to live in Nigeria! Even Ikoyi is a slum! The truth is better.

U fools are complaining lagos § still the most secure state in nigeria, U go ahead and say worst 3rd plAce have u ever had d opportunity 2 travel 2 sum oda countries and see 4 ur self ,dnt blame U guyz anyway ur just being sentimental here you know itz not true so letz face d fact

Obsolète Broadcast Système said...

don't forget this is a comparison amongs mega-cities only, not all cities and villages... it merely says that Lagos performs poorly when compared in it category... but yeah, it means much needs to improve